Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Site Promotion

• 22-09-2005 10:41am
    Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

hey whats the craic lads? Im doing a site for my cousin design and server site stuff is grand. The problem Im having is with promotion, driving traffic on to the site. Now i know all that meta tags ****e but whats the crack with search engine submission. Could some of you share your experiences with some of the submissions software tools out there or at least point me in the right direction, online articles etc.

Cheers,

Stephen

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

http://www.google.com/addurl/?continue=/addurl

enter your url here. and with all the major search engines. there are many irish search engines out there too.

after that link exchange is always good although it all depends on the volume of traffic you want.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Don't think I've submitted a site to a search engine in years. Just get it linked to, the major search engines will discover it via the link and spider it shortly afterwards. The minor search engines don't matter a damn.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,989 ✭✭✭✭blorg

What sort of site is it? Commercial/non-commercial? Are you willing to spend money - because if you are AdWords can be a very cost-effective form of advertisement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

how expensive is adwords?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

It almost hurts to say it: Why don't you Google and find out?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,989 ✭✭✭✭blorg

how expensive is adwords?
    From 0.05c per click. You can also set a limit to how much you are willing to spend and get started from I think as little as €5.

EDIT: Should have clarified, AdWords is Google's advertising programme, in case anyone didn't know.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭mneylon

Submitting to regional and specialised directories will help improve your site's traffic.
    I've been using this site for the last few years and found it very helpful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭canker

Meta tags are ignored by most big search engines these days.

I've used Wpromote search engine submission and it helped me a lot. its $49.99 a month and they will submit you to loads of search engines and pay for inclusion in yahoo and will even take out sponsered links for you with overture.

You can do it for just one month if you want (I saw hits coming from loads of new search engines after just a couple of days).

If you're goin with Wpromote do it here