Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

United-v-Blackburn(scores)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,335 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

like someone who knows the Premiership really well and can bring in gems from foreign leagues like the Brazilian league like what Luxembergo did with Robinho and Baptista etc.
    Baptista was signed from Sevilla .He moved from Brazil in 2003.
    Luxembergo did not bring him to Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,657 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

just about to say the same thing lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I absolutely 100% know that. My sentence just came out wrong.

Lemlin wrote:
    I find it surprising how easily the United fans can turn on Ferguson. I don't agree with his recent tactics but he has done huge things for the club over the last 19 years. I think he deserves a bit more respect for his achievements.

Completely agree. Some people are just pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Why am I not surprised?

Firstly, the sponsorship system was introduced after the mother of all pissing contests between Arsenal/Man Utd/Liverpool fans resulted in mutiple bannings and the temporary shut-down of the soccr forum. For anyone to even attempt to reopen that can of worms is inadvisable IMO. Calling Man Utd "the scum" goes dangerously close to that. For that reason and for that reason only I posted in this thread.

Secondly, I refrained from referring to Blackburn players on the thread in question as scumbags after it was pointed out that bannings have occured for less, and acknowledged such in said thread. Until today I was unaware that scum was specifically mentioned in the charter.

As for thugs? IMO the word is a descriptive term, not an insult. Just to be on the safe side I'll use the phrase "repeatedly guilty of thuggish behaviour on the field of play" if you like.

I find it amusing that in a post above we have a mod saying that I should be well aware of the charter as I have been a member of boards since April, and a member of the soccer forum for a month or so. Yet here we have a user with 4,000 posts claiming he didn't know the charter. Can you not just admit that you deserved a ban?

And if you knew so much about the "the mother of all pissing contests between Arsenal/Man Utd/Liverpool fans resulted in mutiple bannings and the temporary shut-down of the soccr forum" then should you not know that it is inadvisable to refer to Blackburn players as "scum".

A thug, according to dictionary.com, is a hoodlum, ruffian or cutthroat. I don't think of that as a fair way to refer to a footballer, do you?

As for the thuggish behaviour, Blackburn showed yesterday that they can play with skill, and that is Hughes' aim this season. As I pointed out in the Neill thread, Tottenham are no angels either. They were below Blackburn in the fair play table at that time and lie just above them now so I'd watch who you brand guilty of thuggish behaviour.

You can refer to Blackburn like that if you wish, I'll just refer to Tottenham as "Vastly overpaid so-called superstars who can't beat League Two opposition".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Here we go again on the Ferguson thing. It's not healthy for a man in any position to be surviving based on past glories. Feguson was idolised in the 90s and he will have a place in the hearts and minds of all Man Utd fans for centuries to come but he's faltering lately and it's not in his, or the club's best interests that he stay on to possibly do more damage to the club and to his own reputation. He's done very well out of Manchester United and the club very well out of him, but it can't last forever.

Yes, but its not Ferguson's fault that Roman arrived with his billions and Chelsea have grown into such a superforce in world soccer. No manager could compete with them at the minute.

If Chelsea weren't there, the measure of Ferguson's ability would be Liverpool and Arsenal, with whom Ferguson is keeping in touch.

Even if a new manager comes in, United cannot compete with the money and strength in depth that Chelsea have.

Lemlin wrote:
    Yes, but its not Ferguson's fault that Roman arrived with his billions and Chelsea have grown into such a superforce in world soccer. No manager could compete with them at the minute.

If Chelsea weren't there, the measure of Ferguson's ability would be Liverpool and Arsenal, with whom Ferguson is keeping in touch.

Even if a new manager comes in, United cannot compete with the money and strength in depth that Chelsea have.

Thank you. Your totally right. I really really am so ****ing jealous of Chelsea. They are in such a fortunate position. Which player would not want to play for them for that much money!?

That's why I laugh at the Man Utd fans who think that bringing in a new manager will change things. Man Utd don't have the money that Chelsea do: its as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Money doesn't win things in the long run, youth teams do.
    Chelsea changed all this, and it'll be interesting to see the reaction of the footballing bodies.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

No it is not that a new manager will change things, but a new approach would be nice. Rather than watching us struggle to beat Man City, Villareal, Liverpool and now Blackburn. At the moment SAF is persisting with this approach which is clearly not working, when United were winning things they were playing attacking football. And this "new" formation is just not working. So why not try going back to 442?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

It's a bit early in the season to be calling for fergies head . If you are a true supporter you support the team through thick and thin. If not well theres always Chelski for the glory hunters.

Fergie is the greatest Manager United have ever had , I believe it would be very wrong to sack him even if that means going a few seasons without success. Considering Chelseas spending power, bringing in a new manager would be no guarantee of United winning the league .

Sir Alex though has realised that 4-4-2 is not the future of football. If United play 4 men in midfield, they will lose out to many teams who play 4-5-1 and crowd out midfield.

He has also seen the success Mourinho has had with 4-5-1. As I pointed out in another thread though, Mourinho doesn't have to play players out of position to accomodate this, he has players who can play naturally in that position like Duff, Robben and Wright Phillips. Sir Alex is playing Smith and Rooney both out of position.

The Muppet wrote:
    It's a bit early in the season to be calling for fergies head . If you are a true supporter you support the team through thick and thin. If not well theres always Chelski for the glory hunters.

Fergie is the greatest Manager United have ever had , I believe it would be very wrong to sack him even if that means going a few seasons without success. Considering Chelseas spending power, bringing in a new manager would be no guarantee of United winning the league .

Here we go again. Muppet be very careful about calling people glory hunters just because they have opinions about the welfare of their football club. I had this discussion with you and others last season also. Just because I think a fresh strategy and new blood is needing in the management of MUFC doesn't mean I'm any less of a fan.

This is the last time I'm going to say this. Ferguson brought some great years to Man Utd, he was instrumental in bringing younger players up through the squad and he has often made some decisions that, at the time, were berated but turned out to be wise moves. He's not afraid to take risks and the success he brought to the club will always be appreciated by Man Utd fans. However, two seasons ago he said he was going to retire. Many people in the game, including people within the club like Gary Neville and Roy Keane said that he would be missed but that a new manager would bring new life to the team and that it would mean a new challenge to all the players to have to impress a new captain of the ship. To say that Ferguson deserves to remain Manchester United manager just because of the success he achieved in the 90s is sentimental crap in my opinion, the kind of sentimental crap that Fergie himself would never put up with (which is why he had ho quams about dropping Jim Leighton for Les Sealey in the 1990 Fa cup final replay). Deep down I believe Fergie knows that it's time he stepped down, he just wants to do it with another trophy in his hand.

Every day people come on here and they criticise team formation, team selection and players bought and sold. These are decisions by the manager are they not? Can you tell me why Wayne Rooney was dropped yesterday when he won't be playing midweek anyway?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Top post f2b. I totally agree with you on that.

Fergie is the greatest Manager United have ever had
    What about a certain Matt Busby ,the man who made Man Utd ?

Ferguson leaving and a new manager arriving or not, Man Utd are never going to have the resources to match Roman's Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Can you tell me why Wayne Rooney was dropped yesterday when he won't be playing midweek anyway?

Rooney ****ed up by getting himself sent off.
    Inturn he won't be avialible for the CL game.
    We need to get Park match fit for the CL games, which he is not yet imo.
    He needed to be given time to play

What about a certain Matt Busby ,the man who made Man Utd ?

Another legend for sure but Fergies record is surperior to the rest, including Sir Matt.

To be honest, fergie has never usually been the type to drop players for reasons like that....not that I know of anyway. And if that were the reason I think he'd drop him completely rather than leaving him on the bench. And if that is the reason, well he never did it to Cantona, Hughes or Keane.

Lemlin wrote:
    Ferguson leaving and a new manager arriving or not, Man Utd are never going to have the resources to match Roman's Chelsea.

It's not all about resources. It's about instilling a hunger in your players, it's about consistancy, it's about the right formation, it's about the right players....it's about the right decisions. Man Utd are far from poor, the problem is that in the 90's they played like a true team, nowadays I watch them and the actually look like a PLC on a football pitch. (You may not know what I mean with that, but I just think we're lacking passion and spirit at the moment...Chelsea have it now...we used to have it...Arsenal had it a few years ago...not at the moment)

fade2black wrote:

Here we go again. Muppet be very careful about calling people glory hunters just because they have opinions about the welfare of their football club.

Thanks for the warning but I am quite capable of forming and posting my own opinions.

Anyone that says
    i personally not going to bother watching united play any more untill they get a new manager

Is not supporting the team and imo is just a glory hunter. There's nothing wrong with being critical, I would be critical of some of Fergies decision and acqusitions lately but I would never go as far as to stop supporting the team. United don't have a god given right to win everything.

And who said that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    So why not try going back to 442?

I think the days of Utd. playing a 442 are gone as long as Fergie is at the helm.
    Was it just me or did anybody notice that the pitch at OT has been made narrower to accommodate the new system?

B.

PHB wrote:
    Money doesn't win things in the long run, youth teams do.
    Chelsea changed all this, and it'll be interesting to see the reaction of the footballing bodies.

Players want to earn the most money therefore chelsea win in long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

cheesedude wrote:
    Players want to earn the most money therefore chelsea win in long run.

No they don't, just take Steve Gerrard for example. If it was all about the money they would all be playing for Monaco where they would not have to pay tax on teir earnings...

Another example...look at essien. Look at Robben. Look at Obi Mikel(as if he will be starting for chelsea any time soon). They are the superpower of football and their bank balance is unlimited. They have spent well over 300million sterling already and it's gonna keep rising. Built on the back of success my arse! Damn chelsea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Lemlin wrote:
    I'll just refer to Tottenham as "Vastly overpaid so-called superstars who can't beat League Two opposition".

Ah here, I wouldn't describe Blackburn as League Two opposition, they're definitely good enough for the Championship...

And while you're at it, how about you drop the chip off your shoulder?

Ah here, I wouldn't describe Blackburn as League Two opposition, they're definitely good enough for the Championship...

And while you're at it, how about you drop the chip off your shoulder?

As you carry on to create more trouble...how about you drop the chip?

cheesedude wrote:

And how about you stay out of it?

Originally posted by therecklessone

Jeez, you're hilarious. Good enough for the Championship or not, Tottenham aren't even fit for League Two on current standings.

Originally posted by cheesedude

Thanks for that cheesedude. It downright angers me that someone can come on here and criticise Baz's behaviour when they themselves were just as guilty of likewise behaviour less than a month earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,657 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

The Muppet wrote:

Is not supporting the team and imo is just a glory hunter. There's nothing wrong with being critical, I would be critical of some of Fergies decision and acqusitions lately but I would never go as far as to stop supporting the team. United don't have a god given right to win everything.
    i didnt say i would stop supporting united of coarse i will but i wont be watching

just makes angry watching very poor performances by players and formation and thinking we need new midfielders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Great result for Blackburn, we dont play the prettiest of Football but we are tough to play against and Hughes seems to be steering us to mid table, hopefully Bellemy will click and if we could get Emerton playing as well as Perderson then we could go even better.

Did have a chuckle after Scholes comments mid week saying ManU have to win the next two games to challenge Chelsea :D LOL, typical ManU presuming that Blackburn would just give them the 3points. So Premiership challenge over then from ManU this season ......it would seem.

Lemlin wrote:

Thanks for that cheesedude. It downright angers me that someone can come on here and criticise Baz's behaviour when they themselves were just as guilty of likewise behaviour less than a month earlier.

I commented on the banning to shed a little light on a decision which obviously puzzled you. I'll repeat again, given the previous history of the football forum, referring to United as "the scum" is inadvisable. Thats not a criticism, thats an observation. I do recall thinking "that's banning talk" when I first read the post in question, if I'd wanted to criticise Baz's behaviour I'd have reported it myself.

Next time I won't bother, I'll leave you to throw your hissy fit in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Lemlin wrote:
    Jeez, you're hilarious. Good enough for the Championship or not, Tottenham aren't even fit for League Two on current standings.

Lemlin, keep it on topic or get off the thread. You have a complaint, take it to the feedback or pm an admin/mod.

Anyway...

I think United fans need not panic just yet. I felt that 2nd place was the best they'd achieve this season, and I still think thats up for grabs.

Yesterday was a disappointing performance for them on a number of levels. Utd were shocking at the back, and Blackburn seemed to carve them open at will. In attack, despite creating numerous chances they had difficulty troubling Friedel in the Blackburn goal.

I feel criticism of Rio Ferdinand (and his signing) is misplaced. Before the Summer and his antics regarding signing his contract extension, Rio was seen as a defensive rock. Now its a different story all together, with many Utd fans questioning the wisdom of signing him in the first place, and unwilling to forgive his heel dragging on the new contract. Utd suffered because two of the finest defenders in the game are currently absent through injury, and had to employ a left-sided midfielder as cover at LB. Itcan't all be blamed on Rio.

Ferguson's big failing has been his inability to plan for a future without Roy Keane. He can't be replaced like for like, but IMO Man Utd should have signed Scott Parker instead of Park during the Summer (if money was tight and it was a case of either/or) Alan Smith is a hard working player, but he's no midfield general.

On a side note, isn't it indicitive of the state of play in the PL that at two of the top 4 clubs, quality strikers are employed as out and out midfielders (Smith and Gudjohnson at Chelsea) Both players would walk into at least 16 PL teams and probably a great many European sides.

hopefully Bellemy will click and if we could get Emerton playing as well as Perderson then we could go even better.

Bellamy looks to be coming good after injury marred the start of his season. Emerton has been poor and Bentley looks a fair better option on the right wing after yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I think Blackburn really surprised United to be honest. Last season they really set their stall out as being tough to break down and scrapped it out for a 0-0 draw. This time they were flowing, attacking, and (without wanting to sound too unfair) not really what you'd associate with Blackburn under Mark Hughes so far.

After Blackburn's start to the season I wondered would they be any better than they were last season, but based on saturday's performance they look to be going in the right direction. I think Bellamy finally looks like a player who's settled after an injury-hit start to his career there. And we all know his quality when he's fit and on form.

United....well, I'm sure all points have been covered along the course of the thread. Things don't look the greatest, and our injuries are piling up a bit, but I'm not pushing the panic button quite yet. It's still a better start than last season, and with Arsenal stuttering as well, it still gives us the chance to get up there as Chelsea's main competitors. They do look a very good side, but I don't think for a second they can have an untouchable season, and I honestly still think it's too early to say it's theirs. Come on, it's september.

fade2black wrote:
    And who said that?

You really should consider reading the thread before replying
    i didnt say i would stop supporting united of coarse i will but i wont be watching

just makes angry watching very poor performances by players and formation and thinking we need new midfielders

I can't argue with you being angry but not watching the team in future matche puzzels me. If you can't handle seeing your team lose maybe sport is not for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,331 ✭✭✭✭muffler

The Muppet wrote:
    I can't argue with you being angry but not watching the team in future matche puzzels me. If you can't handle seeing your team lose maybe sport is not for you.

Well said and i think that applies to a lot of "supporters".

It was a bitter pill to swallow alright but after all we were only beat, not shot, so we will be able to continue to play for the rest of the season, win or loose.

The Muppet wrote:
    You really should consider reading the thread before replying

If you're going to quote someone, isn't it best to attribute the quote to them by name. You come across as an extremely pedantic person muppet and seem to have somewhat of a superiority complex over everyone else on this forum.

Nevertheless, you have your views and I have mine.

Originally posted by Necromomicon

I think Blackburn really surprised United to be honest. Last season they really set their stall out as being tough to break down and scrapped it out for a 0-0 draw. This time they were flowing, attacking, and (without wanting to sound too unfair) not really what you'd associate with Blackburn under Mark Hughes so far.

After Blackburn's start to the season I wondered would they be any better than they were last season, but based on saturday's performance they look to be going in the right direction. I think Bellamy finally looks like a player who's settled after an injury-hit start to his career there. And we all know his quality when he's fit and on form.

Blackburn surprised everyone, including myself. I expected them to go and play 4-5-1 at Old Trafford, like they did last season. The team selection was particularly surprising.

Khizanishvili was preferred to Todd, Gray started ahead of Gresko or Matteo and Dickov started as a second striker. Another big change in the midfield was Tugay starting ahead of Mokoena, Mokoena being a more defensive minded player who is usually the anchorman in midfield. Bentley got his chance too, ahead of Emerton, which I was glad to see as, despite showing early promise, Emerton has failed to shine.

Therefore United were caught on the hop from the start. Hughes said earlier this season that he now had the players to adopt a new approach and I'm hoping that yesterday's game will be the start of it.

That said, I'm sure Rovers will still play with the same physical passion!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Looks like we are going down the same road as we did last season with regards to muppet having his opinion on SAF and everyone else's opinion is wrong.

Muppet, we are all entitled to our own opinions, if we all shared the same ones this place would be a very boring one. You and I had a few run ins last season and it looks like you are already getting peoples back up already this season. We all know how you feel about SAF, but can you please stop trying to ram it down our throats about how good SAF was. We all know what he has done and what he has achieved.

Things have changed alot over the last few season's but with regards to MUFC things are going backwards. What most people want is for Utd to return to being a force to be reckoned with again. If that means the SAF has to step aside then so be it. With this 4-5-1 formation we are going to win nothing, thats for sure.

Leonard wrote:
    Looks like we are going down the same road as we did last season with regards to muppet having his opinion on SAF and everyone else's opinion is wrong.

Muppet, we are all entitled to our own opinions, if we all shared the same ones this place would be a very boring one. You and I had a few run ins last season and it looks like you are already getting peoples back up already this season. We all know how you feel about SAF, but can you please stop trying to ram it down our throats about how good SAF was. We all know what he has done and what he has achieved.

How ironic.

Can you quote me where I said anyone elses opinion was wrong?

As you will not be able to do that I suggest you digest your own post. I will continue to post my own opinions for as long as long as I contribute to this forum, Whether that get yours or anyone elses back up is of no consideration to me.

Leonard wrote:
    with regards to MUFC things are going backwards.

I'll have to correct you there buddy, things are not going backwards for Utd. things are staying the same and Chelsea have upped the anty.

B.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

BaZmO* wrote:
    I'll have to correct you there buddy, things are not going backwards for Utd. things are staying the same and Chelsea have upped the anty.

B.

That may be the case, but in all fairness, 2 or 3 seasons back we would be beating the likes of Blackburn, and Man City at home with ease.

Leonard wrote:
    That may be the case, but in all fairness, 2 or 3 seasons back we would be beating the likes of Blackburn, and Man City at home with ease.
    That's not the case at all. Utd. have messed up many a home game against supposedly "weaker" teams down through the years.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

the Blackburn result is not the end of the world(season) but the draw against Villa Real and the Man City result points toward a tougher season for ManU this year.

Theres a sayin in Formula1 'If you standing still you're actually goin backwards'
    Maybe your location should read: Egypt,in de Nile.
    :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

BaZmO* wrote:
    That's not the case at all. Utd. have messed up many a home game against supposedly "weaker" teams down through the years.

B.

Its true united were beaten at home by weaker teams in the past and they also had bad patches when they were winning trophies, but i think what is disappointing for United fans (myself included) is the way they that the team lines out theres too much focus on not conceding and then nicking a goal. With very average defenders like silvestre and o shea we are not in the position to let teams come at us. I honestly believe if we get at teams like blackburn, man city we will have no problems scoring goals against them

daithi

Not a chance.
    The standard of the English premiership is prob at an all time low.
    The number of teams playing 'Fear Football' is growing.
    5-10 years ago Man Utd were blowing teams away 5,6 nil and playing in a positive,high tempo,thrilling style.
    The present team is a pale shadow of previous teams .
    United now struggle to win home games against mediocre opposition.
    In the past these teams would have been beaten in the first 30 mins.
    The current United team is boring and stale.