Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Poker Tour - Texas Hold'Em Poker

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

NickyOD wrote:
    Just in case it was missed before. If anyone representing The Celtic Poker tour reads this thread and are thinking of running a tournament in Limerick, please do not bother because the Limerick Poker society will make sure it doesn't go ahead. That goes for any other tournament that does not meet the criteria outlined in our forum on poker.ie.
    How will you stop it exactly? Surely if CPT want to organise a poker event they can do so if they hire a venue and all that themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

lafortezza wrote:
    How will you stop it exactly? Surely if CPT want to organise a poker event they can do so if they hire a venue and all that themselves?

Don't worry I will find a way. The gardai have shut down 2 tournaments already in Limerick because of complaints about unfair payouts and those complaints didn't come from me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Surely a better way would be to get better tournaments up and running as an alternative. As much as I dislike tournaments that are badly run and a bit of a rip-off calling the cops to get one shut down sounds a bit malicious.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭jem

I phoned them, listened to a load of crap and with grave difficulty they admitted it was a capped prize pool or near enough, if they have an exceptional night they would give out a bit more!!!!

lafortezza wrote:
    Surely a better way would be to get better tournaments up and running as an alternative. As much as I dislike tournaments that are badly run and a bit of a rip-off calling the cops to get one shut down sounds a bit malicious.

Already taken care of. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

NickyOD wrote:
    Just in case it was missed before. If anyone representing The Celtic Poker tour reads this thread and are thinking of running a tournament in Limerick, please do not bother because the Limerick Poker society will make sure it doesn't go ahead. That goes for any other tournament that does not meet the criteria outlined in our forum on poker.ie. If anyone has a problem with that they can PM me through the boards forum and I'd be happy to discuss it either privately OR within this hread. As far as I'm concerned the CPT have zero experience or interest in running professional poker tournaments and their main goal is profit, profit and more profit.

go get em nicky

Sunday, October 16th 2005
    Castletroy Hotel Limerick, Co. Limerick

Wednesday, December 7th 2005
    Castletroy Hotel

ZZR1100 wrote:
    go get em nicky

Sunday, October 16th 2005
    Castletroy Hotel Limerick, Co. Limerick

Wednesday, December 7th 2005
    Castletroy Hotel

ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Calling the Gardai on this will only create more difficulty for yourself in the long run. This tournie is no more illegal then a legit one would be, therfore if they start closing them down, they will eventually start clamping down on all of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Seeing as I started the original thread, I'd better reply to some of this bull:
    WMeathCool wrote:
    fabulous casino tables
    They're not casino tables, they're those crappy round ones. Plus there's only room for 9 players. Perhaps another reason for having no dealers is that there isn't any room for any? Also, they're too high (a bit picky by me, maybe, but if you did have dealers, your profits would be gone in chiropractic bills).
    WMeathCool wrote:
    there was indeed a chip race
    There wasn't any in Mullingar. Have you learned how to do these since? Can you post here how you are doing them.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    the blancing of tables wasnt badly managed
    Yes it was. Again, can you please post here how you do it.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    and there was a heap of free food for everyone there.
    So the food is free? I'd say that cuts down on your overheads a bit.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    The whole thing was so professional.
    You're having a laugh, right?
    WMeathCool wrote:
    Its really annoying that some "players" from Dublin can come on here being all high and mighty and saying that they pity us country folk and what we have to deal with having visited one of the Celtic Poker Tour events.

A lot of the regular posters on here have played in the WSOP, several EPT events, the Irish Open, etc. They also play in the Fitz, home to one of the best TDs in Europe in Luke Ivory. They know a good tournament when they see one. I'd love to know your experience in well-run tournaments, because if you think that CPT events are properly run, then I doubt you're played much beyond the home-game scene.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    Because its not "Poker Events" we dont know what we're missing. Well, i'll tell you this, I attended a poker events once and it wasnt half as impressive as Celtic Poker Tour, which is why I went to the Celtic Poker Tour gig in Athlone on Thursday when there was a Poker Events gig on the same night. Having spoken to some of my friends that went to the Poker Events gig, I made the right choice aswell.

But you'd have to get the night off from working with CPT to go to the Pokerevents gig, wouldn't you?

There's no comparison between Pokerevents and your event. The Pokerevent gigs ARE professional. I, and a few other guys here, had a gripe with their structure at the 300euro City West event in May this year, but at least Pokerevents listened to the comments and had a much improved structure in the next event. Bottom line, they listened to the players. They didn't feel the need to come on here under false pretenses to try and defend their game.

WMeathCool wrote:
    Ireland finally has a proper poker tour!
    Pokerevents? By the way, I'm not affiliated with them, which you'll see if you read some of my posts on them in the past.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    And on a last note... the prize pool isnt capped.
    It's comments like these that really undermine your credibility.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    I dont know how much their 'rake' was... thats impossible to determine.
    The one thing that was actually done right was that the amount of rebuys/top-ups was very well recorded. Everyone got a card with four tick-boxes which was filled in as necesary, and these were collected at the break.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    Another piece of flase information you read on here I suppose. They supply dealers to the final four tables. Most people can deal cards till then. But if there is a particular problem at a table they put a dealer in, one of the staff told me this the other night. He said the problem rarely arises.

Because they are a mobile tournie they couldnt possibly bring a dealer for each table.
    Pokerevents can do it, so why cant you? When you get so many new players in these games, having dealers is absolutely essential. A lot of players cant deal at a high enough level in NLHE. Coupled with the glaringly obvious errors that consistantly happen, having no dealers slows up the game too much and turns it into a crap-shoot. In my OP I quoted there being 20 hands per hour in the FO period, and that's a disgrace.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    Anyone who goes enjoys it and goes back. Thats the vibe I got from the people I spent the night with anyway.
    Anyone who plays any properly-run tournament wont go back. The people who return simply haven't played in any decent tournaments.
    WMeathCool wrote:
    And before anyone asks, yes we have played texas hold'em before, we were playing it before everyone wanted to play it!
    So you were playing with Liam Flood and Collette Doherty in the late 70's/early 80's? Again, let us know your real experience of the game, because if you believe that the CPT games are good, then I suggest that you have very little. Please defend youself here.

WMeathCool wrote:
    Ive been to them all.
    I'm confused... I thought you weren't at the Mullingar game. Try to remember your lies from previous posts.

I'm getting tired of this. Is there any chance that you can reply with some intelligent posts?

Mods: Apologies if some of this is coming out as insulting to the OP, it's not meant to be.

Edit: In case I dont get to post in this thread for a while, it's cos my team won a hurling championship yesterday and I wont be sober 'til next Monday at the earliest.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

DeVore wrote:

Finally the IP addresses used to access boards for that account all terminate in Carlow.

And from CPT website "All eyes were on The Dolmen Hotel yesterday as the Celtic Poker Tour landed in the hometown of Carlow for our first home event."

We're through the looking glass here people.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭patmac

lafortezza wrote:

The thing with CPT is that they advertise so heavily, there was 2 tourneys in Athlone last Thursday I was at the pokerevents one but I wouldn't have known about it only from discussions here, I was impressed with it but there was only 57 players as opposed to 180 in the Raddisson, I would definitely have gone to the CPT had it not been for this website. I live in Ballinasloe and there was posters in nearly every pub in Ballinasloe and Athlone, on all approach roads into Athlone and even on the local radio, so they obviously spend some of their outrageous profit on advertising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

you guys simply have to read the editorials from the celtic poker tour website, they are some laugh, and would do enough to discourage anyone from playing

"The players were dropping off fast at the final table in Ennis. In the next hand we said goodbye to two more players. Justin Linnane beat both Pat Brehany (9th), who was all in with 5,000 and Niall McNamara (8th) who was all in on the small blind with 5,000. Linnane who was all in on 10,000 won when his J, 4 was complimented by 4,7,J,6 & 8 on the table."

All in all the time, no play whatsoever on any hand as far as i can see..

"Again, no time passed before we lost another player. Leaving in 7th position Andy Dunne, who’s chip count had been reduced to 90,000 went all in with 3,2 suited. Unlucky for Dunne, Dave O’Gorman who was all in for 150,000 on the big blind with a J,A took the pot when an A was revealed on the turn."

Waylander wrote:
    Calling the Gardai on this will only create more difficulty for yourself in the long run. This tournie is no more illegal then a legit one would be, therfore if they start closing them down, they will eventually start clamping down on all of them.

ok ok. Knee jerk reaction there. Won't be calling the gardai. The thought of this tour coming to Limerick makes just make me want to explode. :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

I have sent an inquisitive email to the three people named on the Celtic Poker tour website. I really want them to be involved in the discussion on this. There's just no way we should be allowing these horrible tournaments to continue. If we as intelligent poker players are not going to stand up for ourselves then this is just going to get out of control. Deciding just not go is not enough. Its easy in Dublin because there is always a good alternative. Outside of Dublin I feel we being exploited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I'd be kinda surprised if they are not already involved in this discussion Nicky, and if Wmeath is from CPT then his contribution has only served to make sure that I will never attend one of their events again. Such a feeble attempt to gain some free PR, he would have achieved alot more by saying thanks for the constructive criticism, this is what we have done is response to it....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Interesting thread and has certainly made me change my plans for Oct 2nd when CPT rolls into Cork. I'll stick to my home tourneys and the Macau.

But just to play devil's advocate here for a minute. A pool of 10k implies that what, last 4 tables get paid with a grand or so to the winner? Or maybe just last table gets paid with a couple of grand to the winner? Either way, in a field of 300 runners, with about 80% of them acting as fish, surely this is +ev for the better players here, who can wade through the crap and get some free money.

I'm not saying it's ideal, and in a field of that size, with muppets all over the place, it's a definite crap shoot, but surely it's still a massive prize pool that's worth paying into?

corblimey wrote:
    Interesting thread and has certainly made me change my plans for Oct 2nd when CPT rolls into Cork. I'll stick to my home tourneys and the Macau.

But just to play devil's advocate here for a minute. A pool of 10k implies that what, last 4 tables get paid with a grand or so to the winner? Or maybe just last table gets paid with a couple of grand to the winner? Either way, in a field of 300 runners, with about 80% of them acting as fish, surely this is +ev for the better players here, who can wade through the crap and get some free money.

I'm not saying it's ideal, and in a field of that size, with muppets all over the place, it's a definite crap shoot, but surely it's still a massive prize pool that's worth paying into?

I don't tihnk its +EV for anyone with such a bad structure. In Mullingar they took in 25K and paid out 10K. 5K for 1st. With several tables left the average stack seems to be 6-8BBs whcih means skill goes out the window. Might as well just be playing bingo at that point.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 cashman0

i'm trying to organise a poker tournament at my house if anyone is interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

cashman0 wrote:
    i'm trying to organise a poker tournament at my house if anyone is interested

Is it in Carlow?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I've suspended that account to stop any destruction of evidence and because I am personally convinced that I dont want that person on my site.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

NickyOD wrote:
    I don't tihnk its +EV for anyone with such a bad structure. In Mullingar they took in 25K and paid out 10K. 5K for 1st. With several tables left the average stack seems to be 6-8BBs whcih means skill goes out the window. Might as well just be playing bingo at that point.
    Fair point, Nicky (as always). As someone else said on this thread or another, once the rebuy is done, they're more interested in getting out the door as fast as possible (before the cops arrive? :D) than in maintaining a good bb schedule, etc. And the cap is ridiculous.

I just wonder with with a fairer schedule, would we be more inclined to let them have their 15k for doing sod all essentially?

I have no connection to these spanners, although if they're raking in 15 large a night, I might give them a shout, see if they need a ringer :D

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

Are these guys still in business? Their website has no venues scheduled on it apart from a game that was supposed to be on in Toughers in Naas, but it was cancelled. Anyone know anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I see patmac is still posting, think his first was in here judging by his join date.

also I read the first 7 poists without realising the crazy bump!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

also I read the first 7 poists without realising the crazy bump!

me too, when I saw Big D post I copped it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

2005, jesus. I don't think I even played poker back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,276 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Worst bump in the history of the forum..??!!

• Registered Users Posts: 36,319 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Well, not necessarily. If the CPT have gone busto it's news I'd be interested in.

Must be something in it, didn't Kelly say on some thread that he was still doing clonmel with CPT after there break and now he's announced he is doing it with Atlantis casino

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

I rang one of the numbers on the website last Friday the 28th of August to find out if the Toughers game was still on.
    He just said no it's not on, without offering any explanation. I asked why and he stuttering something about the midlands open being on and generally being evasive.
    I thought someone might have heard something if they were in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Edit: In case I dont get to post in this thread for a while, it's cos my team won a hurling championship yesterday and I wont be sober 'til next Monday at the earliest.:)
    Lol, this thread brings back some memories! I don't think I was sober until the following Monday (a week later).

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

mental note to self:
    read the date of the first post before continuing :(

And to the guy who bumped it ... dont do that.