Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help needed regarding routers.

• 25-09-2005 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭

I know there is a router sticky and I have searched through it but I'm not very good with this area of technology and found myself lost quite easily. Basically, heres the problem:

I have recently gotten the Irish Broadband Breeze Lite 1mb connection. It is wired into my room in the attic of my house (not a very long distance).

My parents bought a new PC for downstairs yesterday and I am wondering what would be the best way to split the connection between both PC's.

Forgive me if I seem a little ignorant on the subject, but I assume the product I am looking for is a wireless router, yes?

If so, are there compatibility issues? The PC I have was put together myself and the one downstairs is a PC World job. Both reasonably high-spec and quite new. I can give exact spec and details if needed. I have looked through Komplett (my most likely place for purchasing) but have no real idea of what I am looking for or of which routers may be compatible or not.

Apologies if this seems a little basic or simplistic, I just don't want to purchase something to find it to be imcompatible.

All help is greatly appreciated, I'm on here quite regularly so I'll give any spec needed as soon as possible.

Thanks again,
    Mark.

Comments

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

You first need a LAN which links the two machines - do you want to do this wired or wireless?