Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

When did you catch the 'dance' bug...

• 29-09-2005 9:43am

...what song did it, and I mean in the house/techno/dance sense of dance, as opposed to Depeche Mode or the New Romantics behind a bank of synths.

Was it Giorgio Moroder and Donna Summer teaming up for that slice of infectious disco in the 1970s - 'I Feel Love'? Or what about Paul Hardcastle telling us the average age of the US grunt in Sa-Sa-Sa-Sa-Saigon, Saigon was less than 20? Or did you Jack Your Body or Pump Up the Volume?

For me, I reckon it was 808State's 'Pacific'. Still remember hearing it for the first time and thinking 'that's it'. While I liked all the classics above, and a whole lot more, I think that was the first one that really got me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭GadgetFiend

December 8th, 1998

First time I went to the Kitchen

ah, bliss...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

'Prodigy - Experience'. can't remember which track i heard first though...
    the first dj set to have a massive impact on me was Car Cox's fantazia techno mix cd. ****ing awesome mix, even today :)
    i knew that i'd end up getting a set of decks some day after hearing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

While I used to love listening to KLF, Culture Beat, 2 Unlimited and all that cheesey EuroDance of the early 90's, a mix tape called The Dark Sde by DJ Sci in 1995 helped get me hooked on techno and its other aliases. :) At the same time, The Prodigy Experience helped to seal the deal!

Seanie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

The coldcut remix of paid in full, or Maars Pump up the volume when i was a kid. The first albums i got (aside from cheesy best of dance 92 and such) were Full on Mask Hysteria (Altern-8) and The Prodigy Experience

No one said Inner City's 'Good Life' yet?

That was pretty damn infectious in its day, still is. Two other standouts for me were Bassomatic's 'Fascinating Rhythm' and Guru Josh's 'Infinity'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

It's Blue Monday for me.

Then years later I moved to Dublin, starting working in The Kitchen and got into dance music in a huge way. And on it goes... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Eddie Brennan

twas the old happy hardcore from Thunderdome from ID&T at 10 years old that strted my love affair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭radiospan

I used to love 2 Unlimited and all that nonsense, and then changed to listening to rock music.

After hearing Much Against Everyone's Advice by Soulwax, I got their As Heard on Radio Soulwax Part 2 album, and that whole record (especially Vitalic - La Rock 01) got me back to "dance" music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Eddie Brennan

i never liked guitar music. I just dont liek the sound they make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

Hmm, always had a thing for it...

A Decal gig a few years ago and a little white circular object ingested ensured a long term love affair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Remember in 1989 listening to Technotronic and the likes and liking it but 1990 was the year i really got into the scene listening to the likes of Hardcore Uproar what a tune that was one of the best ever tunes of all time without a doubt...1990 almost constant raving until 2001 (you kids have a long way to go,jaysus i could write a book) ;) )still go raving 2/3 times a year but too old for it now and it's not as good but fair play to the younger crew getting into the scene :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

Well the problem with the youth of today I find is.... Coke

Different buzz, different atmosphere. Although the raves in Glenard Castle were a lot of fun.

Altheus wrote:
    Well the problem with the youth of today I find is.... Coke

Different buzz, different atmosphere. Although the raves in Glenard Castle were a lot of fun.

I agree although im fond of a bit of chaz myself on occasions (although it's mostly rubbish in Ireland :confused: ) back in the glory days of Raving it was all E's and some speed,i actually didn't do charlie for the first time until 1997 believe it or not whereas i done my first E in 1990.

Coke's' a different buzz,younger ravers should forget the overpriced sniff when going to raves and get a few yokes into them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

'Experience' for me too. Got more into it with MFTJG. Basically its all prodigy's fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Would have to be 2unlimited, prodigy, ultra sonic stuff that my brother had on cassette that got me all started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Mark J

technotronic, snap, 808 state(especially "Cubik"!!!!)and......

just have to mention this, even though i was into dance/electronic music a while before it......

NJoi - Live At Manchester

best 12" ever created, without a doubt. 1992.

if ya haven`t heard this....well....just track it down or if you want i`ll burn ya a copy. PM me or i`ll stick up a "yousenditlink" to it.

pure old skool techno - AMAZING!!!

(Saffron from Republica, for all you younger folk who`ve never heard of Njoi!, sang for them.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭smeggle

@ Seanie M - Likening The KLF to those lot - shame on you lol

If we're talking about 'Dance' in the terms of Rave style music, then it would have to be Circus Warp - Roundway Hill, Devices 1989. But if it's dance in particular - I'd say Wigan Casino - Northern Soul venue of the 70's/early 80's and then moving to Tribal/Reggae styles during the mid 80's till I went to the above mentioned gig.

Still wondering who that blond lass was who just came out of nowhere, hugged me for like 4-5minutes and disappeared never to be seen again.. Awesome! And I've been hooked ever since lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Another one for Blue Monday, helped along by Depeche Mode, Kraftwerk, and late disco. To be honest, I don't remember a time that I was that into non-electronic music. While my mates were listening to Nirvana, Blur, Iron Maiden, whatever, I was brought up by KLF, the Shamen, the Prodigy, Snap, 808 State, Altern8, FSOL, Orbital, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭smeggle

Sico wrote:
    the Shamen

Damn! Why do I allways forget them.. I was like WTF!!! :eek: when they bought Eberneezer Good out lmao :D

But what is it with Prodigy? :confused: Why are they so overrated?

edit: meh misspellin keyboards :mad:

Mark J wrote:

just have to mention this, even though i was into dance/electronic music a while before it......

if ya haven`t heard this....well....just track it down or if you want i`ll burn ya a copy. PM me or i`ll stick up a "yousenditlink" to it.

(Saffron from Republica, for all you younger folk who`ve never heard of Njoi!, sang for them.)

now your talking :D

jonny68 wrote:
    now your talking :D

Glad someone remembers/knows it!

usually when i mention that, i just get a blank stare and a "half head nod",
    that`s saying : "eh....i know my stuff but just not that, sure i do know it though"
    (even though they haven`t a clue!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

I'm not sure really, I've always had an interest in electronica/trance music, as i type i am listening to Paul Van Dyke - Nothing but you, prolly the song the started my interest in this music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

I was living with Seal in Queens Park in London around 1987 (Summer of Love!) and got into Steven 'Silk' Hurley and Farley Keith of "Love can't turn around" and "Jack Your Body" fame. I have many good memories of going to the Wag Club and Camden Palace with Seal (before he became famous obviously) and it was there I really got into the whole dance phenonmena...

:cool:

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Mark J wrote:

I second that and my introduction is basically a mirror of yours! 808 State, Cubik was one of the first dance tracks that really did it for me - it was on one of these hits type chart comps I had at the time! Then I started recording various tracks off the radio, whatever pirate stations were around at the time. A friend gave me a loan of the N-Joi Live in Manchester '92 tape in my case and I played it constantly all that summer (I copied it, gave the original back to my mate!), the only part that ever bothered me was that it was too short. First dance CD that I bought was also in '92 at which stage I was completely sold - Trance Dance

http://www.discogs.com/release/424543

Continued buying CDs then by the likes of Aphex Twin, Polygon Window (same as), The Prodigy, Some Other People, Warp Comps etc etc and then whatever mixes I could get my hands on. Didn't start buying vinyl till around late '93 and got my technics 1210s then in '94 (still going strong to this day, touch wood :D )

Started going to The Temple of Sound in '94 and discovered DJ's such as Billy Nasty, Justin Robertson, Fabio Paras, Andy Weatherall, Eric Powell...the list goes on, that was some f**king club! Also went to the UFO/Columbia Mills a fair bit which was pretty excellent too, never forget going down to the chill out room for a spliff and a coffee. Anyone else in the UFO the night it was raided? Strange experience being off your head and the lights coming on and guards with dogs everywhere! - I just popped the other pill I had in my pocket before they got to me. Funny that night, one guard let the Mitchells out the fire exit, a bit sus.

Anyway, I could babble on forever about all of this :D

Felixdhc wrote:

something similar to your compilation.
    bought the usual, Deep Heat, Hardcore Ecstasy,Hardcore Heaven and Heavenly Hardcore and various others!

but this one stands out for me. probably my first comp.

Thin Ice : the first step

don`t know what happened to it through the years but i got it again from ebay a good while back!

Felixdhc wrote:
    First dance CD that I bought was also in '92 at which stage I was completely sold - Trance Dance

http://www.discogs.com/release/424543

On a similar note, I must have played this one to death - Only for the Headstrong

http://www.discogs.com/release/140305

Think I drove everyone insane by bursting into singing 'Happiness, is just around the bend', or 'dif'rent strokes, for dif'rent folks, whatever makes you...happppeeeeeeeeee'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

i just fell into it around 93-94

nothing in particular that did it for me, i just gradually edged that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Felixdhc wrote:
    Started going to The Temple of Sound in '94 and discovered DJ's such as Billy Nasty, Justin Robertson, Fabio Paras, Andy Weatherall, Eric Powell...Anyway, I could babble on forever about all of this :D
    I love these stories. I think anyone of club going age would have to say that this era in the whole dance scene in Dublin was unbelieveable. I haven't been back to Dublin in quite a number of years but reckon that the scene now does not even come close to some of the events in early 90's Dublin nightlife.

Might be time for a revival I reckon. Must get my a$$ back over there and pull out all the old vinyl.

dSTAR wrote:
    I love these stories. I think anyone of club going age would have to say that this era in the whole dance scene in Dublin was unbelieveable. I haven't been back to Dublin in quite a number of years but reckon that the scene now does not even come close to some of the events in early 90's Dublin nightlife.

Might be time for a revival I reckon. Must get my a$$ back over there and pull out all the old vinyl.

100% spot on mate ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Wow lot of memories being thrown up for me in this thread.
    I guess I've just always been into electronica....guitar and rock never did it for me....first bands I can recall actually liking were Pet Shop Boys, Human League, then later Tangerine Dream.
    What re4ally broke it for me was when I bought two albums; Bomb the Bass' Into the Dragon and a compilation on XL recordings, around 89-90. Orbital's cCime wasn't too long out of the charts, 808 state were doing their thing, Papua New Guninea etc etc.
    Funnily enough around that time I also got into stuff like Nirvana and Pearl Jam, but the novelty soon wore off.
    Went to my first rave/club type thing in 93...never really looked back. Like other's I'm getting a bit too long in the tooth for it now, and as the old cliché goes, it's simply not the same anymore.
    It was never about the drugs for me....sure, they helped and I did plenty but I could just as easily have had a great time without them and they never affected my love for the music...I think a lot of people these days have had the drug experience first and that's what's gotten them into the music. Coke has definitely ruined the scene as far as I can tell....I know for me, I couldn't do coke and go clubbing...too much a selfish buzz.

oh and;
    Felixdhc wrote:
    Trance Dance

lol I have that CD as well....bought it for Papua New Guinea and Age of Love...the inlay card has an ad for some rave in England for summer '92.

*drowns in a pool of nostagia*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

your listening to the sound of njoi!!! had to be paul hardcastle for me :D klf,digital boy,808 state,bomb the bass,humanoid. megabass tape,remember that??

Wertz wrote:

lol I have that CD as well....bought it for Papua New Guinea and Age of Love...the inlay card has an ad for some rave in England for summer '92.

*drowns in a pool of nostagia*

yeah, I remember wishing I could get to those raves :D

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭MrO

Sasha - in Castlebellingham May'93 - best ever :)

MrO wrote:
    Sasha - in Castlebellingham May'93 - best ever :)

yea, that Sasha mix was class!
    me & my friends had em all, but they dissappeared through the years.

loved the C.J Mackintosh mix.

anyone got a copy of all the mixes from bellingham? PLZ!!!!!!!!

Mark J wrote:
    anyone got a copy of all the mixes from bellingham? PLZ!!!!!!!!

I've got the sasha mix but thats about it I'm afraid - and its from an old tape to mp3 so the quality is so/so - had a copy of the CJ mix also but thats gone a long time... if anyone wants it I'll post it up somewhere but I'm not entirely sure how to do that :o

www.yousendit.com

is handy enough for putting up mp3s. i think there`s a max 25 download, so tell me when ya put it up.

Ok - I figured it out should have it sorted later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 jaygrogan

Felix.... keep talkin....

love listenin to all these old stories from the early 90's etc. even later. wasn't around for those clubbing days, wish i was though like most people do. unfortunately i'm only in my 20's.

i think ya's should start a thread for old weekend memories. the ins and outs of your experiences :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Im like Jay, only 19, too young for the heyday of Dublin clubland and like him, the stories are great (Id a thread about The Asylum a while back where I basically bemoaned the fact I was never old enough to go.)
    My cousin (now 28) had fliers from the place stuck to his bedroom wall, Id say it was fcukin animal :(

Its just that when you have one of those absoloutely animal, legendary night out in Dublin, the next morning you get the feeling that back in 1994 every night was like that. Im not talking yokes or nothing, I only very occasionally do them, and maybe a few lines, but Id seldom buy a bag due to how Ive seen people spend 50 on some pretty useless sh1te

Country folks still like to do yokes alot and are very wary of coke (most probably because some pretty appaling cut to sh1t coke reaches the countryside)
    But country nightclubs are usually brutal, so it doesnt matter

Ok here's the Sasha Mix from Castlebellingham. This is without doubt the best one I was ever at - I'd been to a couple in the Mansion House in 92 and we had the Olympic, Sides etc. but this blew me away. The place was wall to wall with mostly Nordies but a good few Dubs and a great atmosphere - when Sasha came on - well what can I say - the good press he'd been getting in mixmag proved to be fairly spot on.

A lot of tracks he played that night became big tunes later that year but at the time it all seemed very fresh anyway here it is:

http://s39.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=3F51PB3KLT0ZN3H4Q4C7EFYVHJ

PS - apologies for the sound quality its from an old tape (12 years old - holy sh*t)

Think we probably all reckon what came before was better. In my case I was too young for the whole start of the scene in acid house and the Olympic Ballroom etc, we always wished we had been around for those days as they really were the start of the Dublin scene. I actually felt like we were late onto the Scene in '94! I would say its impossible to have a night like back then, I have not been to any of the old skool nights that have been on the last while but I would figure that they are nothing like when that music was being heard for the first time in the early nineties. It was a new experience for so many people as well as the new experience of e, and much better e back then too.

The first time I went to the Temple of Sound I thought I was in heaven, the pills, brilliant crowd with no trouble and rarely a bad DJ. You were pretty much guaranteed to hear a good if not excellent DJ every week. Girls walking around handing out water melon and pineapple, free glasses of water at the end of the bar (although that stopped after a while) and easy going bouncers. Place generally had an aroma of olbas oil and vicks (which was always a concern when you went home with a sweaty olbas oil smelling t-shirt :rolleyes: ) and lots of dry ice + various lighting effects. They had a chill out room too with ambient tunes playing which was nice to go to and chill :D Johnny Moy was generally playing before the guest DJ and played some excellent warm up tracks - you could expect to hear anything from Bug Powder Dust by Bomb the Bass early on up to Green Velvet - Flash when he was kicking things in. I loved the place and hardly missed a Saturday night there for about three years. The two resident DJs on a Saturday, Johnny Moy & Billy Scurry were excellent DJs and really helped make the place what it was. When DJs like Billy Nasty or Fabio Paras played you could expect to be waiting for anything up to a half hour to get in and a lot of the time people would be off their heads in the queue as they would have taken their pills on the way there. God I miss that place :( Memories of it really make me waffle!

MrO wrote:
    Ok here's the Sasha Mix from Castlebellingham. This is without doubt the best one I was ever at - I'd been to a couple in the Mansion House in 92 and we had the Olympic, Sides etc. but this blew me away. The place was wall to wall with mostly Nordies but a good few Dubs and a great atmosphere - when Sasha came on - well what can I say - the good press he'd been getting in mixmag proved to be fairly spot on.

A lot of tracks he played that night became big tunes later that year but at the time it all seemed very fresh anyway here it is:

PS - apologies for the sound quality its from an old tape (12 years old - holy sh*t)

Thanks a million, excellent stuff. Can only imagine what it was like to be there. Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

Started listening to my cousins tape of prodigy's music for the jilted generation when i was about 6 and ive always liked dance music since then, used to be a metalhead for a while then that died i went back to dance music.

MrO wrote:

didn`t get a chance to thank you for posting that! Sound!! Bang on!

i`m sure a few of my buddies might have more of the bellingham tapes,
    i`ll see what i can do. if i get em i`ll post em up.

there was an another "Julio Cashera(?spelling?)" t`was class, can ya remember that?
    first time i heard Capricorn - 20hz. wasn`t at the gig but a few of my buddies were.

Julio was Italian, i think. haven`t heard of him since!

Mark J wrote:
    Julio was Italian, i think. haven`t heard of him since!

Yeah - you're right - can't remember the name though, I had the flyer but its probably buried somewhere. If I remember right Billy Scurry & Johnny Moy where part of the early warm up too.

here MrO - try this and let me know what ya think, a mix from myself!
    click her to be re-directed!

Mark J wrote:

Good stuff - I'll have a listen tonight.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

/me got into dance (specifically house) when i started working in BT2, because that's what we used to play in the shop (think they still do in grafton st.)

Mark J wrote:

Had a listen to this - very nice mix, good build up too. A little bit heavy for me - getting old - can't handle it anymore :o
    Nice one though - must doin ok if your getting on the radio in Cork and 2fm -keep it up!