Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nightwish Pissup

• 30-09-2005 12:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭

Just thought I'd share with you lot the story of the greatest day of my life.
    I went to see Nightwish in London on Sunday at the Hammersmith Apollo with a friend.
    The two of us were among 20 fans that were given the opportunity for a Meet and Greet at 2:30 in the afternoon. This signing took place in the main lobby of the actual Hotel they were staying in. The signing went nicely, getting photos having a good chat with the band, Tarja actually turning up for once. It was all cool.
    After the signing we all left and went to pubs for a drink. Myself and my mate got pretty bored with the company and the skanky pubsand decided to head back to the Hotel lobby and get some drinks there in a nice, quite ( and snobby) environment.

The next thing that happens is the Nightwish Fanclub Rep invites us over to sit with her and some mates, who we got on with really well and spent the rest of the afternoon with and accompanied them to the gig.

After the gig we're feeling pretty hammered and get in fairly mischievous moods. In our idiotic states we get this wise idea to head back to Nightwish's hotel. We sit at this hotel drinking as much as we can get down our throats. Before you know it, the band and their crew turn up to the bar and start joining us. I'm looking around thinking "How the hell did I end up getting pissed with Nightwish?".

In the hotel lobby I notice there's a Grand Piano in the corner. In my drunken state I for some reason thought it was a good idea to start tinkling away on it, playing a few Muse pieces. The next thing that happens Emppu the guitarist comes up and he's like "F*ckin' hell!", and whips out this camcorder and starts filming me playing the keys. I stop and ask "what are you doing?" and he replies "We make DVD!". I'm sitting there pretty gobsmacked.

I get talking to the keyboardist, Tuomas, shortly after and trades wrist bands with me and for some reason puts a fake tattoo on my arm using beer.

It's now 4am, and the whole band have gone to their rooms except for Jukka (drummer). There's about 6 or 7 of us around at this point. Then Jukka invites all to his hotel room for another party! We go in and he whips out a few bottles of Vodka and Pernod, and shares it around, while he puts on a Pay Per View Porno on the telly.

He gave me a drumstick spinning lesson, and a stinking sweaty bandana that he wore during the gig. We didn't leave his room until 6am.

Thought I'd share that with you. I love a good boast! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭mp3guy

you bastard... why won't they play here :(

• Registered Users Posts: 17,586 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Dont really like the band that much... But weirdly enough, i was talking to someone the other night who said herself and her friend were staying in their hotel too! They saw them in the lobby but didnt want to annoy the band, so they just saluted them (or summat) during breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

That is ****ing awesome stuff Oeneus! I know what that's like, I had a similar encounter with Opeth when they played here before. Awesome stuff getting to hang around with people you admire so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

thats fu<kin' amazing! Your not the person from Roadrunner that I was talking to outside the Apollo, who had met them? I queued for 6 hours outside the place (sad I know), but it was worth it when I got to be in the front row and got a pleck off the guitarist Emppu. Absolutely stunning gig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

Funnily enough I didn't get to meet anyone from RoadRunner. Although, I started talking to a guy from King Fu because he was sitting on his own looking bored, and he got really bitchy with me after I asked him questions regarding income from working with a Tour Managment company. F*cking tosser. I was just making conversation.

It was a funny night though. One of those nights where you think it couldn't get better but it does. If I got laid that night, it would have topped it off! :)

As soon as I get back home on Monday or Tuesday I'll post up some photos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Chaos_Path

and where was marco throughout all of this...?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Sounds like great fun!

/me goes green with envy... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Oh thats so fúcking legend.
    Ive only met a few celebs, Ron Jeremy especially, when I shook his hand I was like "OMFG, imagine how many pussies this has touched!!!"

He was like "Thats cool man, being a perv gets you everywhere in life, look at me"

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,123 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Dathai wrote:
    Oh thats so fúcking legend.
    Ive only met a few celebs, Ron Jeremy especially, when I shook his hand I was like "OMFG, imagine how many pussies this has touched!!!"

He was like "Thats cool man, being a perv gets you everywhere in life, look at me"
    ROFFLE :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭direbadger

Ahh you lucky thing, I love Nightwish!
    It's great when you meet people you admire music-wise and they turn out to be sound.

Hehe. Marco dropped pretty early. Within the first couple of hours he was beyond wasted, and started dropping glasses on the floor to see if they'd smash. Then he fell against a piller looking at the floor while stroking his parted beard. I was pissing myself with laughter. He was eventually escorted to his room by a roadie. Hehe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 invisibleghost

That sounds so great! You're so lucky! Damn, I'd kill just to see them live...
    I shall now have to steal this experience from you... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

That's exactly the kind of stories I am searching for to publish on my new website www.concert-reviews.net

Can you send me the story as a guest report, please !!!!!!!!!! Some pics would be cool as well.

I'd prefer it if you didn't publish it to be honest.

Just out of interest what's in it for me?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Yeah - doing something like that would be rather cool - I have a friend who did the same with Lacuna Coil. That said, you need to be invited to the meet&greet first.

Personally, I can't think of any band that would get me to turn up hours early for a gig uninvited though - I did it once for Gomez and it was just plain boring, and have never done it since.

Sounds like a good night though - good job you can play the piano while hammered!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Personally, I can't think of any band that would get me to turn up hours early for a gig uninvited though - I did it once for Gomez and it was just plain boring, and have never done it since.
    Any bands playing in Whelans (Crowbar, Nevermore, Hatebreed, etc)usually drink in the pub part before the gig, and are pretty sound. In a small venue like that, this usually happens, so if you like a band playing in Whelans (that starts at about 9pm) start drinking there at about 6pm or 7pm, and there's a good chance they'll be drinking there.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Great story man! Which Muse pieces did you play on the piano? Some impressive drunken Space Dementia or Piano Thing stuff me hopes!

the_syco wrote:
    Any bands playing in Whelans (Crowbar, Nevermore, Hatebreed, etc)usually drink in the pub part before the gig, and are pretty sound.

Same in the Limelight/Katy Daly's but going and having a few beers in the pub adjacent to the gig is not quite the same as standing around outside queuing for hours to be in the front row...

I gave Apocalypse Please and Butterflies & Hurranes a Good Hammering, and then chilled out with Endlessly and Megalomaina. I suck at Space Dementia. I was too scared to start playing some Nightwish tunes because I was so scared of being judged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 PAINLESS

Dont really like the band that much... But weirdly enough, i was talking to someone the other night who said herself and her friend were staying in their hotel too! They saw them in the lobby but didnt want to annoy the band, so they just saluted them (or summat) during breakfast.

youre mate wasnt Maria cooper of tralee by any chance??
    cos i was there with her.. seen nightwish twice now first time back in feb i was right at the front brilliant gig! this time me n maria WERE at the front until she passed out and i dragged her back still enjoyed the gig though .
    yeah we didnt wanna annoy them so we just congratulated them on a brilliant gig, didnt wanna seem geeky by gushing all over them although if tarja had've been there i probably wouldve... :p

Brilliant story man!! nice one!!

You should of stayed with us for a drink. It was cool.

All the people that were there as well as the fanclub members are all actually having a get together in Leeds on 5th November if you're interested (Nightwish won't be there I'm afraid :)).

We're going to see some band called Season's End, go bowling, and then off to some Rock Club night or something.

Oeneus wrote:

We're going to see some band called Season's End, go bowling, and then off to some Rock Club night or something.
    they were plugging that band in the queue outside the Apollo so I looked them up-not great IMO. There was a big Irish crowd at the gig-I met people from Dublin, Wicklow and Monaghan there.

Oeneus wrote:

I'd imagine that'd be The Wendy House - always a great night out.

http://www.thewendyhouse.org

Nightwish wrote:
    they were plugging that band in the queue outside the Apollo so I looked them up-not great IMO. There was a big Irish crowd at the gig-I met people from Dublin, Wicklow and Monaghan there.

WAS THERE??? where were yiz all?? i was up near the front of the queue (for all the good it did me) n me n my mate were the only paddys i could see..damn

PAINLESS wrote:
    WAS THERE??? where were yiz all?? i was up near the front of the queue (for all the good it did me) n me n my mate were the only paddys i could see..damn
    i was at the front of the queue too. Were you up where the inflatable cow or sheep or whatever it was, originated? I didnt notice any Irish til I was inside. I had a big Irish flag, which got me some attention :)

yeah the sheep!! i was up there, everyone signed it!! it certainly killed a bit o time throwin it around.. that and the near brawl that started between two homeless guys! i dont remember anyone with an irish flag in the queue..when i was inside i was too busy carrying my unconscious friend back from the barrier to notice anything...i had on a black leather trench and a blood red shirt if that helps..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

PAINLESS wrote:
    i dont remember anyone with an irish flag in the queue..
    I imagine she would have been the one in pink with matching fluffy attachments.Ring a bell?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

ha.. crazy