Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

galway

• 10-09-2001 2:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

is any1 here from or been out in galway...i'm staying in galway city next weekend...and havent a clue which pubs/clubs to go to..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭beaver

What kinda music do you like?

-Ross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 karl

dance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

I stayed up in galway for the weekend in august. went to cuba thats v chilled out.u should try it.

Originally posted by karl
    dance

Can't help ya there then...

-Ross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

If you like dance then I suppose you should go to the GPO at the weekend. Or the first floor in Cuba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

well . dance you say ..... go to carlow . galway aint that good for dance at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

The Alley (near AbraKebabra in eyre Square, down an alleyway surprisingly enough)
    Cuba, at top of Eye Square
    GPO, perpendicular to the street the the Alley runs off down from, kinda moving away from Eure Square (Eglinton Street)
    Tehre area good few otehr palces for gigs, live bands and stuff, teh Cellar Bar is on Eglinton Street too. Loads of spots.

Of course if you want to be whre all teh action is go to LetterFrack - "The Club-Culture-Capital of Connemara" - Bord Fáilte

[FCA]SyxPak ur under age what do you know about clubs ... this guy is lookin for a quality one .... try liquid ... might b a laugh since the new owners took it over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

[FCA]SyxPak don't mention The Alley coz that's chart music. Clubs that play chart music pull more ppl because the music is general and not biased towards dance, metal, commercial etc. New clubs always start off with chart music for this very reason, and some even stay with it. Take CPs (Galways most popular club) and Boo Radleys (Galways newest club) for example.

If clubs are going to turn to one taste in music they pop in a night here and there, usually Wednesday is trial night. They see how it goes and if there is enough of a responce, they consider the new strategy. I for one think that clubs should stop being sooo general and more specific, because I hate chart music and so do my friends. But we bloody well end up in the likes of CPs every fookin weekend. Simply because all the good looking women go there. There is practically a whole psychology based around social scene and clubbing etc. It's amasing how you can predict ppl's next moves based on how they socialise.

But back to the point,
    Liquid is Salthill is Galways only pure dance club (with the odd metal night, I think). The new management have started a Space night (from Space in Temple Theatre). They get in big DJs every Friday night. I was there a few weeks ago at Mauro Picotto. But the problem with Liquid is that the crowd are a bit young. There doesn't seem to be a solid dress code on the door and the doormen are decent. You can wear runners and jeans etc. Eg. I wore a baggy Tommy Hilfiger's, Hoody, and runners, and I wasn't even asked for ID. Liquid are quite happy to pull the crowd so there are not going to turn many ppl away. But eventhough this is a pure dance club, I don't recommend you spend a night out in Salthill. Even though I am typing this is Salthill, and have lived here most of my life, I still think that the younger crowd dominate it. Better craic in town anyway.

GPO on Eglinton St, used to have a decent night on Fridays, with Ted banging out some nice Trance and stuff. I don't know is that still going on coz I generally don't go to that club. But I was there on a Thursday night about a month ago, and Raymond Franklin is resident on that night. He was playing some exellent progressive stuff and the music alone made the night.

Cuba in Eyre Square, has 3 floors (including the ground floor bar). The floor above that is the dance floor and is the nicest looking. Saturday night is the only night I would go there. It's DJ Keith and Ferg, who are friends of mine, and IMO play some of the best tracks around. They are a legend combined, churning out the best tunes back to back. Keith usually scratches every so often and practically does a handstand on the decks. Tis quite a show.

I wouldn't bother with the rest coz they are more interested in generating a cattle mart where people walk over ppl, and stand in 20 - 30 min queues for the bar. That's not really my idea of a good night out. But elexes is right, that Galway isn't the place for dance music. It should be, but unfortunately it's not.

Enjoy yourself nevertheless,

;-phobos-)

thx phob uve proved in more detail then i would of ever don that i am right

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

aye, i went to cuba last sat night and it was pretty cool (the upstairs anyway.. i didn't like what was being played downstairs, but then again I am not a big dance fan *shrug* )

what clubs,. pubs, spots are good for metal/rock/alternicrap in galway?

I've heard of "sally longs" ? .. is that right? mostly I've been going to the student bar, and they play some good **** there, but I need something to bang my head along to :)

and er,... Cp's is the most popular club?... but it's ****e! the floor is sticky, the place is a mess... that's a big shock to the system :)

yeah, Sally Longs.
    Opposite side if the street to CPs.

The Róisín Dubh is a good spot for gigs too.

www.roisindubh.com I think.
    Coincidentally Lanfest is opposite the Róisín too, in case u wanna play a few games.....
    If you can find Munroes you can find everyplace else.

What's the Cellar like Phobos? Just general Rock, pop shiot or what?

I was only helping the lad out too, I mentioned The Alley, others mentioned Cps. yet You b!tch at me. :/
    And I don't bother with Salthill so i never thought of Liquid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭jamiecake

id prefer cuba,central to, near that square i can never spell, (eyre..)although if ur into ur tunes and medication...liquid is alright bit far away fro city,but hey galway is cool anyway enjoy urself:D

roisindubh.net and yeah, it rocks.

The Cellar is just okay downstairs if there's a decent band.

Sally's for metal/alternative although of late there's a lot less metal in there I think.

There's a cool fairly heavy blues night on Wednesdays in Cobblers (up from the Roisin a bit...) from 9 I think.

For metal (and just generally heavier alternative) in clubs I think Cuba* is the best bet on a Thursday or a Sunday. Likely to get **** like RATM, Metallica, AC/DC, Smashing Pumpkins, RHCP, Nirvana, dEUS, Radiohead, Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, The Pixies and a whole lot of other stuff... the live bands there tend to be good. See the Galway Advertiser for what's gonna be on during the next week.

-Ross

Class. Might try Cuba some week so, when i get a bit of drinking monies together.
    when u say there's that sort of music there, do you mean they play CDs or is it live bands doing covers?

Originally posted by [FCA]SyxPak
    when u say there's that sort of music there, do you mean they play CDs or is it live bands doing covers?

Both. Just depends on the night...

-Ross

hrm
    i might pop over to cuba tonight so, i was only their on a sat. before.

will see if I can get some of the girls to go... all the lads I am living with have lectures at 9am :), and i don;t know anyone else here heh.

Originally posted by Mordeth
    will see if I can get some of the girls to go...

Always good :)
    all the lads I am living with have lectures at 9am :), and i don;t know anyone else here heh.

They don't go out on Thursday nights 'coz they got lectures? Ye gawds!

heh, wait till you see the girls I know :)

lovely altogether

and i'm not sure about the lads hehe.. one of em hasn;t been out at all afaik.. and one of em is coming back from home today.. he is doing arts, so he will prob head out

seeing as he hasn't got anything to do for the next week.. bastard arts students :)

heh, wait till you see the girls I know :)

lovely altogether

To Cuba tonight then ;)

hehe
    i will talk to them today sometime, and see if I can convince them :)

yer not in corrib are ya? think they might be having a small party or something , *shrug*

time will tell...
    will prob need beer for meself :)

hehe
    i will talk to them today sometime, and see if I can convince them :)

yer not in corrib are ya? think they might be having a small party or something , *shrug*

time will tell...
    will prob need beer for meself :)

I'm not, no. Sure mail me the details later if ya like...

-Ross

will do

am gona grab a bite to eat and see what's up back home,
    should be back online in a few hours :)

ttyl