Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer quiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

Name the only team in england who's name starts with 5 consonants....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

does Football Club count??

that ones done roddy :D

well what do ye mean, Coote, starts with 5 consonants, like the F and the C are consonants after all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Crystal Palace

easy

Rightio i know my answer is right so my question

Which is the only team to have played in the Premier League, the old old Divisions 1, 2, 3 and 4, and Divisions 3 South and 3 North?

roddy your a nutter fair play to u :p...next question lads

ah jeebus Sarge thats another days work...
    Im off, hopefully that one will be solved by the morning

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Wigan?

Roddy23 wrote:
    ah jeebus Sarge thats another days work...
    Im off, hopefully that one will be solved by the morning

good question that i nicked from someone :)

wigan is wrong !

im definatey outta here, only copped what ye were talking about Coote.
    I think i'm losing it here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Dont forget Stevenage Borough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

For some reason, Leeds United won't get out of my head in realtion to this question.

wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Notts County have been around the longest so I'll guess them

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Notts County have been around the longest so I'll guess them

wrong !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Barnesly or Bradford?

Culchie wrote:
    Barnesly or Bradford?

wrong , wrong !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

is it wimbledon cos they went from a non-league side to the premiership in 7/8 years i think :confused:

Newcastle United?

yom 1 wrote:
    is it wimbledon cos they went from a non-league side to the premiership in 7/8 years i think :confused:

nope . Just for the record im going to repeat the question !
    Which is the only team to have played in the Premier League, the old old Divisions 1, 2, 3 and 4, and Divisions 3 South and 3 North?
    Yesterday 23:19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Preston North End? Sheffield Utd?

this is a very tough one

sheffield wed, blackburn, derby county, ipswich, :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

is it charlton atheletic? orfor some reason im thinking its Fulham

No to all the above answers .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Coventry City

Pigman II wrote:
    Coventry City

yes correct and right , hope there was no google involved

your question pigmanII

Nah I read it in a soccer annual years ago. It's the kinda thing you remember.

On August 24th 1974 (3 weeks in) which club was 1st in the old English Division1?

Pigman II wrote:
    Nah I read it in a soccer annual years ago. It's the kinda thing you remember.

On August 24th 1974 (3 weeks in) which club was 1st in the old English Division1?

thats a ridculous question in fairness , its not even trivia !

You'll think its trivia when you know the answer.

Derby or Stoke?

Ipswich.

Did some adverse weather cause the first three weeks to be postponed thus meaning all clubs were joint first?

*clutches at straws*

If not, I'll guess Man City :D

No to all guesses so far.

liverpool -- is that whats trivial about it

Not Liverpool.

They're not in the Prem this season. They've never been in the prem tbh.

Carlisle Utd?

Correct!

What animal is said to be buried beneath the North Bank of Highbury.
    Fairly easy one....

Roddy23 wrote:
    Carlisle Utd?

Think so (I cheated :o )

Roddy23 wrote:
    What animal is said to be buried beneath the North Bank of Highbury.

A Horse, of course ;)

Oldish one this, but it has been updated. Own goals not counting, there are now 8 players who have scored for 5 different clubs while playing in the Premiership, and one player who has scored for 6 different clubs. Who are they?

Bonus: The player who netted for 6 different clubs has scored hat tricks for 3 of them. What other two players in the Prem also share this accolade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Les Ferdinand,(six clubs?, hat tricks)
    Teddy Sheringham, (5 clubs,hat tricks)
    Dwight Yorke(5 clubs),
    Andy Cole(5 clubs),
    Shearer (hat tricks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

Are all these players still currently playing?
    Im guessin there's a couple of midfielders in there

Some players have now retired (and moved into management..hint..), however all the goals were scored since 1992. There are three midfielders in there, all of them would have been classed as attacking midfielders. One of the strikers played a bit as a DMC in his final seasons, culminating in Cup success........

Following are correct
    1.Sir Les Ferdinand (6)
    2.Edward Sheringham
    3.Andrew Cole
    4.Stanley Collymore
    5.Ashley Ward
    6.Nicholas Barmby
    7.Mark Hughes
    8.Bennito Carbone
    9.?

Hat-tricks
    1.Sir Les
    2.?
    3.?

stan collymore

Nick Barmby and Mark Hughes. (Hughes might be one of the hatrickers?)

Ashley Ward? Patrick Berger?

Good work guys, two more 5 club players left, both Johhny Foreigners. The two hat-trick of hat tricks players are both "home" players, yet have both had stints on the continent.......

Robbie fowler for hat trick of hat tricks