Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Lansdowne Road Riots 1995: Ireland v England

• 07-10-2005 1:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭

Hey,

I'm sure you can all remember the Ireland v England Lansdowne Road riots.

I have the RTE news from the following day on Video.

Would any of you be interested in me converting it to digital and uploading it? It's quite interesting viewing.

I will never forget watching that match. Shocking, disturbing and (I hate to say it) entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I was there! I'd love to see it. Any technophiles out there?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I was at it, had great fun watching the Gardai beat the living crap out of those thugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

I was stweard but at the wrong side, coppers handed out batons to the stewards and told them to start a classic pincers movement . The lad you see vaulting the barrier baton in one hand, english git in the other is a mate of mine (got me the steward job for a bit)

Oh how i wanted to be on the other side :D

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Was a long thread about this not so long ago! search isnt working so cant pull it up....anyway it descended into some very imature comments so I am staying away from this one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,896 ✭✭✭SteM

I can convert it onto DVD if that's any use to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Just a little reminder for people to watch what they say with sweeping generalizations in case the thread goes out of control .

talla wrote:
    Just a little reminder for people to watch what they say with sweeping generalizations in case the thread goes out of control .

Indeed but when the fans were cleared from the ground and there was 1500 English fans left in the ground in the upper stand, there is only 1 word for those fans.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I was there too. Middle of the upper deck of the West Stand, far too close to the English. There wasnt one Garda in the upper deck.

Started off as slagging between the Irish fans in the terrace and the English in the stand, escalated to gestures, escalated to one English guy throwing a missile, a plastic bottle or similiar. Then it was as if there was a pause, and they were all waiting for your man to be fecked out. Suddenly it was as if the English realised there were no coppers about and they could do whatever they liked and all hell broke loose - even up to ripping up most of the seats and throwing them.

Scary sh!t, but thakfully for me and the other Irish in the West Stand all the missiles were been thrown downwards and not across to us. As it happened it was mostly English who were directly below them, so those guys had no choice but to escape onto the field - where the Gardai did a great job of knocking the bollocks out of the largely innocent English, while the guilty scum got away largely scot-free. A few of the guilty were of course caught and charged, but not anywhere near enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭The Rooster

KdjaC wrote:
    Indeed but when the fans were cleared from the ground and there was 1500 English fans left in the ground in the upper stand...
    kdjac
    Thankfully I was gone by then, so have no clue what happened next

where the Gardai did a great job of knocking the bollocks out of the largely innocent English, while the guilty scum got away largely scot-free. A few of the guilty were of course caught and charged, but not anywhere near enough.

As is normal when theres trouble at games, what happened after the other fans (like you) were removed from the ground was basically just a massacre. At least 500 coppers with stewards moved in and just knocked the bollix out of the english fans. had it been a football match the score would have been
    Gardai 1465 English Fans 3.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

Ah yes the Gardai. Numerous threads about there hevey handness only have to go to a Rovers Bohs match to see the gardai inability to handle crowds. All to often they go for the innocent while the scum who aggrovated it all nothing happens might get one or 2 charged and claim it was a sucess as I guess was the same for this match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

i actually found my ticket stub just yesterday! i was up there as a young twelve year old. was scary stuff at the time. i cant remember much of the game except the goal. what time did it come at? i know it was early enough. how were the teams playing?

England looked dangerous on the break but we were on top, maybe a goal coming for England at the time. But Think we scored in 21st minute match stopped in 29th irc.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

what date was the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

ahh we were killing them. David Kelly got the goal on 22 minutes, or was it Tommy Coyne, nah it was David Kelly......... i think. I remember Eddie McGoldrick was all over the english, he was on fire!

Where is he now, eh! :rolleyes:

it was ferbrary 95, around the 19th i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

remember RTE news making such a big deal over this kid who went to all the irish games and they had clips of him at this match as well. seemed pretty pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=291903
    Good thread here I started about it a while back - seeing if people ever think we're any closer to playing England 10 years on, plus other accounts of the night in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Eddie McGoldrick

i read somewhere that he was coaching in America, some kids team.
    In his day he wasn't bad, remember when i was at an Arsenal game, playing Forest, and Eddie came on. He took a shot and the ball flew over towards the corner flag up by the clock end, and the ball went out of the stadium.
    Quality

evad_lhorg wrote:
    remember RTE news making such a big deal over this kid who went to all the irish games and they had clips of him at this match as well. seemed pretty pointless.

i can remember that kid was brought on the late late show a week later and he got something, not sure what but it couldve been a renault laguna...ah no but he did get something for his trouble.

i wonder has he ever passed through this forum?

Same as last thread! everyone defending the scum that was at that match and saying it was the Garda's fault....now I am not saying that every fan from England there was scum, but why didnt the real fans point out the trouble makers? my point is why blame the Garda??? I dont see why they have to risk themselves in the middle of a shower of sh*theads by patrolling through the crowd.....we are supposed to be adults here!! I think the Garda did exactly the right thing....and if it was me I would have given them a good beating.....kept them in the stadium....let the Garda get there wind back and go back in and beat the cr*p out of them again....then walk them down to the sea and let them swim home!!!! thats me feelings anyway.....personal point of view here!!!

Also the point about the Rovers-Bohs match....why should they bother.....if they where all around crowd they would be too sparse and would end up just getting abuse and spat on by the crowd....again we are supposed to be grown ups...and dont say well it is a minor few...well if it is a minor few, arnt the rest of you in the crowd grown ups with sense??? why dont you put a stop to it??? dont you think the Garda have enough to do without handling a crowd full of children?????? if you dont want to see this happen then inform the club of who these minor few are and get them thrown out of the ground and banned from all games....simple.....

Also I have never seen a problem with any rugby match I have been too or watched no matter what team we where playing or what part of the World we where in.....usually Dublin on a 6-nations weekend game is full of Scottish/Welsh/English fans all out drinking and there is very few if any problems.....one night was out having a smoke and ended up in conversation with an English and Welsh fan about the 6 nations....everyone was joining in and giving there 2 cents when having a smoke....slagging was going on.....still didnt have to beat the crap out of each other......grown up people is what they are called......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

I agree completly with you big nelly but the state of play is that EL has the following of those class of people, and a major effort must be taken to stop this on every part Club Fans and Gardai. But unfortunately the Club doesnt show enough interest apart form the really bad ones. gardai are too heavy handed with normal folk and dont handle the scum appropiately. How long did it take them to realise that at a rovers bhos match that the crows had to be released seperatly and disperse the crowds ( even in sayin this leads to the fans point) which in its self is inexcuable on the fans part.

Take the Bohs casuals ( the burbery chaps) total scum only go for a fight they sit in the same place every match far end of the Jodi stand. EASY TO SPOT for the Bohemian board why arent these banned ?? I dunno really seems pretty obvios to me?

Then the rovers heads little less harder so spot as there all in one group.

( i picked these two groups because they are the most prolific!)

BUt the point is if the boards want it bad enough to stop dont look at the match look at them and ny hassle at all BAN full stop.
    This should be pretty intuitive IMO!!!!!!

As for the fans well its like being in school again nobody wants to rat anybody out. sad really but thats the way it is. Should not be like that at all!!! But how do you pin point these people in a crowd ?? You dont know them you may see them once a week in a crowd a fan can be expected to do that !!!!!!!

Finally rugby is a ruffian sport played by gentlemen and scoccer is a gentlemans sport played by ruffians.

Rant over!

The bottom line is that these were not England fans so to speak, these were members of Combat 18 over to start a riot. They did the exact same thing when Cliftonville were playing Linfield at Windsor.

They were not a minority at Lansdowne, they were a large part of the crowd at the time. It was an organised riot which the Gardai, and the FAI chose to ignore. The riot would have been avoided if either had done their jobs properly. By the way, how dumb was the FAI for allocating the away fans in an upper tier of a stand?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

As it happened it was mostly English who were directly below them, so those guys had no choice but to escape onto the field .

Actually you are wrong there, i was sitting directly below them with many other irish fans.

air_vent wrote:
    As for the fans well its like being in school again nobody wants to rat anybody out. sad really but thats the way it is. Should not be like that at all!!! But how do you pin point these people in a crowd ?? You dont know them you may see them once a week in a crowd a fan can be expected to do that !!!!!!!

Finally rugby is a ruffian sport played by gentlemen and scoccer is a gentlemans sport played by ruffians.

Rant over!

As I was reading back over my point of view above I was waiting for someone to say that!! that why I mentioned adults....if you cant act like an adult and behave like one then you shouldnt be allowed to a football game...then we wouldnt have this "I aint no grass!!" which I think is pretty sad...one case I had a discussion on recently,.....someone smashes into a car on the st...parked one...think nobody notices and drives off....you see and take down number plate.......now are you going to go "I aint no grass!!" and walk off saying nothing......no I dont think you would.....guess why because you are supposed to be a resposible adult(I am taking it most people on boards is over 20's which seems to be the average) and you will report or leave a note on car with number plate.....now wants the difference in doing that and going over to a Garda and saying...."see that toss*r over there! he is trying to start trouble!" ......not much in my eyes....in both cases they where breaking the law,......can you explain the difference????? if people know they cant get away with this stuff they will either a) get banned, b) get bored of coming because they cant fight anymore.....then you would see alot more people going to EL matchs,.....I wouldnt go....because of the reason above.......

Also its got nothing to do with who is playing the game....supporters in a rugby/GAA game wouldnt take that crap!! I know I wouldnt and I have seen people telling the Garda at both GAA and rugby games of a trouble maker.....they where quickly either led out by Garda or where told they where not wanted by the fans in the area and either copped themselves on or walk out.......now how hard was that????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Any more news on this video getting onto the interweb? I'd fcuking love to see it again! :)

KdjaC wrote:
    I was stweard but at the wrong side, coppers handed out batons to the stewards and told them to start a classic pincers movement . The lad you see vaulting the barrier baton in one hand, english git in the other is a mate of mine (got me the steward job for a bit)

Oh how i wanted to be on the other side :D

kdjac
    KdjaC wrote:
    Yeah i know they werent allowed enter the country full stop , 5000 lovely people werent let travel over.

I was meant to be steward that day, thank god for sickies

kdjac

:eek: :D;) :cool: :)

Ooh... I knew there was something about that post that didn't fit. tut tut KdjaC!

He's gonna go hunting in Tolka later! :D

I was meant to be on "that" side instead i got the "please keep the ****ing stairwell clear" job on the other side. Or the handy one as its called.

Oddly tho most here dont seem to remember what happened to the fans who were in the ground after all the home fans were removed, it was a massacre same as Italian coppers vs English fans a few months later.

The side the English fans were on most of the stewards were bouncers with the odd normal steward thrown in, the gardai may have been unprepared but the security lad wasnt.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    how dumb was the FAI for allocating the away fans in an upper tier of a stand?!

Was in the section they were in for the playoff versus Belgium some years back and was amazed to see how they decided to put them there. Old wooden benches with the metal deviders screwed in with 1inch screws. Not the hardest thing to tear up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Was at the game myself and we were talking to a few English and they told us they were going to run amok but we didn't think it was going as bad as it was :eek: a mad nite alright :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Scary sh!t, but thakfully for me and the other Irish in the West Stand all the missiles were been thrown downwards and not across to us. As it happened it was mostly English who were directly below them, so those guys had no choice but to escape onto the field - where the Gardai did a great job of knocking the bollocks out of the largely innocent English, while the guilty scum got away largely scot-free. A few of the guilty were of course caught and charged, but not anywhere near enough.[/QUOTE]

has boards.ie turned into hate all things english or what at the moment.and your comment about the gardai doing a [great] job of knocking the bollocks out of the innocent english,a great job was it,i could say for example cromwell did a great job :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

county wrote:
    i could say example cromwell did a great job :rolleyes:

From an English point of view (at the time) he did .

People always seem ready to critisize the Gardai at a moments notice , wheather they have done right or wrong :( .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I was meant to be on "that" side instead i got the "please keep the ****ing stairwell clear" job on the other side. Or the handy one as its called.

Oddly tho most here dont seem to remember what happened to the fans who were in the ground after all the home fans were removed, it was a massacre same as Italian coppers vs English fans a few months later.

The side the English fans were on most of the stewards were bouncers with the odd normal steward thrown in, the gardai may have been unprepared but the security lad wasnt.

kdjac

I'd say when you tell your kids the story, it'll be that you held off a horde of 1,000 English men with little more than a baton!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Lemlin wrote:
    I'd say when you tell your kids the story, it'll be that you held off a horde of 1,000 English men with little more than a baton!

"Ah Jaysus Da, you're always telling us that story. Next you'll tell us about the time Pats won the league, like that ever happened..."

Which time? Up in Dundalk, Drogheda, down in Kilkenny or Dalk again or in Richer?

So many too choose from .......;)

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

KdjaC wrote:
    Which time? Up in Dundalk, Drogheda, down in Kilkenny or Dalk again or in Richer?

So many too choose from .......;)

kdjac

I always liked teh pats fan except for the one that ran over to me and stuck his two fingers in my face and shouted abuse , how i laughed when he was on his back :)

Sarge wrote:
    I always liked teh pats fan except for the one that ran over to me and stuck his two fingers in my face and shouted abuse , how i laughed when he was on his back :)

Wow that must have a long time ago when you were in the Premier ;) May get to meet them next season.

kdjac

KdjaC wrote:
    Wow that must have a long time ago when you were in the Premier ;) May get to meet them next season.

kdjac

well we certainly arent going up , You guys arein deep shiit now waterford and shams 2 of teh next three games , welcome to division 1 ill buy you a pint :)

Sarge wrote:
    well we certainly arent going up , You guys arein deep shiit now waterford and shams 2 of teh next three games , welcome to division 1 ill buy you a pint :)

Are away fans allowed into the bar at half time? Damn making us stand in the cold altho winning the league there was nice until Shels stole it from us.

kdjac

KdjaC wrote:
    Are away fans allowed into the bar at half time? Damn making us stand in the cold altho winning the league there was nice until Shels stole it from us.

kdjac

As far as i know yeah no reason why not , eh except the shams i know they weren't allowed in the bar , depends how big the numbers are as well to be honest .