Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Upset the Swiss!!!

• 11-10-2005 2:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭

Received this in an email from a mate of mine who is a Derry City fan:

=====================================================
    Got this from the Derry City Chat room by a guy calling himself 'Tippfan'.

"Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football.

THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD

BRING DRUMS, AIRHORNS, FIREWORKS ETC. !!!

http://www.herbertparkhotel.ie/location.htm

So anyone in dublin tonight u know where to go!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭por

"Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football.

THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD

I've a better idea

When we are 1-0 up agaist them away, go on and win the game.
    When we are 1-0 up against Israel away, go on and win the game
    When we are 2-0 up against israel at home, go on and win the game

That should have upset the swiss enough to put us in the Finals !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Wasnt it a while ago when England where playing away someone came in and set off fire alarm and it took ages to make sure hotel was safe before they could go back in before an important game??? or was it some other team!! remember hearing this on news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

crazy stuff.

id much rather see us upset them on the field but im curious to know how many people will be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

yeah yeah I know. I would have preferred if it was done on the pitch as well...

I just thought it was a bit of 'light relief' before the match :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

it would be so funny though. a parade around the hotel at 4am. a sea of green singin "wake them up, for the boys in the green"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Pretty sad that we would have to resort to this...

... now where did I put that airhorn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I think this idea goes back to WC70. The England team upset local Mexicans by deciding to bring all their own food and water to the country instead of eating/drinking the local food. In return for this 'insult' locals stayed outside the England teams hotel every night making a racket in the hope of disturbing the players sleep.

The Mexicans looked petty back then for their actions ... as will we if this goes ahead. No surpise then it was the DCFC fans to be the one to come up with this idea. They're always overcompensating for the fact that they support a team from the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

^^^ I remember that actually.... funny mexicans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Pigman II wrote:

The Mexicans looked petty back then for their actions ... as will we if this goes ahead. No surpise then it was the DCFC fans to be the one to come up with this idea. They're always overcompensating for the fact that they support a team from the UK.

Controversial.

Anybody thinking of going along with this should expect the Plod to move you on pretty sharpish once the hotel staff place a call to the local station. Forewarned is forearmed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Jesus, Irish people have really reached a new level of pathetic.

Fingers crossed the gards will carck their skulls before they can make to much noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus, Irish people have really reached a new level of pathetic.

But as Pigman said, they're British ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

they are from the uk not britain! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

a guy on the Derry city forum calling himself "Tippfan"

strange that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

if it gets us to the world cup.............. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,872 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Smash our Omegas and Rolexes that would upset them :D

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

You do realise after about two minutes the guards will arrest you for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

That's what happend in Italia '90 beofre our game against the Italians. About 100 taxi drivers circled their hotel all night beeping horns.

Cost us the WC tbh. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Ha Ha nice one,a bit juvenile buit hey if it works we'll all be laughing :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

Haha fair play to you. God loves a tryer. I just cant help but admire the entusiasm. Good luck although I doubt you will be around for long, as was said i dont think the gardaí will take kindly to your welcome party.

Its completley unnecessary as we are gonna trash the swiss anyways :)

we're gonna get some walloping what are you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

Ah come on have some faith. Might aswell be hopeful...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

evad_lhorg wrote:
    we're gonna get some walloping what are you on about?

Agree 100%. I'm considering putting €1200 on Switzerland +2 handicap. It'll only win be €200, but hey, it's a free €200...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

hmm this has to be the most pathetic thread I have seen here in a while.

If people are dumb enough to do this I hope the Gardai give them a good hiding !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

I've backed the Swiss at 10/3, great odds if you ask me. A few hundred will hopefully ease the pain in case of a WC exit.

I'd be prepared to pay whatever I'd lose to guarantee progressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I've backed the Swiss at 10/3, great odds if you ask me. A few hundred will hopefully ease the pain in case of a WC exit.

I'd be prepared to pay whatever I'd lose to guarantee progressing.

ditto....altho a draw will be a total nightmare :eek:

RuggieBear wrote:
    ditto....altho a draw will be a total nightmare :eek:
    The thing is though, if the game is tied in the last ten minutes we will obviously be bombing forward (well Kerr-style :rolleyes: ) looking to score a winner.

A victory for the Swiss means that they will top the group, so given that scenario if they see an opportunity to grab a winner they will go for it.

I can see a late winner in this one either way.

The thing is though, if the game is tied in the last ten minutes we will obviously be bombing forward (well Kerr-style :rolleyes: ) looking to score a winner.

A victory for the Swiss means that they will top the group, so given that scenario if they see an opportunity to grab a winner they will go for it.

I can see a late winner in this one either way.

Alternatively, if either side is one up in the last ten minutes, the other team will be bombing forward looking for the equaliser.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dublin's Finest

Don't be talking about last minute winners lads! I'm nervous enough already. Hate that feeling watching Ireland...you know the one? Going into the last ten minutes and you're just praying someone doesn't **** up.

Remember Suker against us for Croatia?
    Remember Macedonia!!!

It's going to be agony to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

*YAAAaaaawwwn* lovely kip...I wonder how the swiss lads got on :D

I have to agree, this will be a last 10 minute job no matter what happens, one of the teams will be gunning for a win/draw as the game will be so tight.

I just hope it's us with 11 lads behind the ball, and a pain of glass on the goal line, like the Israelies had here.

Instead of us hoofing the ball up to the ginger pele, looking in vain for a goal....like in the Israel game :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Did this nonsense actually go ahead then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

i have a funny feeling that robbie k will score the winner in the last ten mins

may check the odds on that!

9-2 but another intresting bet 2-1 to ireland and robbie to score first 28-1

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Nah, the saviour will be Andy Reid with a belter. The boy is pure class.

40-1 reid to score and 1-0 win,

county wrote:
    40-1 reid to score and 1-0 win,

I'm off down the bookies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Hmmm.. I could never bet against Ireland in a match.

DubGuy wrote:
    That's what happend in Italia '90 beofre our game against the Italians. About 100 taxi drivers circled their hotel all night beeping horns.
    Did that really happen?

B.

BaZmO* wrote:
    Hmmm.. I could never bet against Ireland in a match.
    If you bet at all you have to put all loyalties aside, otherwise you will invariably end up losing.

The Swiss are incredibly long odds for the win, and a good bet is a good bet regardless of who you are betting for/against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

If you bet at all you have to put all loyalties aside, otherwise you will invariably end up losing.

Couldn't agree more.

As the saying goes "Bet with the head and not with the heart"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

The Swiss are incredibly long odds for the win, and a good bet is a good bet regardless of who you are betting for/against.

Odds on a Swiss win: Paddy Powers - 11/4 Ladbrokes - 7/2 Sky Bet - 5/2

Odds on a Irish win: Paddy Powers - Evens Ladbrokes - 2/1 Sky Bet - 10/11

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    I'm off down the bookies.

just put a ton on it myself

come on ireland and A reid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I know what you mean, but it's just a personal thing. I personally couldn't bet against a team I support.

B.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

BaZmO* wrote:
    I know what you mean, but it's just a personal thing. I personally couldn't bet against a team I support.

I agree with BaZmO* on this onw. It just wouldnt feel right betting against Ireland. I dont think the Swiss will beat us tonight anyway although im not so sure we will win either. A draw is the most likely result at the moment imo

a draw would suck tbh. id rather see the swiss go through than israel.