Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post a picture of your car here, part 3 (Quote A Photo, GET A 24 HOUR BAN!!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

Picked myself up somethin new a couple of weeks ago needs a little detailing but all in its own good time!! :-) AB9934649DFE43CD93F1E4FC48F834FC-0000346840-0003488706-00800L-D1BB7DC7117B431A83740A46E936C7A9.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Irishcrx wrote: »
    2.5 V6 , I wanted that one in particular so had to get it in the UK not many in good condition over here, apart from needing the pedal box it has a full service history, new exhaust system , fully rebuilt suspension , re-gassed air con , all electrics working , full leather , heated seats the works , a years MOT and all for the grand price of 800 pounds + VRT of course.=)

190 bhp then :)
    More than enough and the V6 purr is just divine.
    You've got yourself a nicely kitted car there.
    VRT shouldn't be so expensive, I remember when I imported a 2.4 156 I paid about 500e in 2009.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

bear1 wrote: »
    190 bhp then :)
    More than enough and the V6 purr is just divine.
    You've got yourself a nicely kitted car there.
    VRT shouldn't be so expensive, I remember when I imported a 2.4 156 I paid about 500e in 2009.

Yeah I think it's €700 at the minute, happy to pay it for what I got. The v6 is lovely music to the motoring ears , plenty of pull in her. Didn't get to enjoy the drive to Holyhead as much as I wanted though as the pedal box was worrying me, should have her back by this weekend then I'll get her out on a proper spin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Taylor365 wrote: »
    @GvidoR

Looks well. Stop while your ahead though.

:P

Stop working on my car? Never. :P

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Yeah I think it's €700 at the minute, happy to pay it for what I got. The v6 is lovely music to the motoring ears , plenty of pull in her. Didn't get to enjoy the drive to Holyhead as much as I wanted though as the pedal box was worrying me, should have her back by this weekend then I'll get her out on a proper spin.

What is the issue with the pedal box? This?

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-164-and-166/227723-pedal-box-failure.html

I think people would like the see also that chromed V6 engine btw ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

bear1 wrote: »
    What is the issue with the pedal box? This?

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-164-and-166/227723-pedal-box-failure.html

I think people would like the see also that chromed V6 engine btw ;)

Yep that's the issue, too far gone for repair though it's had a couple of 'quick' fixes on it before, guy I bought it off was very straight with me about it so has to be replaced, Ti's are installing a bracket on it to prevent it happening again.

I promise chromed V6 pics when I get it back the weekend!

Top man :)
    Ti's come highly recommended :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Lookin' fine. It makes me smile so much.

12614973034_1673e11ab3_z.jpg
    12614629275_07d384d525_z.jpg

That's a very interesting Honda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

its a bit of a legend :pac:

And inside. Its lovely inside.

12614604975_45ccbca5f4_z.jpg
    12615008224_8871b0c7f3_z.jpg

Kaiser D wrote: »
    And inside. Its lovely inside.

...except that it is automatic. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Cruisers are for Cruising ;)

Rare one among these parts.

GvidoR wrote: »
    ...except that it is automatic. ;)

How can I concentrate on the on-board TV if I had to keep changing gears all the time?

Or how could I enjoy my arse and back massage?

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Kaiser, come to the meet in that :D

I can do, Sunday's suit me better for meets.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,227 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Heres some of my old machines:

Ford Focus RS

529716_440276332665585_1004641937_n.jpg

EP3 Type R Civic

580625_440276109332274_342201778_n.jpg

Subaru Legacy RS & Impreza Sti Wagon

538507_440276235998928_591855843_n.jpg

My Pajero

543041_440276005998951_1007549589_n.jpg

The Rally cars

306 GTI

542158_440276069332278_1395066237_n.jpg

Ford Wally Ka

407472_363871210306098_774653452_n.jpg

There's a few more that I must dig out pics of.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It's amazing how tame the RS was compared to what the last one looks like :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,292 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

The mk1 RS are a stunning car in the flesh though even though the interior is an aqquired taste

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

The mk1 RS are a stunning car in the flesh though even though the interior is an aqquired taste

Never said it wasn't nice ya dope! I've always been a fan of it!

If were doing the previous cars thing again, I'll leave this here

12595417165_b19b659e6b_z.jpg

Cinq van.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

They actually made a van version of that car? :pac:

Literally giggling here like a schoolgirl.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Yeah completely agree. The subtle changes in lines for the RS just set that car off and the colour of it is gorgeous in the flesh.

Also Dave is a spa. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Feck, I'd love a MK1 RS.
    I like mad cars but the latest RS is a bit Much for me. Weird, I know...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

What's the difference between an RS and a ST?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

POWAAAR!!
    Wider, harder, faster... More expensive.

Like ye difference between a Civic SIR and Type R.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    They actually made a van version of that car? :pac:

Literally giggling here like a schoolgirl.

Haha, they made a Seicento van from factory (we never got them)

I made this myself over a weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Depending on how long you drive one, probably a few vertebrae. :pac:

As Cian has said, the RS is the race machine really made for road (in as much as a Focus hatch can be a race machine). It's like an ST on steroids.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,227 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

What's the difference betwean RS and a ST?

The St was a 2.0 version of the Focus with uprated wheels, interior and suspension. I'm fairly sure the engine was tuned a bit too.

The RS however was a totally different beast, almost all of it was uprated, the engine had a turbo strapped to it along with a heap of uprated internals. The power was upped to 215bhp claimed however mune when dyno'd as standard was running 230bhp.

The interior was a half leather Recaro bucket seat affair.

Brakes were upgraded to 4 pot Brembos similar to this found on Evos.

18" Oz alloys

The gearbox was a getrag box with a very tight limited slip diff ( torque steer was severe enough if you weren't ready for it)

The suspension was lowered and hardened using Sachs shock absorbers. The track was also widened.

The body shell had wider wheel arches to suit the wider track.

She was a beauty of a car to own and a real rocket on the road ( she ran out of digits in the clock once or twice.. In Germany...ahem) but there was a few things I didnt like:

1. RS parts were very dear. Ie. Front break pads were over 250euro!! and she was partial to a set regularly enough. Ended up using race spec pads which I could get a lot cheaper from the same people I was buying the pads for the rallycar from.

2. No spare wheel.. It had a wheel well in the boot filled with foam and a bottle of gunk. The 18" rim wouldnt fit in the well, hence no spare :(

3. She torque steered like a bitch. Very scary when your not expecting it to happen.

4. When the patrol light came on, you had ten mins to get to a petrol station. Caught me once or twice....

5. It had no temperature gauge.. Interestingly enough the ST had one??

I still see that car in the road and I will have another in the next year or two.. I hope to have a Mk1 and a Mk2 in the next few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

^^ Thanks for the detailed post man!