Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IBB Network in the worst state yet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

does anyone know what exactly IBB are doing to their ripwave network next weekend????
    apparently they're upgrading the network but in what way i don't know.

"Important Notice from Irish Broadband - Planned network maintenance on Ripwave has been scheduled between Monday 24th - Friday 28th Oct 2005.
    Irish broadband is upgrading its Ripwave network next week. On Monday 24th Oct between the hours of 9am – 1pm we will be upgrading all of our Ripwave base-stations, this will mean a small outage of approximately 15 mins per base station.From Monday evening through to Friday evening 28th Oct we would ask that you please leave your Ripwave modems ‘Turned On’ as this will also allow us to upgrade your modem with the latest version of software"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭arcane99

Friday 23.30

:::.. Download Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 11 Kbps about 0 Mbps (tested with 579 kB)
    Download Speed is:: 1 kB/s
    Tested From:: http://testmy.net/ (server2)
    Test Time:: Fri Oct 21 23:32:51 UTC+0100 2005
    Bottom Line:: 0X faster than 56K 1MB download in 1024 sec
    Diagnosis: May need help : running at only 4.04 % of your hosts average (118.145)
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/stats/id-OEHR73U0C

Just after looking through my auto responses from IBB support@irishbroadband.ie and over the past 6 days they have recieved 613 support emails sent to them.

Has anyone on these boards ever recieved a response due to a query by email. Maybe this one should be set as a poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭sisyphus

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [64.233.183.104]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 5 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 12 ms 14 ms 11 ms DN16-fe-0-0-1-150-ballymun.irishbroadband.ie [62
    .231.57.65]
    3 15 ms 15 ms 20 ms DN40-fe-0-0-0-344-ballycoolin.irishbroadband.ie
    [62.231.52.173]
    4 18 ms 14 ms 16 ms DN04-fe-1-3-0-352-guinness.irishbroadband.ie [83
    .141.117.185]
    5 21 ms 20 ms 18 ms DN42-as0-0-ibis-access.irishbroadband.ie [62.231
    .52.153]
    6 19 ms * 20 ms DN42-ae0-13-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.11
    7.45]
    7 34 ms * 1995 ms 824.ge5-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.79.97]

8 * 2816 ms * 213-152-230-99.google.net [213.152.230.99]
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 78 ms 45 ms 131 ms 216.239.43.91
    11 46 ms * 47 ms 216.239.43.92
    12 * 57 ms * 216.239.43.30
    13 60 ms * 1071 ms 216.239.43.34
    14 2173 ms * 77 ms 64.233.183.104

Trace complete.

Ping statistics for 62.231.57.65:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 100, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 4ms, Maximum = 114ms, Average = 15ms

Ping statistics for 62.231.52.173:
    Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 368ms, Average = 39ms

Ping statistics for 83.141.117.185:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 70ms, Average = 16ms

Ping statistics for 62.231.52.153:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 234ms, Average = 19ms

Ping statistics for 83.141.117.45:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 50, Lost = 50 (50% loss),
    Minimum = 17ms, Maximum = 60ms, Average = 28ms

@Talisman: In fairness, have you actually looked at these results?!
    The 7th hop seems to be where the problem to that host appears. This does seem to be outside the IBB network according to your trace route. How do you hold IBB accountable for something outside their network?
      6    19 ms     *       20 ms  DN42-ae0-13-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.11
    7.45]
      7    34 ms     *     1995 ms  824.ge5-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.79.97]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

You see the thing with traceroutes is that they can be slightly misleading when viewed with just three pings to each server.
    6    19 ms     *       20 ms  DN42-ae0-13-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.11
    7.45]
      7    34 ms     *     1995 ms  824.ge5-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.79.97]

This doesn't actually prove the problem is in the uk server, it could still quite easily be in the IBB end. I have graphical traceroutes which have packetloss showing from the fourth hop til the seventh hop. However, i could (nearly) guarantee that if the packetloss was removed from the fourth hop, the "packetloss" would vanish from the 5, 6 and 7th hops.

The only way for a trace packet to reach hop 7 as in the above quote is if it goes through hop 6... and it could easily have picked up the packetloss and high ping from an erratic router at hop 6.

From past experience (and from pings earlier today) the problem is still within IBB's network, just at the router(s) where IBB connects to the main interweb (if ya know what i mean). Packetloss was a mere 3-4% for me today. Not half bad by IBB standards, but still too erratic for playing CS. I had to give up after 20 mins :(

EDIT:
    How do you hold IBB accountable for something outside their network?
    Quite easily. If IBB's supplier isn't reliable, IBB should change. Plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [64.233.183.104]

1     2 ms     2 ms     2 ms  DN02-fe-1-3-1-150-3rock.irishbroadband.ie [62.23
    1.33.17]
      2     4 ms     2 ms     2 ms  DN03-as1-0-tallaght.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.52
    .186]
      3     3 ms     2 ms     3 ms  DN42-as1-0-ibis-access.irishbroadband.ie [62.231
    .52.134]
      4    93 ms     *        *     DN42-ae0-13-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.11
    7.45]
      5    25 ms    22 ms    49 ms  824.ge5-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.79.97]

6    72 ms    52 ms    44 ms  213-152-230-99.google.net [213.152.230.99]
      7    32 ms     *       29 ms  72.14.238.246
      8    33 ms    32 ms     *     216.239.43.91
      9    37 ms    42 ms     *     216.239.43.88
     10     *        *       33 ms  216.239.43.26
     11    32 ms     *        *     64.233.183.104
     12     *       33 ms     *     64.233.183.104
     13     *        *      522 ms  64.233.183.104

Trace complete.

Yesterday pinging DN42-ae0-13-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.117.45], I experienced 100% packet loss. It is clearly the problem from all tracerts I've run over the past 4 days.

Ping statistics for 83.141.117.45:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 56, Lost = 44 (44% loss),
    Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 269ms, Average = 22ms

I'm also experiencing 50% - 60% packet loss pinging my DNS server.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭pete

speed test done right now:
    Downstream 2316 Kbps (289.5 KB/sec) 2501 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 3889 Kbps (486.1 KB/sec) 4200 Kbps (inc. overheads)

that'll do nicely.... but will it last?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

A speedtest puts me on about 35kB/sec, but bittorrent is averaging at over 90kB/sec. I believe bittorrent. Still, its a far cry from the 220kB/sec i should be getting. I definately think i'll be changing ISP shortly. I'm just waiting til Digiweb get all the problems with their metro package sorted. If people are still happy with it in a month or so, then i'll be switching right over.

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭aubhall

A speedtest puts me on about 35kB/sec, but bittorrent is averaging at over 90kB/sec. I believe bittorrent. Still, its a far cry from the 220kB/sec i should be getting. I definately think i'll be changing ISP shortly. I'm just waiting til Digiweb get all the problems with their metro package sorted. If people are still happy with it in a month or so, then i'll be switching right over.

Lucky for some, no speedtest will even frun for me, max total speed i am getting is 10k each way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

What amazings me is that IBB have being having problems for months and the cheeky cnuts are still advertising like mad signing up new mugs/punters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭pete

pete wrote:
    that'll do nicely.... but will it last?

well it lasted all day.... but now:
    Downstream 170 Kbps (21.3 KB/sec) 183 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 265 Kbps (33.1 KB/sec) 286 Kbps (inc. overheads)

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭dan99989

I know Bray IBB is particularly bad, but he's my latest grab:

C:\>tracert www.google.com

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [64.233.183.99]

1 141 ms 147 ms 112 ms WW01-fe-0-0-1-150-bray.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.50.193]
    2 97 ms 17 ms 28 ms DN03-fe-1-3-0-356-tallaght.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.117.233]
    3 41 ms 30 ms 32 ms DN42-as1-0-ibis-access.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.52.134]
    4 102 ms * 141 ms DN42-ae0-50-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.52.157]
    5 157 ms 120 ms 179 ms 824.ge5-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.79.97]

6 80 ms 48 ms 32 ms 213-152-230-99.google.net [213.152.230.99]

7 143 ms * 77 ms 72.14.238.242

8 141 ms 153 ms 139 ms 216.239.43.91

9 131 ms 141 ms 121 ms 216.239.43.92

10 84 ms 101 ms 95 ms 216.239.43.30

11 175 ms 185 ms 106 ms 64.233.183.99

Trace complete.

I'm getting downloads of 3-6 kbps - "great" service as usual.
    ibb2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭vinks

dan99989 wrote:

2 97 ms 17 ms 28 ms DN03-fe-1-3-0-356-tallaght.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.117.233]

Trace complete.

ibb2.jpg

its wonderfully consistant with the speeds im getting in the d16 area. at least ibb are consistant dont you think :P

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭dan99989

I suppose thats one positive! :) The latest from Bray is as follows:

1 11 ms 11 ms 13 ms WW01-fe-0-0-1-150-bray.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.50.193]
    2 12 ms 11 ms 9 ms DN03-fe-1-3-0-356-tallaght.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.117.233]
    3 13 ms 10 ms 44 ms DN42-as1-0-ibis-access.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.52.134]
    4 11 ms 38 ms * DN42-ae0-50-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.52.157]
    5 28 ms 26 ms 24 ms 824.ge5-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.79.97]

6 26 ms 25 ms 26 ms 213-152-230-99.google.net [213.152.230.99]
    7 23 ms 27 ms 25 ms 72.14.238.246
    8 38 ms 42 ms 51 ms 216.239.43.91
    9 39 ms * 37 ms 216.239.43.96
    10 40 ms 41 ms 46 ms 216.239.43.26
    11 46 ms 37 ms 39 ms 64.233.183.99

Trace complete.
    ibb3.jpg

Fair enough it is almost 3am - but still...what kind of service is it if the only time you get a reliable connection is at this time?

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭aubhall

Atrium @ 3:48am

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [216.239.59.99]

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 180 ms 83 ms 60 ms 83.141.64.65
    3 * 133 ms 143 ms DN40-fe-0-0-0-331-ballycoolin.irishbroadband.ie
    [62.231.52.149]
    4 99 ms 120 ms 104 ms DN04-fe-1-3-0-352-guinness.irishbroadband.ie [83
    .141.117.185]
    5 * 79 ms 83 ms DN42-as0-0-ibis-access.irishbroadband.ie [62.231
    .52.153]
    6 96 ms 73 ms 48 ms DN42-ae0-13-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [83.141.11
    7.45]
    7 32 ms 52 ms 29 ms 213-161-79-157.available.lhr.above.net [213.161.
    79.157]
    8 88 ms 61 ms 132 ms 213-152-230-99.google.net [213.152.230.99]
    9 171 ms 151 ms 119 ms 72.14.238.246
    10 126 ms 173 ms 192 ms 216.239.49.254
    11 * * 117 ms 216.239.48.158
    12 118 ms 157 ms 122 ms 216.239.49.117
    13 121 ms 170 ms 187 ms 216.239.59.99

Trace complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

dan99989 wrote:

I was on IBB bray last weekend and it was way better than their D15 operation. On a 2 meg connection I was getting speeds like a 1 meg connection. In D15 im getting 15k . I was getting 120k in Bray last weekend. Still not as good as it shoule be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

dan99989 wrote:

Trace complete.

ibb2.jpg

Thank fu*k im no longer with them anymore that's the speeds i was getting as well utterly pathetic

Weird. I seem to be the only one getting decent speeds. Getting near the full 2 meg up and down on the three rock. Quick ping:

Ping statistics for 82.195.136.250:
    Packets: Sent = 39, Received = 39, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 92ms, Average = 24ms

Weird. I seem to be the only one getting decent speeds. Getting near the full 2 meg up and down on the three rock. Quick ping:

Ping statistics for 82.195.136.250:
    Packets: Sent = 39, Received = 39, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 92ms, Average = 24ms

Its not that weird. Ive been following this IBB story for a year now and its rare you hear some one on 3rock complaining. Not sure why.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

3rock's never great - it just doesn't seem to be a classic IBB job (or should i say badly done job).

:) Just as I say there never seems to be problems with 3rock I see a thread on how bad 3rock is. So I guess there is no safe haven from IBB wrath.
    That said I know 2 guys on the new D15 mast that is over at the Clonsilla train station and neither of them have any bad reports they both think its great. But then they are both on their IBB honeymoon period as the mast is only new. Shouldent take IBB too long to over subscribe that one either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Tank Top Fever!

Didn't want to start a new thread lads. Any idea what ariel I'm on in the Dublin 12/Crumlin area on IBB? Anybody else on this one? whats it like?

I'm a bit wary of IBB now after reading all these comments but it was my only option. No phone line. They're putting it in on Thursday, 1mb package.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Didn't want to start a new thread lads. Any idea what ariel I'm on in the Dublin 12/Crumlin area on IBB? Anybody else on this one? whats it like?

I'm a bit wary of IBB now after reading all these comments but it was my only option. No phone line. They're putting it in on Thursday, 1mb package.
    I'm in D12 and I was on the Guinness mast. That was about one and a half years ago on the old equipment. Started off well but after 4 months the service was rubbish, dial-up was faster at times!

Someone on this board posted before that they talked IBB into giving them a trial period of a few weeks where they could get out of the contract if they were not happy with the service. See if you can get them to agree to that.

where's that Guinness mast?

Is it a case of the further you are from the mast the crapper the service (within reason)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

where's that Guinness mast?
    It's on top of the gravity bar (James Street)
    Is it a case of the further you are from the mast the crapper the service (within reason)
    Yeah, but Crumlin is within the range so in theory it should be fine.

They blamed my download speed problems on two things, first they said it was interference, then they said it was the people sharing the connection were heavy downloaders which in my opinion was bull****. The contention ratio was 8:1 which means I was sharing my connection with 7 other users. For the speeds I was getting all other users sharing would have to be downloading at full speed constantly (512kbps / 8 = 64kbps ). Even in the unlikely case that was true it didn't explain slower than dial-up speed at times.

James St? Jeez didn't think it would be that far away! Though it might have been at one of the Garda stations in Crumlin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Blaster99

The distance to the mast doesn't really matter up to about 10km's.

Blaster99 wrote:
    The distance to the mast doesn't really matter up to about 10km's.

grand job. That was my main concern

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cionn

Just something that I think people should do when they don't get the required service from IBB cancel the Direct Debit with the bank and let then chase you for a change. I had crap service for 3 months and cancelled my DD now the service is good but I am not reinstating the DD until they call me and agree to 3 months credit. I have screen dumps and recordings of my conversations with the helpdesk staff to support my stance. A waiting game now and the ball is in thier court. Check out their terms and conditions/code of practice and beat them over the head with it. If an issues isn't resolved within 24 hours asked for it to be escalated to supervisor level and get a ticket number (incident number) from them once you get a supervisor keep hounding him.

Just my 2 pence worth. I have no problem paying for decent service I just wish I was getting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭Couch Potato

:) Just as I say there never seems to be problems with 3rock I see a thread on how bad 3rock is. So I guess there is no safe haven from IBB wrath.
    That said I know 2 guys on the new D15 mast that is over at the Clonsilla train station and neither of them have any bad reports they both think its great. But then they are both on their IBB honeymoon period as the mast is only new. Shouldent take IBB too long to over subscribe that one either.

Not for long :)

Have it 4 months now - first 3 were excellent now gone to the dogs - in the process of cancelling (battle started)

The speeds are currently no better than dial-up.

I know they have put up another high site box(transmitter/reciever - whatever it is called) and this is also killing the bandwidth ...

"we are waiting on Hardware to be upgraded ..."

3 weeks and counting ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

I'm in D15 and the IBB service continues to be terrible. See attached graph.
    Has anyone got any news about when the service is going to be adequate?