Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone in UL or Limerick, This could interest you

• 21-10-2005 12:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Well lads,

University of Limerick has a new DJ society as of today.

It went from setting up a set of decks, CDJ's and a modest soundsystem in the main canteen to playing in the stables courtyard in an effort to get the minimum membership of 25 people.

The total number of new members is 41 and we're hoping this will go up as things come together and we've more of a presence in the limerick scene.

Plenty of things planned for the coming year,strictly provisional of course :

- Workshops: From basic beatmatching to scratching, digital DJing and production, we'll be running these as often as we can should there be enough demand for it.

- Website: We're planning on providing members with login details so they can upload their mixes/photos/whatever and each member will get their own email address on the DJ Soc domain.

- Gigs: Nothing finalised yet so I wont go into details but we plan on helping members to get the opportunity to play to an audience be it in a club or pub enviroment.

- DJ Competitions: Always a laugh and great for experience, we'll be sure to run 1 or 2 of these in the coming months

- Guest DJ's: We'll be running our own nights and will be bringing guest DJs in to headline. More to come...

You Do Not need to be a UL student to join the society, external members pay an increased levy of Eur 10 compared to the 4 paid by UL academics( There is a legitimate reason for this but I wont go into it now).

Anyone interested in joining feel free to email or PM for details.
    Cheers

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭comad

Good luck with that.

I was a big fan of Thursday nights in Dolans when I was in UL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 the dice man

ya, best of luck with it.

ye'll have to go into town now with the scholars gone though. :mad:

can't see the stables giving ye any time when free beer could play instead :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 ULDJSoc

ya, best of luck with it.

ye'll have to go into town now with the scholars gone though. :mad:

can't see the stables giving ye any time when free beer could play instead :rolleyes:

You'd be surprised! We setup randomly in the stables courtyard last wednesday and there was a good reaction. They were a lot busier than normal and the manager was fairly sound, he didnt seem to mind at all. There was still a pretty big crowd when we shut down at about 7... Apparantly a lot of people rang their mates telling them to come down but we'd already packed up by the time most people got their.

Will be setting up again next wednesday with more structure regarding music policy and the lineup along with much better promotion.

We've also just teamed up with Vivamusic studios, the UL DJ Soc will be playing warmup every thursday in the Trinity rooms. We'll be asking our members to hand in their mixes.

We'll listen to them and choose the best DJ for each particular night.
    Like we'll need a techno DJ one night and a house DJ the next, we'll choose the member who's style suits that night the best and he/she will get the gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 the dice man

sounds interesting, stables weren't like that when i was around :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭comad

Ahhh..what happened to the Scholars??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 ULDJSoc

It was making a serious loss since it opened, something like 38 grand in the red so the ULSU temporarily closed it with a view to reforming its strategies and stuff.

They hadnt a chance cos the UL Alcohol policy is so strict, they couldnt do any drinks promotions and stuff so everyone started drinking at home before going out.

Its re-opening soon I think and we, the UL DJ Society, hope to play a part in getting people back onto the campus before going out.