Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pistol licence - What next?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I thought he was using a P99 these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Riggser

John McClane, Casey Ryback and Harry Tasker used 9mm. James Bond, tut tut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Bond handguns-
    Dr. No : Beretta (.25), Walther PPK (7.65mm)
    Dr. No -> Goldeneye : Walther PPK (7.65mm)
    Tomorrow Never Dies : Walther PPK (7.65mm), Walther P99 (9mm)
    Tomorrow Never Dies -> : Walther P99 (9mm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Rovi wrote:
    Bond handguns-
    Dr. No : Beretta (.25), Walther PPK (7.65mm)
    Dr. No -> Goldeneye : Walther PPK (7.65mm)
    Tomorrow Never Dies : Walther PPK (7.65mm), Walther P99 (9mm)
    Tomorrow Never Dies -> : Walther P99 (9mm)

Hands up class .Who can tell me what calibre and pistol type cmdr Bond was Orginally armed with in the film and book Dr No? And in which book did Bond ever break with tradition from the PPK? it just goes to show how even HM govt could be influenced by the motion picture industry on firearms choice even up to today.
    As my flight instructor,who was an EX RAF squadron leader with Gulf war time behind him,said about the "issued "to RAF Tornado flight crews.There was a running joke about them.You would get five good shoots with it.Dissamble it and throw,the barrel,the slide,the mag[empty or full ,your choice]the frame,and the grips at your enemy.:D :eek:

Should add on to this about the humble 22.It kills more people on this planet per annum than any other cal out there.It is also the preferred calibre for those three letter agencies of various govts worldwide,who all have a dept that deals in "wet affairs",as it is politely put.So I suppose it could be classified as a "combat calibre" as well.The French actually had a debate on this in their firearms laws as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

One of the downd tornado pilots tells a story about how he pulled out his pitol as the soldires closed in on him and he decided against using it.

When they got to him they took the pistol off him and one guy went to shoot in the air with it. It jammed....

Hands up class .Who can tell me what calibre and pistol type cmdr Bond was Orginally armed with in the film and book Dr No?
    I'm fairly sure he used a .22 Beretta in the book, perhaps a Model 71 of some sort?-
    f5dt02.jpg

In the movie, I think he had a Model 418 in .25ACP?-
    f5dts0.jpg

Am I any way close? :D

[
    In the movie, I think he had a Model 418 in .25ACP?-
    f5dts0.jpg

Am I any way close? :D

Spot on the Breatta,except it was a mod 25:D :D You win a pack of slightly used gob stoppers!Only sucked once.:D
    It was a penchant of Ian Fleming small calibere pistols .25 ACP usually [Which makes me doubt some of his wartime exploits] Fleming had Bond armed with the Breatta in Casino Royale and Doctor No.Untill Geffory Bothryood suggested somthing more substantial to Fleming.Bond then had a S&W 38 cal cut down to Snub nose,with a bobbed hammer and cut out trigger gaurd in From Russia with Love[the book version].
    Have an article on this somwhere.Bond appears with the PPK fdor the first time in Doctor No.Bothryood was appointed by Fleming as "James Bond's armourer."And this who the chacter "Q" is based on.Incidently the only place "Q" is ever named with his real name and rank is in "the Spy who loved me".It's Col Bothryood.[Scene where Q delivers the Lotus to Bond and the Russian agent in Greece.]
    Anyway,the influence of the PPK actually influenced civil servants to recommend it as an issue weapon to Cold war British agents,and plain clothes detectives gaurding the Royal family.Until there was an abduction attempt on Princess Anne,where the main spring failed on the PPK of the bodygaurd.It was kind of promptly retired then.But the PPK and the Walther has become synomonus with Bond ever since.
    About time Cmdr Bond goes onto the retirement list.The films have become so divorced with anything Fleming ever wrote,it is unbeliveable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Boothroyd was based on Geoffry Boothroyd, the noted British gunwriter, who wrote a letter to Fleming telling him the .25 carried by Bond in the books was more suited to to being carried in the stockings of ladies of ill-repute than by one of Her Majesty's Secret Agents. :)

[
    Spot on the Breatta,except it was a mod 25:D :D You win a pack of slightly used gob stoppers!Only sucked once.:D

Actually Rovi you win a pack of unused gob stoppers!It was the Bretta 418:D :D

[

Actually Rovi you win a pack of unused gob stoppers!It was the Bretta 418:D :D

Phtooooo!
    <spits out second-hand gob stopper>

I win! I win! I win!
    fa1o2t.jpg

<victory dance>
    eusa_dance.gif

Hurray for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Nema

Gone a little off topic,

I was just wondering how is everything going now with the app to the FO>?

Any word on if you got it or they still giving you some BS?

• Registered Users Posts: 44 P38Man

Nema wrote:
    Gone a little off topic,

I was just wondering how is everything going now with the app to the FO>?

Any word on if you got it or they still giving you some BS?
    A little off topic yes :D
    My friendly local dealer is applying to the DOJ for an import licence, and the Club are sending me out a letter confirming I am a fully paid up member, plus a few choice comments about their not accepting my card (which has a photo ID) as evidence. Other than that I've not yet gone back to the FO, but I'll keep ypu posted. One other bit of news - one of the lads of the clubs when hearing of my comment that the FO thought the 9mm was a combat round said that he had heard they were going to restrict that calibre.

One other bit of news - one of the lads of the clubs when hearing of my comment that the FO thought the 9mm was a combat round said that he had heard they were going to restrict that calibre.
    [/QUOTE]

Bull!As the fact that the 223 aka 5.56 NATO is now freely available ,and that is a standard NATO and Irish army round is freely available over the counter.So if they were going to ban any calibre it would be this one.PLUS the 9mm is proably the most commonest calibre in the world now[bar the 22lr] so I think they are onto nothing here.But then again dumber things have happened.

one of the lads of the clubs when hearing of my comment that the FO thought the 9mm was a combat round said that he had heard they were going to restrict that calibre.

I've heard of that being said by guards now in more than one place, here first though - so is it a case that it is in fact proposed new Garda/DoJ policy, or just people repeating what they've read here? There are at least a few Gardai reading this board as far as I am aware :)

Would it make sense to go and liscense a whole bunch of 9mms which seems to becoming the cal of choice here for big calibres,and then ban them,leaving them open to a compensation claim by shooters for now illegal property?
    Hey fine by me i'll/we will just change up to 45ACP:D or if they are trying the French /Italian legislation of military calibre nonsense.News for you!
    There are such things as 10mm and 45 Win Mag,calibres which are really hot sellers in those two countries,and have NEVER been issued to any military anywhere in the world.So if there are any Gardai planning to influence a ban here on those two...Back to the drawing board lads.Ye REALLY need to get updated on firearms technology.It has moved on abit since 1972.PLUS and this goes for everyone,rumours kill us.CONFIRM your information first before posting.It is possible that somone is trying to keep us flusterd.Lets wait and see what comes in March,or thereabouts.

Would it make sense to go and liscense a whole bunch of 9mms which seems to becoming the cal of choice here for big calibres,and then ban them,leaving them open to a compensation claim by shooters for now illegal property?

The claim would never stand up CG - you'd still own the pistol, you just wouldn't be allowed to hold it. Same as for the pistols in lockup from '72. They remained the legal property of their owners (and of course, selling them outside the state was often facilitated as it got rid of a problem from the DoJ's point of view), but you just couldn't get a licence to take them back from lockup.

The claim would never stand up CG - you'd still own the pistol, you just wouldn't be allowed to hold it.

Have you a legal precedent your basing that idea on? It seems to run roughshod over all sorts of property rights.

That's the thing Civ, it doesn't. The gun is yours, and you can do whatever you want with it - except that which you need a licence for, namely, taking it home with you, shooting with it at the range, etc, etc. That's why the pistols confiscated in '72 weren't destroyed, and are still the property of the original owners.

I'd strongly suspect though, that gun owners wouldn't be as meekly compliant and trusting as they were 33 years ago.

From what I've heard over the last decade from talking to those gun owners from '72 Rovi, they weren't meekly compliant and trusting back then any more than they are now. It's just that the law's the law, however daft it is. They say "hand them in", you hand them in, or the gardai are calling round to the house to arrest you. I don't doubt we'd see more legal action (since we've now become the second-most litigious state in the world), but you're talking about a lot of money (don't forget, €1000 a day won't get you a single barrister these days, they're looking for two and three times that much), a lot of hassle and a lot of time. And if you win, as in Dunne v. Donoghue, it's temporary - as the CJB is now demonstrating. :(

Taking on the Irish Government through the Irish Judiciary, well, it's not a long-term solution to anything :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭cantona

In the last hour I have recieved a call about my application for a firearm cert for .308 rifle.Have asked for written confirmation but jist of conversation was that .308 is a military calibre and therefore undesireable on advice from firearms section.this reply from same F.O. that issued me a .40 pistol in July.

...and yet, last Saturday, I was in a gun shop in the Midlands with a least 6 rifles in .308 Win (among loads of other calibres, including the dreaded .223 Rem). :(
    Someone, somewhere is issuing licences for them!

This inconsistency and 'making it up as they go along' is a right load of ar5e, isn't it?

The sooner the CJB goes through and this stuff is clarified one way or another, the better!

[
    QUOTE=Sparks]From what I've heard over the last decade from talking to those gun owners from '72 Rovi, they weren't meekly compliant and trusting back then any more than they are now. It's just that the law's the law, however daft it is. They say "hand them in", you hand them in, or the gardai are calling round to the house to arrest you.

And your arguement falls apart there.IF it is your property ,YOU are entitled to do what you want with it then.You can export it to a more friendlier country.Deact it,chuck it in the nearest sea, sell it to somone out of the 26,put it in secure storage in adealer or "dispose of it by other means".
    Why do I have a feeling alot of shooters will be saying it was disposed of by "other means".[And in this case I would applaud anyone who does so.]
    We have become alot more worldy wise since 1972.

Now,if it is legal property for you to own and the State is denying you use of your property for whatever reason.There is a legal precedent on the Statue books that rules ASFIK in favour of the person whose property is denied.It is also in the EU human rights laws.It is just as you say the point of arguing it with over priced legal,bloodsucking....er legal professionals.
    However if we hand out free legal advice for illegal aliens trying to get into Ireland.I do belive we as tax payers of a persecuted minority group would also have the right to legal aid.

cantona wrote:
    In the last hour I have recieved a call about my application for a firearm cert for .308 rifle.Have asked for written confirmation but jist of conversation was that .308 is a military calibre and therefore undesireable on advice from firearms section.this reply from same F.O. that issued me a .40 pistol in July.

And on the same thread we have the same bull**** about the 9mm being a military calibre,and being soon to be banned
    [So apply for a 300 Win Mag or 7.62 NATO.or 10mm]
    Agree with Rovi ,they are making it up as they go along,or Arses from elbows springs to mind.:mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I have done a bit of research here in Cork for myself & the cheapest security companies I found will monitor my place for between €12 - €15 a month. Eircom, I found, were a rip off.

TJ911...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭Chipboard

Trojan911 wrote:
    I have done a bit of research here in Cork for myself & the cheapest security companies I found will monitor my place for between €12 - €15 a month. Eircom, I found, were a rip off.

TJ911...

The words "cat" and "canary" spring to mind.....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Agree with Rovi ,they are making it up as they go along,or Arses from elbows springs to mind.:mad: :mad:

Well to be fair they dont have anything solid to work from at the min. One way or another the CJB will sort that. There are plenty of good FAO's out there working their arses (and elbows) off to get licences for people.

Condeming them based on unfounded rumors dosn't do anyone any favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Riggser

cantona wrote:

I may have said this before. I'm afraid I'm one of many that apply for a firarms certificate in this country that doesn't have the pleasure of knowing their local FO or more importantly Super. So I like many have walked into my local station that's kept alive by tax that you and I pay only to be treated like dirt, I think I speak for many when I say that. Because I have met one or two people and they know their Super, friend or family member, I know of people who got licenses for pistols within 10 working days, had no alarm on the house and no gun safe! A shotgun within license within 7 days! All because "our Jimmy is the local Super". What baffles me and I know firearms certs aren't exactly high priority with the cops but you'd think by this stage they would have a set procedure for all.

Above, a .308 is not looked upon as a recreational rifle to have. He is telling you that you are not capable of handling that firearm. Have you sht one before? Have you done a course on one for safety, how to fire the rifle on a range and on private land? Get a course done, then go into him, if he stills says no then you may have a case.

Did you do a course for your .40 pistol?

Rew wrote:
    Well to be fair they dont have anything solid to work from at the min. One way or another the CJB will sort that. There are plenty of good FAO's out there working their arses (and elbows) off to get licences for people.

Condeming them based on unfounded rumors dosn't do anyone any favours.

Sorry if I dont subscribe to your point of view.
    This is how much mt FAO has been working his arse and elbow off.
    I put in my application in Jan 5th this year.And for my big calibre rifle in march,when my local Garda called around to "formalise" the application.
    Mid year,I joined the Irish practical pistol,installed alarm[not on anyones recommendation or insistance],answerd the Supers questions on how to import the handgun from the USA,provided him with litature on the specs of both guns,as well as info on how to obtain FREE info on all firearms more or less in circulation[www.securityarms.com].
    July to present day.DEAD SILENCE.No written response to two written regd letters,many phone calls to meet the Super fobbed off,or never returned.
    11MONTHS for the Super in Limerick ,Henry St.Maybe to make a decision on issueing a firearms cert!!!I dont even know what else he might want saftey course,insurance,what?????
    Really glad it isnt anything serious.If this is how the Govt and its enforcer views and treats the serfs of this State,I wonder really for how much longer everyone is going to take this type of treatment to Irish society.:
    Off to ring the FAO for the 20th time now to see about arrangeing to meet the Super.:mad: