Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bible, Creationism, and Prophecy (part 1)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭Morbert

It would appear that Natural Selection can also be used in the exact same way. There's even a Natural Selection theory which can be applied to the Cosmos doing the rounds now. Anyway, yes Intelligence can explain most things in nature because intuitively it makes sense to our cognitive faculties. The reason Natural Selection is so popular with materialists is because it can explain design without a designer. In its wider scope it can do this, but with closer scrutiny it starts to fall apart as a valid explanation for how life got going and how it evolved. If Natural selection only starts acting when life comes about then it was not active prior to life forming. Hence life forming under strictly natural means was just a fluke chance happening, or it was deliberately constructed by a Constructor.

The only people who object to a Constructor are those who feel that the implications of that being true would just devastate their world view. That's why they will jump through all kinds of hoops - even imaginary hoops - in order to keep their sacred theory based in Materialism alive.

So the real conflict is not between Religion and Science as such, its between certain world views. Depending on how you interpret the available evidence you will side with one or the other. Materialist interpret the evidence with the need to appeal to a designer and ID proponents interpret the same evidence as obviously designed. Unlike the materialists they have no problem with whatever religious implications that interpretation might have.

That you can't detect the Intelligence source itself has no bearing on the fact that a thing is designed. When you find the remains of an Inca village you don't assume that design is a bad explanation because we can't find the Inca people who built it. That would be stupid. Some people look at DNA and it is blatantly obvious to them that there must have been intelligence involved simply due to the fact that there are billions of lines of code - enough to fill hundreds of bibles - encoded within its double helix structure. A code that has stored (encoded) within it all the information and instructions needed to build cells, tissue, organs, blood vessels, arteries, skin, hair, bone and so on. How did that information get there? How did DNA come about? How did it get from coming about to learning how to encode information like this? What is it???? :confused:

Will get to your other post later. Have to pop out now...

This post makes no sense. In an earlier post, I explained why design cannot be inferred from biological systems since biological chemicals have distinct properties.

"we have to look at the differences between the 'hardware' of biology (organic compounds), and the hardware of artificial computers (semiconductor material, plastic, etc.). When we do this, we will understand why natural abiogenesis is plausible for life, but not for standard computers. Organic chemicals are far more versatile when it comes to self-organisation than the materials we use to build things. They can naturally form complex ecosystems of interacting and communicating molecular species."

Yet you re-posted the same assertions? Why did you do this when they have been answered already?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Soul Winner

Wicknight wrote: »
    No actually it can't.Natural selection can only apply to self replicating systems that are subject to environmental factors.

OK let us just focus on this for the time being. As you said yourself, Natural Selection can only apply to self replicating systems that are subject to environmental factors. (I think any living system cannot escape being subject to environmental factors, so that part is a given) Anyway, if we can agree that Natural Selection only kicks in after the first self replicating system forms then it stands to reason that Natural Selection did not play a part in how the first self replicating system was formed.

Agreed?

OK so for arguments sake let us assume that DNA - which is needed in order to have a fully functioning proto cell - came about by the accidental collision of just the right chemicals in the right environment and voilà we have the first self replicating system. Under an unguided process and in the absence of Natural Selection at work we must assume this to be the case. Lets just assume that is true for now. And let us also assume that the coding in this first DNA has a say only a thousand lines of code, a very very basic life form indeed. And then over the next few million years or so it is replicating away without any problems and THEN suddenly a Mutation occurs in the code and the original living system replicates but the resulting life form is different to the original in that its coding has changed. Then after more time has gone by more mutations happen to this life form and then more happen to the resulting life forms and then even more and more and so on.

Now my question is this. What is a mutation? Is it a loss of coding, a corruption of coding or is it an addition of coding?

If it is an addition of coding then why call it a mutation? An addition of information in the coding which will result in a more advanced lifeform than the original cannot be described as a mutation. Mutations are not improvements on the original, they do not result in a more advanced lifeform from the prototype. They are nearly always detrimental to any living system. Their results are nearly always bad. This has been shown time and time again in the LAB and only in very very rare cases will a mutation result in something that resembles anything like an improvement.

So if at this very early primordial stage in the development of life on earth we have mutations happening, what are the chances that these mutations at that level will result in an improvement on the original accidentally formed life form? The odds that a mutation will result in an improvement are astronomically low. How can a mutation add information? Then we must add to this probably to the already astronomically low odds of a self replicating system just happening to form under an unguided process from a pool of chemicals to begin with. And then we must decrease the odds at each stage of mutation until we reach advanced information processing machines like the human brain 3 billion years plus later. Given that time span, how many mutations do you think must have occurred before life evolves into homo sapians? And how many of those increased the information in the coding of DNA?

Now is anyone in here going to argue that to accept this mechanism as a scientific fact requires no faith at all?

Give me a break.

If Natural Selection acting on random mutations actually happened after the proto-self-replicating system arose from the chemical pond then life would have devolved not evolved.

Are you getting where people who do not accept Natural Selection as a viable mechanism for how life evolved are coming from now? Just because they have no problem with the existence of a Designer does not mean that their rejection of Natural Selection is not based on science and simple common sense. Natural Selection is so preposterous an idea that it literally boggles my mind how very very intelligent people can take it seriously. Really it does. And how it got such a foothold on the scientific community can only be explained because science for the most part is ruled by those who simply cannot incorporate into their minds that an intelligence far greater than their exist out there somewhere who started the whole thing.

So Natural Selection acting on random mutations using the environment as feedback (how it can escape that escapes me) simple does not make any intuitive sense nor does it stand up to serious scrutiny. No wonder its not allowed to be questioned or challenged in the classroom without ridiculing the challenger as an idiot or someone who is insane. It is the most ridiculous idea to ever come out of science. I can understand how it made sense to the likes of Darwin et al in their day, but with the advancement of science today those who hold it as fact, have no excuse. And yet it is they who are the biggest putters down of religious folk who simply believe in a God who created it all. Like I said, they have more faith in this ridiculousness than anyone I know has in God. Fair play to them I suppose. :rolleyes:

Jimmy444 wrote: »
    ...cuts both ways pal.

Exactly my point pal. It does cut both ways. There is no real conflict between science and religion. The only conflict that exists is between those who interpret the evidence differently. To go with one side or the other you have to make a leap of faith, yet it is onyl religious people who are put down for having faith. At least religious people know that faith is involved at some level. Materialists for all their arrogance and puffed self importance can't seem to be able to get that very simple concept into their super intellectual brains when it comes to what they accept as truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

OK so for arguments sake let us assume that DNA - which is needed in order to have a fully functioning proto cell - came about by the accidental collision of just the right chemicals in the right environment and voilà we have the first self replicating system.

You're coming in in the middle of the film and asking why the story doesn't make sense.

Natural Selection enters the film at the point when the first self replicating system arises. So that is the start of the film as far as this discussion goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

OK let us just focus on this for the time being. As you said yourself, Natural Selection can only apply to self replicating systems that are subject to environmental factors. (I think any living system cannot escape being subject to environmental factors, so that part is a given) Anyway, if we can agree that Natural Selection only kicks in after the first self replicating system forms then it stands to reason that Natural Selection did not play a part in how the first self replicating system was formed.

Agreed?

Agreed.
    OK so for arguments sake let us assume that DNA - which is needed in order to have a fully functioning proto cell - came about by the accidental collision of just the right chemicals in the right environment and voilà we have the first self replicating system.

Lets not, since that would be rather unrealistic.

It is estimated that it took 10 million years for the first self replicating molecules to evolve to use RNA. DNA would have taken longer still.

Self replicating systems (proto cells) evolved to use DNA and this took a long time, possibly longer than it took for DNA cells to go from single cells to humans. So clearly arriving at DNA is tricky. No one thinks it just happened, so any time you hear JC or someone like that saying DNA (or RNA or proteins) could not just randomly form by chance as if this is an issue for evolution they are lying to you about what evolution says and what biologists (or as JC calls them materialists) believe.
    Under an unguided process and in the absence of Natural Selection at work we must assume this to be the case. Lets just assume that is true for now.
    We can assume it is true just so long as you understand it isn't true.
    And let us also assume that the coding in this first DNA has a say only a thousand lines of code, a very very basic life form indeed.

Just a point, the length of DNA doesn't reflect the complexity of life. Humans have 46 chromosomes, dogs have 78, where as a fern has 1260 chromosomes. Potatoes have 48 (more than us)

This is further evidence for evolution. The more static and older the species the more mutations that duplicate DNA it has picked up.

And it is very difficult to explain in terms of intelligent design.

Is a fern a 1000 times more complex than a human. Is a dog twice as complex as a human? You can build an ant with 1 chromosome of DNA where as some bacteria need much more.
    And then over the next few million years or so it is replicating away without any problems and THEN suddenly a Mutation occurs in the code and the original living system replicates but the resulting life form is different to the original in that its coding has changed. Then after more time has gone by more mutations happen to this life form and then more happen to the resulting life forms and then even more and more and so on.

Now my question is this. What is a mutation? Is it a loss of coding, a corruption of coding or is it an addition of coding?

A mutation is any change in the system used to replicate itself that produces different results than the parent.

"Corruption" of code is nonsensical in this context since the code isn't being understood by anything.

Addition and loss depend on the system used to replicate. In the case of DNA you can add genetic material or remove genetic material and this will alter the child and thus alter the proteins the child produces.

You are thinking of DNA as an information code, when in fact it make far more sense to think of it as a machine made up of lots of tiny worker units. A worker unit can either do action A or it can do action B and depending on what it does this effects the product the DNA machine makes (a protein)

If you have a line of worker units in the order A A A B B A A B you will make a particular protein (call it the AABBAAB protein)

Now if you add a new worker unit (which is just a molecule in a string of molecules) in the middle of all this you have a line of workers in the oder A A A B A B A A B and they make a different protein (call it AAABABAA protein)

"Information" is rather irrelevant to this. The workers don't know what they are doing, they just do it because it is the only thing they can do (the workers are just chemicals, who can only bond a particular way). They don't understand what they are doing, they aren't following a blueprint of what to do.

How these workers are arranged is purely down to which ones work. No one put them in order to achieve a particular out come. Nature is constantly rearranging them (mutation) and if a mutation does something benefital it survives natural selection.

Every time a life form reproduces all these workers are copied, and this system does not produce a perfect copy. A mutation is a change in the pattern. So A A A B B A A B becomes A A A B A B A A B and all of a sudden you have a slightly different machine that is going to make a slightly different output (ie protein) every time it is run (which is constantly throughout the life of the child as the child's cell or cells produce proteins to do things.

If this new protein does something useful in the wider machine then this new version thrives.
    If it is an addition of coding then why call it a mutation? An addition of information in the coding which will result in a more advanced lifeform than the original cannot be described as a mutation. Mutations are not improvements on the original, they do not result in a more advanced lifeform from the prototype.

Mutations are changes in the replication system. What they do is irrelevant to calling them a mutation.

Mutations are always bad is not even something Young Earth Creationists believe as they require benefitial mutations to go from the handful of animals on the ark to the millions we have today.
    They are nearly always detrimental to any living system.
    No actually they are always nearly neutral to the living system. You have on average 60 mutations from your parents, the majority of which probably do nothing to you.

This is why creatures like ferns have so many chromosomes, over the years they have built up a lot of mutations that do nothing.

Since they aren't having any great negate effect on the organisms with these mutations they don't die off (ie they aren't deselected by nature). They just hang around until some major evolutionary event takes place, like a chromosome splitting in half. Some species of ferns have evolved very little in the millions of years they have existed, so they have all these mutations built up. Mutations keep happening independently to natural selection.
    So if at this very early primordial stage in the development of life on earth we have mutations happening, what are the chances that these mutations at that level will result in an improvement on the original accidentally formed life form?
    Low. Which is why it takes millions of years.

Think about it. The world is covered with self replicating molecules, and these undergo mutations all the time (billions of mutations happening every second spread over a population of billions of replicating units) and it still took 10 million years (longer than humans have existed) to develop a system that used RNA. 10 million years is a long time.

This should tell you it is no easy task, but it should also tell you it is plausible given the huge time frames and populations we are talking about here.
    How can a mutation add information?
    Again there is no information in DNA. There is just stuff that makes other stuff.

Again think of it simply as worker units. Mutations can add worker units by a number of ways all of which resolve around chemistry and the interaction of chemical molecules. For example during replication as a DNA strand is replicating itself it can make more than one replicate and this extra strand of DNA is stuck in at the end or the middle during replication. A sequence such as A A B B A becomes A A B B A B B (the copy of BB was made twice).

Naturally a string of workers A A B B A B B will produce something different than A A B B A, so the new DNA string will produce a different protein than the original.

I say there is no information here because the worker units have no idea what they are doing, they just do it. Worker unit A can only produce a specific thing. Worker unit B can only produce a specific thing. They don't choose what they make based on information.
    Then we must add to this probably to the already astronomically low odds of a self replicating system just happening to form under an unguided process from a pool of chemicals to begin with.

The odds of that happening are not low at all, given the conditions of the early Earth (yes we know these independently) it would be more surprising not to find self replicating molecules.
    Given that time span, how many mutations do you think must have occurred before life evolves into homo sapians? And how many of those increased the information in the coding of DNA?

To go from the very first self replicating unit to a human? Trillions.

But again how many mutations do you think you can generate if you have an Earth covered in self replicating units, who mutate all the time, and you have 4 billion years.

Trillions upon trillions upon trillions upon trillions.
    If Natural Selection acting on random mutations actually happened after the proto-self-replicating system arose from the chemical pond then life would have devolved not evolved.

Life can't devolve. It can evolve or it can die. Dead creatures don't reproduce, thus "bad" mutations do not continue to exist in the eco-system.

This is why a requirement for Darwinian evolution is an environment that selects the good and bad mutations in the first place. If this environment doesn't exist, if there is nothing killing of creatures with "bad" mutations (bad being defined as something that kills you or stops you reproducing), then evolution cannot take place because there is no selection process.
    Are you getting where people who do not accept Natural Selection as a viable mechanism for how life evolved are coming from now?

Yes, huge ignorance and gross misunderstanding.

Basically nothing you have said in this post is accurately describing what Darwinian evolution says, irrespective of whether it is true or not. It is describing some nonsensical Creationist version of evolution that is full of straw men and misrepresentations.

So I'm under no doubt that you don't understand Darwinian evolution.

The question I'm still not sure about is if you actually are interested in understanding Darwinian evolution, or if you have closed your mind due to religious reasons and concluded it cannot be true what ever it is.
    Just because they have no problem with the existence of a Designer does not mean that their rejection of Natural Selection is not based on science and simple common sense. Natural Selection is so preposterous an idea that it literally boggles my mind how very very intelligent people can take it seriously. Really it does.

No one apart from those with a deep ideological reason for thinking this actually thinks this.

That should tell you something, that perhaps you are missing something or not understanding it properly.

Christians, Muslims, Hindus, atheists etc all accept evolution as making perfect sense.

The only ones who don't have strong independent ideological reasons for not, such as Creationists.
    So Natural Selection acting on random mutations using the environment as feedback (how it can escape that escapes me) simple does not make any intuitive sense nor does it stand up to serious scrutiny.

Based on who's assessment of serious scrutiny? Yours? Answers in Genesis?

You think you have scrutinized evolution more than biologists have for the last 100 years?

Or perhaps you are simply mistaken in your understanding of this topic?

Natural Selection enters the film at the point when the first self replicating system arises. So that is the start of the film as far as this discussion goes.

And RNA (never mind DNA) if 10 million years into the film.

So saying DNA cannot randomly form is like entering Superman half way through and saying "This is stupid, a man cannot fly"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭wolfsbane

Morbert said:
    If it is not a moral creature, then it cannot be judged, temporally or otherwise. It would be like judging a knife in a murder trial. With Judas and Peter, the case is different, as they could have been tempted by Satan to choose to do wrong, rather than be explicitly possessed and wielded like puppets.
    God is free to dispense with His creation as He pleases. No animals sinned, yet all were made subject to suffering and death along with their head (Adam). The snake being subject in a temporal and physical way to Satan's eternal and spiritual condemnation is perfectly in line with that.
    Quote:
    It is using term 'serpent' as a metaphor for Satan - but that does not mean the original occasion of the metaphor was itself a metaphor. Today's trojan horse need not be a wooden horse, but the original certainly was. It was not a metaphor for some crafty plan that did not involve a wooden horse ( at least if we take the history at face value).

"That serpent of old", specifically refers to the entity in genesis. Similar to "That Trojan horse of old" specifically referring to the original Horse. Unless genesis is an allegory, it makes no sense.
    The Trojan horse did not persist over millennia. The devil did, so reference to him as 'of old' is not confined to Eden. It refers to him from the beginning and down the ages. It does not exclude the snake being a physical example of God's judgement on him.
    Quote:
    I can think only of the Genesis passage itself as confirming it was a physical snake in view. The other passages reveal the one behind it.

But is there evidence that Genesis refers to a possessed snake, as opposed to, say, being an allegory/metaphor for the devil.
    Yes. There is no suggestion in the passage that anything other than literal history is meant. There is a seamless progression of history throughout Genesis. And it was understood as such by Christ and the NT writers.
    Hebrews 11:4 By faith Abel offered to God a more excellent sacrifice than Cain, through which he obtained witness that he was righteous, God testifying of his gifts; and through it he being dead still speaks.
    5 By faith Enoch was taken away so that he did not see death, “and was not found, because God had taken him”; for before he was taken he had this testimony, that he pleased God. 6 But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.
    7 By faith Noah, being divinely warned of things not yet seen, moved with godly fear, prepared an ark for the saving of his household, by which he condemned the world and became heir of the righteousness which is according to faith.
    8 By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to the place which he would receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going. 9 By faith he dwelt in the land of promise as in a foreign country, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, the heirs with him of the same promise; 10 for he waited for the city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God.
    11 By faith Sarah herself also received strength to conceive seed, and she bore a child when she was past the age, because she judged Him faithful who had promised. 12 Therefore from one man, and him as good as dead, were born as many as the stars of the sky in multitude—innumerable as the sand which is by the seashore.

Wicknight said:
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Morbert
    But God explicitly punishes all snakes in the story, forcing them to crawl on their bellies.

Non-literal interpretation ain't looking to bad now, is it Wolfsbane
    ??? I'm arguing for a literal interpretation. That God did indeed curse the snake and its descendants to crawl in the dirt. He was demonstrating His greater judgement on Satan, the instigator behind the snake. Satan will be eternally judged.
    Hebrews 2:14 Inasmuch then as the children have partaken of flesh and blood, He Himself likewise shared in the same, that through death He might destroy him who had the power of death, that is, the devil, 15 and release those who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage. 16 For indeed He does not give aid to angels, but He does give aid to the seed of Abraham.

Morbert wrote: »
    The ID movement itself is a creationist movement. The book which started the movement is literally a creationist book with a few word swaps. And the wedge document produced by the Intelligent Design think-tank "Discovery institute" reveals the true nature of intelligent design: a political strategy.
    My use of 'creationist' is one who holds that God did not use process to arrive at the original pairs of creatures but created them directly in 6 days, as mature, fully functioning animals and man. Creationists may differ on when that week of creation occurred in the history of the universe, but that week of direct creation is the essential claim of creationism.

Certainly anyone who believes God created the universe without life and let it run without further intervention, and the biosphere is just a natural outworking of physical processes (including evolution) can properly call themselves a creationist - but not in the sense commonly used in the creation vs evolution debate.

Those who hold that God created the universe without life but intervened to ensure evolution happened are even more entitled to call themselves creationists, but again not in the usual sense.

For our debates it would be best we held to the normal sense, or indicated our variation. To that end it should be seen that IDers include more than the usual type of creationist.

All creationists believe in Intelligent Design, but all IDers are not creationists, using the normal definition.
    Exodus 20:11 For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it.

wolfsbane wrote: »
    Wicknight said:

??? I'm arguing for a literal interpretation.

I know, and it is proving rather unworkable.
    That God did indeed curse the snake and its descendants to crawl in the dirt. He was demonstrating His greater judgement on Satan, the instigator behind the snake. Satan will be eternally judged.

And such an interpretation a) isn't in the Bible and more importantly b) is nonsensical.

God cursed snakes to demonstrate that he cursed Satan? Given that we only know both those facts from reading about them in the Bible how does one demonstrate the other?

And where in the Bible does it say that was the purpose of cursing snakes?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

PDN wrote: »
    Ok, so that's making a distinction between an Old Earth Creationist and a Young earth creationist. But an OEC may still believe the world was created in six days, just that it was billions rather than 6000 years ago.

Very well i will have to make the distinction in future in calling these people when I encounter them '6 day Creationists'.
    What about someone like Michael Behe? He differs from the OEC in that he doesn't believe the world was made in 6 days, nor does he believe species were created fully formed. He accepts that the earth is billions of years old. He accepts that all life forms have evolved from a common ancestor - pretty much following the same gradual changes as you within a similar time framework as you do. (He accepts this for scientific reasons, such as DNA, geology, carbon dating etc). The only difference is that he doesn't accept that these gradual changes took place randomly.

By that definition he sounds like what I would call a theistic evolutionist.
    PDN wrote:
    Now think about that for a moment. Is it fair to label such a person as a 'Creationist' - knowing fine well that the word 'Creationist', in many people's minds, is a pejorative term describing a YEC? Do you think that to label such people as Creationists promotes informative discussion? Or is it more a form of muck-raking?

Well to me based on the above description he doesn not sound like what the term 'Creationist' usually implies at all. To me that word when mentioned in discussion implies the YEC and/or the 6 day type.
    Of course I wasn't the one who was labelling him as such. I'm guessing that question was more directed at Wicknight (or was it a more aimed at the floor/general kind of thing)?

edit: see you after the Arsenal game ;)

Morbert said:

God is free to dispense with His creation as He pleases. No animals sinned, yet all were made subject to suffering and death along with their head (Adam). The snake being subject in a temporal and physical way to Satan's eternal and spiritual condemnation is perfectly in line with that.

God does not say this is what happens to the snake. God says "because you have done this etc." i.e. He is talking to a snake He assumes is not only the culprit, but also a creature who can understand him. Note, for example, that Jesus directly addresses Satan. He does not say, "Get behind me Peter". Why doesn't God similarly address Satan in genesis?
    The Trojan horse did not persist over millennia. The devil did, so reference to him as 'of old' is not confined to Eden. It refers to him from the beginning and down the ages. It does not exclude the snake being a physical example of God's judgement on him.

Well his deeds in Eden are certainly being referenced. Unless you believe Satan had nothing to do with it. So the length of time Satan has been around isn't really relevant.
    Yes. There is no suggestion in the passage that anything other than literal history is meant. There is a seamless progression of history throughout Genesis. And it was understood as such by Christ and the NT writers.

You're not understanding my question: Does the Bible ever explicitly claim that the devil was possessing a snake in Eden?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 playtimeover

I am in favor of BIBLE rather than Creationism. Because I heard that BIBLE is Best Insurance Before Leaving Earth. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

I am in favor of BIBLE rather than Creationism. Because I heard that BIBLE is Best Insurance Before Leaving Earth. :D

I'll bet you haven't even looked at the other companies' plans.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

There is no real conflict between science and religion.

Many fundamentalist Protestant churches, especially in the US, are in vigorous conflict with science in relation to Evolution. Islam also has difficulty with Evolution. Some movements in Judaism believe the world is less than 10,000 years old, how is that not in conflict with science?

To go with one side or the other you have to make a leap of faith, yet it is onyl religious people who are put down for having faith. At least religious people know that faith is involved at some level. Materialists for all their arrogance and puffed self importance can't seem to be able to get that very simple concept into their super intellectual brains when it comes to
    what they accept as truth.

When a religious authority says there was a virgin birth, Jesus rose from the dead, and the bread is changed to the body of Christ, there is no evidence offered, no proof or justification. It is stated as dogma that cannot be argued with. You accept it on faith. When a scientist says here's my theory, or here's a Law, it is backed up with data, reasoning, references to earlier research likewise supported by data. It is also subject to rigorous peer review before it can be accepted, and is open to disproof any time in the future if new evidence is found which invalidates the conclusions. Anyone with enough education in the subject can follow up on the evidence and decide for themselves if it is justified. To my knowledge scientists do not make leaps of faith to support their arguments. Have you any examples where faith is required to explain any scientific fact?

Wicknight said:
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by wolfsbane
    That God did indeed curse the snake and its descendants to crawl in the dirt. He was demonstrating His greater judgement on Satan, the instigator behind the snake. Satan will be eternally judged.

And such an interpretation a) isn't in the Bible and more importantly b) is nonsensical.

God cursed snakes to demonstrate that he cursed Satan? Given that we only know both those facts from reading about them in the Bible how does one demonstrate the other?

And where in the Bible does it say that was the purpose of cursing snakes?
    The Bible does not have a statement, The snakes were punished to demonstrate that God cursed Satan. Just as it does not have a statement, God is a trinity of persons in one Godhead. But the information we have in the Bible can only be reconciled in that truth. So too with the snake and Satan.

We have the information that the snake was cursed to travel in the dirt, and snakes do so. We also know that the snake deceived Eve, and the origin of lies is said by Christ to be Satan. We know further that Satan is called the serpent/snake 'of old' who deceives mankind.

We also have the curse on the ground for man's sake:
    Genesis 3:17 Then to Adam He said, “Because you have heeded the voice of your wife, and have eaten from the tree of which I commanded you, saying, ‘You shall not eat of it’:
    “ Cursed is the ground for your sake;
    In toil you shall eat of it
    All the days of your life.

And all of creation made subject to corruption because of Adam's fall:
    Romans 8:20 For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of Him who subjected it in hope; 21 because the creation itself also will be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God.

So if all life, including plant, suffered in Adam, what's strange about a particular animal (the snake), that played an active part in man's disobedience, being cursed to a lowly and vile role?
    Matthew 11:28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Morbert said:
    Quote:

God does not say this is what happens to the snake. God says "because you have done this etc." i.e. He is talking to a snake He assumes is not only the culprit, but also a creature who can understand him.
    As I said, the snake is the subject of the temporal, physical curse - but Satan the eternal, spiritual one. It is not either the snake or Satan that is in view, but both.
    Note, for example, that Jesus directly addresses Satan. He does not say, "Get behind me Peter". Why doesn't God similarly address Satan in genesis?
    Because He wasn't interested in having Satan, a spiritual being, crawl in the dirt. He was punishing the snake with temporal humiliation and destruction, but the deeper meaning is plainly laid out in the rest of Scripture.

Note that both Peter and Satan were addressed in the rebuke. Peter understood that he was being used by Satan and was being rebuked in Christ's rebuke to Satan.
    Quote:

Well his deeds in Eden are certainly being referenced. Unless you believe Satan had nothing to do with it. So the length of time Satan has been around isn't really relevant.
    Indeed, it was Eden that saw his first deceit of man. We agree that Satan was in view in the curse, but you say it was symbolic of his fate and nothing else. I say it was that, but also a literal curse on the agent Satan used. To rule that out, you need to show why the meaning is not as literal as the curse on the ground or on Eve's child-bearing and role.
    Quote:

You're not understanding my question: Does the Bible ever explicitly claim that the devil was possessing a snake in Eden?
    Not that I recall. But it gives the information about Satan's role in man's deception, and calls him 'the serpent'. The both/and solution fits well with a normal historical narrative reading of the passage, so why would one say it must be either/or?
    Matthew 11:28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

As I said, the snake is the subject of the temporal, physical curse - but Satan the eternal, spiritual one. It is not either the snake or Satan that is in view, but both.

Because He wasn't interested in having Satan, a spiritual being, crawl in the dirt. He was punishing the snake with temporal humiliation and destruction, but the deeper meaning is plainly laid out in the rest of Scripture.

It is not both.

So the Lord God said to the serpent 'Because you have done this, Cursed are you above all the livestock and all the wild animals! You will crawl on your belly and you will eat dust all the days of your life. ".

This is clearly not addressing Satan. If you disagree, which bit is directed at Satan and which bit at the snake?
    Note that both Peter and Satan were addressed in the rebuke. Peter understood that he was being used by Satan and was being rebuked in Christ's rebuke to Satan.

Peter, although being tempted by Satan, was not being explicitly possessed. A snake cannot be tempted, and cannot commit sin. God would have no reason to address the snake. With Peter and Satan, on the other hand, both have committed sin.
    Indeed, it was Eden that saw his first deceit of man. We agree that Satan was in view in the curse, but you say it was symbolic of his fate and nothing else. I say it was that, but also a literal curse on the agent Satan used. To rule that out, you need to show why the meaning is not as literal as the curse on the ground or on Eve's child-bearing and role.

If we weren't interpreting the Bible literally, then we would not take Eve's child-bearing pain as literal punishment either. It was merely a language that spoke the most vividly to the people at the time.
    Not that I recall. But it gives the information about Satan's role in man's deception, and calls him 'the serpent'. The both/and solution fits well with a normal historical narrative reading of the passage, so why would one say it must be either/or?

There is no indication in Genesis that God is addressing two entities. In fact, it explicitly says God was addressing the serpent. We cannot add in other facts if we are to take it literally.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,615 ✭✭✭✭J C

You know that's not what I said. But, since I'm about to board a 17 hour flight, I won't bother arguing about it.

So in essence you are arguing in the Christianity forum for a theory that, by definition, rules God out of the process. No wonder this thread goes nowhere.

Adios.
    Many Theistic Evolutionists are Darwinists ... and therefore, by definition, they rule God out as the Creator of life.

If we must label him, I'd say that Michael Behe is an Old Earth Theistic Evolutionist and an ID Proponent. He was born into a Roman Catholic family ... and I think that he is still a Roman Catholic. He is just about as conventional a Theistic Evolutionist as you can get ... yet the Materialists view him as 'public enemy number one' and reserve many of their most vitriolic comments for him ... and ironically they are often joined in this tirade by people who also call themselves 'Theistic Evolutionists'!!!

I disagree fundamentally with aspects of Prof Behe's theology ... but, as a scientist, I think that he is a first rate Biochemist ... and his research into ID is both 'ground-breaking' and 'world class' ... which is a strong endorsement from a Creation Scientist, like myself!!!
    He is truly an amazing man ... and somebody that other Theistic Evolutionists should be very proud of ... but instead many join with the Darwinists in condemning him.
    ... what is wrong with some Theistic Evolutionists, who don't have common cause with a fellow mainstream Christian, who happens to have one of the best scientific brains on the planet today ... and isn't afraid to use it!!???

Many fundamentalist Protestant churches, especially in the US, are in vigorous conflict with science in relation to Evolution. Islam also has difficulty with Evolution. Some movements in Judaism believe the world is less than 10,000 years old, how is that not in conflict with science?
    Many scientists are in vigorous scientific conflict with fundamentalist Materialists ... and so far, the scientists are winning, 'hands down' ... because the 'mat fundies' have no evidence or logic for their dogmatic position ... that selecting mutagenic mistakes can do anything ... except degrade genetic information!!!:eek:

To my knowledge scientists do not make leaps of faith to support their arguments. Have you any examples where faith is required to explain any scientific fact?
    Evolution is an Article of Faith (and an unfounded Article of Faith, at that)!!!
    Even though it has a selection mechanism ... it has no plausible means of producing the Complex Functional Specific Information that living organisms are 'bristling with' ... for NS to select!!!:)

The only 'Evolution' that ever has been observed is the selection (and 'genetic drift') of the pre-existing CFSI infused into every Created Kind at Creation!!
    ... all the rest is wishful thinking and 'just so' stories and on the part of Materialists in their quest to deny the existence of God!!!

It is estimated that it took 10 million years for the first self replicating molecules to evolve to use RNA. DNA would have taken longer still.

Estimated?? What were the first self replicating molecules to use RNA? Have we got physical evidence for them? Has there ever been a cell that didn't have DNA? If so then it must have evolved DNA. If DNA has the instructions to build the cell then how can a cell form without DNA? And how can a cell go from not having the instructions to build itself to one which has got those instructions? Instructions which are contained within DNA coding?
    Self replicating systems (proto cells) evolved to use DNA and this took a long time, possibly longer than it took for DNA cells to go from single cells to humans. So clearly arriving at DNA is tricky.

You bet ya. But just stating that self replicating systems (proto cells) evolved to use DNA does not mean that its true. You need evidence for this. You don't have any. Saying that evidence will be found in the future is a prediction of the theory that must be either falsified or supported by physical evidence. We don't have this yet so therefore what you said is complete and utter speculation.
    No one thinks it just happened, so any time you hear JC or someone like that saying DNA (or RNA or proteins) could not just randomly form by chance as if this is an issue for evolution they are lying to you about what evolution says and what biologists (or as JC calls them materialists) believe.

In the absence of a guiding intelligence it did just happen. Even though under the theory of evolution it took a fair bit of time. Life must have started out very simple and increased in complexity through a very slow process of natural selection acting on random mutations.
    Just a point, the length of DNA doesn't reflect the complexity of life. Humans have 46 chromosomes, dogs have 78, where as a fern has 1260 chromosomes. Potatoes have 48 (more than us)

This is further evidence for evolution. The more static and older the species the more mutations that duplicate DNA it has picked up.

And it is very difficult to explain in terms of intelligent design.

Is a fern a 1000 times more complex than a human. Is a dog twice as complex as a human? You can build an ant with 1 chromosome of DNA where as some bacteria need much more.

Well yeast can be anything up to 45 million years old as a species (possibly even older) and yet it only has 32 chromosomes. Under your reckoning shouldn't yeast have picked up more mutations that would have duplicated DNA in all that time? I don't think a chromosome count in organisms is good evidence for evolution at all. In fact it could be used as a counter argument under your criteria. If your criteria of - the older the species the more chromosomes it is likely to have - is true then how do you explain the chromosome count in yeast given that it is much older than humans?
    A mutation is any change in the system used to replicate itself that produces different results than the parent.

"Corruption" of code is nonsensical in this context since the code isn't being understood by anything.

Addition and loss depend on the system used to replicate. In the case of DNA you can add genetic material or remove genetic material and this will alter the child and thus alter the proteins the child produces.

Here's the official definition from Wikipedia:

In molecular biology and genetics, mutations are changes in a genomic sequence: the DNA sequence of a cell's genome or the DNA or RNA sequence of a virus. Mutations are caused by radiation, viruses, transposons and mutagenic chemicals, as well as errors that occur during meiosis or DNA replication.

The pivotal word in this paragraph is Sequence. If the sequence is altered at all then the resulting child will most likely be damaged and thus not survive and hence not reproduce hence making it impossible for further mutations to take place. But getting back to the word Sequence. The specific placement of the nucleotide bases within the DNA molecule is what determines what the organism will eventually become. Changes or mutations like that in the example above will most likely result in destruction for the resulting child.

So where did the original sequencing of these bases come from? The specificity and complexity of the original sequence could only have come about by chance if there was no guiding intelligence in the mix. So under Darwinian principles this happening was the result of chance at a time when the earth was only starting to evolve the capacity to support the resulting self replicating proto cell.

The odds against such a sequence happening at any time are vanishingly small anyway, but for it to happen just at the time when the earth was only starting out in its capacity to support it is just mind bogglingly begging the question.
    You are thinking of DNA as an information code, when in fact it make far more sense to think of it as a machine made up of lots of tiny worker units. A worker unit can either do action A or it can do action B and depending on what it does this effects the product the DNA machine makes (a protein)

If you have a line of worker units in the order A A A B B A A B you will make a particular protein (call it the AABBAAB protein)

Now if you add a new worker unit (which is just a molecule in a string of molecules) in the middle of all this you have a line of workers in the oder A A A B A B A A B and they make a different protein (call it AAABABAA protein)

"Information" is rather irrelevant to this. The workers don't know what they are doing, they just do it because it is the only thing they can do (the workers are just chemicals, who can only bond a particular way). They don't understand what they are doing, they aren't following a blueprint of what to do.

How these workers are arranged is purely down to which ones work. No one put them in order to achieve a particular out come. Nature is constantly rearranging them (mutation) and if a mutation does something benefital it survives natural selection.

Every time a life form reproduces all these workers are copied, and this system does not produce a perfect copy. A mutation is a change in the pattern. So A A A B B A A B becomes A A A B A B A A B and all of a sudden you have a slightly different machine that is going to make a slightly different output (ie protein) every time it is run (which is constantly throughout the life of the child as the child's cell or cells produce proteins to do things.

If this new protein does something useful in the wider machine then this new version thrives.

That makes sense but to say that the sequence whereby these workers are arranged cannot be construed as information is rather silly. If I arranged 1000 piles of hay in a field where -from an aerial view - their specific placement spelled out the sentence: "This hay is for the cows! Therefore leave the hay alone." you wouldn't deduce that information wasn't present because the bails of hay don't know what they are doing, would you? Do letters in normal sentences know what they are doing?

In the absence of natural selection and in a process that had no intelligence guiding it, the only way that the original sequence in the coding of the first cell could have come about was by chance. The chances that a single self replicating system could have come about by chance is like saying that if I randomly dropped the 1000 bails of hay out of a huge helicopter they would eventually spell out the sentence: "This hay is for the cows! Therefore leave the hay alone." How long do you think it would take? How many drops from the helicopter would it take? And what if it happened on the first try? You'd think there was another force at work wouldn't you? Yet this is what we are supposed to believe happened under the general theories of abiogenesis, when the first self replicating system arose on the very very early earth, and that it only happened once.
    Mutations are changes in the replication system. What they do is irrelevant to calling them a mutation.

Mutations are always bad is not even something Young Earth Creationists believe as they require benefitial mutations to go from the handful of animals on the ark to the millions we have today.

More from Wikipedia:

Mutation can result in several different types of change in DNA sequences; these can either have no effect, alter the product of a gene, or prevent the gene from functioning properly or completely.
    No actually they are always nearly neutral to the living system. You have on average 60 mutations from your parents, the majority of which probably do nothing to you.

Yes but what about mutations that take place in single cell organisms? These inevitability will lead to destruction for the child. If mutations at this level are usually detrimental and result in death then how can further mutations take place from the resulting mutated child? But even if some do survive, and subsequent mutations for that survive then how could such a multiple of billions of mutations eventually lead to such symmetrical organisms like human beings?
    This is why creatures like ferns have so many chromosomes, over the years they have built up a lot of mutations that do nothing.

As already pointed out above, if ferns have more chromosomes because their speicies is much older than humans then why does yeast have a lower chromosome count than humans? It too is much older than humans.
    Since they aren't having any great negate effect on the organisms with these mutations they don't die off (ie they aren't deselected by nature). They just hang around until some major evolutionary event takes place, like a chromosome splitting in half. Some species of ferns have evolved very little in the millions of years they have existed, so they have all these mutations built up. Mutations keep happening independently to natural selection.

Again, why does yeast have less chromosomes so?
    Low. Which is why it takes millions of years.

Think about it. The world is covered with self replicating molecules, and these undergo mutations all the time (billions of mutations happening every second spread over a population of billions of replicating units) and it still took 10 million years (longer than humans have existed) to develop a system that used RNA. 10 million years is a long time.

So is 45 millions years and thats how old yeast is at least. In fact it is probably much much older. I pick 45 million years as a figure because yeast has actually been found dating back that far.
    Again there is no information in DNA. There is just stuff that makes other stuff.

Again think of it simply as worker units. Mutations can add worker units by a number of ways all of which resolve around chemistry and the interaction of chemical molecules. For example during replication as a DNA strand is replicating itself it can make more than one replicate and this extra strand of DNA is stuck in at the end or the middle during replication. A sequence such as A A B B A becomes A A B B A B B (the copy of BB was made twice).

Naturally a string of workers A A B B A B B will produce something different than A A B B A, so the new DNA string will produce a different protein than the original.

I say there is no information here because the worker units have no idea what they are doing, they just do it. Worker unit A can only produce a specific thing. Worker unit B can only produce a specific thing. They don't choose what they make based on information.

Dealt with this earlier. But let me reprise. If your worker units which are assembled in a specific sequence cannot be construed as information then the letters you are reading in this sentence also cannot be construed as being a source of information. You might as well be reading a sequence like this: pdfnjw foufuwul hjzuccuu ucskfso kuxuvsoawoc icooijxdff bkko. Which obviously makes no sense. Same thing for DNA. If you mess with the sequence then you change the outcome. Unless the coding in DNA is specified in a particular way it will affect what will result. DNA contains all the instructions that each protein is to carry out in the cell. It also contains the folding sequence of the amino acids which go to make up the various different types of proteins that will carry out those instructions. Instructions to build a house is also information for building a house. Instructions and information are one and the same both for building a house and for building proteins.
    The odds of that happening are not low at all, given the conditions of the early Earth (yes we know these independently) it would be more surprising not to find self replicating molecules.

So how come - under the theory of evolution - life only arose once? And at the exact same time as it became possible for the earth to support it?
    To go from the very first self replicating unit to a human? Trillions.

But again how many mutations do you think you can generate if you have an Earth covered in self replicating units, who mutate all the time, and you have 4 billion years.

Trillions upon trillions upon trillions upon trillions.

In theory that all sounds plausible but where is the hard evidence? Has this process ever been observed? Is it testable in the LAB? Why has yeast got a lower chromosomes count than a human being?
    Life can't devolve. It can evolve or it can die. Dead creatures don't reproduce, thus "bad" mutations do not continue to exist in the eco-system.

If mutations can result in a reduction of the original information in the proto cell then the resulting system - assuming it survives and replicates - will have changed into a less complex system. I think we can safely call that a devolution. That ferns contain more information than humans is due to their longevity just begs the question I've asked several times already. Why does yeast have a lower chromosome count than human beings given that it has been evolving for many millions of years longer than humans?
    Yes, huge ignorance and gross misunderstanding.

Trying to learn via my questions born of ignorance. :)
    Basically nothing you have said in this post is accurately describing what Darwinian evolution says, irrespective of whether it is true or not. It is describing some nonsensical Creationist version of evolution that is full of straw men and misrepresentations.

My questions are valid enough for you to try and answer them though.
    So I'm under no doubt that you don't understand Darwinian evolution.

I can only ask the questions that come to my mind given what I do know about Darwinian evolution. I can only ask that which I'm confused about given my present understanding. I can do no other so help me God. ;)
    The question I'm still not sure about is if you actually are interested in understanding Darwinian evolution, or if you have closed your mind due to religious reasons and concluded it cannot be true what ever it is.

I'm genuinely interested but I must admit that the answers I'm getting (and not just from you) just add more confusion to my already troubled open mind and hence result in more questions. Sorry about that old buddy old pal. :pac:
    No one apart from those with a deep ideological reason for thinking this actually thinks this.

That should tell you something, that perhaps you are missing something or not understanding it properly.

Hmmmm...
    Christians, Muslims, Hindus, atheists etc all accept evolution as making perfect sense.

Correction: 'Some Christians, some Muslims, some Hindus, and some atheists etc all accept evolution as making perfect sense.'

Fair play to them. The same argument could be made that some Christians, some Muslims, some Hindus, and some atheists etc all reject evolution as making perfect sense.
    Based on who's assessment of serious scrutiny? Yours? Answers in Genesis?

You think you have scrutinized evolution more than biologists have for the last 100 years?

There are many biologists in the past and today who did not and do not subscribe to the theory at all. They have PhDs in biology and biochemistry from reputable universities. Are they as ignorant as me when it comes to this theory given that they must must have understood it in order to get their PhD degrees in this area?
    Or perhaps you are simply mistaken in your understanding of this topic?

That's possible but my questions are as valid as anyone else.

Estimated??

Yes, it is sort of hard to give exact figures when you are dealing with something that is supposed to have happened 4 billion years ago.
    What were the first self replicating molecules to use RNA? Have we got physical evidence for them? Has there ever been a cell that didn't have DNA?
    I don't know, no, yes.
    If so then it must have evolved DNA. If DNA has the instructions to build the cell then how can a cell form without DNA?

There are other ways to store the "instructions" to build a cell.

Even the most simply self replicating molecule has the characteristics needed to build another copy of itself, that is what makes it self replicating.

RNA and DNA are simply more complicated versions of this. They are not the starting point.
    You bet ya. But just stating that self replicating systems (proto cells) evolved to use DNA does not mean that its true. You need evidence for this. You don't have any.

There are tons of evidence for this idea, know as the "RNA world" hypothesis.
    Even though under the theory of evolution it took a fair bit of time.

Which is the point. All of JC's figures are the odds of a complex structure like a protein or a cell just randomly joining up.

No biologists alive thinks that is what actually happened.
    Well yeast can be anything up to 45 million years old as a species (possibly even older) and yet it only has 32 chromosomes. Under your reckoning shouldn't yeast have picked up more mutations that would have duplicated DNA in all that time?
    Time is not going to be the only factor, others like mutation rate effect this as well.

It was not meant as proof of evolution, more a serious blow to ID. Why would an intelligent designer use 32 chromosomes to make yeast when he can make an ant with only one.

Do you not think 32 chromosomes is odd for something that is the size and complexity of a flake of human skin?
    Here's the official definition from Wikipedia:

You lost me when you put "official" and "Wikipedia" in the same sentence. :pac:
    If the sequence is altered at all then the resulting child will most likely be damaged and thus not survive and hence not reproduce hence making it impossible for further mutations to take place.
    Changes or mutations like that in the example above will most likely result in destruction for the resulting child.

I already explained this isn't true. I'm not sure how to explain it again.

The majority of mutations do nothing to you. You are living proof of this since humans on average contain 60 to 80 mutations in their DNA sequence from their parents DNA sequence.

So if mutations in DNA "most likely" result in the destruction of the child how are you still here? How am I still here? How are any of us still here? We should all be dead right?
    The odds against such a sequence happening at any time are vanishingly small anyway, but for it to happen just at the time when the earth was only starting out in its capacity to support it is just mind bogglingly begging the question.

You are going to have to expand on this. What do you mean the Earth was only starting to support chemical sequences?

When did the Earth not support this?
    That makes sense but to say that the sequence whereby these workers are arranged cannot be construed as information is rather silly. If I arranged 1000 piles of hay in a field where -from an aerial view - their specific placement spelled out the sentence: "This hay is for the cows! Therefore leave the hay alone." you wouldn't deduce that information wasn't present because the bails of hay don't know what they are doing, would you? Do letters in normal sentences know what they are doing?

The sentence "This hay is for the cows" is information because it conveys a concept between people.

DNA doesn't do that, any more than the chemical bonds in salt do that.
    In the absence of natural selection and in a process that had no intelligence guiding it, the only way that the original sequence in the coding of the first cell could have come about was by chance.

Why the absence of natural selection? There is no biologists alive who thinks the original sequence in the coding of the first cells didn't come about via natural selection.
    Mutation can result in several different types of change in DNA sequences; these can either have no effect, alter the product of a gene, or prevent the gene from functioning properly or completely.

Yes, that is correct. Did you notice they didn't say that the only outcome or even the likely out come of a mutation is to prevent the gene from functioning?

I'm going to skip over further points along these lines because you are just saying the same inaccurate thing over and over.
    Dealt with this earlier. But let me reprise. If your worker units which are assembled in a specific sequence cannot be construed as information then the letters you are reading in this sentence also cannot be construed as being a source of information.
    They aren't a source of information, they are chemical bondings. They are no more a source of information to the cell that H2O is.
    You might as well be reading a sequence like this: pdfnjw foufuwul hjzuccuu ucskfso kuxuvsoawoc icooijxdff bkko. Which obviously makes no sense.

Make sense to who?

If you want to call H2O (two hydrogen atoms to one oxygen atom) FFQ you can. All these are are human classification of molecules.
    Instructions and information are one and the same both for building a house and for building proteins.
    Chemical molecules don't understand things. The molecules don't read the DNA sequence and go "Oh, ok, I have to build a protein now" They just do it, based on chemical bonds. There is no information here in any meaningful sense of the word.

If there is information in DNA there is also information in salt molecules.
    So how come - under the theory of evolution - life only arose once?
    We don't know life only arose once. Life could have arisen thousand of times. Only one form survived which is understandable in a system of limited resources.
    And at the exact same time as it became possible for the earth to support it?

That is like asking what are the odds that I started to feel hot exactly the same time that the temperature in the room was turned up.

Life arose because the conditions were right, not the other way round.
    In theory that all sounds plausible but where is the hard evidence? Has this process ever been observed?

Has a 4 billion year process ever been observed? Think about that one for a second.
    Is it testable in the LAB? Why has yeast got a lower chromosomes count than a human being?

I haven't studied yeast so I don't know.

You apparently have so perhaps you can explain why if we are all intelligently designed yeast has 30 more chromosomes than an ant?
    If mutations can result in a reduction of the original information in the proto cell then the resulting system - assuming it survives and replicates - will have changed into a less complex system.

Not necessarily. We have already established that the number length of the DNA does not directly relate to the complexity of the organism.

But even if that were true a less complex child is not a de-evolve version of the parent.

Evolution is about adaption to environment. If a child is more adapt to the environment, even if it is less complex is structure, then it has evolved.
    I think we can safely call that a devolution.

That statement sums up this entire thread to be honest.
    That ferns contain more information than humans is due to their longevity just begs the question I've asked several times already. Why does yeast have a lower chromosome count than human beings given that it has been evolving for many millions of years longer than humans?

Are you genuinely interested in the answer to that question or do you simply think it disproves what I said?

Trying to learn via my questions born of ignorance. :)

You seem to spend a lot of time repeating questions that have already been answered.

For example it is a complete fabrication that the majority of mutations result in the death of the off spring.

If that it the Creationist argument for why evolution cannot happen surely that being wrong shows that evolution can happen, and we can all go home :pac:
    My questions are valid enough for you to try and answer them though.
    I haven't given up yet (as I have with JC and Wolfsbane) that you are genuinely not interested in learning about evolution.
    I can only ask the questions that come to my mind given what I do know about Darwinian evolution.

Asking questions isn't the issue. Ignoring the answers is.
    Fair play to them. The same argument could be made that some Christians, some Muslims, some Hindus, and some atheists etc all reject evolution as making perfect sense.

Yes but the argument from the Creationist camp is that you would only accept evolution in order to reject God. That clearly isn't the case.
    There are many biologists in the past and today who did not and do not subscribe to the theory at all.

There are not "many". There are a tiny tiny tiny handful. Answers in Genesis tried to compile a list of biologists who reject evolution and I think they got to about 20. Out of the hundreds of thousands of biologists working today.
    Are they as ignorant as me when it comes to this theory given that they must must have understood it in order to get their PhD degrees in this area?

No. Which is why I'm still bothering to explain it to you but wouldn't bother explaining it to them since if someone understands it and yet still rejects it that is ideology, not ignorance.

I'm still holding out hope for you yet :)

Why have the posts got so ... er ... 'short'???:eek::pac::)

Yes, it is sort of hard to give exact figures when you are dealing with something that is supposed to have happened 4 billion years ago.

Cool, we agree on something at last.
    I don't know, no, yes.

For the record, your Yes answer is to the following question:

Has there ever been a cell that didn't have DNA?

OK, explain please. A cell that had/has no DNA. Go...
    There are other ways to store the "instructions" to build a cell.

How?
    Even the most simply self replicating molecule has the characteristics needed to build another copy of itself, that is what makes it self replicating.

RNA and DNA are simply more complicated versions of this. They are not the starting point.

What is the starting point then? Amino acids (the basic building blocks of life) are folded into three dimensional structures called proteins. The particular folding instructions of the various amino acids (20 in all) to make Proteins is coded for in DNA. These instructions are encoded in the sequence of nucleotide bases in the double helix structure of DNA. Proteins read this sequence in the bases and decode it in order to bring about transcription which is needed in order to create mRNA so that it can be replicated in another (extremely complicated) part of the cell. In short cells need proteins and proteins cannot form without DNA. DNA has all the instructions for the building of all the proteins. So how can you have a cell that has no DNA?
    There are tons of evidence for this idea, know as the "RNA world" hypothesis.

A critique of the RNA world hypothesis from www.arn.org by Gordon C. Mills - [SIZE=-1]Department of Human Biological Chemistry and Genetics and Dean [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]Kenyon - [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]Department of Biology San Francisco State University:[/SIZE]

"Hubert Yockey, borrowing a metaphor from Jonathan Swift, suggests that current origin-of-life research, including the RNA World hypothesis, floats improbably in mid-air like the roof of a house built by an architect of the Grand Academy of Lagado. This savant had contrived a method of building houses by beginning at the roof and working downwards. "The architect pointed out that among the advantages of this procedure," Yockey notes, "was that once the roof was in place [before the walls or foundation] the rest of the construction could proceed quickly and without interruption by weather." That "roof" -- consisting in this instance of tiles which represent the catalytic activities of RNA -- may look solid to those believers in the existence of a prebiotic RNA World. But is the roof really solid? Is it supported by walls and a foundation?" More here.
    Which is the point. All of JC's figures are the odds of a complex structure like a protein or a cell just randomly joining up.

No biologists alive thinks that is what actually happened.

The abiogenesis theories are starting to remind of some of the outlandish theories that try to explain the Big Bang without the need for an absolute beginning of the universe simply because the religious implications are enormous. As soon as they get to within a certain Planck time of the initial singularity the laws of physics needed to explain it all, fall apart and break down. Likewise with naturalist theories for the origin of life. The laws of natural selection break down because at this level there is no Natural Selection, just organic chemicals swimming around in the primordial pond. There is no struggle for survival at this level.
    It was not meant as proof of evolution, more a serious blow to ID.

Contrast that statement with the following:

"Just a point, the length of DNA doesn't reflect the complexity of life. Humans have 46 chromosomes, dogs have 78, where as a fern has 1260 chromosomes. Potatoes have 48 (more than us)

This is further evidence for evolution. The more static and older the species the more mutations that duplicate DNA it has picked up."

Given what we know now about yeast, this was hardly a blow for ID now was it?
    Why would an intelligent designer use 32 chromosomes to make yeast when he can make an ant with only one.

I'm not the one who says that the older the organism the more chromosomes it should have - you said that. I don't know why yeast has only 32 chromosomes and humans have 46. I wasn't using that as evidence for anything, I was just refuting what you said about the longevity of species, that the older the species the more chromosomes it will have accumulated during its longer evolution period. Yeast proves that hypotheses false because yeast is much older as a species than humans and yet it has a lower chromosome count than humans.
    Do you not think 32 chromosomes is odd for something that is the size and complexity of a flake of human skin?

I have no opinion on the matter either way. It doesn't strike me as odd at all because I wasn't the one pointing to it as good evidence for anything, just that it was good evidence which falsified your theory.
    You lost me when you put "official" and "Wikipedia" in the same sentence. :pac:

That's a strange comment coming from the master Wikipedia quoter :pac:
    I already explained this isn't true. I'm not sure how to explain it again.

The majority of mutations do nothing to you. You are living proof of this since humans on average contain 60 to 80 mutations in their DNA sequence from their parents DNA sequence.

So if mutations in DNA "most likely" result in the destruction of the child how are you still here? How am I still here? How are any of us still here? We should all be dead right?

My point was that the random mutations theory is not an adequate explanation for how life evolved, I don't actually subscribe to the random mutations hypothesis in the first place so how would I know?
    You are going to have to expand on this. What do you mean the Earth was only starting to support chemical sequences?

When did the Earth not support this?

OK let me explain. The earth is supposedly 4 billion years old. And life supposedly appeared on the earth 3.5 billion years ago. Which means that the earth was in development for 500 million years before life arose and according to the literature this is the time when the earth became capable of supporting any lifeforms that might arise. Before 3.5 billion years ago the earth would have been made of molten rock and as such the organic chemicals required for the proto cell to form would need the earth to cool down, but just at the time when the earth did cool down the astronomically low odds happening just happened to happen. Brilliant lads.
    The sentence "This hay is for the cows" is information because it conveys a concept between people.

DNA doesn't do that, any more than the chemical bonds in salt do that.

Chemical bonds in salt can be explained naturalistically. It can be tested in the LAB. All you need are the right chemical compounds in the right place under the right environmental conditions and voilà we can make salt. That process is not so easy when it comes to protein formation. Depending on the sequence of the amino acids a certain type of protein will result. The sequencing instructions are encoded within DNA. It is DNA which is responsible for how all the proteins are formed, what proteins are formed and for what functions the proteins are formed. This coding may or may not make any sense to you or I but for proper functionality to be achieved within the cell it makes a world of difference.
    Why the absence of natural selection? There is no biologists alive who thinks the original sequence in the coding of the first cells didn't come about via natural selection.

"Natural selection can only apply to self replicating systems that are subject to environmental factors." Wicknight in the first line of this post

So according even to you before the first self replicating system arose there was no Natural Selection right? But all we had before the first self replicating system was organic chemicals swimming around in the primordial slime pool waiting to assemble themselves into the specific sequence in order to form the first ever self replicating system.
    Yes, that is correct. Did you notice they didn't say that the only outcome or even the likely out come of a mutation is to prevent the gene from functioning?

Yes :D
    They aren't a source of information, they are chemical bondings. They are no more a source of information to the cell that H2O is.

Oh but there are. See above salt explanation.
    Chemical molecules don't understand things. The molecules don't read the DNA sequence and go "Oh, ok, I have to build a protein now" They just do it, based on chemical bonds. There is no information here in any meaningful sense of the word.

If there is information in DNA there is also information in salt molecules.

Individual letters in words do not understand things either. They are abstract entities that have meaning to those who use them in order to communicate with one another. Their specific sequencing is very important for a proper understanding of what is being conveyed. Depending on the specific sequencing of these individual letters, the resulting words, sentences and paragraphs will either make sense to the reader or they won't. Letters are two dimensional entities either written or typed out on a medium which when read will either make sense to the reader or not. The same principle applies to the specific sequencing of the amino acids except much more advanced than any language known to man and it goes one step further, it is actually three dimensional. The specific folding sequence will either produce a specific functioning protein or it won't. The sequencing instructions are encoded within the structure of the DNA double helix, depending on what way the nucleotide bases are themselves sequenced will determine what type of protein will result when this information is decoded. This is a billion light years removed from the chemical compounds that are need to make salt.
    We don't know life only arose once.

Not according to this article on Richard Dawkins.net
    Life could have arisen thousand of times. Only one form survived which is understandable in a system of limited resources.

Why do you think that the earth at that time had limited resources? Surely there could have been more than just one primordial soup pond on the vast earth from which life could have simultaneously arisen separated by enough distance that the resulting lifeforms would not have to fight over the limited resources of one pond?
    That is like asking what are the odds that I started to feel hot exactly the same time that the temperature in the room was turned up.

No its not. Feeling hot as a result of an increase in temperature is what will naturally happen. The odds that you will feel hot after an increase in temperature are very high. However the odds that life will arise given the right conditions and proper chemical compounds all mixed up together will produce life are vanishingly small, and that it happened just as the earth became capable of supporting it is mind boggling. Talk about a leap of faith.
    Life arose because the conditions were right, not the other way round.

The conditions have been right for over 3 billion years, so how come we don't observe it happening all the time?
    Has a 4 billion year process ever been observed? Think about that one for a second.

The way some evolutionists talk you'd swear that it had been.

I haven't studied yeast so I don't know.

You apparently have so perhaps you can explain why if we are all intelligently designed yeast has 30 more chromosomes than an ant?

Beats the hell out of me. Chromosome counts are not my forté, nor does ID hold them up as proving anything as far as I know.
    But even if that were true a less complex child is not a de-evolve version of the parent.

What if given the proper environmental conditions life started to devolve to a more primitive state? In theory the environmental conditions are the feedback system by which selection takes place, then surely a cataclysmic event conceivably could set evolution to devolution. Imagine a meteorite hit the earth wiping out most of the animal and plant life, the survivors with the limited resources remaining would need to adjust to the new environmental conditions that they now find themselves in. Surely adapting to this new environment would either result in extinction for the surviving species or force it to survive on the limited resources available. Given all the cataclysmic events that have occurred on this earth since life arose there would have been many such set backs like this until the environmental conditions began to change back to a more favorable degree for evolution to kick back in. Can this type of adaptation be construed as devolution or is it still simply evolution but going in a different direction?
    Evolution is about adaption to environment. If a child is more adapt to the environment, even if it is less complex is structure, then it has evolved.

I suppose that answers my previous question - thanks :)
    That statement sums up this entire thread to be honest.

So there's no such thing as devolution then? No matter what direction life takes, be that up, down or sideways, no matter how complex and advanced a species gets or how less advanced it gets, it is all evolution? I'd rather call reverting back to a lesser advanced state a devolution but heck that's just me.
    Are you genuinely interested in the answer to that question or do you simply think it disproves what I said?

I couldn't care less, unless someone can adequately show the real reason for the differing chromosome counts in all the species of plants and animals. I just think that your theory was wrong on that score and for now that was what had me interested in it.
    You seem to spend a lot of time repeating questions that have already been answered.

For example it is a complete fabrication that the majority of mutations result in the death of the off spring.

If that it the Creationist argument for why evolution cannot happen surely that being wrong shows that evolution can happen, and we can all go home :pac:

I'm not arguing against evolution per se, just the mechanism by which it is supposed to take place. The reason I keep asking the same questions regarding Natural Selection is because the answers I'm getting generate more questions than anything else.
    I haven't given up yet (as I have with JC and Wolfsbane) that you are genuinely not interested in learning about evolution.

Ah thanks, you're a pal. Put it this way, if Natural Selection was thrown out tomorrow as a theory in the scientific community in favor of ID, I'd still be interested in the answers to these questions from somebody who accepts it as a valid theory.
    Asking questions isn't the issue. Ignoring the answers is.

Ignoring the answers and simply rejecting the answers as inadequate are two very different things. I have given my reason for rejecting them and your refutations of my reasons for rejecting them simply do not hold water for me. Like I said, they raise more questions than anything else.
    Yes but the argument from the Creationist camp is that you would only accept evolution in order to reject God. That clearly isn't the case.

We agree yet again.
    There are not "many". There are a tiny tiny tiny handful. Answers in Genesis tried to compile a list of biologists who reject evolution and I think they got to about 20. Out of the hundreds of thousands of biologists working today.

20 that are willing to be counted at least. But you can't just help yourself to the hundreds of thousands that are left un-vouched for though. Not all of them have nailed their colors to any specific mast as yet so until they do the jury is out. In any case even if there was just 20, are they to be castigated because they don't subscribe to a specific interpretation of the evidence that they just happen to disagree with? Surely not.
    No. Which is why I'm still bothering to explain it to you but wouldn't bother explaining it to them since if someone understands it and yet still rejects it that is ideology, not ignorance.

No is not wicknight, that is someone who knows it and simply doesn't accept it. They claim to simply go where the evidence leads them and for them in the case of microbiology and biochemistry the evidence is stronger for Intelligent Design than it is for chance, necessity or a combination of both. That is how these guys see it and sure even if they are wrong that is not a good reason to castigate them. I thought part of the fun of Science was finding out how wrong you are.
    I'm still holding out hope for you yet :)

OK, explain please. A cell that had/has no DNA. Go...

One word for you Ribo Nucleic Acid :p

There are a number of viruses that only contain RNA.
    How?

Any system of chemical bonds. RNA plays a major role in most life forms for the construction of protein (though DNA is still the central role) and in some viruses RNA is all there is.

But on a more fundamental level any chemical bond that is replicating can story the pattern to construct primitive cell (proto-cell)
    In short cells need proteins and proteins cannot form without DNA. DNA has all the instructions for the building of all the proteins. So how can you have a cell that has no DNA?

Modern cells require this. But it is incorrect to assume that modern cells are all there ever were, that is the whole point of evolution.

You wouldn't look at a Ferrari and say "How the heck did cave men build that?"

Equally it is illogical to look at a modern cell and say how did random formations of chemicals in a primordial soup form that!
    Gordon C. Mills

Scientists can of course disagree, though Mills' bio would seem to suggest he is more interested in finding some where where God has to be inserted rather than seriously considering a naturalistic origin of life
    For the past 12 years he has applied his research training and experience to developing a Christian view of evolution and the origin of life, culminating in a series of publications. This view was initially termed a "Design Theory of Theistic Evolution", but he is now referring to it as a "Design Theory of Progressive Creation". Dr. Mills has authored about 20 papers dealing with this subject, most appearing in Perspectives on Science and Christian Faith, with others in Origins & Design, and in Christian Scholar's Review.

I appreciate that a purely naturalistic origin of life is troubling for some Chrisitans, but that isn't a reason it isn't true.

That article was also written in 1996, there have been a lot of advances in understanding since then.

Here is a more up todate publication from a quick Google Search

http://books.google.ie/books?id=3mREVdXNzFcC&printsec=frontcover&dq=RNA+world&source=bl&ots=29qPBkpHZP&sig=1SIMqxNYArlrladOriQQyg3aScs&hl=en&ei=TnfaTKCCIIuFhQff18jcAg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=11&ved=0CE4Q6AEwCg
    The abiogenesis theories are starting to remind of some of the outlandish theories that try to explain the Big Bang without the need for an absolute beginning of the universe simply because the religious implications are enormous.

I would suggest that is your bias shining through. Most if not all current abiogenesis theories work within known and understood laws of chemistry and the current understanding of the chemicals likely found on the early Earth.

This to me would be a lot less outlandish that introducing an unknown yet super powerful designer that we have no external evidence for and who simply is introduced to make ID work.
    The laws of natural selection break down because at this level there is no Natural Selection, just organic chemicals swimming around in the primordial pond. There is no struggle for survival at this level.

Yes there is. There is natural selection and struggle for survival because these chemicals replicate (thus allowing for the possibility for changes during replication) and because there is only a infinite amount of resources to replicate with (ie you need stuff to build a copy of yourself)

So does that make you see how it isn't that outlandish at all?
    Contrast that statement with the following:

"Just a point, the length of DNA doesn't reflect the complexity of life. Humans have 46 chromosomes, dogs have 78, where as a fern has 1260 chromosomes. Potatoes have 48 (more than us)

This is further evidence for evolution. The more static and older the species the more mutations that duplicate DNA it has picked up."

Given what we know now about yeast, this was hardly a blow for ID now was it?
    The yeast examples shows that older species more chromosomes is not a hard rule, but then I never claimed it was. If you look at a range of species not just one you pick out that bucks the trend, this general idea holds. Of course time is not the only factor at play, mutation rate is also an issue along with other thing.

It is still a blow for ID though since the issue with ID is that there is supposed to be a designer.

What ever way you want to look at it if DNA is designed by someone why does yeast require nearly as much "information" put there by the designer as humans do?
    My point was that the random mutations theory is not an adequate explanation for how life evolved, I don't actually subscribe to the random mutations hypothesis in the first place so how would I know?

You have repeatably claimed that random mutations will in the majority of cases kill or damage the offspring and this means it cannot be adequate explanation for evolution of life.

Given that this isn't true, that the vast majority of mutations do no harm to the off spring to you accept then that is isn't an argument against evolution?
    OK let me explain. The earth is supposedly 4 billion years old. And life supposedly appeared on the earth 3.5 billion years ago. Which means that the earth was in development for 500 million years before life arose and according to the literature this is the time when the earth became capable of supporting any lifeforms that might arise. Before 3.5 billion years ago the earth would have been made of molten rock and as such the organic chemicals required for the proto cell to form would need the earth to cool down, but just at the time when the earth did cool down the astronomically low odds happening just happened to happen. Brilliant lads.
    Do you think it is odd that mold just happens to appear on your food when you take it out of the fridge and leave it out? I mean you can have that bowl of baked beans in your fridge for days yet you take it out and within a few hours mold can form. How does the mold know now is the right time to form? Why not in the fridge?

You see how silly this argument is?

The chemicals required to form self replicating molecules were always there, but as you said the very very early Earth was probably too violent so the chemical reactions didn't take place. These reactions happened as soon as the Earth had cooled to a level that it could. It wasn't a coincidence, any more than mold happens to grow on your food around the time that the temperature gets right for mold to grow.
    Depending on the sequence of the amino acids a certain type of protein will result. The sequencing instructions are encoded within DNA. It is DNA which is responsible for how all the proteins are formed, what proteins are formed and for what functions the proteins are formed. This coding may or may not make any sense to you or I but for proper functionality to be achieved within the cell it makes a world of difference.

But it still just follows basic rules of chemistry and chemical bonds. The "world of difference" to the cell is what evolution takes care of.
    "Natural selection can only apply to self replicating systems that are subject to environmental factors." Wicknight in the first line of this post

So according even to you before the first self replicating system arose there was no Natural Selection right?

Some times I wonder are you actually listening at all.

The first self replicating systems did not contain RNA or DNA. These sequence systems evolved.

I'm going to just have to start ignoring you if you keep insisting this was the case as I can only repeat myself so many times.
    But all we had before the first self replicating system was organic chemicals swimming around in the primordial slime pool waiting to assemble themselves into the specific sequence in order to form the first ever self replicating system.

No that isn't all we have. We have self replicating molecules. They do not use any DNA like sequencing because they aren't yet making proteins. They are just replicating themselves.
    Oh but there are. See above salt explanation.

Oh but they aren't. You view them as such because of your cognitive biases, not because they actually are. Saying there is a world of difference between DNA and salt is not true, it is fundamentally just chemical reactions. We simply view complex things as being more wondrous than similar things but as far as nature is concerned it is all just chemistry.

DNA itself is just made up of sugars and the way to produces proteins follows the chemical laws for sugars.
    Individual letters in words also do not understand things.
    Correct. We understand things, which means information is something passed around between intelligent beings and requires understanding.

The cell does not understand the DNA sequence. It is not an idea or concept that must be understood by the cell to do something. It happens automatically based on chemical laws.

Think of it this way, does your key hold information? No, of course not (except maybe the serial number or something on the top), it is just a key. You don't read it, you don't understand it. But your key holds a sequence of ridges that in the correct sequence will open your door. But they do this not through the transfer of information but simple physical laws. If the ridges in the key hit the inside of the lock the door won't open. If they don't they turn and open the door.

Compare that to your drivers licence. That holds a wealth of information and is meant to be understood by someone (ie the police man pulling you over)
    Not according to this article on Richard Dawkins.net

Unfortunately as so often happens with popular science writing (the original article was from Wired) it seems that the headline writer didn't bother to read the actual article.

Theobald’s study does not address how many times life may have arisen on Earth. Life could have originated many times, but the study suggests that only one of those primordial events yielded the array of organisms living today.
    Why do you think that the earth at that time had limited resources?
    Because there is a finite amount of stuff on it.
    Surely there could have been more than just one primordial soup pond on the vast earth from which life could have simultaneously arisen separated by enough distance that the resulting lifeforms would not have to fight over the limited resources of one pond?

The replicating units would have fought with themselves. If you have a billion replicating units in a pond and enough molecules to make another 500 million some of the billion replicating units are not going to replicate at the end of the day.
    No is not. Feeling hot as a result of an increase in temperature is what will naturally happen. The odds that you will feel hot after an increase in temperature are very high. However the odds that life will arise given the right conditions and proper chemical compounds all mixed up together will produce life are vanishingly small

No they aren't. The odds that life will arise given the right conditions and proper chemical compounds are very very high.
    The conditions have been right for over 3 billion years, so how come we don't observe it happening all the time?

The conditions haven't been right for 3 billion years. At the moment there isn't the right conditions nor the right chemical compounds. At some point in the distant past bacteria changed the make up of the atmosphere to be largely oxygen based.
    The way some evolutionists talk you'd swear that it had been.

No, this obsession with observing everything directly with your own eyes only seems to come solely from Creationists.

Most scientists, not just biologists, don't trust their own eyes very much and much prefer a large body of evidence that one single person couldn't possible observe.
    Beats the hell out of me. Chromosome counts are not my forté, nor does ID hold them up as proving anything as far as I know.

It is not a question of supporting, it is a question of contradicting. Chromosome counts across all species (not just one or two edge cases) contradict ID. There is no pattern across any species as to complexity to length ratio.

Almost as if there was no intelligent design at all :P
    What if given the proper environmental conditions life started to devolve to a more primitive state?

Evolution isn't concerned with primitive or complex states. It is concerned with adapted or not adapted (ie will the environment kill me or not).

If decrease in complexity makes you more likely to survive then this is still evolution. In Darwinian biology there is no such thing as devolution since non-adapted creatures by definition simply die. A species cannot continuously un-adapt, so they can't devolve.
    Imagine a meteorite hit the earth wiping out most of the animal and plant life, the survivors with the limited resources remaining would need to adjust to the new environmental conditions that they now find themselves in. Surely adapting to this new environment would either result in extinction for the surviving species or force it to survive on the limited resources available. Given all the cataclysmic events that have occurred on this earth since life arose there would have been many such set backs like this until the environmental conditions began to change back to a more favorable degree for evolution to kick back in.

That is a fundamental misunderstanding. The only environment not favourable to evolution is one that is static and has unlimited resources. The harsher the environment the more evolution will take place.

What you actually describe would result in rapid evolution not devolution, since the challenges of the environment are now much greater. The unadapted will be deselected very quickly, so even the most minor mutational change, which in the previous environment may have given little benefit at all may give much greater benefit in this much harsher environment.

Say normally you have a mutation that causes a slight darkening of your skin, very minor. In normal civilization this probably has zero effect on you, it doesn't help or hinder you from mating and thus this mutation becomes just another one of the mutations considered not to really do anything significant.

Now in a post apocalyptic world such a mutation may mean you can walk for 6 days to find water in the blazing sun rather than 5 days that everyone else can. Everyone but you dies because the water is 6 days away. You, by luck because you have this mutation, are better adapted to survive in a post apocalyptic world where water is 6 days way, so you are selected by natural selection to survive. You return to the camp with water and since you are the only man left you have lots of sex with the surviving women and the slight pigment change gene ends up in all your children, who are now themselves more adapted to this envoriment. When they go for water with the other children not fathered by you they are the only ones to survive, so their children have this gene and so on for a few generations until no one is left except people with this gene.

This happens much faster in harsher environments because life and death struggle are more pronounced. A mutation that would have no effect on you in a comfortable environment has a major effect in a harsh one.
    Can this type of adaptation be construed as devolution or is it still simply evolution but going in a different direction?

It is evolution. There is only one direction, the direction of adaption to the current environment.
    So there's no such thing as devolution then?
    Not in biology.
    No matter what direction life takes, be that up, down or sideways, no matter how complex and advanced a species gets or how less advanced it gets, it is all evolution? I'd rather call reverting back to a lesser advanced state a devolution but heck that's just me.

That is because you are fundamentally thinking about evolution incorrectly. You think of evolution as a increasing of complexity (eg bacteria to humans). That is not what it is, which should be obvious since bacteria are still here along with humans.

Evolution is increasing adaptation to an environment that is also constantly changing.

Bacteria alive to day are as evolved as we are because they are still here, ie they are adapted to survive in their current environment just like we are.
    No is not wicknight, that is someone who knows it and simply doesn't accept it. They claim to simply go where the evidence leads them

They are lying, either to themselves or to us.

Either way I would have not interest in trying to convince them they are wrong as if they understand evolution and seen the evidence for it and still reject it they are as deluded as someone who has been in space yet still calls the Earth flat.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

Hello J C, I thought I recognised your voice from all those exclamation marks!
    J C wrote: »
    Many scientists are in vigorous scientific conflict with fundamentalist Materialists ... and so far, the scientists are winning, 'hands down' ... because the 'mat fundies' have no evidence or logic for their dogmatic position ... that selecting mutagenic mistakes can do anything ... except degrade genetic information!!!:eek:

My comment was in reply to a statement that "there is no real conflict between science and religion". I presume when you talk about "scientists" above, you are referring to the few dissenters on the fringe promoting some supernatural intervention in the origin of life. When you say they are "winning hands down", who is keeping the score?
    Evolution is an Article of Faith (and an unfounded Article of Faith, at that)!!!
    Even though it has a selection mechanism ... it has no plausible means of producing the Complex Functional Specific Information that living organisms are 'bristling with' ... for NS to select!!!:)

The only 'Evolution' that ever has been observed is the selection (and 'genetic drift') of the pre-existing CFSI infused into every Created Kind at Creation!!
    ... all the rest is wishful thinking and 'just so' stories and on the part of Materialists in their quest to deny the existence of God!!!

We may not have all the answers yet on how life originated and evolved from very simple forms to what we have today, but like everything else that looked like a mystery in the past, given time and effort chances are we will eventually get a full understanding of how life came to be through natural processes. Based on your postings to date, though, I suspect that even then you will not be convinced. But if you can find me one rabbit fossil in pre-Cambrian rock, I'll buy a thousand copies of John J May's book and give them away free on O'Connell Street!

(That's three exclamation marks I've used now - I think I'm catching something . . . )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

... what is wrong with some Theistic Evolutionists, who don't have common cause with a fellow mainstream Christian, who happens to have one of the best scientific brains on the planet today ... and isn't afraid to use it!!???

Personally I think Behe makes a lot of good points. But that doesn't mean there is something 'wrong' with those who disagree with him.

Surely people should assess a theory or an argument on how persuasive it is, not on whether the person arguing it is a mainstream Christian or not?

Morbert said:
    Quote:

It is not both.

So the Lord God said to the serpent 'Because you have done this, Cursed are you above all the livestock and all the wild animals! You will crawl on your belly and you will eat dust all the days of your life. ".

This is clearly not addressing Satan. If you disagree, which bit is directed at Satan and which bit at the snake?
    All of the literal words were directed at the snake, but the rest of Scripture tells us God had Satan in view too when He condemned the snake. The promise of its head being crushed has both a physical fulfilment for the animal and a spiritual one for Satan. Satan is identified as the original deceiver and murderer. So it is both, not one or the other that is in view. We are to distinguish what is meant for the animal and what for the spiritual being.
    Quote:

Peter, although being tempted by Satan, was not being explicitly possessed. A snake cannot be tempted, and cannot commit sin. God would have no reason to address the snake. With Peter and Satan, on the other hand, both have committed sin.
    The snake did the action, Satan the empowering. You think God should not have degraded the snake as an example of Satan's fall, but you second guess God. As I pointed out before, God subjected the innocent biosphere to death when man fell, so an animal that was directly involved in Satan's work can be expected to suffer for that.
    Quote:

If we weren't interpreting the Bible literally, then we would not take Eve's child-bearing pain as literal punishment either. It was merely a language that spoke the most vividly to the people at the time.
    I'm taking the language as it appears to be - those who wish to make it only metaphor need to suggest what it said when it 'spoke the most vividly to the people at the time'. Any ideas?

And Christ and the apostles appear to take it all as historical narrative rather than mere metaphor. Indeed, that is the fullest meaning - metaphor and literal for the snake's punishment. I am warranted in holding that because the rest of the Bible supplies the fuller meaning.
    Quote:

There is no indication in Genesis that God is addressing two entities. In fact, it explicitly says God was addressing the serpent. We cannot add in other facts if we are to take it literally.
    You miss the point: one cannot interpret a text in isolation from all that the Bible teaches. It is all God's word to us, and we must hear all He has to say on a subject before we decide what that is.

That is a fundamental principle of interpretation shared by all honest interpretors.
    John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made.

Sorry for the delay in responding to this. I'm trying to catch up after an 'interesting' time.

If any of you are or have females of child-bearing age, please take note: never assume severe abdominal pains and vaginal blood loss are painful periods. They might be much more serious.

One of those is an ectopic pregnancy. Thankfully my daughter saw a doctor and got checked out before a full rupture occurred, and is now safely home. But I was at a friend's house the other night and the couple who were also visiting had lost their 33yr old daughter last year from the same thing. Came to her home and found her dead on the floor.

Wicknight said:
    Quote:
    Correct. I assume you too are capable of recognising big differences in probabilities.

I am if the probabilities are worked out for me. I can tell that something that has a 50/50 chance of happening is more likely than something that has a 1 in 1000 chance of happening.

But that isn't the issue. The issue if whether you can accurately work out the unlikelihood of these "astronomically unlikely" events. You can't. I can't.

Not only can you not but your brain has in built instincts that will screw the results a particular way, towards you viewing it as unlikely.
    We don't need to work it out to the nearest decimal point - just to recognise it is so unlikely to be naturally occurring that the alternative must be given credence. From what you are saying I gather that even if you heard Moses command each of the ten plagues and the parting of the Red Sea, you would still insist there was nothing to indicate a supernatural cause.
    Quote:
    No, only God and His prophets and apostles were infallible. But all of us can know some things with certainty.

Is that infallibility?
    You hold some things to be certain, so do you call that infallibility?
    Quote:
    No more highly than the average person. I do believe most of us know when we hit our thumbs with a hammer, or kiss our lover's lips. If you are confused about which is the nicest, you do need medical help.

Funny you use that analogy. Are you equating the likely explanation with the nicest explanation?
    No, I gave both an unpleasant and a nice one.
    Quote:
    I've already said it is not a matter of common or even unusual coincidences.

And I've already explain that you are not in a position that know that if you are relying solely on working out these coincidences using your personal assessment of them.
    I wonder what rational powers you have. If you witnessed the events of the exodus, you would be unable to form an opinion as to them being caused by Moses' God or just a series of coincidences???
    Quote:
    That would be interesting indeed. Perhaps you can point me to the relevant passages?

This would be a good start

Debunked! by Georges Charpak

or this article in Scientific America that references that book and sums it up

http://ourdevelopingmind.com/Miracle...aelShermer.pdf
    Thanks for that. Interesting - but the samples he uses are NOT in the order I'm speaking of, but much simpler incidences. Not repeated answers to prayer, not the Exodus events. You're thinking one dropping his toast and butter, another beside him dropping his knife and plate, and the toast landing butter-side up on the plate, with the knife neatly sunk in the butter. Very unlikely, but somewhere in the world at some time...

I'm thinking me dropping the toast and butter, praying for it not to hit the new carpet and getting the plate and knife scenario as before. Same thing you say. Could be. But when 'very unlikely' events like that happen to me several times in answer to prayer, I think I'm being rational in attributing them to One who hears and answers prayer.
    As this paper says you should experience a one in a million event approx once a month.

This seems hugely significant to us because we filter out all the non one in a million events and only remember the one in a million event.

As Francis Bacon put is

The root of all superstition is that men observe when a thing hits, but not when it misses.

When you tell me you support the existence of God with things you believe could not be coincident I simply say you don't understand the probability of the events around you that you experience.
    As above, I don't see what he means by a miraculous event being what I'm talking about. Are you saying the Exodus events can be accounted for by chance events?
    Quote:
    So no one can accurately assess probability?

Not without stepping out of personal assessment and using some other system, such as simple maths to work out what were the actual probabilities of what they experienced happening.

I imagine you haven't done this.
    No, I haven't done the maths. Perhaps you would give us even a rough approximation for the Exodus events happening after Moses' commands?
    Quote:
    So astounding coincidences don't happen if they cannot be externally measured?

Of course they happen. They happen regularly and are of little significance. The problem si when you start using them to justify religion, saying well that couldn't have just happened, it must prove God exists. You lack the ability to work out by simply thinking about it that it couldn't have just happened.
    I await your figures on Exodus.
    Quote:
    The person who knows the circumstances in detail is unable to recognise a 50-50 chance from a Million-One?

No, the person who "knows the circumstances in detail" is unable to work out that a one in a million event will happen to him at regular intervals (once a month on average) and this doesn't mean anything, certainly not enough to justify the existence of deities.

I'm not suggesting that what ever event or events you experienced where not extra-ordinary. I saying that they were not so extra-ordinary they can be used to say they would not have happened without divine intervention.

This is the are of probability that people have very hard time understanding because of the way our brain filters the constant stream of information entering our brain.
    Seems we disagree with our definitions of what is in the realm of possibility in the real world.

I suggest it is the atheist brain that has the problem facing up to supernatural phenomena. It is biased against allowing for such, no matter how unlikely the alternative.
    Quote:
    I can see confirmation bias a danger in low-level coincidence, but not in remarkable and repeated occurrences.

You lack the ability to accurately assess the remarkability of these occurrences. If you actually want to do that pull out a pen and paper and start doing the maths. But I would imagine you don't actually want to know the true probability that under pins your faith.
    Your Exodus figures will be a help, no doubt. But let me offer an approximation to my case: you say a 'miracle' happens to each of us about once a month; let's make my miracle one that comes after I ask for it. Then figure that happening once a year, every year.

I'm not aware of how to do the maths: 1/Million I get, but how is that altered by it having to be asked for before it happened? Then for similar to occur each year? Thanks.
    Quote:
    To suggest otherwise is downright silly - or determinedly in denial.

It may be silly but it is also true, which is why these popular science books find such a market, because it appears to us almost as an optical illusion we are so used to the way we process probability when we find out how flawed it is we get a chuckle like learning how a magic trick works.
    Yes, I too find the illusions entertaining and enlightening. Just that they do not deal with my sort of miracles.
    Luke 16:31 But he said to him, ‘If they do not hear Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded though one rise from the dead.’”