Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Considering taking the plunge

• 02-11-2005 2:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

I am considering getting a classic car as I will soon be taking public transport a lot more, so really just need a weekend car, rather than a regular day-to-day modern car.

However, I am not the most mechanically minded at all, and don't want to buy something that turns into a bottomless pit. Also, I would like a car that can be relied on. (No smart comments from those of you who know I drive an Alfa :) ). My first car was an 89 mini that was constantly off the road, so I want to be sure I am not getting into a similar situation.

I would obviously like to learn enough to carry out basic maintenance, or at least basic diagnosis, but at the same time I want to be able to hop in it and take it away for the weekend without having to worry too much. Am I asking too much from a classic?

I came across this car here, and I have to say it really took my fancy. My budget would be up to 10K. Edit; RHD would be a must, as I think I would have enough on my plate without driving from the other side of the car!

Any suggestions, comments, feedback etc is much appreciated.

Eoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

eoin_s wrote:
    Hi folks,

I am considering getting a classic car as I will soon be taking public transport a lot more, so really just need a weekend car, rather than a regular day-to-day modern car.

However, I am not the most mechanically minded at all, and don't want to buy something that turns into a bottomless pit. Also, I would like a car that can be relied on. (No smart comments from those of you who know I drive an Alfa :) ). My first car was an 89 mini that was constantly off the road, so I want to be sure I am not getting into a similar situation.

I would obviously like to learn enough to carry out basic maintenance, or at least basic diagnosis, but at the same time I want to be able to hop in it and take it away for the weekend without having to worry too much. Am I asking too much from a classic?

I came across this car here, and I have to say it really took my fancy. My budget would be up to 10K. Edit: RHD would be a must, as I think I would have enough on my plate without driving from the other side of the car!

Any suggestions, comments, feedback etc is much appreciated.

Eoin
    well, if you are wanting a car for 10K there is endless choice. Im biased towards Cortinas as you may guess.Comfortable, reliable, easy and cheap to maintain and run.PLUS you will get an excellent top of the range one for a lot less than €10000, Especially if you want a late model one. A mk5 Ghia from 1980 in good condition, needing nothing can be had in the UK for £1000 to £1500!!!!!!. A nice 1600E mk2 from 1970 will be got for around £3500 and has cheap tax/ NCT exempt....(very stylish and sought after cars, no problem selling one of these on). Have a look at www.buysellcortina.co.uk or at the Affordable Classics website....for 10K you might just get a Mk2 Lotus........now that would be style! (even I havent got one of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Merrion

I came across this car here, and I have to say it really took my fancy.

As a GT6 owner I can thoroughly recommend it. Looks good, sounds very good, goes like stink (well, acceleration within the speed limits is quick) and is a great driving experience.

Maintenance is relatively easy with good parts availability from the UK (see Rimmer Bros)

€6,995 is a good price and expect it to at least keep its value (possibly appreciate) if you look after it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

You say you are planning to take it away for the weekends - how far you planning to go?! If your intention is long country runs that should impact on what type of car you need. Some of the other lads might know better, but I'm not sure the Spitfire is a long distance runner. You might be better off with something like a BMW 3.0CS
    eoin_s wrote:
    Edit: RHD would be a must, as I think I would have enough on my plate without driving from the other side of the car!
    Anyone will tell you you're writing off a lot of cheaper, better looked after cars by insisting on RHD. I'm now more comfortable driving LHD than RHD and have only been at it 6 months. And the interchange between the two is no problem at all. It really is that easy.

Of course the only potential issue with LHD is passing out on country roads, so if that going to be a regular occurance maybe you're right to bear it in mind.

G'luck and go for it.

I'm not sure the Spitfire is a long distance runner.
    It's not a Spitfire - it's a GT6 :p
    I used mine to commute approx 60 miles each way in the UK for a year - not a bother really, but it is a bit loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

You say you are planning to take it away for the weekends - how far you planning to go?! If your intention is long country runs that should impact on what type of car you need. Some of the other lads might know better, but I'm not sure the Spitfire is a long distance runner. You might be better off with something like a BMW 3.0CS
    Yeah, I would like to know that a 4 hour drive is an option, so will have to take that into consideration. Not mad on the BMW's though :(
    Anyone will tell you you're writing off a lot of cheaper, better looked after cars by insisting on RHD. I'm now more comfortable driving LHD than RHD and have only been at it 6 months. And the interchange between the two is no problem at all. It really is that easy.

Of course the only potential issue with LHD is passing out on country roads, so if that going to be a regular occurance maybe you're right to bear it in mind.

G'luck and go for it.

I will bear that in mind - I am not really insisting on RHD, but just the thoughts of driving LHD are a little worrying for me. (Though a Ford Mustang would be an option if I did go for LHD)

corktina - thanks for the link, the cortina is a pretty nice car - will have to do some more research on them.

Sorry about this, but few more questions folks:

What is the safety like in these cars? Obviously, I don't want to buy a car that will fold up in the event of a collision. Also, I am used to driving a pretty responsive car (Alfa 156) with excellent brakes, handling etc. Can classic cars be harder to control?

If needed, can decent head rests and seat belts be fitted?

Sorry if this offends the aesthetic sensibilities of the true classic car fans here, but could you stick a CD player into most classics?

thanks again for all the replies

Eoin

Also (didn't see this in the stickies) - how hard is it to get a car from the UK?

Obviously the selection is huge over there, but I don't want to get stung with too much import duty etc. Also, physically getting it over here could be a daunting task...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

>>What is the safety like in these cars? Obviously, I don't want to buy a car that will fold up in the event of a collision.
    Most of the major advances in car design over the last 10 years have been in the realm of safety, both active and passive. So you're much less likely to survive a 40mph head-on in any classic than in a modern car.

>>Also, I am used to driving a pretty responsive car (Alfa 156) with excellent brakes, handling etc. Can classic cars be harder to control?
    This really depends on the car. The rear-drive british cars tend to be OK but a bit snappy at the limit, particularly if they are over-tyred. BMWs of the classic era were notoriously tail happy, ditto Porsche 911s. My DS is perfectly predictable with good grip but a lot of roll.

>>If needed, can decent head rests and seat belts be fitted?
    Yes.

>> Sorry if this offends the aesthetic sensibilities of the true classic car fans here, but could you stick a CD player into most classics?
    Sure, but why would you want to when you could have an iPod? :)

I would say if you are expecting a modern car driving experience and safety in a classic, you'd be better off buying something cheap but interesting from the 90s. Generally, the idea of a classic is to have a much more involving driving experience than classic cars. The speeds may be lower but the fun is much higher.

eoin_s wrote:
    Also (didn't see this in the stickies) - how hard is it to get a car from the UK?

Obviously the selection is huge over there, but I don't want to get stung with too much import duty etc. Also, physically getting it over here could be a daunting task...
    If you're buying your first classic for €10k, the car should be perfectly capable of being driven across the continent, never mind home from the UK. The cheapest, funnest way of getting the car home is to drive it. I made the mistake of shipping my DS from Holland and missed a big part of the acheivement of getting the car. Make sure you have AA and bring a mechanicly adept friend for the spin.

If the car is over 30 years old, the only thing you'll need to pay to import it is €50 VRT and about €30 for plates. You'll be eligible for €42 euro road tax and exempt from the NCT too.

If the car is younger, you'll need to pay more VRT and road tax and have the car NCTd every 2 years as normal.

>>What is the safety like in these cars? Obviously, I don't want to buy a car that will fold up in the event of a collision.
    Most of the major advances in car design over the last 10 years have been in the realm of safety, both active and passive. So you're much less likely to survive a 40mph head-on in any classic than in a modern car.
    Ah well, if it was good enough for James Dean to go out that way, then it's good enough for me :D
    >>Also, I am used to driving a pretty responsive car (Alfa 156) with excellent brakes, handling etc. Can classic cars be harder to control?
    This really depends on the car. The rear-drive british cars tend to be OK but a bit snappy at the limit, particularly if they are over-tyred. BMWs of the classic era were notoriously tail happy, ditto Porsche 911s. My DS is perfectly predictable with good grip but a lot of roll.

I'm sure it's just a case of getting used to the car
    >>If needed, can decent head rests and seat belts be fitted?
    Yes.
    Good to hear
    >> Sorry if this offends the aesthetic sensibilities of the true classic car fans here, but could you stick a CD player into most classics?
    Sure, but why would you want to when you could have an iPod? :)
    Even better! I have an iRiver with an FM radio, so that would be me sorted.
    I would say if you are expecting a modern car driving experience and safety in a classic, you'd be better off buying something cheap but interesting from the 90s. Generally, the idea of a classic is to have a much more involving driving experience than classic cars. The speeds may be lower but the fun is much higher.

Can't really think of any cars from the 90's that particularly appeal to me, they may be great cars, but I just don't like the Japanese cars - off the top of your head, any suggestions (I know 90's cars would be somewhat off topic for this forum)?.

Involved driving is fine with me, but I just want to avoid a car that would be terrifying to drive in bad conditions really. I think I have been spoilt somewhat with my car because it can be as easy or involving a drive as you would want, but with the benefits of a modern car...

Another car that springs to mind is an MG MGB like this '69 one on carzone. Looks lovely.

REALLY sorry about this, but another question: I don't have garage storage, just off road storage - is this a problem, or would a car cover during the week do the trick to protect it from the elements?

in general terms VRT for a -30 year car is 27% of market value here....just re regd my mk3 this morning as it happens....dead simple and nice people in the VRO (well, in Cork anyway)...No hassle at the port, just drive straight in and take it to your local Customs VRO when you've a mind to take it (should be straightaway but noone bothers too much..

eoin_s wrote:
    I don't have garage storage, just off road storage - is this a problem, or would a car cover during the week do the trick to protect it from the elements?
    I don't have a garage, and I've kept my car in the driveway for 3 years. I drive the car every two days or so, which shakes any water out of it. I wouldn't be happy letting it sit for 5 days every week. It has done OK, but I can assure you I'd rather it was in a garage.

I have a good (and very expensive) car cover. It does the job, but is inconvenient. For example, you cannot use it when the car is wet or in any way dirty.

If you are thinking of a convertible, I would say a garage is absolutely essential.

Can you build one at your house?

Have you decided which car you like? If I were in your shoes, I would pick a make and model that you fall in love with, research the bejaysus out of it, meet as many people as you can with one, drive as many as you can, join as many discussion groups about that model as you can, find out if you have specialist support in your area, and then start researching prices. Don't buy the first car you see.

"Classic cars" is a broad term - there are so many crap cars out there (e.g. anything not made by Citroën :))

Pick one and start obsessing. If you're not sure which one, go to a couple of classic car shows - there's a big one coming up in the NEC in Birmingham real soon now. hitch a lift with someone in their classic, and enjoy the browsing.

BTW: I agree with Atheist - RHD limits your choices too much. In my experience, LHD is no bother at all and enhances the "different" driving experience you have.

"(e.g. anything made by Citroën :))

just HAD to edit your post there:cool:

only kidding....

ds20prefecture, thanks so much for all the replies.

A garage just isn't an option (apartment), but the car would be driven nearly every day; just in the evening rather than for commuting.

I haven't really decided what I want to go for. Ideally, it would be a convertible, but if that is not advisable with outdoor parking, I might have to forget about that.

The British and American cars appeal to me the most, with the Triumph still looking like my favourite (based purely on looks and initial impression rather than any research!).

I have lots of time to decide, so will take your advice and do a lot of research.

Thanks again for all the replies folks, it is much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Oldmerc

I understand that late 60's Mercedes w111 coupes were the first cars with safety cells and I am pretty comfortable that they could stand up to bumps but I have never had any incident in mine.

Don't get RHD, LHD is easy except car parks but you can buy an "arm" for that job. Its sold to RHD owners on the continent.

Belts are no problem but check the car is drilled for them. It is the one issue, I got three fitted, one is a lap belt, that the guards have asked about and as far as I know there is no +30year exemption. Had an argument one day on this point with a nice guard and he wasn't buying my classic argument. I am a little uneasy about laps belts, for kids anyway.

I put the CD into the glove box.

Buy from Paul Kanter with your 10k and I don't think you will go far wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

If you are going to use a classic as your sole car, you might want to check out the options available for insurance. The most affordable deals are normally dependent on having a 'regular' car, on a regular policy.

My da drove a '69 spitfire as a daily driver for over ten years. A GT6 will provide a thrilling ride, but won't win may prizes for space, comfort, or ease of access*.

I'm not so sure about this 'choose a LHD' business. There are still lots of well maintained classics in the UK. Unless you are paricularly drawn to yank muscle cars or eccentric french lowriders ;) there's lots of choice of RHD motors.

* for occupants, that is. Engine access is fantastic.

alastair wrote:
    If you are going to use a classic as your sole car, you might want to check out the options available for insurance. The most affordable deals are normally dependent on having a 'regular' car, on a regular policy.

The plan is to get a very cheap runner for a grand or so, and have that as the primary car.
    alastair wrote:
    My da drove a '69 spitfire as a daily driver for over ten years. A GT6 will provide a thrilling ride, but won't win may prizes for space, comfort, or ease of access.

That's what I thought may be the case, I would need it to be a practical enough car
    alastair wrote:
    I'm not so sure about this 'choose a LHD' business. There are still lots of well maintained classics in the UK. Unless you are paricularly drawn to yank muscle cars or eccentric french lowriders ;) there's lots of choice of RHD motors.

As I said earlier, the British cars appeal to me the most, so hopefully RHD would be the default. Would much prefer it, but keeping my options open - primary because this is really my first foray into the whole thing, and I don't have a clue. Speaking of not having a clue, what is the story with fuel for a classic car? Do they need some conversion to run on standard petrol?

eoin_s wrote:
    what is the story with fuel for a classic car? Do they need some conversion to run on standard petrol?

I wouldn't discount the GT6 as not practical. You just need to make some consessions for the nature of beast you opt for. Any sports car of the 60's/70's is going to be a bit cramped and rudimentary on the luxuries front.

To run an old car on unleaded, your mileage may vary. Some cars don't need any real modification, some get by fine with fuel additives added each refill, and some need their valve seats/heads replaced. The most expensive option is a replacement head, which shouldn't be a huge cost in most cases.

Practical all-rounder british classics you might consider would be the Scimitar - Ford mechanics, fibreglass body, coupe or sports estate options, and rare here. Not everyone's cup of tea though. MGBGT's are common as muck, but popular for a reasons of practicality, style, and easy access to parts. The Rover P6 in V8 guise would provide performance with space, although along with a gammy interior, and big fuel bills. Personally I always wanted a volvo 1800es - no racy performace to speak of, but a car that likes long distances, has a beautiful face and looks like a funky hearse. Solid mechanicals, and if you find one that hasn't fallen to rust, a very practical option. Other might opt for the slightly more glamourous coupe option, and secretly pretend that they're roger moore.

The biggest drawback with the GT6 is the boot space - there really isn't much...and it is just 2 seats.

I did once transport a christmas tree in it but that was nearly suicidally stupid :D.

In the Triumph range the Dolomite and Sprint are much more practical but (imo) less exciting - but then one of the things that classic car nuts share with parents is that they all think their own are the best and the brightest ;-)

The Stag is a more expensive option but has speed and 4 seats - but they are unreliable..

alastair wrote:
    I wouldn't discount the GT6 as not practical. You just need to make some consessions for the nature of beast you opt for. Any sports car of the 60's/70's is going to be a bit cramped and rudimentary on the luxuries front.

To run an old car on unleaded, your mileage may vary. Some cars don't need any real modification, some get by fine with fuel additives added each refill, and some need their valve seats/heads replaced. The most expensive option is a replacement head, which shouldn't be a huge cost in most cases.

Practical all-rounder british classics you might consider would be the Scimitar - Ford mechanics, fibreglass body, coupe or sports estate options, and rare here. Not everyone's cup of tea though. MGBGT's are common as muck, but popular for a reasons of practicality, style, and easy access to parts. The Rover P6 in V8 guise would provide performance with space, although along with a gammy interior, and big fuel bills. Personally I always wanted a volvo 1800es - no racy performace to speak of, but a car that likes long distances, has a beautiful face and looks like a funky hearse. Solid mechanicals, and if you find one that hasn't fallen to rust, a very practical option. Other might opt for the slightly more glamourous coupe option, and secretly pretend that they're roger moore.

Thanks Alastair. I checked out the Fords, and sadly I am particularly gone on any (apart from perhaps the capri).

The Volvo 1800e is a super looking car, especially the coupe on the Classic Car Ireland site.

The MGB GB just doesn't look "different" enough for me, nice as it is.

The GT6 is still looking good to me, especially as it is RHD. Will have to check it out in person to see what kind of space it has (or hasn't).

Another car I saw was a Jenson Interceptor, though a 6.3 litre engine is somewhat of a turn-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Would you consider a classic Jaguar. Eg a Series XJ6 or a 420G. The 420G is massive and has one of the most opulent interiors of any car ever made. You'd feel like a king driving one. In spite of this they are not very fashionable so good ones aren't that dear.

The XJ6 is more modern and a bit smaller. In many areas including safety it was ahead of its time. Passive safety isn't generally a big consideration when choosing a classic but the Jag would be one of the best in this area. IMO a 1968 XJ is still a safe and excellent luxury vehicle even by todays standards.

Both these Jags would be a little more complex than say a GT6 :) And as with most classics, rust can be a huge problem, especially if an inexpecienced buyer buys something that has been tarted up to conceal structural rust.

not too keen on fords....well they do all look the same dont they...rather staid and boring.....fa77dd.jpg

and a bit slow too into the bargfa77tz.jpgain

i mean, what fun could you have in an old Cortina?fa79ms.jpg(both my cars.....

eoin_s wrote:
    A garage just isn't an option (apartment), but the car would be driven nearly every day; just in the evening rather than for commuting.
    Fair enough. You should probably budget on a complete rust prevention treatment then. I paid €800 for the job on mine - I've had numerous comments from those that know that it was money well spent. Even so, you should probably budget a couple of grand every 5 years or so for rust repairs and respray.

Where will the car be parked? If on a street, you will be amazed how small minded people can be. The nicer your car is, the more your car will be keyed, kicked and have bits robbed off it. You wouldn't notice this with a Cortina, of course ;-) (back atcha, corktina)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭BrianD3

On the subject of Fords, how about a Granada Mk1 or Consul GT (as seen in tv programme The Sweeney)

I also like the Capris and Cortinas esp. the Mk3 which has great and under-appreciated styling IMO. Not as keen on the Mk4 or 5 cortinas, a bit square but I'd still have one even if only for the rariety and nostalgia value

eoin_s wrote:
    what is the story with fuel for a classic car? Do they need some conversion to run on standard petrol?
    Some do, some don't. My DS doesn't, but as far as I know, most of the Ford engines up to the 80s do. It is because some engine designs rely on the lead in the petrol to "lubricate" the valve seats.
    Stuff from the US shouldn't, because they went unleaded in the late 60s.
    This would be a good question for a specilist in your chosen marque.

Another thing is that a lot of classics rely on 98 octane fuel. This is no longer available in Ireland, so you have to adjust the timing of the ignition to compensate, resulting in slightly lower power. Most additives that promise to "boost octane" do so, but only a tiny amount. You need to add a fair dose of toluene or acetone to the tank to boost from 95 to 98, and the engine is not designed to run on these.

There's a bunch of snake-oil type products that promise miracle wonders with fuel - if half of their claims were possible, every car manufacturer would be using them. Ignore them completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

Eoin you have all the same criteria as I did a year or so ago, and you like the same cars. I always wanted a Jenson interceptor and a GT6 was on my list of possibles along with an volvo 1800es.Like most people I've no garage either.Didn't want a huge "project" classic. Anyway I went for a Reliant Scimitar ,fibreglas body -no rust, simple mechanicals, practical , roomy, powerfull without being too thirsty.They even appear to fare impressively well in a crash!!! Everyone will allways recomend their own car it's true but I do think you should seriously consider one.Buy pre 75 in the UK and for €10K you'll get a serious minter and bring home plenty of change too.If you want a real shifter go for one thats had a rover V8 conversion.
    Scimitargte13.jpg

Corktina, I'm not saying the Fords aren't fun or quick etc, they just don't personally appeal to me - however, this is early days, and if / when I get a chance to check out some cars in question this may well change.

BrianD3, have checked out the jags alright - I think they are smashing look cars, but I would feel like Inspector Morse! Maybe when I am a bit older :)

ds20prefecture, the car would be parked in a driveway in a quiet estate (I presume - not moving in there till next month). The rust prevention treatment sounds like a good option - I would be planning to have a couple of grand to carry out work like this.

So far, the car that I keep going back to, and drooling over, is the Volvo P1800S coupe. My initial thoughts seem to be that it is a good option; pretty practical and apparently very reliable. The Opel GT also has me quite interested, I love the American styling on the front wheel arches and rear light cluster.

The only thing I just realised is that it looks like all the indicator controls etc are in different places on a classic car (my friend's dad had a massive old Volvo, and I think the lights were operated by a button on the floor near the pedals)

Edit: Shagman, I think we posted at the same time! The GTC in your pic looks pretty cool - though a convertible may not be an option due to no garage.

eoin_s wrote:
    Corktina, I'm not saying the Fords aren't fun or quick etc, they just don't personally appeal to me - however, this is early days, and if / when I get a chance to check out some cars in question this may well change.

only pulling your wotsit Eoin.....:) it's a Hard choice to make, but you can always change your mind and sell it on.....have you considered buying several? most people seem to do that......!!!

(ps Touché DS20:) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

eoin_s wrote:
    Another car I saw was a Jenson Interceptor, though a 6.3 litre engine is somewhat of a turn-off.

At least you are thinking about fuel economy, it is the one major daily cost of driving a classic.

I would love an Interceptor too but my 280ce is thirsty enough to make me think about using it every time I would.

I would advise go German or Uncle Henry for longevity and ease of maintainence.

eoin_s wrote:
    the car that I keep going back to, and drooling over, is the Volvo P1800S coupe. My initial thoughts seem to be that it is a good option; pretty practical and apparently very reliable.

The Volvo 1800's are all mechanically reliable (a lot of shared parts with the Amazon, and 140 in later models), and all need to be very carefully checked for rust damage. Those lovely flowing lines conceal a bunch of ideal homes for rot. As long as the cars have been protected, and cosseted in that respect, they are a safe bet. Rust isn't an issue to the same degree it would be on an old alfasud, or whatever, but it is the primary concern to watch with them. Sills, jacking points, front wheel arches and wings are generally the first to show problems. Parts are affordable and available in the main (except for the rare-as-hens-teeth manifold air pressure sensor for the last european fuel injected models).

The steering is heavy, but you'll get that with a few old motors. The European specc 1800E has more poke than the 1800S, but loses a bit of curvy trim, and the nicer interior. You can compare the various models of 1800 at http://volvo1800pictures.com/ Keep in mind the non-US cars don't have the ugly side lights imposed on them for any year.

RobAMerc wrote:
    I would advise go German or Uncle Henry for longevity and ease of maintainence.
    Jeez - I know what you're saying but it's a classic/weekend car. Don't be too sensible.

The P1800 is a lovely car. Distinctive, stylish and relatively robust. Rust is the enemy, but this is the case with all old cars. Another that might grab your fancy is the Alfa Junior. €10k should buy a very good one. Again, rust is the main problem.

Why would the size of the engine in the Jensen put you off? You'll average about 15mpg, less if you drive it hard. But you're going to be doing about 3000 miles per year, meaning 200 gallons or about €1000 in fuel. If you bought the P1800s you'll average maybe 25mpg or €600. The €400 difference is unlikely to amount to much in the grand scheme of things.

I would say that the Jensen is a bit "involved" for a first time classic owner - particularly with the FF. They are also notoriously hard to find rust free.

Why would the size of the engine in the Jensen put you off? You'll average about 15mpg, less if you drive it hard. But you're going to be doing about 3000 miles per year, meaning 200 gallons or about €1000 in fuel. If you bought the P1800s you'll average maybe 25mpg or €600. The €400 difference is unlikely to amount to much in the grand scheme of things.

I would say that the Jensen is a bit "involved" for a first time classic owner - particularly with the FF. They are also notoriously hard to find rust free.

Thanks, I will bear that in mind. Though, if I was going to go for a car with that size engine, I would probably hold out for a Ford Mustang.

Alastair, that's a great site for the volvo pics - some real head turners there.

I think the next step is to try and see some of these cars in person, will have to try and sneak over to the UK on a "business" trip :)

, I will bear that in mind. Though, if I was going to go for a car with that size engine, I would probably hold out for a Ford Mustang.

NOW your are talking.........

corktina wrote:
    , I will bear that in mind. Though, if I was going to go for a car with that size engine, I would probably hold out for a Ford Mustang.

NOW your are talking.........

I might leave that as a future classic car though, and start off on something a little smaller!

fbj4av.jpg

this is smaller.............:)

corktina wrote:
    fbj4av.jpg

this is smaller.............:)

crappy work firewall blocked the image :(

eoin_s wrote:
    crappy work firewall blocked the image :(
    did it block the other three images too?

Cool, checked it out at home. I presume that is a coupe model? Being honest, I prefer the look of that one to the green one you posted earlier
    corktina wrote:
    did it block the other three images too?

Yes, I had seen the pictures you posted before I said I wasn't too sure about the Fords :)

Folks,

Out of interest, does anyone have any comments about the Opel GT? Here is one on the classic cars ireland site.

I have to say, I like it's American (IMO) styling. The colour and auto 'box would be a turn off though.

TIA,

Eoin

eoin_s wrote:
    Cool, checked it out at home. I presume that is a coupe model? Being honest, I prefer the look of that one to the green one you posted earlier

this is a Taunus GXL Coupé. German equivalent of Cortina. All exterior panels different but chassis and interior plus mechanicals the same.Check out www.ebay.de. Even better try autotrader.za for lots of South African muscle, bit far to go but 3 litre is normal there in a classic ford.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 sohandy

eoin_s wrote:
    I might leave that as a future classic car though, and start off on something a little smaller!

hello all

Eoin why would you say that.again i am like you not nothing about the wokings of a car. thinking about doing a beginners course in cars, just to pick up something.

But if i had the money i'd be all over a Mustang. My fav is a 67 Fastback i say oh yeah.look at this site.
    http://eng.autoscout24.com/home/index/detail.asp?ts=4155965&id=onfnwmqecov&sc=&make=29&eurofrom=0&euroto=0&zip=

they will make that for you. now sorry getting well ahead of myself you looking at over €25000 for this.

that is the Gone in 60 Seconds Replica of Shelby GT 500 if that doesnt get the blood rushing.

the point im tryin to make is when you look at a classic it should do something to you. Dont settle, dont be sensible. save for the one you want.

the only classic i would buy is a 67/68 Fastback. it will take me a while to get there just bought a house so im fecked. but when i see one of these, i'm not a jealous man at all but if i see one of these i feel like killing for it. Classic Cars Ireland Paul's website has had some gorgeous ones. he had a 67 Fastback few weeks ago gone now but gimmie. Someone around Clondalkin where i live got one a while ago. it looks like a 65 or 66 Fastback now but want to pull him outta it. cheek of him drivin my car. i mean really.

Sorry for rambling on here guys but as you can see i am passionate about this car. would not let the fact i know nothing about the workings of a car stop me.or that its LHD. probably havent really helped you now Eoin but just had to say my piece.

Good Luck

sohandy wrote:
    hello all

Eoin why would you say that.again i am like you not nothing about the wokings of a car. thinking about doing a beginners course in cars, just to pick up something.

But if i had the money i'd be all over a Mustang. My fav is a 67 Fastback i say oh yeah.look at this site.
    http://eng.autoscout24.com/home/index/detail.asp?ts=4155965&id=onfnwmqecov&sc=&make=29&eurofrom=0&euroto=0&zip=

they will make that for you. now sorry getting well ahead of myself you looking at over €25000 for this.

that is the Gone in 60 Seconds Replica of Shelby GT 500 if that doesnt get the blood rushing.

the point im tryin to make is when you look at a classic it should do something to you. Dont settle, dont be sensible. save for the one you want.

the only classic i would buy is a 67/68 Fastback. it will take me a while to get there just bought a house so im fecked. but when i see one of these, i'm not a jealous man at all but if i see one of these i feel like killing for it. Classic Cars Ireland Paul's website has had some gorgeous ones. he had a 67 Fastback few weeks ago gone now but gimmie. Someone around Clondalkin where i live got one a while ago. it looks like a 65 or 66 Fastback now but want to pull him outta it. cheek of him drivin my car. i mean really.

Sorry for rambling on here guys but as you can see i am passionate about this car. would not let the fact i know nothing about the workings of a car stop me.or that its LHD. probably havent really helped you now Eoin but just had to say my piece.

Good Luck

I know where you're coming from sohandy, but 20-30K is way over budget at the moment, and although I would really love a mustang, I have already come across loads of other classics that I would be more than happy with.

Also, as a classic should keep it's value if well maintained, then I would not be losing money by getting one in the meantime if I do decide to get a mustang in a few years time.

I appreciate the comments though :)