Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metro Issues in Cork last night/today

• 02-11-2005 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

Has anyone else had problems with Metro in Cork last night/today?
    It may has something to do with the sheeeite weather but my broadband was dead and the light for Cable Link is flashing?? (Lightening maybe?)

Anyone noticed a speed degredation due to bad weather by the way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 847 ✭✭✭mickger

Has anyone else had problems with Metro in Cork last night/today?
    It may has something to do with the sheeeite weather but my broadband was dead and the light for Cable Link is flashing?? (Lightening maybe?)

Anyone noticed a speed degredation due to bad weather by the way?

When i got home from work at 6am it was down and i had that light flashing too.I'm in waterford. I hope this is'nt going to become a common thing.I just got up now and checked and it seems to be back up and ok again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

Sorry, Got an update from Crawler in the meantime, The was some ESB upgrade/issue and there was a temporary outage - no digiweb issue!!

Great to be able to get the updates from Chaz and Crawler via boards! fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 847 ✭✭✭mickger

Sorry, Got an update from Crawler in the meantime, The was some ESB upgrade/issue and there was a temporary outage - no digiweb issue!!

Great to be able to get the updates from Chaz and Crawler via boards! fair play.

Thats good to know,At least it was'nt a weather issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

hefty_langer - whats your pings like on Metro in cork?

Could you do me a favour and bring up command prompt and do:
    ping -t games4.iol.ie
    then ctrl-c to cancel that and ping clarity.jolt.co.uk
    then ping xs4all.nl

I'm wondering what Metro in Cork would be like for gaming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Blaster99

mickger wrote:
    Thats good to know,At least it was'nt a weather issue.

It's good to know Digiweb doesn't have power backup? Yes, that's good to know. Not exactly confidence inspiring, though, is it? (I'm considering ordering Metro so I'm not bitching about this for no reason)

will do once I'm home tonight... will post back up here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Can ya do a speed test too from irishisptest.com please?

yeah - will do... did one before got 2.6Mb down and about 350Kb up... am pretty happy with that...
    Have had downloads coming down steadily at over 300KB/s - 350Kb/s

Blaster99 wrote:
    It's good to know Digiweb doesn't have power backup? Yes, that's good to know. Not exactly confidence inspiring, though, is it? (I'm considering ordering Metro so I'm not bitching about this for no reason)
    Digiweb in Cork do have power backup in Collins Barracks... other ISPs share the same location and did not suffer an outage last night. An ESB/Upgrade issue could mean they were adding more equipment to their rack and had to upgrade the power or something, or maybe they were just lying :)

yeah - will do... did one before got 2.6Mb down and about 350Kb up... am pretty happy with that...
    Have had downloads coming down steadily at over 300KB/s - 350Kb/s
    Wow that is excellent.. I can't think of any ISP that offers anywhere near that for 35euro a month. If the pings are good, then this sounds like the ideal connection, for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Axl

Blaster99 wrote:

Who said it was a power outage? ESB also supply their fiber connectivity. Considering it was a problem confirmed here in Cork and Waterford - likely to be that.

Axl wrote:
    Who said it was a power outage? ESB also supply their fiber connectivity. Considering it was a problem confirmed here in Cork and Waterford - likely to be that.

Theis is from Crawler this morning:

"There was an outage due to upgrade work on the ESB backhual from Cork last night.

Should be all fine now - weather does not impact on speed etc...

Hope this helps and apologies for the outage."

Illkillya wrote:
    Wow that is excellent.. I can't think of any ISP that offers anywhere near that for 35euro a month. If the pings are good, then this sounds like the ideal connection, for me.

Its more like €42p.m including VAT - but still is great value due to not having to pay line rental to €ircon... No complaints here, definately recommend it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,191 ✭✭✭kensutz

mickger wrote:
    When i got home from work at 6am it was down and i had that light flashing too.I'm in waterford. I hope this is'nt going to become a common thing.I just got up now and checked and it seems to be back up and ok again.

Yeah mickger,

I was playing COD online and it went at about 1am last night/this morning I thought my whole connection got fecked up after only being installed that morning but woke up this morning to see that it was back to normality. :D:D

Axl wrote:

Good point.

Illkillya wrote:
    hefty_langer - whats your pings like on Metro in cork?

Could you do me a favour and bring up command prompt and do:
    ping -t games4.iol.ie
    then ctrl-c to cancel that and ping clarity.jolt.co.uk
    then ping xs4all.nl

I'm wondering what Metro in Cork would be like for gaming

Results from the pings requested:
    C:\>ping games4.iol.ie

Pinging games4.iol.ie [193.120.123.133] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 193.120.123.133: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
    Reply from 193.120.123.133: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 193.120.123.133:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 19ms, Maximum = 22ms, Average = 19ms

C:\>ping clarity.jolt.co.uk

Pinging clarity.jolt.co.uk [195.149.21.11] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=49
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=49
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=49
    Reply from 195.149.21.11: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 195.149.21.11:
    Minimum = 48ms, Maximum = 52ms, Average = 50ms

C:\>ping xs4all.nl

Pinging xs4all.nl [194.109.21.3] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 194.109.21.3: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=53
    Reply from 194.109.21.3: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=53
    Reply from 194.109.21.3: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=53
    Reply from 194.109.21.3: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 194.109.21.3:
    Minimum = 48ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 50ms

Also results from irishisptest:

Download 2.75Mb/s
    Upload 352kb/s
    QoS 98%

www.testyourvoip.com --- > 4.1 to London (v. good)

Thanks for the testyourvoip test.