Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stand up and be counted we shal be silent no more

• 10-10-2001 10:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

I am a new user and ive noticed that swear words are censored form all posts and replys:confused: . I ask why. Do we not live in a world where freedom of speech is a God given right. Have we not gone past the days where if u said the world was round you were burnt at the stake.

"the great only appear great because we are on our knees, let us arise!!"
    --james larkin

In my oppinion if you cant say wat you feel then you are being oppressed. Did the men and women of 1916 not fight and die for freedom aginst oppression and tyrany.

Let me here your support to remove censored threads.
    I say now; let us arise and we shall become great together.
    Down with **********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
    Post edited by Shield on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

I think the option excluding curse words etc. forces us all to use more imaginative ways to express ourselves rather than plumbing for the easy peasy bad focals!

Maybe its censorship but this site has a lot of young impressionable ppl so maybe its best not give them bad ideas.

Anyway its fúcking mad easy to get around the filter;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 So What!

I know that it is easy to get around all that shít

I know that it is easy to get around all that shít but thats not the point it shouldnt b there in the first place.

As for your comment about young ppl they probably know more swear words than i do. And u know that as well as i do.

Your point about using our imaginations is a valid one but ther are times when 1 simple swear word saays it all its like the saying a picture paints a thousand words.

The point im tryen to make is that 1 type of censorship leads 2 anothe peridocly. First they dont let us swear and then dont let us post any thing about religion race or culture. You cant deny that this sort of thing dosent happen.

Its like all things in life 1 thing leads to another.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

Stop bitching, if you don't like it, move elsewhere. I'm in favour of the filter, for the same reasons as 80p, that people have to think a little sometimes instead of just cursing.

Bad language is something we can do without, don't you agree? It's useful sometimes when you're in a really bad mood, but if that's the case, you shouldn't post anyway, because you're likely to say something stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

hmmm the whinge about the censor was late this month.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

DeV and the boys/girls have the boards set up out of the good of their hearts, the last thing they need is some irate, over-zealous, dogooder mother/father sending them angry emails about the language their 12-year-old son reads on the boards. Besides, this is a free service, you aren't entitled to anything here, so your freedom of speech is null and void. Period.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I was going to post a smart-assed witty reply, but ... ehhhh.... ehhhhhhhh... well said 80project.

(and amp)

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Originally posted by So What!
    Do we not live in a world where freedom of speech is a God given right.

No we don't.

(There are some truths that some people should not know.)

Your speech is understood, an asterisk can mean a lot of things. It's not like nobody knows what **** off means, so therefore it's not like you don't get your point across. Swearing is such a disgusting socially acceptable language, it's such a cop out to do. It's like... "What shall I say to make them understand...?... can't think..... ah what the hey I'll just tell them where to shove it". Why not tell the truth and speak your clean mind rather than your dirty mind.

The real issues of free speech is deletion of existance, that question is the key to fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

Originally posted by seamus
    this is a free service, you aren't entitled to anything here, so your freedom of speech is null and void. Period.

Well said Seamus
    That should end it !!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Eh... "So What!"... arent you the person who mailed me saying "waah I cant get boards to work" and didnt I fix your problem for you within minutes?
    Originally posted by amp

*swish*... its all net.

Here, we havent had a Ghandi for a while...
    So What! I award you this month's Golden Ghandhi...

ghandi.gif

Actually, I was going to leave it at that but you have some feckin nerve to come here for, what... a whole 4 days... and start organising a revolution...

Here's a tip, revolutions work best when the indigenous population are very very unhappy about things.

Here, the indigenous population pretty much decide stuff and we make it go, so your "power to the people" little D4 socialist workers party wannbee political fight for freedom is wasted on us. We're happy. If everyone wanted the censor changed... we'd change it but it came into BEING because people here requested that muppets just like you be restricted from grossly and insensitively abusing people.

You fight for freedom of speech... you dont understand the concept... trust me, I'm a big fan of it.
    You dont want freedom of speech you want freedom of abuse you want the freedom to bring all discussion down to epithets and trash-talk. Then what happens? The discussion ends because people with *points to make* cant cut through the abuse. Rational discussion stops and freedom of speech... the very freedom you claim to support is suppressed by a deluge of 12-yearold abuse.

Stick around, you might learn something.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 785 ✭✭✭zenith

True wit is nature to advantage dressed,
    What oft was thought, but ne'r so well expressed,
    Something, whose truth convinced at sight we find,
    That gives us back the image of our mind.

Alexander Pope, Essay on Criticism (1711)

DeVore I very much appreicait you fixing my problem.

I appoliges if my views seem strong but thats just me.

U see im a history fan and I see that one of the majour problems that the world has had in the past and in the present is that people wernt able 2 skealkj there minds. ie. communism ppl were oppressed to the last they had no freedom of religion speach or anything.

Dont get me wrong i dont want to start a revelution i just like to speek out about things that i feel a wrong.

Im not the sort of person who would start swearing just for the sake of it. BUt make no mistake i will never stant iddayl by when i see someyhing i dont like.

IN closing id like to say thanks 4 the award and 1 other thing Ghandi didnt say "set my people free" that was Moses

• Registered Users Posts: 78,404 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What was it I saw recently about the people who demand freedom of speech not understanding that they should really be looking for freedom of thought?

DeVore I very much appreicait you fixing my problem.

I appoliges if my views seem strong but thats just me.

U see im a history fan and I see that one of the majour problems that the world has had in the past and in the present is that people wernt able 2 skealkj there minds. ie. communism ppl were oppressed to the last they had no freedom of religion speach or anything.

[and so on...]

hmmm.... intense stupidity or brilliant troll? Ah sure I'll bite:

Here's a tip, you want to make a point (that's been made countless times before) run your rant through a spellchecker first. And I really don't give a shít if your dyslexic. I am and I make a fúcking effort.

The censor is here not to protect kiddies from bad words but to protect the boards from the theoretical possibility of litigation by lawyers. The Boards can claim it did everything technically possible to stop people seeing "bad" words. As you can see from the previous paragraph it's not exactly hard to get around.

Need a hand with the noob faq, Dev?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by amp

Wheehay here we go again! :rolleyes:

Wish there were more l33t hackers posting as well. they are always fun to read.

LOL HAhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

I cant belive how easy it was to get yea all so mad.

yea r so bloody petty yea wright speaches on how i dont know how what freedom of speach means. good God i think that yea just posted replys cos ur board if this point has been made b4 y didnt u just ignore me. its not like u were going to hurt my feelings.

And I really don't give a shít if your dyslexic. I am and I make a fúcking effort.

If you can mack a statment like that amp u realy dont know the first thing about dyslexia ive got a friend who cant even read Ann and Fúck Barry hes so dyslexi. As for maken an effort ive spent most of my life is extra class and summer schools so dont patranise me about maken an effort you wouldnt know the first thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

This is not getting us mad. We're just exerciseing of RIGHT to take the piss out of someone. ;)

If u want to see made just wait 'tll u see DeV blow a fuse :D

(see sig below aswell )

(Where is my sig :confused:. Oh well here is what it should have said)

"People demand freedom of speech to make up for the freedom of thought which they avoid. "
    - Soren Aabye Kierkegaard (1813-1855)

Yeah I guessed you were trolling. But then you most likely don't know what a troll is.

If you can mack a statment like that amp u realy dont know the first thing about dyslexia ive got a friend who cant even read Ann and Fúck Barry hes so dyslexi. As for maken an effort ive spent most of my life is extra class and summer schools so dont patranise me about maken an effort you wouldnt know the first thing.

I would know the first thing about trolling people to try and make them "all so mad". Tip: if your going to play with matches, don't douse yerself with petrol first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Please pa, can we keep him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

So what! plz stop using text message talk. your only making yourself look like a fool.

And PLZ PLZ check your spelling. I know your dyslexic ((prolly spelt wrong but who gives a toss)) but ffs...there's only so many spelling mistakes one guy can make before it becomes annoying.

BTW...congrats on the award!! :D

To all the Mods and Admin
    >he's like this in the flesh so don't take much notice. He ungrateful. I mean you fix his problem and then he comes up here running his mouth about how you guys run Boards.ie
    ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

Originally posted by 80project
    Anyway its fúcking mad easy to get around the filter;)
    Pfft, all those umlauts and shit are a bit sad. I mean they take away from the effectiveness of the expletive don't they. If you REALLY want to curse with style, take a look at the fucking source code, and get a load of this fucking great trick.
    Filters? Pah! All Heil, The Master Of Obscenity!

OK im drunk so i wont reply talkagain k by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

i wont reply

Yipee!! finally he managed to stfu. kill this thread RIGHT NOW

if your going to play with matches, don't douse yerself with petrol first.

Oh im so scared. This is a typical example of a frustraded little man who has nothen better to do wit his time than pick on newbies.

IM right am int i your sitten there at your keyboard 4 about 3 hours at a time reading through every post tryen to find something you dont like then you start comen out wit the Threats.

Well i pitty you you are a sad individual.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

What... dont you like our freedom to speak?

DeV.

What... dont you like our freedom to speak?

There is a difference between freedom of speach and being a bully.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

There is a difference between freedom of speach and being a bully.

There's also a difference between offering advice and being a bully... (ya fuckin muppet ;) )

After I said "If your going to play with matches, don't douse yourself with petrol"

Oh im so scared. This is a typical example of a frustraded little man who has nothen better to do wit his time than pick on newbies.

And you are a typical example of someone who doesn't understand "metaphors". Maybe a better (and easier to understand) phrase would have been "people in glasshouses shouldn't throw stones". Though if had, that you'd probably think I was about to fire a cruise missle at your house. WHICH I'M NOT OK!

IM right am int i your sitten there at your keyboard 4 about 3 hours at a time reading through every post tryen to find something you dont like then you start comen out wit the Threats.

Hell yeah baby! I be comin' out wit da serious threats, most all da time! You be fearin ma bad ass mofo threats, ya hear!

Well i pitty you you are a sad individual.

Ah pity da fool! I ain't gettin' on no stinkin plane!

Director: Cut! That was rubbish, let's try the alternative ending!

Why yes So What, I'm sitting right here eating a fried liver with some Cianti ffff ffff ffff... So Clarice, what are you wearing? I'm wearing your doctors face as a mask..ffff fffff ffff

Director: No it's still not right

[Nerdvoice] Actually, it's about 2 mins 56.78 seconds and I usually let the backend moron detector spot the individual which I then castigate and cajol in to abject humilation[/nerdvoice]

amp - a :( individual ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

j00 = soem muppettt AMP!!!11

I 0wnar j00!!!

So What (good nick - Metallica fan?), chill out. You're (*gasp*) not the first person on these boards to start giving out about things like this, and no doubt you won't be the last.

And what the lads were saying about the spelling - it wasn't having a go - I had no idea what you were saying (I really mean it). There are a lot of dyslexic people on these boards, but they make the effort, so should you. There is a spell check function for your posts, please try and remember it. It seems like you're doing your best to get on top of the problem and that's to be applauded, but your posts were un-readable mate.
    Hint: telling someone who is dyslexic that they don't have a clue about it is a silly idea. Stop it.

So sit back and enjoy and the world will be a happier place!

Here I was only pullen the piss about censors :D I was just tryen 2 b a wise áss But hay it was fun so if I offended any1 I was only bolxen ok bit of fun ya know.

Amp don’t mind any thing I said bout u been dyslexic cos I am 2. I was just tryen 2 rise ya. I here that ya know Kaimera Hes one of me best mates he ill tell ya I was only taken the piss we had a good laugh bout all the abuse on this thread.

Anyway ya can kill this tread when ever ya want.