Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saw this in today's paper regarding iStream!

• 12-10-2001 9:44am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭

I spotted this in The Star this morning and was wondering if anyone knows exactly what this means.

In one of their little bottom-of-the-page-hard-to-spot boxes was a notice from Eircom. This is what it said:

eircom plc has today, 12th October 2001, made an amendment to the Telecommunications Scheme, 2000. This amendment provides for the introduction of certain revisions to the eircom i-stream (ADSL) service. Details including effective dates are available at eircom stores. A list of eircom stores is available in the Telephone Directory or by dialling Customer Information Service on 1800 512 012.

Now, what exactly does this mean? Does it mean that Eircom have finally come to their senses and will be introducing revised and, hopefully, more reasonable pricing with regards to ADSL? Or, as I think is more likely, does it mean that they are just going to change the whole timescale and details regarding the roll-out of ADSL? I think the latter option is probably the more likely one. They are probably changing the Telecommunications Scheme to now read, "We will now not be introducing i-Stream when we said we were going to and instead will introduce it whenever we feel like it and know we can shaft our customers for even more money!" Or something like that! Anyone else know for sure what this statement actually means?

Just as a side note, in the "Money Matters" section of The Star I noticed that "Esat are looking for voluntary redundancies in it's business division and has imposed a "hiring freeze" on it's whole organisation. The company blamed tight market conditions and what it said was Eircom's failure to facilitate a rapid unbundling of it's digital subscriber loop high-speed internet services to carriers on a wholesale basis at lower than current prices." So, there you have it. Eircom's dictator-like attitude means people in other companies start loosing their jobs. I've said it before and I'll say it again; Eircom are holding back the economy of this country and this is actual proof of it. In fact, I think Eircom would be happy to bring us kicking and screaming back into the 1950's. What a shower of utter ba$tard$!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

eircom plc has today, 12th October 2001, made an amendment to the Telecommunications Scheme, 2000. This amendment provides for the introduction of certain revisions to the eircom i-stream (ADSL) service. Details including effective dates are available at eircom stores. A list of eircom stores is available in the Telephone Directory or by dialling Customer Information Service on 1800 512 012.

A quick search on Google leads us to this page on the Eircom site, which tells us that "The eircom telecommunications scheme lists prices, terms and conditions published in accordance with our telecommunications license," and that we can view the contents here. And a quick look at the Pending Changes [PDF] reveals the ADSL pricing they wish to integrate into the "Telecommunications Scheme". So it's just a notice "informing" the public and carriers of pending changes to their price list.

However, the intro page says it was "last updated [on] 17/09/01" and the Pending Changes document says the changes are effective from the 1st and the 2nd of October. Is the Last Updated date accurate? How come these changes are only being "announced" now? Have they been announced before? Surely, if they haven't, Eircom have breached their licence? Oh, and while I'm at it, the link to the Carrier Services section is broken. Tsk tsk. You're welcome Eircom, I don't mind giving ye a hand.

"Esat are looking for voluntary redundancies in it's business division and has imposed a "hiring freeze" on it's whole organisation.

And they just "signed" a deal with BT Ignite to take over their StoreCentre customers and bring them under the Esat eStore wing in EsatX. They must be in trouble if they have to announce voluntary redundancies two days after a IEP£3m deal? Oh, but of course Esat and BT are one and the same, so it's just sectional shifting. In fact the transfer will cost BT money. I hate this kind of disinformation, and the fact that "news sources" like ENN swallow it whole.

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

Every time I see the Eircom mouse I want to scream "SERENITY NOW!"

Just remember Aidan....

Serenity Now,
    Insanity Later

as per Llyod Brauhn ;)

There will defintely be insanity sometime soon if things dont start gettin better

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭neverhappen

Eircom are INCREASING their price for basic i-$cream !

Look at the latest change in the "pending changes" pdf mentioned above.

In the change effective 2/11/01, page 69, the monthly rental for i-$cream solo is IEP 86.63. (EUR 110).

In the earlier version of the prices, effective 2/10/01, page 37, the monthly rental was IEP 77.97 (EUR 99).

Its gone up before its even been released.

BTW where does this put the triallers who signed up after their trial at the old prices ?

BTW2 Note 2 states, despite what someone here heard from an eircom rep, that monthly rental charges are payable in addition to line connection and rental charges

Maybe this is an Eircom-esque way of lightening the "margin squeeze" the Regulator was worried about? This would be the typical Eircom way of handling the problem. And we all know they don't actually want to *sell* the product. You know, keep us in the Dark Ages? I think we should all go on Morse Code refresher courses.

adam

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Originally posted by dahamsta
    I think we should all go on Morse Code refresher courses.

adam

.- .-.. .-. . .- -.. -.--
    -.. .. -..
    --- -. .

-.. .- .... .- -- ... - .- ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

So Eircom have kept their monthly wholesale price the same and raised their retail price.

If this is what the regulator was on about with "margin squeeze" then they have lost the plot. The high wholesale price is enough to kill the market since competitors will be forced to raise their retail price to the point where it nolonger a viable product for the home market.

Of course, Eircom are happy since they are already making good money out of 56K and ISDN so they are not worried about ADSL being forced into the low-volume 'business' niche. Eircom have always been pushing this 'bitstream' as an alternative to LLU. Now we know what they are up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa nuts, i want to do something, anything aaaaa. this is like someone spitting in your face and they taking your car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

"In the change effective 2/11/01, page 69, the monthly rental for i-$cream solo is IEP 86.63. (EUR 110). "

Ex VAT, of course. The home user will be paying £104 per month for the 512k capped service. The press will neglect to mention the ex VAT bit when comparing with other European products.

ditdahdah dit ditdahditdit ditdahditdit / dahditdit dahdahdah dahdit dit / dahdah dahdahdah ditditdah dahdit dah ditdahdahdah dahdahdah dahditdahdah / dahdah ditditdah dahdahdit dahdahdit dit ditdahdit ditdahditdahditdah / ditdit / dahditdit ditdit dahditdit dahdit ditdahdahdahdahdit dah dahdahditditdahdah / dahditditdit ditditdah dah / ditdit / dahditdahdit ditdah dahdit / dahditdahdit ditditditdit dit ditdah dah ditdahditdahditdah

heh

adam

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

ditdahdah dit ditdahditdit ditdahditdit / dahditdit dahdahdah dahdit dit / dahdah dahdahdah ditditdah dahdit dah ditdahdahdah dahdahdah dahditdahdah / dahdah ditditdah dahdahdit dahdahdit dit ditdahdit ditdahditdahditdah / ditdit / dahditdit ditdit dahditdit dahdit ditdahdahdahdahdit dah dahdahditditdahdah / dahditditdit ditditdah dah / ditdit / dahditdahdit ditdah dahdit / dahditdahdit ditditditdit dit ditdah dah ditdahditdahditdah

heh

adam

?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Fergus2

..- -. ...- .-. -.- -. --- .-- -.-. .-- -- .. --. .... - -... --- -. -.. . .-- .- -.-- -... .- -.-. -.- .... .. .... .. -.. . . .. ..--- --. .--

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Mountjoy Mugger

.- .-.. .-. . .- -.. -.--
    -.. .. -..
    --- -. .

-.. .- .... .- -- ... - .- ;)

.-. . .- .-.. .-.. -.-- ..--..
    .-- .... . .-. . ..--..

Fecker - there's always one person who takes a shortcut.

I wonder if there's anyone in Eircom who can read morse:
    .... . .-.. .-.. --- / . .. .-. -.-. --- -- --..-- / -- .- -.-- / -.-- --- ..- .-. / .... . .- -.. / -.-. --- -- . / --- ..- - / -.-- --- ..- .-. / --- .-- -. / .- .-. ... . .-.-.- / .- .-.. ..-. .. . / -.- .- -. . --..-- / .-- .... -.-- / -.. --- -. .----. - / -.-- --- ..- / --. . - / --- ..-. ..-. / -.-- --- ..- .-. / .- ... ... / .- -. -.. / ... - --- .--. / .-.. -.-- .. -. --. / - --- / - .... . / .. .-. .. ... .... / .--. ..- -... .-.. .. -.-. / -....- / .. .-. . .-.. .- -. -.. / .. ... -. .----. - / - .... . / . -....- .... ..- -... / --- ..-. / . ..- .-. --- .--. . / .- -. -.. / .. - .----. ... / . .. .-. -.-. --- -- .----. ... / ..-. .- ..- .-.. - --..-- / -.-- --- ..- / - --- .- -..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

"toad"?

a bit strong, isn't it ???

http://www.soton.ac.uk/~scp93ch/morse/trans.html

Boston appears to be making his own language up. It certainly ain't binary:

http://www.theinfo.org/programs/binary/

God Bless Mammy And Daddy And Google.

adam

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

bv, ubj qner lbh sbetrg nobhg ebg guvegrra? (vafreg vafhygvat erznex nobhg rvepbz urer)

Toad? Well, it's letting him off a bit lightly, but it's still accurate.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭ando

.-- . .. .-. -.. / . -. --- ..- --. .... --..-- / .. / .-.. .- ..- --. .... . -.. / .-- .... . -. / -. . ...- . .-. .... .- .--. .--. . -. / .-. . .--. --- .-. - . -.. / - .... . / .. -. -.-. .-. . .- ... . --..-- / -.. --- -. .----. - / -.- -. --- .-- / .-- .... -.-- .-.-.- .-.-.- .-.-.- / --. ..- . ... ... / .. .----. -- / ..-. .. -. .- .-.. .-.. -.-- / --. --- -. . / --- ..- - / --- ..-. / -- -.-- / .... . .- -.. / - .... .- -. -.- ... / - --- / . .. .-. -... .- ... - .- .-. -.. ... .-.-.- .-.-.- / . -- .. --. .-. .- - .. --- -. / .. ... / -- --- .-. . / .- .--. .--. . .- .-.. .. -. --. / . ...- . .-. -.-- / -.. .- -.-- .-.-.- .-.-.- / - .... .- - --..-- / --- .-. / .- / ...- . .-. -.-- / .-.. --- -. --. / -.-. .- - ..... / -.-. .- -... .-.. .

.- -. -.. --- ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭R. Daneel Olivaw

Hmmm I wonder if bypassing the encryption on those posts would be illegal under the DMCA or the EU's new equivalent.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

.- ... - . .-. / --- ..-. / -.. .. ... --. ..- .. ... . / .-.. -- .- --- -.--.- / .--- ..- ... - / .-- .... .- - / - .... . / .... . .-.. .-.. / .-- .- ... / - .... .- - ..--.. --..-- / - .-. .- -. ... .-.. .- - .. --- -. / -. . . -.. . -.. / .--. .-.. . .- ... . ehh?!!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Pimp

yeah i saw the add myself and gave them a call (1800 512 128) the bloke didnt know what i was talking about. So i asked them is there any sign of it being released, he laughed and said something like "its like haleys comet" eg we wont see it. So now the have increased the price of a product that they have no intention of releasing!!

So if they can do this hows about we try something ourselves. Dunno if this will work but we could all order ISDN and when they call to install it we could just say "Changed my mind" and close the door. I am sure there are other products they have that we could do as well eg Eircom home watch thingy(the security thing)

What do u think?
    I think its time for a different approach

• Registered Users Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

binary with 0's to left of all the 1's
    NOPE

Gibs guide to reading binary:
    really cheap this

(and so on)
    ...................128..65..32..16..8..4..2..1|(1/2)(1/4)(1/8) (and so on)
    ......................1...0...1...0....0..0..1..0.....0...0.....1.....................

adding the numbers that have 1 below them to get real number

128+32+2+(1/8)= 162.125

you didnt see the image within the code then, i was fliping the bird

Originally posted by «Bo§ton»
    you didnt see the image within the code then, i was fliping the bird

Not very well, it has to be said. :)

Anyway, what did the bird ever do to you? :)

adam

i know, looked better in word,

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Originally posted by «Bo§ton»
    i know, looked better in word,

Using Micro$oft products to slag off Eircom?? I can't quite articulate it, but that's just... I don't know, it's... it's....

I think I need a lie down. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Interesting, I wonder how this affects the contract i signed for I-stream. Any budding lawyers know if the contract is out the window or does something like this fall under the 'we retain the right to change everything at any time' type of clause?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TomF

Interesting, isn't it, that telegraph was succeeded by telephone then radio. Now it looks as though we'll go back to radio, as we're already using Morse on the telephone!

.. / ..- ... . -.. / - --- / .-.. --- ...- . / - .... . / - ... .-. .. .-.. .-../

--- ..-. / ._. .- -.. .. --- / .- -. -.. / .. - / .-- .- ... / ..-. .-. . . / !

(Never learned the exclamation mark!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Snaga

Flippin the bird, hehe Boston, its got 5 fingers and a thumb ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Chaos-Engine

Originally posted by Pimp

So if they can do this hows about we try something ourselves. Dunno if this will work but we could all order ISDN and when they call to install it we could just say "Changed my mind" and close the door. I am sure there are other products they have that we could do as well eg Eircom home watch thingy(the security thing)

What do u think?
    I think its time for a different approach

Nice idea... Really hit those rats in the face... Get their unions raging and get general Eircom Morale smashed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Dr99

Originally posted by phaxx
    bv, ubj qner lbh sbetrg nobhg ebg guvegrra? (vafreg vafhygvat erznex nobhg rvepbz urer)

Toad? Well, it's letting him off a bit lightly, but it's still accurate.

Qbrf nalbar rira hfr EBG13 nalzber?? Zvaq lbh vgf cebonoyl gur
    onfrf bs Rvepba'f orfg frphevgl :)