Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Tv rule your life

• 12-10-2001 6:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭

How many hours a day do people spend watching tv

why do people watch so many soaps?

does tv ruin the art of conversiontion

does too much tv make you brain dead?

are you a ITV/BBC1 Type or a BBC2/CHAN4 Type

Just some things to start you off :) but feel free to express your selves :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

I gave up TV a long time ago, I honestly can't remember how many months it has been since I sat down to watch TV.

TV is just too full of cráp, in my opinion, all the ads, and what can you do about them? Nothing! You have to wait. But here, I can just ignore them, scroll down, close the popup, whatever.

I dunno if TV ruins the art of converstation or not... I suppose, if I watched all these popular soaps and all that like most people I know I would have more to talk about with them.

I really can't understand why people watch soaps... Oh, well, I suppose they're a kind of ongoing story... each to his own I guess. I'd rather read a book.

Renting DVDs is a different matter, of course, although I watch them on the computer, so this probably has next to nothing to do with tv. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭BoneCollector

Well like you i dont watch tv for all the same reasons...
    as far as conversation goes...
    have you ever tryed to have a conversation with someone in the same room as the tv when eastenders is on.???
    its very hard to hold there attention without them drifting off with the narative from the tv.

i can nearly say i watch about .05hrs daily or about 1-2hrs a week (maybe!?) and thats only if there is a good documentry on..
    and no soaps, i can even remember the names of them...

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭DesertFox

Counter Strike ownz my life , tv is ****!!!

it's as addictive as craic coccaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

TV > "Giver, Mother, Secret lover"

I cant denounce the evils of TV because Im getting sky digital installed :) Yes I love TV and if my tv broke I'd probably stand outside the local branch of maddens all day watching tv with no sound :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

No .. i only have rté thus i only watch on mondays :D however computer games in general own my áss! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

i usually watch 4 hours of tv a day. more on a weekend. depends if im working or not or if im supposed to be in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I usually don't bother with TV except for two things...

* good comedy (e.g.: Trigger Happy TV, Family Guy)

or...

* a live event (such as a match or concert) that I want to see and couldn't get tickets to.

So, if I'm watching TV -at all- (and I'm usually not), it's usually for an hour or two (tops) per day.

This will all change if/when I get Sky Digital ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Moved to Films/TV as it has er...nothing to do with science.

And yes, TV is a curse for our children, though the news (the non 24-hour laemness kind) is probably the best thing on TV after Panorama.

Occy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

bachlers walk and family guy make tv good, tis well funny, don't like trigger happy tv tho'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

[This will proably answer the question posed in the thread]

Excuse my ignorance but what is family guy??

As for the q.-
    Very little-
    mostly news - sky sports-
    occasionally I tape some stuff like have "i got news for you"-
    Its a medium I think I could do w/out if we ever get ADSL ( so I guess I'd better get familar w/ the TV guide then:()

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Pray, tell us...

What is this... Tee Vee of which you speak???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭SweetBirdOfTruth

like many around here, i gave up telly, probly two (three?) years back. i couldn't stop sitting there into the wee small hours surfing in search of somehting even half decent and came to realise i couldn;t hit the off switch, so i gave the box to the sis.

work's canteen has a tv, usually tuned to sky news, so i guess i'm not fully "clean". also, i get to oogle the box when i visit the folks. whenever i feel like i might be missing telly, i just take out that day's tv guide in the paper and see how little (usually nothing) is on that i'd actually ***want*** to watch.

since giving up telly, i've spent a fortune on books, cds, theatre and the cinema. i've also discovered that not all radio is shíte (though a lot of it is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

I used to watch TV non-stop......then the PC arrived :D
    Since then been a gamer full time :)
    I still watch TV from time to time,and only watch documentaries,most of the other programs r a load of shite.
    Just personal opinion tho :)
    Band of brothers and that thing about plaugue,fire etc in londons very good to :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Belisarius

Ive finally escaped the grasp of TV ,I bearly watch it anymore , 5-6 hours a week on average . Bastard IRC :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 geeshee

All I watch on it nowadays is The Sopranos or the Ireland matches. I usually watch if theres a decent film on too.

Originally posted by SweetBirdOfTruth
    . i couldn't stop sitting there into the wee small hours surfing in search of somehting even half decent

Yeah, and now you have tuned into the Internet your probably still having the same problem :D:D
    (sorry i just couldnt resist! :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Now that you mention it my TV does boss me around a bit - after a good multimuder movie I always feel the urge to reinact it and fling body parts off people ..... do you think I have a problem ?

No sir... :confused:
    You sound quiet normal (as I tipy toe out of the room quietly) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭SweetBirdOfTruth

Originally posted by BoneCollector

Yeah, and now you have tuned into the Internet your probably still having the same problem :D:D
    (sorry i just couldnt resist! :) )

oddly enough, no. it's only in the last month i've bothered sorting out a net connection at home, and at most i'm only using that for an hour of an evening to check up on a couple of boards i post on.

the main addiction i replaced tv with is books. oh, and not styaing up into the wee small hours trying to remember the excitement of what it was like to be a kid wanting to be able to stay up into the wee small hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

I really don't see people's problems with teevee.
    When I get stuck into a book (as I am now), I foresake everything, I will disappear for weekends at a time, just reading my book. And yet that's seen as something different to TV, better - almost high culture. It still results in me being antisocial. Go figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

I used to watch more TV when we only had the terrestrial channels, now that we have digital I never watch it.
    It just proved to me that no matter how many channels you have there's never anything good on.
    I only watch TV these days if I want to veg out or something.
    Don't get much time for it anyways, life these days is work, eat|gaming|pub, sleep.
    TV just isn't important enough to get my attention :D

And as for those cooking shows - they have to be faked, I tried to follow "Chong Wong Stick It On" in one of his famous dish jobs and ended up cooking my pet hampster and feeding it to the mother in law - I mean whats that all about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,518 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

It probably means George, old bean, that you are a cad!, and should be flogged to within an inch of you're life for such evil despicable behaviour.

Perhaps the Teletubbies on the BBC might be more appropriate.

Tally ho!! Chucks away!!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I watch too much telly but less these days, my phone bill
    will bear testement to that!

People watch soaps 'cos ther're as addictive as nicotine.

I'm a BBC2/C4 type, why no mention of RTE/TV3 types?:D

Yes TV does rot the art of brainersation...er.

I have to admit...
    Tv does have its momments of glory..

World cup (when your country makes it into the finals)

24 hrs NEWS(when you need it)

Teletext :)

But overall...
    take alook at the tv shedual mon-fri over the last 10years?

we still have cornation st, eastenders, brookside, emerdale, several incarnations of blankety blank. practicly all taking up the same slots. Wheres the diversity? (and wheres Dr Who!) :D
    Where is the break from the monotony!?
    im surprised we dont still have CrossRoads... *hey wait!??* didnt? it just make a comeback recently!???

The Buired being resourected!? (need i say more)

Well I have to say I've never had nightmares before I seen this TelyTubbie lark - I dreamt this cat was chasing me in a high speed steam roller - I have to go to a physcotherapist person now - I billing you, you SOB!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Magwitch

Whats that?....oh yes.....thankyou master.....

People of Internet Land. My TV has instructed me to reply "YES" to your question.

OK thats it Me and the TV are getting a divorce "you've ordered me around for the last time"...... wonder who gets to keep the house ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Belgario

Hang on!

How is a deity supposed to control his minions if they don't watch the goggle box??

Feck sake I have enough on my plate then having to back slap you all into submission!!!

Stick with the program and I promise you all happiness on the day of judgement. If L Ron Hubbard got away with it then so can I.

Except BoneCollector, he seems to be too uppity of late! I knew it was a bad idea to allow him to use his opposable thumbs ;P.

Ho hum, BTW EvilGeorge leave my feckig choccy bars alone. Also stop telling people I have a deflector shield.

Belgario(Author: How to be an Evil Overlord)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,518 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Belgario, do small children cower behind their parents when the "bad person" walks past?

I think I shall call you Sir in future :D

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Belgario

Actually they do!

You see children understand the subliminal messages i place on T.V. They know the terror that lies behind Barney's purple posterior.

Anyway I have now added another to my will not redeem list.

Ho hum.

Belgario