Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ascii codes

• 17-04-2000 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭

anyone know wher i can get a list of all the ascii codes.
    i need it for those stupid little picture like lines and smilie faces and blocks like they use to use in games that were made in 1985 smile.gif
    it has to have all the extended ascii codes that you can enter by using the alt key and the number pad
    looked everywhere, but cant find it.
    cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

You can normally find them in the back of any DOS manual.

For ANSI check the Character Mapper in the Start menu.

For ASCII check the link.
                                                         ..::''''::..    
                                               .:::.   .;''        ``;.  
       ....                                    :::::  ::    ::  ::    :: 
     ,;' .;:                ()  ..:            `:::' ::     ::  ::     ::
     ::.      ..:,:;.,:;.    .   ::   .::::.    `:'  :: .:' ::  :: `:. ::
      '''::,   ::  ::  ::  `::   ::  ;:   .::    :   ::  :          :  ::
    ,:';  ::;  ::  ::  ::   ::   ::  ::,::''.    .    :: `:.      .:' :: 
    `:,,,,;;' ,;; ,;;, ;;, ,;;, ,;;, `:,,,,:'   :;:    `;..``::::''..;'  
                                                         ``::,,,,::''    

[This message has been edited by Hobbes (edited 17-04-2000).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

If you have the MS-Qbasic that came with Win3x you'll find the full ASCII charicter set listed in the help file.
    You'll also find Qbasic on some (or all) of the Win95 CD's in a folder called oldmsdos (or something similar).
    Dunno if it's included on the Win98 CD, but you might get lucky smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

yeah, this is the sort of stuff that i was finding yesterday, but its not 'exactly' what i need.
    i NEED to be able to use alt-111 to get the letter m and all that crap, as i have a strange looking volume label in fdisk and i want repartition the yoke.
    it has all the little smilie faces and right angle lines and all that. sort of stuff that was usd in the original kings quest.
    so if i cant see how to use the alt key in conjunction with the number pad, i cant actually fill out the volume label, and i cant repartition the hard drive to get it to work frown.gif
    even if yis can find it in qbasic and paste a list up id really appreciate it.
    cmon hobbes, you always find what im looking for. dont fail me now... smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Just noticed Qbasic is installed with NT4 never copped that smile.gif

<Snip code page chart. Sorry dudes, it's doing bad things to the DB -Conor>

well there you go if it pastes right if not I'll mail you it.

Kayos

nice one.
    just what the doc ordered.
    thanks matey smile.gif

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan:

cmon hobbes, you always find what im looking for. dont fail me now... smile.gif

If you are typing it using ALT, if you have a DOS BOX open you can do it using Character mapper program (in the start/program), or press ALT+0xxx

QBASIC does not come with NT4, you must of had DOS installed first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Hobbes Check out MSDN ID: Q196699
    It is installed with VFP6 yuk. My mistake. And No Problems WWM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

qbasic, ascii codes, fas, ahh the memories!

P.s what the fup is Unicode Big Endian? As seen in the New Improved Win2k notepad.

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

[This message has been edited by amp (edited 19-04-2000).]

ok, i now hav all the chracters i need...except one
    that stupid smilie face.
    i still need to stick it into my volume label and i havent seen it anywhere listed.
    any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

hobbes u got WAY to much time on u're hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

dunno about the smiley, (ye think I would) but have you tried fdisk /mbr? Or putting partition magic onto a floppy, booting off it and then delete it that way.

If you can still access the root of the partition in dos try using the label command to rename it to something easier to delete.

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

smile.gif <-- is CHR 01 or CHR 00 I forget. Could be 02 ?

Anyway just get Norton Diskdoctor and nuke the label using that. Fdisk as shown above should do the jobbie as well.

Micro, do that unicode junk in work, seeing as a lot of people went to Holland for a holi....work on a unicode conference is the reason I know (and no I didn't get to go frown.gif )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Koopa

use linux fdisk if you can get your hands on it, its the best fdisk program ive ever used

no need to enter crappy volume labels, or anything, and it doesnt matter if you deliberately introduce so called "errors" in your partition table,(according to most fdisk programs, even freebsd fdisk), eg. deliberately making two or more primary partitions with label "fat32" etc., like even windows itself handles two primary fat partitions perfectly, dont know why dos fdisk wont let you make two

fdisk /mbr in DOS wont do anything to help in this situation as it does not clear the partition table

[This message has been edited by Koopa (edited 19-04-2000).]