Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

how much do you drink a week

• 03-11-2001 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,484 ✭✭✭✭

I like drink.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Do I drink enough? 57 votes

0-10 Beverages a week- I like a tipple during bridge, chortle,naughty me.
    0% 0 votes
    11-20 Beverages a week- I can't wait for friday night
    38% 22 votes
    21-50 Beverages a week- I dont know/don't remember
    28% 16 votes
    51+ Bevvies *&^%)*P(*_+(*^%!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    33% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Last year was my first year in college and i would drink as much as my liver would allow,
    but this year college is tougher and i have to go in more so i only go out two nights a week wednesday and thursday.

Wednesday is only a bit of fun, no serious drinking, maybe 5 pints of whats ever on promo and a couple of bottles of what ever drink takes my fancy in the night club.

As for thursday, i've gotten into the habit of getting a six pack of beer, Amstel or what not, going to the pub having 4 pints of bud or promo beer and then a couple of bottles in the night club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

My problem is that I can't find a drink that suits me. Depending on what kind of a night out it's going to be will determine what I drink. If it's a planned night, I usually start off with Buckfast (scumbag is I), followed by cans of Bulmers. Perhaps shorts in the pub/club if the music is crap. If the music is good, I will dance for the night, and walk out sober.

If it's not planned it's to the pub for about 4-5 pints of cider, and then cans in the club. I have to be well fukked to drink shorts/shots.

I don't like going out to get polluted, I prefer drinking, dancing and coming home sober, to my PC (nerd am I).

The drink problem part
    What I drink will determine my mood while out. If I drink anything other than cider, I usually end up becomming really quiet and end up having a crap night. Recently I drank a couple of pints of Guinness (out of peer pressure), and my mood dropped to the floor. Nothing seems to cheer me up when I get that far, apart from dance music. I am a real dance head (good quality dance music, not the stuff you hear on the rad). But on the night I was drinking Guinness, I was socialising with people who couldn't be more different than myself, and were listening to suicidal music in the pub. The kind of music that it takes the vocalist about 5-6 seconds to pronounce each word. How can music like that cheer people up, and make them want to go out. But then again, different people different tastes.

;-phobos-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

I drink a total of about 10 pints per year :)
    I usually switch to spirits after the first manky monkey-pìss pint.
    Even still I don't drink all that much.
    But then, losing inhibitions and making an arse of yourself is so much more fun when you're sober. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Originally posted by phobos
    Recently I drank a couple of pints of Guinness (out of peer pressure), and my mood dropped to the floor. Nothing seems to cheer me up when I get that far, apart from dance music.
    Drink whiskey then... the party drink of the 00's. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Alas...

As for money situations...

I'd be lucky to have a tenner for a night out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

Wheres the.....

"0- I dont drink alchohol" option on the poll????

I think it could have shoved the 50+ option off !!??

Neway I dont drink. Alchohol is the nectar of the Devil.

Wrecking lives since time immorial:)

"0- I dont drink alchohol"

Yeah!, not everybody drinks, actually I would love to be able to go out and have a good night without it. I know a lot of peons say you don't need drink to have a good night out. This is true, but it's a hell of a lot easier with drink. Personally I am not one of these people that needs drink to liven up. I am naturally hyper(ish).
    Drink whiskey then... the party drink of the 00's.

I have drank JD + Coke, and I liked it, but I can't drink slowly and end up getting bolloxed too fast. I can predict the kind of night I am going to have when I drink. Let's take for example that someone says to me that we should go on a right session with bucky and cans etc, I usually get hyped and looked forward to it. Then I usually have a good night out. But if plans get fukked up, I have a crap night.

I also find lately that I have much better times @ home in Gaway, as opposed to @ college in Castlebar. I know the castlebar scene like the back of my hand, and TBH it's getting a tad boring. The club scene everywhere is more business oriented, and they strive to pull the crowd and do it any way they can. But in a bigger place such as Galway or Dublin, there is enough people to keep certain nights running. Which will cater for different tastes in music etc. This is good!. But in Castlebar, there only seems to be the same 'ol chart rubbish. I swear to christ they are playing the same music for the last two years. With a few singles from the current top ten thrown in here and there.

But then again, some people like listening to music that they have heard several times that same day, and still behave like it's the first time they've heard it. I can hear it now, something like DJ Otzi comming on, and the peons in the corner yelling in delight. I swear these people are hired to wreck my head.

Anyway what the hell has the last two paragraphs got to do with drink. Ah crap ;)

;-phobos-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

Moan, moan, moan

Just buy drink and drink it. You're thinking too much about how to drink, stop thinking, start drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

drink 1 drink 2 drikn 3 .....
    hmmm know a guy drunk after 2 pints lucky bugger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

0-10 Beverages a week- I like a tipple during bridge, chortle,naughty me

LOL :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Drink consumption in the last year:

3 consecutive Saturdays last October - November (2000): 3-5 drinks per night.
    Easter: half glass of wine at my sister's
    May: 40 units in 6 hours at cocktail party
    3 consecutive Saturdays in July: 3-5 drinks per night.

There is a pattern there somewhere.

I don't drinks beers, don't like wines, half like spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

dont drink, people say its easy to have a good night without it, it is if you dont miss it. i know people say it loosens you up and makes you enjoy yourself, but im abite wild without frink i can imagine myself with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Don't get out much these days, because of work, but when I do drink, I generally do a fairly serious job of it. It depends on what kind of night it is - if it's just a sit-down-talk-and-drink session, I'll mix Budweiser and Guinness. If it's a proper night out, I'll start with four or five pints, move on to vodka-red bulls, an odd sambuca here and there, and at least one (red) aftershock. Up to 15 drinks on a normal night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

well, i neber did drink an awful lot in the last few years, but since ive moved to england i find myself enjoying the local ale, or beer as they call it.

any way, on friday i got a new job, so i celebrated a halloween party and drank 5 pints of john smiths, 2 cans of stella and finished of with a bottle of jacobs creek chardonnay sparkling wine coz im such a classy bloke.
    on saturday, i was still celebrating, so i had 3 pints of tanglefoot (6% ale) 5 double vodka and red bull, probably about 8 or 9 smirnoff ices and a couple of those blow wkd alco pops.
    very drunk. not bad for someone who doesnt really drink. and to top it off, ive given up smoking again, so im in foul humour now :)
    and still feeling really crappy too. oh dear, and i have the woking beer festival next saturday.
    what am i to do......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Depends on cash flow for me, but usually make it out for either Friday or Sat whatever the story. I'd say 20 pints and a coupla something else on a normal week for me, that'd be 2 nights or so.

It may come as a shock to some people here (:)), but since I drive quite a lot when I'm back in Mayo I end up staying off the drink for the night (live 16 miles from the nightclub).

Contrary to what some people have said below, I've found it's not fun to be in a club where everyone else is drunk but me.

A couple of pints in the pub with your mates may be grand when you're not drinking, but a crowded dancefloor where ppl are spilling drink on you, waving their cigarettes around like magic wands, and generally being irritating: that's my experience of a night-club when not drinking. So I now either fork out the 16 odd quid for a taxi, which makes an expensive night of it, or stay home and check out the Sat. night premier on Sky... :)

My 2 cent. And where did the 's' go?

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

dont drink anymore

went slighty over the top at a christmas party 2 years ago and that was that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Am, ye are making me look like an alcoholic.

Awww, that can happen you see. But there is light @ the end of the tunnel.

Good luck, we're all behind ya
    http://www.alcoholics-anonymous.org/

LOL ;)

;-phobos-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I average about 30 a week since I started college this year, last year was much higher but its a lot harder this year so I cant afford to be hungover all the time, when I was working I used to easily drink 50 -60 a week :/

The nights of drinking 20 + cans are over :)

Another reason I cut back is due to the fact my poor stomach cant take it anymore and im only 19 :( woops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Last year I drank quite considerably, but then my parents moved to Wicklow, and I got a car, so suddenly my drinking binges have to be premeditated :(, where will I leave my car, and how easy is it to get a bus/taxi home? I'm down to 1, sometimes 2 nights a week, at about 12 drinks a go, most of which is either out of a bottle or a can. I rarely buy drink in pubs unless it's at less than £2 a go, money is a wee bit tight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Well, I drink normally less then 50 but more then 20 but on like every second or third week,I would go over fifty (god damed 50p shots). You see here in England drink is piss cheap. So I can go out in a night and drink 15 shots for £7.50 and have 6 cocktails for 12 quid. This means that I only spend less then £20 but drink 21 Bevies. I normally go out at least twice a week.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,484 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Sometimes it seems like i'm turning into FR Jack.

Being of an excitable nature the wonderfull numbness of nuffin added but time calms me down a little.

Tis a lot less hassle than a women naggin you to go shopping every saturday (shudder).

But then the w/e arrives and its dhrink féck árse girls time..yee haaa

The life of a tibetan monk is not for me.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

went slighty over the top at a christmas party 2 years ago and that was that

Slightly? SLIGHTLY? SLIGHTLY?

*breathes deeply*

I actually managed to go without a drop for over a month after Vagga had his little incident at said Christmas Party, which frankly scared the bollix off me and put me off drink for the whole of Christmas....

I regularly say "I'm never drinking again!", and often actually mean it, but that's the longest I've ever managed it. I don't need to drink to have a good time - I've had great nights out where I just didn't feel like drinking, and if I'm going clubbing I won't drink alcohol any more because there's nothing to wreck an entire weekend like dancing for five hours on a Friday night while downing vodka; you spend saturday morning with your head down a toilet and the rest of the weekend drip-feeding yourself Lucozade Isotonic.

I guess it's all about knowing your limits; I hold my drink well and manage my drunkeness pretty well, but I have to know where to stop. It's only very rarely, when the booze is free and the music is loud, that I'll break my own rules... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

seriously who drinks 50+ drinks a week????
    thats 7 pints a day - every day - thats not right!!!

AA might be a good place to start

I can say that yes I probably do drink 50+ bevies a week. Not every week obviously. But on the weeks I dont I come pretty close to it. Who ever said anything about pints? I drink shots of alcohol and c0cktails, becuase the pints over here are sh|te, I may have the odd pint of the black stuff

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Shinji
    I regularly say "I'm never drinking again!", and often actually mean it, but that's the longest I've ever managed it. I don't need to drink to have a good time - I've had great nights out where I just didn't feel like drinking, and if I'm going clubbing I won't drink alcohol any more because there's nothing to wreck an entire weekend like dancing for five hours on a Friday night while downing vodka; you spend saturday morning with your head down a toilet and the rest of the weekend drip-feeding yourself Lucozade Isotonic.

What is this association between alcohol and getting sick, in 7 years of drinking, i've been sick once (empty stomach, 3 hours, 15 shots of 6-7 different drinks).

Yea, I agree. I have only been sick once while drinking, and it turns out that I had food poisioning (Pfff I cant spell)

John