Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did anything good come out of the 80's

• 20-11-2001 10:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭

Just a thought inspired by Steve Conway and his admission this morning that he was dancing to WHAM over the weekend......niiiiiccceeee!hehehe

Here's my list of some of the things that I thought were actually good in the 80's

The A - Team
    Greatest American Hero
    MANIMAL (or was this a dream??)
    Dukes of Hazard
    Street Hawk
    G Force
    Blue thunder / Air wolf - I was always in the blue thunder camp myself -

Atari games
    ZX Spectrum 64/128k?Also doubled as frisbee
    Raleigh Vortex bike
    Grifters

Ford Capri's
    Mantas

Back to the future movie ??

The Dublin Millenium celebrations

Lolo Balls (Jayyysuuuusss rediculous things)
    Skate Boards( those big heavy wide ones's)
    Water watches (anyone else remember these?)

RAMBO
    ROCKY
    Betamix(?) video tapes

Operation
    Buck-a-roo
    Connect 4

I also discivered AC/ DC in the eighties...yeah I know they started in the 70's.

Guns n Roses
    Metallica
    Megadeth
    Van Halen
    Dire Straits / Walk of life (God I loved that)
    Status Quo / In the army now

Time/macaroon/kalipso bars for 10p!!
    Chocolate Mice

Pound notes
    Milk bottles
    Bus Conductors

I could go on and on..... looking at that list Im starting to see why I never actually became a doctor hahaha

ahh the memories, fading into oblivion!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭o sleep

i wasn't really a kid of the 80s (although i grew up in it, but i don't remember much) but;

(the old) five pound notes

MUSIC
    The Smiths
    The Cure
    Pixies
    Husker Du!!!
    Throwing Muses
    Aha
    Duran Duran
    Asphalt Ribbons

RELIGION
    The Catholic Church rapidly losing its grip on the populace (and its general decline throughout the world). Schillebeeckx (or rather his writing).

POLITICS
    Reagan being shot (unfortunately he wasn't killed). Reagan speaking in public (always good for a laugh). Bush (senior) saying that he wouldn't apologise for the United States, no matter what the facts were (after the US shot down an Iran commercial airliner with nearly 300 civilians on board).

The Dublin Millenium Celebrations were a washout, as far as i can remember. and dublin was more than a 1000 years old anyway! it was all a lie! i guess back in 1988 dublin needed *something* to celebrate. also, tv from the eighties tends to depress me, although i realise it has some merits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Aspro

MUSIC: Thrash metal, speed metal, suicidal tendencies etc. etc.

TV: Battle of the planets, Airwolf, The A-Team, The Fall Guy, Dungeons and Dragons, MacGyver, Forticoats and his fifty pockets, silver spoons, diff'rent strokes etc. etc.

MISCELLANEOUS:
    Euro 88, June 1988 Ireland - 1, England - 0
    G'wan Ray Houghton!!!!!!!!!

All the good stuff can be found at http://www.awesome80s.com

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭James_M

I always liked the Flumps

They had tv shows for everything
    In a helicoper, on a motorbike, in a talking car, four lads in a van.

All with classic cheesy 80s music.

Also worth a look is www.80snostalgia.com

deadly

What ever happened to the Thompson twins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Eyeliner__Boy

The 80's was the decade that gave us the best band ever, Joy Division!!!

also:

New Order
    The Smiths
    The Cure
    Spandau Ballet
    Duran Duran
    Depeche Mode
    Soft Cell
    OMD

easily the best decade for music :)

OHHH!!!!!! And the film Scarface!!!

and who ciuld forget the mullet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Manufractured Individual

TRANSFORMERS!

The Ghost Busters.

If I'm in an odd mood those damned Ninja Turtles.

And of course, the one, the only Vanilla Ice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭nellieswellies

Sacred reich war pigs
    testament practice what you preach
    Metallica(can I type this without being sued) ride the lightning
    megadeth in my darkest hour

Big wham bars

How did I forget Im ashemed to say im irish without mentioning

JOHNNY LOGAN

Ive been waiting
    such a long tome
    Lookin out for you
    But your not here

Whats another year

Hey ladys you still standin?

Charlie Haughie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

SURVIVOR - eye of the tigger
    NINA - 99 red ballons
    DURAN DURAN - fanatic here (when i was 5 anyway!)
    Thriller album....a daily routine
    Nik Kershaw...Wouldn't it be good
    Europe....The Final Countdown...get the tennis racket out!

Then came the cheesy metal, somehow it was cool to be into...
    DEF LEPPARD...possibly the biggest fan in ireland
    BON JOVI...big hair
    WHITESNAKE....bigger hair
    ACDC....still sound good
    IRON MAIDEN......sound ****e

the much cooler stuff, that wasn't so cool at the time
    INXS - Kick
    U2 - Joshua Tree

EURO 88
    ....converted to a soccer fanatic overnight

star wars figures
    he-man
    mask
    Indiana Jones
    A-Team
    Air Wolf
    Moonlighting
    "V",
    .....Diana did something to me, couldn't explain it at such a
    tender age, same effect that Madonna had in videos like material girl, mojo magic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭mixer007

Legwarmers, Mr. Freeze and the invention of illumonous clothing. Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Tara

Madonna
    Hip - Hop
    CD players and VCR's!

Me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Illuminous clothing hhahhahahaha priceless......

Wearing of illuminous clothing or leg warmers must surely be awarded with raawwwkk points!!

So, if you get serious raaawwk points for illumonous clothing and leg warmers, then surely Leroy from Fame would rule the world. Then we would all be his bitches.
    I shudder to think.

Christ I knew someone would get around to Leroy at some point or other......

Funny no one mentioned

C'mon Eileen....

anyone alive in the eighties and goes to a wedding these days unavoidably ends up singin' along to that absolutley pissed out of their faces.

What next !

On reflection I think the 90's will be veiwed much worse in five years time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Dan of Ilk

Anyone remember 54321 bars. They were wafer with rice crispies on top and covered in chocolate. Nobody I know remembers them except me so I'm wondering were they a figment of my imagination?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 J. Dalliance

Wearing of illuminous clothing or leg warmers must surely be awarded with raawwwkk points!!

Kinda like Dave Lee Roth?????

Trev, if you want to start (resurect) a trend, I look forward to the next Otranome gig!!!!

Fingerless gloves anyone????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Toast

Originally posted by Dan of Ilk
    Anyone remember 54321 bars. They were wafer with rice crispies on top and covered in chocolate. Nobody I know remembers them except me so I'm wondering were they a figment of my imagination?

I remember them and they were lovely! They were certainly the best of the crappy 5 pack of choccie bars that the mother would buy for the old packed lunch. I believe they had caramel as well.

Talking about numbers Has anyone mentioned Dusty Bin and 3,2,1?

Hey Dan, I remember the oul 5,4,3,2,1's as well and I even remember the theme tune from the ads on telly. How sad is that?

Trio bars? Curly Wurlys? Dan Bars?
    Back in the day when Snickers was Marathon and Starburst was Opal Fruits..............

When Network2 was RTE2.........and just as sh!te

What about Little and Large or the Russ Abbott Show? - classic tv!

And of course the most brilliant political satire, and very sadly missed .........SPITTING IMAGE!!!!!!!!!!!

You know you are a true child of the 80s when...

You never questioned why the A-Team were always imprisoned in places that had sufficient tools to build an armoured tank.

Dungeons & Dragons was your favourite cartoon.

Your lunch times were spent playing "tip the can", "scotch" or "sticks"

You fell out with friends during heated arguments about the relative merits of Matt & Luke.

You owned, or wanted a "Frankie says..." T-shirt.

You have ever danced (or even worse cried) to Kylie & Jason.
    Cerise pink, electric blue and banana yellow have ever featured in your wardrobe or make-up collection.

You ever did the top toggle of your coat up around your neck without having your arms in the sleeves, and knew you looked like a super-hero.

You remember when the A-Ha video was the pinnacle of modern technology, and you can still sing all the words.

Parachuting Action man was your favourite toy.

Your best party dress was either a ra-ra or puff-ball skirt.

You ever owned a thin, black leather tie (and were proud of it), or worse it was patterned like a piano.

You wondered why a popular kids TV programme told you to "Turn off your TV set and go and do some less boring instead".

You cried at Zammo's funeral.

You wanted to be either Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys.

You ever said "It's my ball, and if I can't be Kevin Keegan I'm going home!"

You remember the aerobie scare.

You have ever po-goed or space-hopped.

You remember when Keith Chegwin & Maggie Philbin were the hottest romantic couple.

You wondered why your walkie-talkie didn't have the same range as those in the Red Hand Gang.

You were shocked by the controversial plot lines in Degrassi Junior High.

You tried to set up a "Famous Five" or "Secret Seven" gang with your school friends.

You tried to convince your Dad to fit a strip of red lights on the front of his Capri so it looked like KITT.

"Ca-vey Wa-vey!" means anything to you.

You ever had more than 10 sweets in a 10p mix-up.

Not only did you wear luminous clothing, but they were mismatched fingerless gloves and towelling socks.

You remember when Betamax was at the cutting edge of technology.

Conveyor belts regularly carried washing machines, deep-fat fryers and a cuddly toy.

You could have got away with it if it hadn't been for those meddling kids.

(Girls) You owned a pair of Pixie Boots, generally worn with leg warmers.
    (Boys) You owned a pair of pale grey slip-ons, generally worn with white towelling socks.

Shiny grey flecked suits.

You rolled the sleeves of your suit jacket up

Ooh, you could crush a Grape!

You went to school with Pogo Patterson, Gripper Stebson, and Ro-land.

Fingermouse.

You were proud of your picture appearing in the Gallery.

You remember Look In magazine, and when it was only 20p

You wondered why you and your mates never encountered diamond thieves whilst out on your BMXs.

No 73?

You can remember what Quatro tasted like.

Your best mate had a soda stream at home and you were jealous

Are busker bars still on the go?

"Play it on the banjo, bang it on the drum, bring em back a busker mum" class stuff.....

J Dalliance - I might leave the leg warmers out on the next gig I wouldn't want our gracious hosts of the night to be out shined by the sheer class of multicoloured illuminous legwarmers hahahaa...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

coloured popcorn for 8p
    skips only 12p
    chickities a bargain at 10p
    or what were those crisps with the cyclopse on them?
    ye, the Dan bar, orange rubber in sugar

the 5,4,3,2,1 theme never left my head

MANIMAL, that was your man who turned into a black panther?
    almost as cool as McGyver

I sternly believe that Harry Winkler should take a cut in the profits from Victoronics(spelling?), every child of the eighties awaited the day when they could buy their very first swiss army ....

here's to you Mac, let's all raise a can of cherry coke(no longer available here for some odd reason) to the one and only Mac Gyver, our hero

dededede deh dede deh dedede dehhhhh dededede de ...

Wham bars and Battle of the Planet bars. Golf Balls (sickly bubble gum). Gob Stoppers, ideal for kids under 3. The way Mr. Freeze cut the side of your mouth. Smak Cola, Cavan Cola (maybe only the muck savages will remember these). Big time bars, basically cement wrapped in cooking Chocolate. Dammit, Trev, look what you've started. Here I am typing a load of waffle, when I have to finish the Gigsmart website, oh, but wait, I have, and we're ready to go my man.
    Chris, the ball is in your court.

Originally posted by Trev M

let's all raise a can of cherry coke(no longer available here for some odd reason)

Yeah it is. It's just godawfully expensive and nasty tasting.

Ok heres the plan theres a general election coming up and were going to have the td's out banging on the doors, I suggest answering the door hopping up and down on your lolo ball wearing leg warmers blasting out the music from fame in the background stuffing your face with a 54321 and tell them they dont get your vote unless we get the 80's back

R.E.V.O.L.T

Nel, fair play to ya ...after an absolute bastard of a day that is the first thing that has made me laugh
    .......classic mate classic

Mixer well done on the site mate ....whooohoooo we're alive an kickin, just chatting to Chris and its on its way up as I type, should be about an hour or so I'd guess !!!!!

>>>>>>>>www.gigsmartireland.com<<<<<<<<<

trev your mail should be working in the next half an hour

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭tibor

Originally posted by Eyeliner__Boy
    The 80's was the decade that gave us the best band ever, Joy Division!!!

err, that'd be the 70's mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭horsekick

Im sorry but McGyver was the best thing about the 80's. I used to have my hair the exact same aswell!!!

Although the cartoons were great too, as for 5,4,3,2,1, bars.... classic.

Does anyone know if McGyver is still repeated on t.v. I haven't seen it in years.

Explosive chewing gum...... ah the memories.

Although I was more of a 90's kid myself.