Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pre-Election Straw Poll

• 26-11-2001 12:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭

Ok Lets try and ByPass the £50k that it'll prolly cost the parties to gauge the state of the nation......Vote Away

Obviously this relates to 1st preferences only- so the PR system could distort the eventual results in reality!

Please give reasons for your answers (sound like your english teacher:p) if possible...like Health Care is still brutal, No broadband, I think this party could do this.... etc.

Pre-Election Straw Poll- Who's Getting Your Vote? 25 votes

Fianna Fáil
    0% 0 votes
    Fine Gael
    24% 6 votes
    Labour
    12% 3 votes
    Progressive Democrats
    32% 8 votes
    Sinn Féin
    4% 1 vote
    Others
    28% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I voted Labour because they have the lowest sleaze factor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

I think something similar was posted some time ago here .

Not too much has changed since then. FF appear to be in auto-pilot, smoothly glossing over crisis after crisis. The only party that appears to be making any noise at present is Sinn Féin. Fortunately, every time they try to claim moral high ground on some social issue they get slapped down by another controversy that reminds people of their true nature.

I believe that our next government will most likely consist of a coalition between FF and Labour. The next most likely alternative will consist of FG and Labour

Depending on how various fringe parties and independants fare in the election other interests may have a veto over the balance of power in the next Dáil. I don't feel this is a satisfactory situation as historically small pressure groups do not benefit the nation as a whole, if they are allowed too much lobbying power. (So much for the subtle hint why I don't think SF should be allowed in government)

[rant]
    People, of course have a right to vote for whomever they please, however I do feel that doing so entails some responsibility - insofar as determining that the party/individual they vote for are those that mirror their views and are prepared to represent those views and policies in an efficient and honorable manner.
    [/rant]

ubb & syntax edit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

I think something similar was posted some time ago here .

Just a quick explantion why I started this thread....

We've all heard the phrase a week is a long time in politics!!
    Over 2 months has elapsed since then and theres a lot of water under the bridge IMO, that may have significantly affected the swing vote- ie todays Health strategy Paper from Fianna Fail.
    Also this a new politics board so i thought I'd give it a bit of kickstart w/ a rather fundamental issue:)
    Also the last thread got a bit slanderous w/ all sort of sleaze allegations abound so thought it best to start afresh.
    FF appear to be in auto-pilot, smoothly glossing over crisis after crisis.
    Historically so IMO. I think this administration will go down in History, whether for right or wrong!!
    [rant]
    People, of course have a right to vote for whomever they please, however I do feel that doing so entails some responsibility - insofar as determining that the party/individual they vote for are those that mirror their views and are prepared to represent those views and policies in an efficient and honorable manner.
    [/rant]

I dont think that is a rant @ all. If most of us could stick to that principle then I think we'd all be better off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Aspro

I'm sick of seeing polls like this, whether it be Irish Times, MRBI, Landsdowne Research or whoever who throw the entire campaigning and genuine Left into "others".

Why are Sinn Fein included in the poll with one TD? The Socialist Party has a TD and two councillors and the Greens have two TDs and an MEP yet they are thrown into the "others" bucket.

There are no ideological differences between FF, FG, Labour, PDs (or Sinn Fein despite the fact that they would protest against it).
    Throwing the real opposition into the "others" bucket is tantamount to censorship and parallels boards.ie with the "same old, same old" media.

If you're going to have a truly representative poll please include all parties with representation in the Dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

as angry as the avatar ;) *jk*

Battle_Angel_Alita_-_Makaku.gif

im going with OTHERS [greens] cos i dont trust any of the rest....if my 2nd choice was taken i would go with Labour, simply cos they are not as bad as they FF/PD + FG
    If you're going to have a truly representative poll please include all parties with representation in the Dail

i disagree. if you wish you can voice your PRECISE decision by posting. if you want to point out GREENS as your first choice while listed as OTHERS, just vote OTHERS and then post "I CHOSE GREENS BECAUSE......"

im sure 80p will say somthing, he always does ;)

O.K. then Gone Shooting

Which radio station is truly representative of people's music tastes in Ireland?

98fm

104fm

Others

I would imagine everyone here would have something to say about the generalised mish mash that Phantom would be thrown into.

Originally posted by Aspro
    I'm sick of seeing polls like this, whether it be Irish Times, MRBI, Landsdowne Research or whoever who throw the entire campaigning and genuine Left into "others".

Nobody asked you to reply or even look @ the thread:)
    Why are Sinn Fein included in the poll with one TD? The Socialist Party has a TD and two councillors and the Greens have two TDs and an MEP yet they are thrown into the "others" bucket.

The reason why Sinn Fein are in the poll is because if you had payed attention to the "other" electoral research conducted you would know that they have had the most dramatic increase in support since the last election and supercede the combined popularity of the Socialists and "other" parties. The Greens perhaps is a slight oversight, as they do have a significant degree of elected representation.
    There are no ideological differences between FF, FG, Labour, PDs (or Sinn Fein despite the fact that they would protest against it).Throwing the real opposition into the "others" bucket is tantamount to censorshipB]
    Yeh sounds like you've got a good grasp of the issues there alright;) So much so I wont even respond.
    If you're going to have a truly representative poll please include all parties with representation in the Dail.

Its a straw poll, not a fecking census;)

[now I've made Gone Shootin look like a clairvoyant....Darn:)]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I voted Fine Girl as John Deasy the local FG front runner
    is a sound chap full of cussed thinking, energy and oh
    feck I've wasted my vote!

He's Austin Deasys' son therefore he'll be elected by dynastical
    writ!:D
    No seriously he is just the sort this counrty needs young and
    smart not old and Tom Gildea.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Loomer

Why don't they have a Legalise Marijuana party like back home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

I'm sick of seeing polls like this, whether it be Irish Times, MRBI, Landsdowne Research or whoever who throw the entire campaigning and genuine Left into "others".......................If you're going to have a truly representative poll please include all parties with representation in the Dail.

Now there's a rant ;):D I voted for labour cause well imo they appear to be the best party around atm!

Originally posted by 80projectThe reason why Sinn Fein are in the poll is because if you had payed attention to the "other" electoral research conducted you would know that they have had the most dramatic increase in support since the last election and supercede the combined popularity of the Socialists and "other" parties.

Yeah. That's fair enough. I realise the increase in support for Sinn Fein. But there are only two other parties in the Dail - The Socialist Party and the Green Party. Is it so difficult just to include their names?

"Others" can include anything from the Christian Solidarity Party to the Natural Law Party to the nazi Irish People's Party. As a Socialist Party member for a long time I don't like getting thrown in with that bunch.

It took twelve years and a lot of fcuking hard work to get Joe Higgins elected. It then took another two years complaining to the media that he was not an "independent" or "independent socialist" but was a representative of a political party with a long tradition of campaigning on issues that affect the lives of ordinary people.

Just because Sinn Fein get significantly more media coverage than we do does not mean that their popularity supercedes that of ours and the Greens. It just means that they get significantly more media coverage. I see them increasing their seats by two - Sean Crowe in Dublin and Martin Ferris in Kerry. However I also see us and the Greens getting increased representation - that is just as significant.

We are grudgingly given a miniscule amount of media time because we are far more of a threat to the 'cosy club' politics that exists atm and that includes Sinn Fein. There's nothing new or anti-establishment in Sinn Fein. They're a right-wing populist sectarian party that have nothing to offer ordinary people North or South. It would be a disaster for the situation in the North if they were to have more influence in the South. Protestants would feel even more forced into a corner and could be the recipe for civil war. But for the moment many people will buy into the con job.

My posts weren't intended as rants. You just want to get recognition for the work you do. The mainstream media try to ignore the voice of dissent. Don't follow their lead.

Point(s) Taken Aspro.

Perhaps as I said it is a bit of an oversight. The "others" tally can still be indicative anyway, as at the moment it seems to be:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

clairvoyant adj 1: perceiving things beyond the natural range of the senses 2: foreseeing the future

oooo spooky

so ive been called THE JIMMY MAGEE OF RAP MUSIC and a CLAIRVOYANT within the last 48 hours, right there on boards :)

ASPRO, i dont know many people that listen to the same station all the time with a devotion not unlike a priest....

political parties are different, support can be inherited from your parents, your area, your own opinions.

i doubt anyone father said "now round here son we listen to 104fm, and thats way its gona stay" ;)

finally, i give up, dont wana fight no more.....*blub*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 franco

see new thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I voted sinn fein

Now hear me out, the last thing I want to see is that shower of bastards with power again in this country, but im in Bertie neck of the woods, and he has done **** all for my area, and I feel that if he was given a serious challenge (like 25% of the vote) be a Sein finer then he might just pull his figure out. we scared him ****less with nice and were gearing up to do it again, tell me, if FF win but Bertie doesn't get himself elected, does that mean he's out of office.

And thats the new irish voter, i will vote in what ever way will give me the best long term return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

Speaking of the smaller parties and independents, I've been thinking for a while about how they could have the maximum impact in a general election, in terms of eventual seats gained. I think with good 'vote management' you could end up with quite a few constituencies electing a candidate from one of the many parties and smaller groups on the left wing of Irish politics. There has always been the problem of how to get parties to agree to such a system, of course, and how to get the voters to go along with it.
    So here's my idea. We set up a website where people from a certain constituency can register a 'pre-vote' for one of a range of candidates in their constituency, candidates who have agreed with each other a common platform to one degree or another. Shortly before the election, these pre-votes are totted up and an email is sent out to all who've 'voted' from that constituency advising them that if they vote for the said candidate they have a far better chance of getting someone who somewhat represents their view into the Dail.
    There's a few problems with this of course. You'd have to get the parties and individuals in a particular constituency to get together and hammer out a common platform they're all willing to sign up to. And you'd have to get them to encourage their supporters to not only register pre-votes but to go along with the eventual decision.
    You'd also have to make a decision about who to include. Although maybe this would happen as a natural result at constituency level as certain parties would find they disagreed on too many issues to go along with it.
    There's logistical problems too. How do you stop people from one constituency pre-voting in another? This I don't know. What's the story with voting ID numbers? When are they sent out? Is there a specific format that a website could accept, blocking out invalid numbers? Do they vary regularly by constituency?
    If we can solve those problems, though, and if we get enough publicity (shouldn't be a problem), and if we target people who don't usually vote, like school-leavers and students, it could be quite effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Originally posted by franco
    fact, sinn fein are the provisional IRA, it has been undisputedly poven that many Sinn Fein politicians sat on the army council of sf.

<snip><snip>

I for one dont think that it is right that such an organisation should be in receipt of the blind adultation from many of our brainwashed young people

Initially, I had a long rant written against this post. I've deleted it, and will settle for this :

Off topic.

The poll is about who will you vote for, not "why people should not vote for the party I dont like".

You want to diss a party, go start a thread about it. This is not the place.

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 franco

good point