Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

game of the year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

Red Faction...What a turkey!!!
    Nearly as bad as Mr Romero's unmentionable piece of filth!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Hmmm...GOTY 2001....

Well, IMO, at the mo....RTCW by a nose from Max Payne.
    It depends on whether you want gr8 AI or Dullet Time
    (((which should be in EVERY game))))
    OH!
    And UT cos on my new P( it fúcking rulz!

Commandos 2 looks brilliant...but I've yet to play it.

Next year.....it looks to be a straight fight between Unreal II and MoH.
    Unreal to win even though MoH will prolly be out b4 it.
    Duke Forever....God doesn't even know when it will be out!

For consoles..
    GTA3 (((pity I have to wait for the PC version :( ))

• Registered Users Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

IMHO It's gotta be RTCW, however it does start to suck a little towards the end (Heinrich was a little too easy).

Coming a very close second I reckon AVP2. Turn the lights off, speakers up, play as the marine and promptly fill your pants.....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Villiros

Eh... *cough*... Myst III: Exile?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

console game of the year:
    GTA3 - best damn game on drugs.

pc game of the year:
    RTCW - i was screaming like a little girl cause i thought i was indiana jones and not that other dude.

best modification of the year:
    Day of Defeat 1.3b - the only decent thing modification yoke on earth at the moment.

adnans

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

GTA3 definitely

GT3, Devil May Cry and Pro Evolution Soccer all come close though

• Registered Users Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

Hmmm...Last time I played a game that deserved to be called a classic was Deus-Ex. Max P just didnt do it for me at all, nice graphics/effects but...
    Anyway. The game I most enjoyed this year is still TFC. The games I most enjoyed that I bought this year would be:
    Mech Commander 2 and Alice.

I still have to try most of the Xmas releases when I get home, looks like there are some excellent games to be had.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

of the few games I played, it has to be RTCW. without a doupt.

...i thought GTA3 was a bit disappointing. its good and all, but basically the same 'ol GTA from a different view point (which isn't necessarily better). Then again, I haven't played it all that much.

...never really got into half life either. its to 'awkward' or somat.

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

Welcome to the late late toy show. Reviewing some of this years games is Winning Hand from the biddy barry kids.

Pat kenny: Now what do you have for us?
    Me: Return To Castle Wolfenstein
    Pat kenny: Thats a really nice name, can you tell me a bit about the game.
    Me: Well if you take every fps (thats first person shooter to all you ejiits in the audience) that has been made since half life, steal the best ideas, put it into a year old engine, cash in on peoples love of killing nazis and slap a £45 price tag on it and your halfway there
    Pat: So did you enjoy it then?
    Me: Hell yeah.
    Pat: So what would you give it out of 10?
    Me: 7. Im docking three marks because of its ridiculus price tag for the length of time I got out of it, its crap ending, and its pathetic lag time on the internet.
    Pat: So do you have anything else for us.
    Me: I do pat.
    Pat: And what would that be

Me: Black And White.
    Pat: Anything to do with michael jackson, ha ha ha?
    Me: No pat, it is a game that was delayed for longer than my second level education. The Idea is you are a god and you control everything around you. The coolest feature was that the creature you took as your own learned as the game went on.
    Pat: And what would you give it out of 10?
    Me: 0. Im docking 10 marks because the creature couldnt learn jack ****, AI was rubbish, Graphics were hideous up close, control system that was harder than breaking out of jail, full of bugs, the computer magazines said it was the best game ever, instruction manual was an entire disclaimer, "innovative" mouse spellcasting was a joke, its impossible to play through by being evil and did i mention the creatures sucked pat?
    Pat: You did my son, tell me were there any outstanding games that you bought this year?

Me: Tribes 2
    Audience breaks into tears laughing
    Pat: Dont **** with me kid, tell me now before i send the annoying **** who reads the books onto you
    Me: Only Commandos 2, No one lives forever, and Grand Turismo 3

aite ... so I said RTCW at first ..

BUT

after finishing it relatively quickly and seeing the worst ending I've ever seen ...
    Even on the max difficulty, it's still kinda easy .... save for the paratroopers ....ba$tards...

I'd have to go for Max Payne for GOTY
    I love Dullet Time
    (( If MoH has it, I'll be in heaven!! :D:D )))

:O!
    Is it just me or did anyone else notice similarities between RTCW and Raiders of The Lost Arc on tv today ???

• Registered Users Posts: 10,581 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

LOL, well played WH :)

aite ...after thinking more about it ...

RTCW is nothing special side from the flamethrower ....*sighs*
    and THAT is gonna be beaten by Unreal 2 next Spring/Summer.
    After all the hype about the best AI in a game, I still think HL grunts are better than most of the enemies in RTCW.
    Elite Guard??
    Bah...just good to look at...

In a couple of weeks people will be saying RTC what ???

MoH will eclipse it and Unreal 2 will rule for months....till Unreal Warfare....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 gintyc

I would have to say Grand Theft Auto 3

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

i really did change my user name to monument!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

CIV 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Originally posted by Kyro
    Poking myself in the eye with a fork.
    Quite fond of that one, play it all the time.

A

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Looks like RTCW is in there with a good chance.
    And rightly so too, the atmosphere throughout the game is great,
    however i havnt finished it yet.
    A little easy though, i have it on the "Hurt me plenty" and i'm flying through it.
    From what i've read here though i'm in for a disappointing ending....

Those bastids with no legs are well 'ard and so is that huge armoured mofo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭DrunkLeprachaun

Max Payne on the PC, even though my sonofabitch PC kept on crashing and I had to return it uncompleted.
    Castlevania on the GBA is ****ing brilliant so I'd also nominate that.

Biggest Disapointment, Black & White(bet you couldn't see that one coming). It was ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

i would have to say virtua tennis

its just so addictive

• Registered Users Posts: 14,685 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

I'm gonna be different and...

Best FPS

AVP2 It has given me my life long aliens dream...be the face hugger. And in multiplayer man thats cool.

Best sports game

I dunno i dont play sport games. I'll just go outside and kck a ball around :(

BEst Strategy

Well i havnt played much apart from Ground control, Red alert 2 and Shogun. So Shogun Mongol(whaever) invasion.

Best Console game:

Shenmue...shenmue2. An experiance not a game.

Right confused? so am i. I havnt bought many games this year...maybe my expectations are too high. I want everything in one game.

ahh well

votes for worse game?

Originally posted by BlitzKrieg
    votes for worse game?

Red Faction.

RTCW was a big disappointment.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Originally posted by Winning Hand
    Welcome to the late late toy show. Reviewing some of this years games is Winning Hand from the biddy barry kids.

It's posts like this that make me wish I could still hand out positive karma. plyd.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,581 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Worst game of the year?

Well, Black & White was extremely tedious, it didn't strike me as fun /at all/. And err, Smackdown 3 is one of the worst games ever.

Best game would be Grand theft Auto 3 (me thinks)

Worst game: Black and white. what a dire game *shudder*

Fécking villigers: "we need more food" blah blah blah.
    I ended up dumping them all in the sacrificial bowl. MUAHAHHAHAH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Kix

Originally posted by Kaimera
    it's still kinda easy .... save for the paratroopers ....ba$tards...

It's strange, different people find different bits difficult. I didn't have much trouble with the paras. I thought the Elite Guard were evil. Maybe I just find it hard to gun down a woman...

Yeah, I'll follow the crowd and say that it was RTCW by a nose over Max Payne with B&W (spit) a faller at the first.

K

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Developer Of The Year?

Sega without a doubt.

They brought out more innovative and classic games this year than I can count.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

I'm torn between Max Payne and Independence War 2 - Edge of Chaos.

jc

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Max Payne.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

max pain sucked.
    rtcw is teh leet.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

RTCW is good. A bit short, but very well stylised, and yes it is a carbon copy of an Indy Jones flic, but what's the problem with that??

Is SpeedBall2 out on GBA yet? I've been of the net all Christmas (dodgey modem drivers) and I'm thinking of getting it....for my brother's GBA.....

IWar2 - Edge of Chaos ruled meh. Loved it.

I found most of the enemies in RTCW fairly easy, even Deathsheads UberSoldat. HJust get him behind the wall under the control room and let him blow himself up. Throw a few grenades/dynamite in there too to speed up the process.
    The flamers are hard bastids if you've no space to pull back and cap em.