Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Sobering thought !!

Options
  • 03-01-2002 10:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭

Drink-driving arrests rise by 20 per cent.

That headline is taken from an Irish Times article attached below.

http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/2002/0103/breaking

Obviously this years television and poster campaign has been a disaster. As a driver I don't even contemplate having a single drink when I'm driving. Unfortunately others don't seem to realise that they are using a letal weapon when they get into a car under the influence of alcohol.

What do the authorities need to do to stop this menace, do I need to report people I know that have been drink driving and should the ones caught be named and shamed publically. What legislation is needed to help stop this anti-social and criminal activity.

One area that could help with this is improved public transport as anyone who has tried to get a taxi over the Christmas period will testify.

Gandalf.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

what i find shocking is, 2700 tested while only 1100 are above the limit, what happened to just cause,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

If it stopped one person being killed, it's worth it surely?