Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So the Enterprise is here...what did ye think?

• 08-01-2002 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭

Did ye see Enterprise Last night?

I thought that they completely rushed the storyline in the pilot. but it was definetly very watchable. The opening credits music sucked though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

It was alright. But that opening music all they needed was a few American flags to make it really corny.

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭MarcusGarvey

Better than voyagers pilot episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

definetly agree with that Marcus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Terminator

Have to admit I was pretty disappointed.

None of the cast is particularly impressive. The captain is too gung-ho for my taste - he reminds me of the time Picard was overtaken by an alien and started singing in the messhall.

The alien Phlox is just another Neelix and the vulcan is too po-faced and irritating.

I've also seen episodes 2 and 3 and the storylines weren't great.

As far as I can see all the good writers left Paramount when STNG ended.

I hope I'm wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

The song over the opening credits is totally cringe-worthy, but at least they've done the decent thing and got a woman with big tits in from the start this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

lol Castor, perky too... Mmmm, Decontamination chamber.

I enjoyed it, as I did the other 9 episodes I yoinked from the hInternet.

It's 'generic' Star Trek. And it get's pretty good if you like Star Trek. Otherwise, don't watch it.

I especially like the way they are handling Vulcan and Klingon relations/introductions to Humans.

Other familiar races come into it too.

The storyline from Broken Bow about the Temperal Cold War isn't continued for a good few episodes tho, so don't hold your breath.

Luc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

all it needs is a companion for the captain that only he can see. Maybe he could have a hand held remote control that helps our hero all through the episode until the very lasy scene when our hero must use his own skill and judgement to save the day.

Oh boy...

the little dog was extremly cute though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Is the doctor a cardassian or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Scruff

good to see they took a leaf out of voyagers book with the lagre, firm breasted and pouty lipped female science type officer, alienated in her views of humanity and their emotions but by the end of the series will undoubtidly have a illogcaly emotional attachment to the rest of the crew.

not quite a classy a 7 though. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

For what it's worth, don't judge Phlox on the basis of the pilot alone. I saw him as a Neelix clone initially, but in later episodes he's actually a great character - arguably the most level-headed and intelligent member of the crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Guy Incognito

I have a question about the programme. I know it should be on the Sci-Fi / Fantasy board but anyway.

<trekker-thing>
    In Enterprise, the Klingons had the ridges on their foreheads, as in TNG and Voyager but what about the Klingons with no ridges from the original series (and later in the tribbles episode in DS9)? I know it's cos of make-up and dat in the first yoke but they never explained it. In DS9, Worf just said "Don't ask."
    </trekker-thing>

Anyone know? (I sound so sad!):p

Oh yeah, and the new series is decent enough, IMO.

Actually that is a fantastic question Incognito.

I remember in an episode of DS9 were the crew went back in time to the Enterprise with Kirk on it (the episode with all the tribbles) i do think there was a discussion where worf was saying the ridges on the klingons foreheads evolved over time yet we go back in time and the ridges are there...am i thinking wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

it was star trek.
    it was no different from any other star trek.
    nice breasts.
    but it was still star trek.
    in other words, if its on and the simpsons arent, i'll watch it, other wise i wouldnt be arsed to follow it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

It was star trek .. but not like the happy-love-y universe we all know from what has gone before. It shows potential

Some great quotes in the pilot mind you!! hehe

"These are the new phaser pistols. THey have two settings: Stun & Kill. It would be best not to confuse the two"

and

"Where's the Vector Thrust Control (I think)??"
    "Erm .. It's not that button there anyway!"

class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Jesus H Christ, that intro theme is DIRE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

got the first eight episodes on Divx from one of the lads and without doubt it's the best start of any of the series. The title music is dreadfull, hadn't initially realised cause I had been skipping it...terrible terrible Americana. The series is looking quite good all in all. It's nice to see the fact that they really can't fight there way out of situations as their technology isn't exactly top grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

that was the cutest puppies i have ever seen. and im not talking about the dog! can somone explain the reason behind the blue room please?

adnans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I'd like to know what they were thinking when they were deciding on the title music: 'why don't we have something nice and melodious like the Voyager intro, as that's the best music in a Trek so far? 'NO WE MUST HAVE LOADS OF 80'S STYLE RAWK, THE FANS ARE CRYING OUT FOR IT!!!'

Dear oh dear. Plus, does anyone else think that Scott Bakula has a bit too much of the cheesy grinning all-American family man thing going to be taken any way seriously?

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

Wasn't going to watch it at all, yet after getting bored of DiabloII, and after quaffinga 2litre bottle of Cider on my own, I decided to relax and watch it...

Of course, trying to watch Star Trek whilst half intoxicated never really helps, but I still found it watchable...

Im not a huge Star Trek Fan - Infact I used to detest it with a severe passion, but I got well into "The Next Generation" ever since they started overplaying it on Sky One (Can't stand the rest of them - Picard, in my humble opinion, was the best captain to date)

The above criticisms are relatively true... The Captain doesn't have enough of a stern/hard talking attitude to actually portray himself well as a proper captain, instead they have a chap who, quite frankly, has elastic bands wedged into the rim of his mouth, holding his lips in a smily face... No disrespect to the actor (He's good and all - I mean, Quantum Leap was brill :D ) but Im not sure he fits the bill as the captain...

As for the rest, the breasts are nice, and I was struck with that bloke that has that sort of English Accent... Thought it was cool, seeing as the majority of people in the all the other versions were (The majority anyway) American (Or American'ish) with the odd Klingon bleeting their garbled language.

Overall I found it quite enjoyable, and to be honest we really shouldn't heavily criticise until we've all had a gander at the next few episodes... One thing is for certain, that is most definately One seriously abismal intro tune...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Somebody tell me that Sky will be repeating the pilot episode soon... please...

dont think they have shown any repeats from the last series of voyager so i doubt they will be repeating the pilot for a good long while...to rerun such recently released programs costs alot of money i do so believe...not sure though.

ah if that's the case, I'll just wait to see it on the Beeb with no ad breaks and no censor cuts.

ahhh well guess the uncensonered version will be well worth the wait for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Sky One, Next Sunday, 4pm.

BTW, Nothing was cut from it.

excellent...cant wait to see it again..make more sense of it a second time.

btw did ye here TNG is due to be released on DVD soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

i thought it was the best pilot episode in any of the new treks. (tho i still prefer 'the cage' from tos for some reason).

as for the intro, i liked it tho not the music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by adnans
    that was the cutest puppies i have ever seen. and im not talking about the dog! can somone explain the reason behind the blue room please?

adnans

What blue room? And yes...fantastic puppies.... she's gonna be all over the place soon i imagine.

Great stuff... thanks Luc.

I'll actually get a chance to watch it this time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, everyone has pretty much said it. Best pilot out of all, ****e music, gorgeous Vulcan (nyom :eek: ). I like the way it's not too far into the future - it's close enough to us now, but still has the futuristic star trekness about it - eg When they are on earth, and captain guy (what's his name?) goes into the medical room with the klingon, the door has a normal spring, like we are using today. I like touches like that :) Omg I am sad..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by seamus
    Yeah, everyone has pretty much said it. Best pilot out of all, ****e music, gorgeous Vulcan (nyom :eek: ). I like the way it's not too far into the future - it's close enough to us now, but still has the futuristic star trekness about it - eg When they are on earth, and captain guy (what's his name?) goes into the medical room with the klingon, the door has a normal spring, like we are using today. I like touches like that :) Omg I am sad..........

Someone told me that it's only supposed to be set 150 years from now... is that true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Originally posted by adnans

can somone explain the reason behind the blue room please?

it was "decontamination"..... or 'soft porn', if you will. and god damn it was good :D :cool:

...thought the first epp. was good. not amazing, but I'll definitly tune in next week. The most interesting trek since TNG.

plus, thouse new aliens are pretty cool looking.

sam beckits head is a bit big imo (physicly)... but I'd say he'll be OK in the captians chair........ they really should have had him say "oh boy" after that transport though...

.....as for the klingon ridges thing... dudes, it was lack of make-up in the 60's. plain and simple. in the DS9 epp., where they go back to Kirk's day, they were just messing about. the whole eppisode was just a laff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Goodshape

........ they really should have had him say "oh boy" after that transport though...

ROFLMAO, omg that would have been fookin excellent! As for the ridges thing, Worf in that DS9 episode says something like 'it's a matter we do not discuss with outsiders', basically meaning he writers were too damn lazy to come up with something

Originally posted by Dr. Loon

Someone told me that it's only supposed to be set 150 years from now... is that true?

Well .. StarTrek:First Contact is set in 206something (65??). The Enterprise NX-01 launch ceremony is 90 years later. So that's about 2150

Kirk is 2250 or somethinglike that
    Picard 2350, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭viking

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭mocar

WHAT BREASTS??????????

MO

PS IM A FEMALE

BUT CHECK OUT THE PACKAGE ON THAT SPOTTY ALIEN THING.............! :p

S-s-s…mokin’:
    “I was an acidhead and a pot smoker. There was this one time some friends and I were ditching off campus at lunch. We didn’t make it back in time, and school officials found us smoking weed in a van around the corner. I was so stoned that when they started taking names I said mine was April June. It didn’t even dawn on me that that was just two months put together.”

She’s a whirlwind:
    “I love when I sort of come to and I’m on the other side of the room, sweaty and breathing heavy, with bottles and ashtrays tipped over everywhere. I’m like, ‘What just happened? Oh yeah, I got laid. Gotcha.’”

:D;):D :cool:

my kinda lady :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

hrm
    i've seen the first 8 or 9 eps, and i think they're pretty cool.
    def. better than voyager and early Ds9.

i don't want to say it's better than TNG cos well i don't want to seem like i'm dissing picard :)

oh, and the title music rules!
    didn't seem "american" to me at all.
    i'm not sure i like it as much as the normal type of intro, but it's not as terrible as you are all making it out to be

Originally posted by Mordeth
    oh, and the title music rules!
    didn't seem "american" to me at all.
    i'm not sure i like it as much as the normal type of intro, but it's not as terrible as you are all making it out to be

well, i downloaded the tune when the show aired in the states, to see if it was as bad as everyone was making out. and it was. but they dont play much of it on the intro, and at the end its just the instrumental. so no, its not that terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭StarScream

the problem is the intro its not very star trek and star trek fans dont like change and enterprise does do things very differently, most importantly in a good way
    .........................................................................................................................i dont use the word trekkie cause imo that word is reserved for the klingon speakin freaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

It needs more Yoshi decontam scenes... maybe Yoshi + T'Pal decontam scenes.

Archer: "You have been dirty girls, yes you have!" :rolleyes:

I've seen a few episodes and I wasn't overly impressed.

I mean they wander around in a bucket and meet aliens and ships that could run over their ship by accident and never know yet they are some how able to beat them.

and why are the tricorders hand size? They are smaller and more complex then the ones on ST:TNG

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Anyone else notice that when he's making his Captain's Log, he doesn't use a star date? :) I also noticed the "normal" door in the medical bay.

The intro is nice - showing man's history of flight and the history of ships named Enterprise but jesus christ who thought that music was a good idea? I have never felt so enraged in all my life - I wanted to kill everyone and everything that had any kind of association with it in horrible and brutal ways. Not on.

What about the guy on the other side of the Temporal Cold War - Romulan? I'd say so...

Overall, I'll continue to watch in the hope that there will be Yoshi + T'Pal decontamination as Hobbes has said ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Yeah there is a nice T'Pal decontam scene in either the second or third ep.

I've seen all 11 episodes available atm, and actually really like it. There are loads of nice little things that make it a bit different. No Prime directive, phase pistols, etc etc...

All in all, I cant wait till there are more episodes available for d/l!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Thats what i thought too - although I bet its a Vulcan now :)

Originally posted by Shad0r
    Yeah there is a nice T'Pal decontam scene in either the second or third ep.

I've seen all 11 episodes available atm, and actually really like it. There are loads of nice little things that make it a bit different. No Prime directive, phase pistols, etc etc...

All in all, I cant wait till there are more episodes available for d/l!

Would ye know of a URL where one could procure episodes?? :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Washout
    Actually that is a fantastic question Incognito.

I remember in an episode of DS9 were the crew went back in time to the Enterprise with Kirk on it (the episode with all the tribbles) i do think there was a discussion where worf was saying the ridges on the klingons foreheads evolved over time yet we go back in time and the ridges are there...am i thinking wrong?

Er, not quite - close but no cookie. I was wondering how they were going to handle that when I frst heard about their using footage from the original tribbles episode so I made sure to watch that one.

Someone asked Worf in the episode: "are those Klingons?" (if you saw the DS9 ep or the original episode, you'll remember they looked more like swarthy foreigners who worked in garages than fearsome warrior aliens)

Worf's response was something along the lines of "they ARE Klingons" ("why don't they look like you then") "We never talk about that"

Brilliant, I thought. Total cop out, but at least they didn't try to explain it in some techy-crappy way (er, because they knew it would just sound silly) (and they didn't just ignore it). And everyone knows the reason is the lower budget on the original series. So explain it any way you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Kharn

What about the guy on the other side of the Temporal Cold War - Romulan? I'd say so...

Far as I remember the Romulans were first encountered 75 years before the original series took place. They raided somewhere or other and then disappeared until they re-emerged in one of the first few episodes of Kirk and Co (someone said it in that episode somewhere)

Don't know exactly when Enterprise takes place. Could be Romulan if the timing is right.

Knowing the "creators of star trek yadda yadda" and their propensity for making sure as best they can that all iterations of the series fit together and don't contradict each other, I'd be surprised -the first time humans knew that Romulans looked like the Vulcans came in that episode. Unless we never get to see the guy (but that'd be a bit silly)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

I thought it was very good. The dialogue was snappy and amusing in places. I'm a massive Quantum Leap fan and thought he did a very good job. He's a hell of alot better than Janeway and Cisco were. Pikard is hard to top but I think that that sort of captain would'nt be good in this show.

His Number2 is'nt bad. He has'nt hit me as being very good yet but he's nowhere as annoying as alot of the male voyager actors, or tedious as Pickards second in command.

The Vulcan one looks good... and thats good... but she does'nt play a vulcan that well. Vulcans are'nt just logig, their ironic too.

The doctor seemed fine to me: I hated Nelix the second he opened his mouth.

Everybody else did'nt have a whole lot of personality but thats a good thing. Some of the crew on Voyager and DS9 were horribly annoying and I'd rather they had'nt a ton of developed characters.

Star Trek is taking a very new direction... It was going for complex storylines, conspiracies in a very X-Files type way. Now they seem to be dumbing it down and making it more light hearted. This is a very good thing. It's much more like TNG was.

Now all it needs is you do some 'rip in the space time continium' episode to bring the Borg into the picture, a few episodes with Q in it and it'll be dandy :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Red Moose

Couldn't be great though with Q popping in, as said above. John de Lancie makes TNG better than it would be by far (Stewart and De Lancie are kick ass actors IMHO). Like when he cropped up in Voyager, great idea.

It may not be as good as TNG or the post series 3 Voyager (thought it sucked until after those clan bastids the name I've forgotten, which started to drag), but I think for a pilot episode of a new series, it's leagues ahead of every series so far. Probably because the producers know what "Trek" is by now, so they are comfortable with making up different technologies and races, etc., . Encounter at Farpoint was good, but thank GOD that there is no Wesley Crusher/ Neelix / Odo + Naris who just piss me off.

It's basically like they haven't jumped with predefined characters aka Riker being a but gung-ho but happy to be subordinate, etc., like all the other series have done.

Of course, my own personal choice for captain of this new raw Trek would be Charleton Heston or somebody who has more screen presence than Scott Bakula, which I think is the main problem they have to overcome. Cisco started to be a great character but only after he shaved his head. The captains need a lot of "presence" on the screen, like Picard always had, from the very first episode.

Comparing it to pilots of the other series, it's definitely an excellent start. But the music must die. A horrible death. The changed the original kick ass IMHO Andromeda music and made it staple Trek tuney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭havok*

You seem to have contracted some viral agents, i'm afraid the only cure is to remove your clothing and rub this oil on yourselfs in a seductive manner ....In the mood lighting room.

Sw33t:)