Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Insurance

• 10-01-2002 6:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭

It a Fu€kin rip off.
    If ur between the age of 17 and 21 it a robbery, They are look for £6500 off me 4 a 1.0l micra. Any 1 know any cheap insurance companys or any scams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭b20uvkft6m5xwg

Its not a rip-off when you do a cost/risk analysis of young drivers in Ireland. If anything, the Insurance Co's are selling a loss making product.

I'm in no way defending Insur. Co's, but I understand the reasoning for the prices they charge to young drivers.

And no, there are no cheap insurance Companies- All the rates are calculated using largely the same actuarial principles and any differences are minor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

Wouldnt so called 'scams' be somewhat illegal? 0o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 thereal_unsane

Originally posted by 80project
    Its not a rip-off when you do a cost/risk analysis of young drivers in Ireland. If anything, the Insurance Co's are selling a loss making product.

I'm in no way defending Insur. Co's, but I understand the reasoning for the prices they charge to young drivers.

And no, there are no cheap insurance Companies- All the rates are calculated using largely the same actuarial principles and any differences are minor.

the reason insurance companys give for their rates, was, the large payouts awarded by jurys in court. this has now been done away with. but there there's been no drop in premiums.

I am currently paying £400 on a 1988 Opel Corsa(1ltr engine), I am a named driver on my mothers policy, the poilicy is about 2/3 grand, probably more. I know of people in england paying about £400 for the premium itself, with named drivers costing about 25 bills. How then, when England has a greater population and therefore larger revenue stream(and probably greater risk/cost factor), can there be such a stark difference between the two countries. It's the same all over Europe.

We are being blatently ripped off by insurance companies. Unless you are a 27year old female, you are probably not going to even get a quote from any of the companys around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

if ya live on a farm ya can get 'farm' insurance for practically nothing, so if you could arrage to live there or at least change of address then maybe ya could get that.

I think there is a eurpean company that insures irish folk too but there may be an age limit. Anyway they worth findin out who they is, an old manager was insured with them and it was a **** load cheaper than any of irish firms.

If you get insurance on a van car. ie no back seat and no back side windows, your insurance is a lot lower on a.c of the no. of people you can carry, only 1. I know a guy that got a first time quote of 2300 on a 1.2 van/car thing and that dropped loads after he got full liensed car.

Moped Still the cheapest to insure and motorbikes cheaper than cars, esp. cruiser types.

Originally posted by thereal_unsane
    the reason insurance companys give for their rates, was, the large payouts awarded by jurys in court. this has now been done away with.

Ehmmm.....Since when??

Maybe you should familiarise yourself with the Insurance Act 1989, specifically the fact that damages for personal injury are unlimited and that in the last few years there have been increases in the caps Insur. Co's can put on damages to property, now set at a minimum £90,000.

While the level of damages in certain areas of law have shrunk- ie. libel law, this is not a Civil Matter and thus the courts are statute bound to comply with the Insurance Act.

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

[edit] url doesnt work so ill just cut and paste it, its from the irish times archive search, use the words insurance + companies + profit. Its a bit old but I doubt much has changed in 10 months[/edit]
    Young drivers profiting insurance industry

By John McManus
    Insurance companies make bigger profits on drivers under 25 years than almost any other category, according to a Government-backed investigation into insurance costs.

The classification of drivers under 25 as a non-profitable risk "is now open to question", according to a report of the Motor Insurance Advisory Board (MIAB), which looked at the books of the largest insurance companies.

The report, released under the Freedom of Information Act, reveals that insurers made an average profit of £211 per head on drivers aged 22-24 between 1993 and 1997, compared to £60 for drivers aged 46-55.

The report also found that "women appear to contribute more than their fair share in certain instances". Profits made by insurance companies on women drivers over 51 were consistently higher than those on men. The discrepancy in the profits on young women drivers was even greater.

"Female policy holders aged 19 to 20 delivered a profit of £730 each compared to £186 for males," said the report. The board found that insurers lose money only on drivers aged 17 and 18, a group which accounts for just 0.3 per cent of all risks.

The report's findings challenge the industry assertion that companies lose money when they insure young drivers. The findings also call into question the refusal by some insurance companies even to give quotations to younger drivers and to charge higher premiums to drivers under 30.

The document, called "An Executive Summary of Progress Reports", was produced for the MIAB last summer. The report also says insurance companies made profits of 30 per cent on policies sold to drivers aged between 66 and 70.

The Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment, which is represented on the board, described the report as preliminary, as some companies had not given the board access to their books.

A final report is due at the end of the year and should cover 90 per cent of the industry, according to the Department.

The Irish Insurance Federation was represented on the board and checked the calculations. It found no errors. It threatened to withdraw its cooperation after the report was completed last summer but withdrew the threat when faced with the prospect of a "more rigorous forum for investigation in this area of public concern".

The final paragraph is the most sinister in my opinion

Incidentially there is a guy up in dublin somewhere running as an independant as he got fecked by the insurance companies so much, if I lived there he would have my vote in a second

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 toloola

He Two for u and it not against the law.

Scam1

Step 1: Buy a cheap van (The one`s that look like a car without the back seats)
    Step 2: Get it NCT Tested.
    Step 3: Ring Insureance group and tell them you want to insure the van as a private ower.
    Step 4: Hang up fone with a grin on ur face when u here the quate.
    Then will not price u throught the roof but i`m not saying it still cheap. For a 1.9 Desial van it cost my mate £700 for the year. Not bad.

Scam2

Do an advance driving course and you r allowed 20% to 30% off ur insurance. I did this and i got £250 off my insurance.
    It was the insurance group which told me of this test.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

actually amte youre completely wrong.

there is no way in hell they are making a loss. at the moment they are pulling out all the stops to grab as much money before ireland joins the rest of eurpoe in cheap insurance.

yes there are cheaper companies, but if youre getting quoted at a huge price then id say you are male, under 25, probabl;y on a provisional, living in dublin. and owner of the car

companies dont care what car you have. the premiums are indeed because of huge court settlements involving personal claims.

i live in england. im about to buy an mx-5 1.8i 2 seater convertable(a hairdressers car!) and my insureance is likely to be about 800 quid. which is nice.
    i currently have a 1l micra and my insurance is 11 quid irish.
    spot the difference.m personal clim payout is alot lower inengland. there is a huge amount of people here to ensure hence a marked decrease in price.

the sooner you can go to anywhere in eurpoe and get a quote, then go for it.
    the rac www.rac.co.uk already quote insurance prices for ireland but i dont know what they are like.

Originally posted by Bomberman
    It a Fu€kin rip off.
    If ur between the age of 17 and 21 it a robbery, They are look for £6500 off me 4 a 1.0l micra. Any 1 know any cheap insurance companys or any scams?

by the way, loose the big .sig picture will you.

Originally posted by Winning Hand
    The report, released under the Freedom of Information Act, reveals that insurers made an average profit of £211 per head on drivers aged 22-24 between 1993 and 1997, compared to £60 for drivers aged 46-55.
    [/B]

Note: 1993-1997- a period of 4-8 years ago.
    I just finished Inusrance Regulation Law before Christmas and have alot of data to hand on profits of Insurance Companies. For example in the last 2 years, AXA have payed out c.127% in claims of premiums collected on young drivers. The figures in the last few years are wildly different for all Insur. Co's because of the dramatic increase in the numbers of young drivers and cars on the road. Hence profit margins from 4-8 years ago are now redundant.

BTW WWMan
    To the best of my knowledge all the major Insurance Companies in the last 2-3 years who write insurance for under 25's drivers have made a loss- mainly due to the reasoning above. Comparisons to the UK are pointless because of the "Premium Pool" factor. We can only make comparisons when the market is deregulated further throughout the EU, when hopefully we all will pay less:)

BTW WWMan
    To the best of my knowledge all the major Insurance Companies in the last 2-3 years who write insurance for under 25's drivers have made a loss- mainly due to the reasoning above. Comparisons to the UK are pointless because of the "Premium Pool" factor. We can only make comparisons when the market is deregulated further throughout the EU, when hopefully we all will pay less:)

on average insurance make 900 pounds profit PER female driver under 27. they dont make much money on male drivers however of the same age because they always crash.
    comparisons cant be made with any other EU country because no other EU country gets rip, er i mean has such high premiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Lucifer

The best way to make any sort of reform in ire at the mo is to make ur boring fúçking TD that is gonna call 2 ur house everyday over the next few months 4 your vote(for anyone over 18)

Tell them that the only way that ur gonna vote 4 them is if they do something bout the fúçking ridiculous insurance prices that anyone between the ages of 17-27 are paying!! And more to the point ANYONE!!

I heard of a taxi driver paying £4000 for insurance

yeah a taxi driver is different n all but for fúçk sake thats fúçking stupid

:mad: :mad: :mad:

[Please Note I'm not defending the price of insurance]

But what do you want Companies to do??
    Sell it cheap and make a big loss??
    Then become insolvent and be unable to meet their liabilities??

We have a small premium pool, thus simple mathematics equates there must be higher premiums in comparison to other jursidictions. Its not something I like either, but its a fact! Frankly ranting to your TD will not do much, unless they want to parachute in another 10 million inhabitants to contribute the "pool"?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

if ya live on a farm ya can get 'farm' insurance for practically nothing, so if you could arrage to live there or at least change of address then maybe ya could get that.

That doesn't work anymore, if you work or travel to Dublin, the Insurance price goes up as if you live in Dublin,
    I heard of a taxi driver paying £4000 for insurance

Thats not *that* much if you think about it for a taxi driver, because if he crashes, the people in the car will defenly claim off him.
    Tell them that the only way that ur gonna vote 4 them is if they do something bout the fúçking ridiculous insurance prices that anyone between the ages of 17-27 are paying!!

He can't do anything about the price's of the insurance, so he would probberly leave your door, the prices of the insurance is so high becase the insurance companys aren't a charaty, they're out there to make a profit, and because so many young people are crashing and claiming, they have to rise the price's every year to make a profit, its when two words called "intrest rates" go "high"

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Shouldn't this also be in the humanities? :p

[Please Note I'm not defending the price of insurance]

But what do you want Companies to do??
    Sell it cheap and make a big loss??
    Then become insolvent and be unable to meet their liabilities??

We have a small premium pool, thus simple mathematics equates there must be higher premiums in comparison to other jursidictions. Its not something I like either, but its a fact! Frankly ranting to your TD will not do much, unless they want to parachute in another 10 million inhabitants to contribute the "pool"?

NO NO NO!
    i understand what your saying 80p, but the fact of the matter is that insurance companies are NOT making a loss.
    what they are doing is making a huge FORTUNE.
    and yes, they can afford to bring down the price of insurance, they just wont because they are still craeming it all in before european markets forces prices down through competition.

when i was in ireland, saw people paying 4000 for car insurance.
    i saw people paying 4500 for car insurance. ive seen people pay 5 grand for car insurance (muppets, get a private taxi, its cheaper) ive seen the late late show go on a bout it and ive heard radio programs and ive seen television programs, ive heard it debated in the dail and ive heard all the politicians rant about the opressive rates of premiums.

and the rates have gone up!
    thats just madness.

by the way, the insurance i used was mike murphy insurance off dame street. just beside bankers pub. gave me a quote of 500 quid cheaper than anyone else.
    just in case any one is looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's some company in Dublin city at the mo(I forget the name - O Reilly-Cullen or something similar), specialising in young drivers, but with a catch - They take your car, and stick a tiny GPS module in it (for free of course). So your car is monitored 24/7/365. They have the speed limits of all roads in the country, so they know how fast you are going and where. Sounds bad? Well not totally.
    The one I was talking to was saying that they are really more concerned with motorways and national roads, ie high-speed places, and it's quite forgiving. For example, they have you logged at 65/70mph on a national road for 10secs -> you were overtaking, no biggie. She said they wouldn't really care if you were doing 40 in the city centre for 2 reasons - it's tough to drive in the city centre for more than 20secs without having to stop for lights, and most fatal(ie high payout) accidents don't occur in the cities.
    So stay below 60 on national roads and below 70 on the m-ways, and you're laughing. They evaluate your stats every so often(week/month - I'm not sure) and your premium is adjusted according to it, and you can attain a max decrease of 40%. That's pretty damn good for us poor ****s paying 3/4/5 grand for third party/fire/theft alone :)
    I'm not doing it, 'cos I'm buying a bike :D:D:D Cheapo!!!

I heard about that on Pat Kenny actually. sound very big brotherish if you ask me but if you want cheaper insurance and your willing to do that....Its up to you
    by WhiteWashMan
    NO NO NO!

i understand what your saying 80p, but the fact of the matter is that insurance companies are NOT making a loss.
    what they are doing is making a huge FORTUNE.
    and yes, they can afford to bring down the price of insurance, they just wont because they are still craeming it all in before european markets forces prices down through competition.

ok we will agree to disagree:)
    But seriously, call up some of the Insurance companies and get their audited Accounts- With the Sept. 11th impact as well they are not making exorbitant profits, if any:)
    And of course theres always room for lower prices from the consumers angle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

I have my insurance with Church & General. It costs me £425 a year to be a named driver. I drive a 1.4MPI '00 VW POLO, in Dublin West.

I've always wondered... If you got a car, could you get a middle aged driver with a relatively low premium and get them to take out the main policy on the car, and then add youself as a named driver?? This would make the whole thing work out cheaper than getting an 18/19 year old holding the main policy, wouldnt it?

Originally posted by Dave|STaN
    I have my insurance with Church & General. It costs me £425 a year to be a named driver. I drive a 1.4MPI '00 VW POLO, in Dublin West.

I've always wondered... If you got a car, could you get a middle aged driver with a relatively low premium and get them to take out the main policy on the car, and then add youself as a named driver?? This would make the whole thing work out cheaper than getting an 18/19 year old holding the main policy, wouldnt it?

This has been clamped down on. Insurance companies share info among themselves, such that people can only own one car, unless you have more than one,but with no named drivers on any of them. :(

Originally posted by Dave|STaN

unfortunately its also illegal.
    a named driver is not suppose to have 24/7 access to the car, sort of 2/3 day aweek max.
    of course, how would they know if you claimed, but if you were cuaght then your insurance would be null and void.
    funnily enough, as im looking for incurance on my mx-5 at the moment, i read that this morning.
    i was a named driver on my mothers car for about 2 years and i had the car all the time. like when i moved to meath :)
    but, aparently its technically illegal and invalidates your cover.
    ok we will agree to disagree

no!!!!!!!
    i want an arguement.
    by the way, how can you bring sept/11 into car insurance in ireland?

no!!!!!!!
    i want an arguement.
    Tough:D
    by the way, how can you bring sept/11 into car insurance in ireland?
    Quite easily. While there is no doubt that other more scruplous Companies **cough**€ircom**cough** have sought to explain general incompetence and profitering on the tragedy, The Insurance Companies are one of the most affected business sector post 9/11. Their bill will be multi-hundreds of Billions of $$ when eventually calculated.
    In essence most of the major insurance companies in Ireland all have foreign investors and have funds being managed all across the world especially the US, so without going into the nitty gritty of it...Less money from investors and less returns on capital investment mean less profit for insurance companies.

Can ye pick an argument out that then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,523 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    by the way, how can you bring sept/11 into car insurance in ireland? is someone going to go on a car blowing up spree in dublin?@

The insurance companies, the re-insurance companies and the under-writers all need to make their money back and are applying increases across the board.

are you telling me that in a area that is already screwing you (not me) that the massive profits they are making are paying for america?
    why are they not being applied through out the world?
    ive not heard of premiums going up in any country?
    poor old ireland stuck with the burden of being american again?

im sorry, i dont belive it.
    the irish motorist is not paying for sept/11.
    thats absolute bull shít, plain and simple....

so what about all the companies that are only based in ireland and putting theoir premiums up?

is that to do with the new BMW coming out, or the problems in the north?
    maybe its to do with burnley being in division 1?
    get serious....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 thereal_unsane

are you telling me that in a area that is already screwing you (not me) that the massive profits they are making are paying for america?
    why are they not being applied through out the world?
    ive not heard of premiums going up in any country?
    poor old ireland stuck with the burden of being american again?

then you must be deaf or something. insurance companies across the globe are increasing their premiums. example Axa pulled out of insuring this years world cup a couple of weeks after 9/11, then were eventually wooed back with an increase of their premium.

so what about all the companies that are only based in ireland and putting theoir premiums up?

what companies based only in ireland? Quinn Direct, they are useless anyway. PMPA, or should I say AXA? Hibernian, which I believe is currently being bought out by another international insurance company. Basicially most companys operating in ireland are either owned by another multinational, or are in the process of being bought. I think you'll find very few exclusively Irish only companies.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Bomberman

by the way, loose the big .sig picture will you.
    Doin it now
    Originally posted by OJ
    Shouldn't this also be in the humanities?
    If this was in humanities i would not get as many replys...

80cent do u drive? if so whats the price of ur insurance?

then you must be deaf or something.

i may be deaf, but i still know shíte when i read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Bomber man reduce the size of that sig image its way too big

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

then you must be deaf or something.

i may be deaf, but i still know shíte when i read it.

Its not ****e but that doesnt mean insurance companies here are'nt charging over the odds.
    I think the thing that would most help is er...
    are u ready for this?...better driving standards, yep its true!

Mike.

what companies based only in ireland? Quinn Direct, they are useless anyway. PMPA, or should I say AXA? Hibernian, which I believe is currently being bought out by another international insurance company. Basicially most companys operating in ireland are either owned by another multinational, or are in the process of being bought. I think you'll find very few exclusively Irish only companies.

There is also the matter of re-insurance where companies hedge their risks across several markets and several countries - that is what the new increases are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

If the insurance companies are as ye all say making a massive profit out of young drivers wouldn't they be bending over backwards to insure you.
    As it stands only Quinn Direct will insure young male drivers on new policies.

by 80p.
    call up some of the Insurance companies and get their audited Accounts- With the Sept. 11th impact as well they are not making exorbitant profits, if any

by WWMan
    im sorry, i dont belive it.
    the irish motorist is not paying for sept/11.
    thats absolute bull shít, plain and simple....
    My point was a general industry wide reason for higher premiums and lower profits- I think the sentiment that has been mentioned is.... We are paying higher premiums because there's too many reckless idiots on the road. Thats why we pay more:)
    Originally posted by Bomberman
    80cent do u drive? if so whats the price of ur insurance?

ATM,I dont drive mainly because of the cost etc., but I had a Moped for a year and was paying a grand for the insurance. I'm simply playing Devils Advocate on the subject having recently studied Insurance Law:)
    [BTW its 80p- if it stood for pence, you'd have reason to use such, but it dont:)]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

bomberman... tut tut tut...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 figgs

Seing as young male drivers have to pay over the odds for their car insurance, shouldn't they be allowed drive faster than other motorists that get charged a fair premium?

The way I see it is, seeing as I'm paying a couple of grand more than the average middle aged motorist then there shouldn't be any problem with me belting around the place at 80, 90, 100 miles an hour, driving dangerously and what not.

I think members of the gardaí should take this into consideration when handing out speeding tickets, especially the fat bastard that wrote me out one there the other day for driving at only 75mph, surely the extra couple of grand I pay annually should cover me a good 40 mph over the legal speed limit. Do they not realise we've enough to pay as it is besides slapping us with 60 euro fines.

Originally posted by figgs
    Seing as young male drivers have to pay over the odds for their car insurance, shouldn't they be allowed drive faster than other motorists that get charged a fair premium?

The way I see it is, seeing as I'm paying a couple of grand more than the average middle aged motorist then there shouldn't be any problem with me belting around the place at 80, 90, 100 miles an hour, driving dangerously and what not.

I think members of the gardaí should take this into consideration when handing out speeding tickets, especially the fat bastard that wrote me out one there the other day for driving at only 75mph, surely the extra couple of grand I pay annually should cover me a good 40 mph over the legal speed limit. Do they not realise we've enough to pay as it is besides slapping us with 60 euro fines.

You forget the sarcasm device there.....
    Your logic would apply if young drivers were just as safe on the roads as middle-aged drivers. They're not, so we pay out more. That simple :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Velvet

Ah Figgs, you seem one of that young drivers that wants to fly in a road. The younger people are, the higher their insurance may be and also the more expensive their fines must be aswell.

Age and maturity makes people slow down and do less damage in others life :D

Dont worry, each day you get older! We are just in a life countdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭mm.ie

Dear Young figgs man,

I feel that your attitude is all wrong. You should not be allowed to drive at all until you are over 30 or at least pass a test on your maturity.

In fact eh, I would say that like women you should not be allowed near a car.

All of this started with rock and roll but thats another post...

Please let me know what part of the country you live in and what sort of car you drive so I can report you to the fat garda and he can take some more euros off you.

Stay outta my way lame head muppet

m

ah Mr. chauvinist MM.ie

Are you married? Does your wife drive? Thats really prejudicial.

Dont your wife needs the car to drive your kids to school?

Seamus,

You obviously didn’t spend much time reading what I wrote, I've passed all the test, done the advance driving course etc. I am a safe driver yet I am being charged a premium that would suggest I am high risk, Why? simply because I am a young male, so there is nothing wrong with my logic, I just think I should have the choice of driving at the risk factor I am being charged for.

Velvet,

If we go by your logic then a young person driving at 75 should be fined more than an older person driving at the same speed. Where’s the sense in that?

What I'm saying is, going by the method the insurance companies use for calculating the premiums for young male drivers, the younger person who is paying more for insurance should have the option of driving faster because they are paying higher premiums that suggest they are going to drive faster and more dangerously, silly? Yes I agree. Same way it is silly to charge all young drivers over the odds for car insurance.

mm.ie

I’ve nothing to say you..

So you got a full licence, etc etc, so what? You're still nowhere near as experienced, as relaxed (when driving), or as safe (statistically), as the average 40 year old. Fine, you may be a good driver, so am I, but they don't know that. All they can go on is the average young male driver. It would be almost impossible to grade us all individually, as it would involve having someone sit in the car with us for a week or so to make a proper judgement. (although hibernian have a scheme like this going - we all know about their policies with young drivers :rolleyes: ).

Choice of driving at risk factor? If you choose to drive at high risk, then you increase everyone else's risk on the roads, because you're driving like a lunatic, yes? Then everyone's premium goes up. That is just mad thinking

figgs - I've nothing to say to you aswell... not that I havent said before :p;)

and MM.ie ... take some chances to slow figgs down once u are who u are :) Best regards from u know where I am from.

well, my insurance is 970 quid on a new mazda mx-5 roadster

so i dont give a fúck what ye pay in ireland anymore :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Flash git.

/that gesture where you bury one fist in the inner elbow of the other arm, whilst moving other arm upwards in a motion akin to lifting a dumbell. Repeatedly.

Choice of driving at risk factor? If you choose to drive at high risk, then you increase everyone else's risk on the roads, because you're driving like a lunatic, yes? Then everyone's premium goes up. That is just mad thinking

I agree that my logic is just mad thinking, the same way it is stupid that I should pay alot more than for example a driver that’s say 10 years older than me. My thinking is only to highlight the stupid way that the premiums are calculated. In some cases experience does make a person a better driver, but I think in most cases a person is either going to be a good driver or not, regardless of their age. And yes, I do increase everyone else's risk on the road if i choose to drive like a lunatic, however, I'm only paying third party fire and theft, so it is actually in the event of me causing damage or injury to those other people that I am paying such a high premium for.

The thing about the insurance industry in Ireland is there is no logic, there are numerous examples I could use to support this. I'll give a few.

This girl I know, she's the same age as me, she drives a vehicle, I won’t say what it is. It's 1.6 anyway. She's crashed twice, she's claimed twice and her premium has gone up to 1400. Where’s the logic there?

This other fella, he's paying 4 grand or something on a little chiquento or whatever the **** they’re called, he's been driving 3 years with no accidents or claims.

This other guy I know, he's driving a Nissan Skyline, 2.8 litre or something, he's paying under a grand, he'd be knocking the tone 30 up and down the road out of it.
    Logic?

The whole thing is a complete bollocks the way it is now, how else could so many other people relate to my mad thinking?

the value of your car has very little to do with the premiums, its all to do with the risk factor and the cost of high personal insurance pay outs. simple as that.
    if your car gets stolen, they pay out about 10 grand for your average car.
    if you get hit and lose a leg, they pay out 100 grand minimum.
    if you are a bigger risk, you pay more.
    boys drive faster and are more dangerous.
    its official.
    women drive better than men, that is also official.
    men are made pay more, because they cost more.
    simple

however, the insurance companies are still raking it in :)

well, my insurance is 970 quid on a new mazda mx-5 roadster

sterling?

yes sterling. wish it was euros :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

The 2 ways of scaming that I know are
    1. To get your mother/auntie to go as the main insurer and you go as the named driver. My girlfriend was quoted 1500 on a 1989 fiesta. Using this scam it costs 450 and she has full use of the car. You need to get the car ownership changed to the main insurer though.
    2. Get an address from outside greater Dublin and pretend you live there.

Both of these are tried and tested.

I like the one about the advanced driving test.

Originally posted by thegills
    The 2 ways of scaming that I know are
    1. To get your mother/auntie to go as the main insurer and you go as the named driver. My girlfriend was quoted 1500 on a 1989 fiesta. Using this scam it costs 450 and she has full use of the car. You need to get the car ownership changed to the main insurer though.
    2. Get an address from outside greater Dublin and pretend you live there.

Both of these are tried and tested.

I like the one about the advanced driving test.

again yo ucan do it, but if your car is stolen from outside your house in dublin and they ask you where you live and you say here, then your insurance will be null and void.
    its illegal, but again, i did it when i lived in meath for 3 years and had it registered undfer my mothers name in dublin.
    come to think of it, i ploughed one of my cars into a ditch out there. but thats another story...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Niallmac

I am 27 with full licence and no claims. I think that is roughly the same age as WWM according to a different thread I read earlier. My insurance on a 1.4l Focus is IR£1600p.a. compared to his at GBP970 on a 1.8L sports car ( even if it is a hairdressers car ). Now will someone defending the evil insurance companies please explain that to me, because as an accountant, who appreciates that co's are in business to make a profit even I think it is a bit harsh. Also please refer to the article from that Irish times that someone posted earlier and try to explain that to. There was no denial after the publication of that article, just a resounding silence.