Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slane 2002!

• 12-01-2002 4:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

Since Slane 2001 sold out twice i hope the organisers will take the anti-pop road again. So has ne1 got any idea of who might be playin? I've heard rumours of the Stones, the Who and somekind of ressurected Zeppelin!!! I reckon U2 will make another appearance most definitely, what u guys think?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

hear'say, westlife, blue, kate winslet, and sophie elles baxtor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'd love it if Nightwish played!

If people heard of them over here, I'm sure they'd be absolutely fecking HUGE.

They played last years Wacken Open Air Festiva, but I didn't get to go. :/

THIS YEAR! Hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

"I'd love it if Nightwish played! " - somehow I don't think they'd sell the tickets

• Registered Users Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

oasis

Originally posted by Monkey
    "I'd love it if Nightwish played! " - somehow I don't think they'd sell the tickets

Like I said... If people over hear heard of them, they'd sell the place as quick as U2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭MarcusGarvey

It only took U2 20 odd years to build to this kind of following.

People would hear of Nightwish if they were that good, a good record company would almost certainly snap them up due to their sheer talent and money making potential.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Xithus

Oasis dirtbags better not be anywhere near slane ! Or the other filthy rumour I heard about madonna appearing.

Originally posted by MarcusGarvey
    It only took U2 20 odd years to build to this kind of following.

People would hear of Nightwish if they were that good, a good record company would almost certainly snap them up due to their sheer talent and money making potential.

It's nothing to do with that.
    In Finland they're the biggest band there is, they outsell all the pop-groups and everything.
    If people heard them over hear, they'd be quite popular also.

Of course, I'm exaggerating a little on the "They'd sell the place as fast as U2" bit, but they'd draw a decent crowd.

As a support band might seem quite realistic tho.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I think they should have a variety of bands at Slane... cept of all this alternative, pop, indie crap.

We should have some Metal band (like Slayer or Maiden or something), Nu-metal band (Limp Buzzcock), Indie blah blah blah...

They need to cater for more than one style.

Yanno?

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

Slane = ZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

"People would hear of Nightwish if they were that good, a good record company would almost certainly snap them up due to their sheer talent and money making potential." - doesn't always work that way, I'm afraid

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Originally posted by Xithus
    Oasis dirtbags better not be anywhere near slane !
    Careful now.

Saw them at landsdowne rd. in 2000. Great stuff.
    Would love to see them headline slane.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I think they should have a variety of bands at Slane... cept of all this alternative, pop, indie crap.

We should have some Metal band (like Slayer or Maiden or something), Nu-metal band (Limp Buzzcock), Indie blah blah blah...

They need to cater for more than one style.

Yanno?

Not a bad line of porNapster, if a little impractical though.

The real problem is "who headlines" ??? If its a metal band, you lose the indie/other people. If its an alternative/indie/etc band, you lose the metal heads, etc.

Plus you'd have (some) metal people whinging about the crapness and gayness of this band playing, or that band. Then you'd have (in my experience FAR more non-metal) people whinging about "oh .. turn that f*ckin' noise shoite off" etc etc etc.

Then you'd have fights between skangers and "smelly rockers" ,etc. Slane has always been a closer to a pop festival than a rock festival like glastenbury, donnington, etc. I don't see that changing. Could you see the likes of Slayer or Maiden standing up next to say, Oasis on a bill??

I could also see a f*cking pr*t like Liam Gallagher saying something blatantly insulting and start a riot of some sort. FFS ... Axl Rose managed that when GnR and metallica played a gig together (that gig were James got burned badly on his arms by pyrotechnics)

All that said and done, it would be pretty cool to see a variety of music types side by side :) Now .. if we could only get rid of the stupid people on both sides ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Lemming, Slane was not always a pop festival. Remember past headliners include The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen. The only pure 'pop' headliner theres been has been Robbie (and jaysus, he was much better than i expected, mind you i only saw it on TV).

Also, realistically Slane is not really a festival. People mostly buy tickets on the strength of the headline act. As such having a mix of bands of hugely differing genres isnt really financially viable. We need feile or fleadh mor to be resurrected to provide a range of bands. Its a crying shame that these festivals were allowed to die.

Personally i doubt well see another 2 night slane show. Lets face it, there isnt another band in the world that can sell slane out on that scale (even if angelwhore claims DeathByBlackMascara or someone can:) )

Originally posted by Dustaz
    Lemming, Slane was not always a pop festival. Remember past headliners include The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen. The only pure 'pop' headliner theres been has been Robbie (and jaysus, he was much better than i expected, mind you i only saw it on TV).

Not to forget the legendary Thin Lizzy :)

Even with those names to Slane's credit, its still regarded as being more towards a pop festival. I'm not saying it IS a pop festival, just that the general impression is of such, rather than say "donington" or whatever. If you follow my argument?? :-/

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

correct me if i'm wrong but the days of festivals are nowhere near over in ireland. look at witnness. a diverse array of bands over 2 days on five stages. nothing wrong with that.

It'd be pretty sweet if the who headlined slane.....but it's never going to happen.

I'd go to see oasis at slane. it's not the worst of ideas by a long shot. good live act. a lot of fun. good music.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Lemming

Not to forget the legendary Thin Lizzy :)

Even with those names to Slane's credit, its still regarded as being more towards a pop festival. I'm not saying it IS a pop festival, just that the general impression is of such, rather than say "donington" or whatever. If you follow my argument?? :-/

sorry, but in terms of general convention i think youll find pop = kylie, steps, s club 7. Donnington would be classed as Heavy Rock/Heavy Metal. Slane is a Rock gig always has been always will (ok, apart from Robbie.)

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

Slane is definatly a rock gig! and thats really the way it should stay! Last year it was class not just cos U2 played but RHCP were brilliant and Coldplay were really good!

As for festivals not being in anymore - what bout Creamfields and Witness! They attract loads of people!

And also curse you people who say that Oasis should play at Slane! A bunch of drunk junkies who are well passed their sell by date! They should get Live to support anyway! and maybe Linkin Park! but then you want someone really big! Gn'R or the who!

do you mean guns and roses minus everyone but axel?

Originally posted by the celtic tiger
    do you mean guns and roses minus everyone but axel?

Yup .. at that "come-back" gig in Las Vegas, he threatened to walk off stage if he saw any of the original band members in the audience, so they had to bar Slash from entering the venue when he tried!

what an a hole

Yup ... t'was in the paper about a month(ish) ago.

Himself and Slash always had a love-hate relationship though anyway, although I am a little surprised at a blanket ban on the other members. How did GNR split anyway ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Ah I remember Slane oh so many years ago, got to watch Faith No More and G'n'R play......and went drinking when My Little Funhouse played - what bloody rubbish they were

Point being - FNM where much better then GNR, simply because Mike Patton worked the crowd better the Axel.

What has this to do with the thread - nothing really, just thinking back to being a smelly teenager, drinking vodka and cider (until I discovered the miracle of JD)

Originally posted by Ph3n0m
    Ah I remember Slane oh so many years ago, got to watch Faith No More and G'n'R play......and went drinking when My Little Funhouse played - what bloody rubbish they were

Point being - FNM where much better then GNR, simply because Mike Patton worked the crowd better the Axel.

What has this to do with the thread - nothing really, just thinking back to being a smelly teenager, drinking vodka and cider (until I discovered the miracle of JD)

Did FNM play 1992 supporting GnR ??? Sh*t! Didn't know that. I envy you for that :p Jammy bastid!! :D How long were they on for? (FNM)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

ah indeed they did support Gnr

Ok setup for Slane was this

My Little Funhouse
    FNM
    GNR

simply said, FNM were much better and enthusiastic, they played (this is trying to remember) between 45 and 1hr 15 mins (i cant remember that well)

But as I said before Mike Patton was great, he climbed into a sound case, and kept singing. He also claimed he was hungry and everyone and their uncle thre food onstage. He picked up so choclate and said the immortal words

"Its a candy bar.....its called Chomp"

and for some reason we all went nuts!!!!!!

Originally posted by Ph3n0m
    "Its a candy bar.....its called Chomp"

Class!! :D I've found my new signature ;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Lemming
    Not a bad line of porNapster, if a little impractical though.

The real problem is "who headlines" ??? If its a metal band, you lose the indie/other people. If its an alternative/indie/etc band, you lose the metal heads, etc.

Plus you'd have (some) metal people whinging about the crapness and gayness of this band playing, or that band. Then you'd have (in my experience FAR more non-metal) people whinging about "oh .. turn that f*ckin' noise shoite off" etc etc etc.

Then you'd have fights between skangers and "smelly rockers" ,etc. Slane has always been a closer to a pop festival than a rock festival like glastenbury, donnington, etc. I don't see that changing. Could you see the likes of Slayer or Maiden standing up next to say, Oasis on a bill??

I could also see a f*cking pr*t like Liam Gallagher saying something blatantly insulting and start a riot of some sort. FFS ... Axl Rose managed that when GnR and metallica played a gig together (that gig were James got burned badly on his arms by pyrotechnics)

All that said and done, it would be pretty cool to see a variety of music types side by side :) Now .. if we could only get rid of the stupid people on both sides ;)
    heh... I know its very unrealistic but its worth thinking about.

Get Cannibal Corpse on the bill and they'll eat all those fookers alive! ... Literally!