Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yo!

• 17-01-2002 12:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭

Did MTV cut Yo! or what's the story, because the text page is gone (113) and it's not in any television guides. It was on Sundays and Wednesdays now it's not on at all. They cut The Lyricists Lounge Show too and that was one of their best programs in my opinion. MTV is such a crap channel, they need to cop on to themselves and start showing good stuff rather than the likes of westlife and britney spears and the like. If they do ever decide to show anything decent it's always on real late too. The bottom line is mtv sux and we can do nothing about it. Most of the other mtv channels on digital suck too. Anyway I kinda went off the point there.
    Is yo gone for good is what I'm asking?

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

who gives a ****

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Why don't you check a TV guide!? I'm not bein smart but that'd make sense to me....
    I haven't heard/seen it at all in a long time so imagine it is gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

I last saw it a few weeks ago.Cop the f.uck on MTV.This is a rap music show on at midnight and those pricks play the edited videos!They dont have a clue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

Its still on MTV Base, but rap vids and MTV dont mix, of all music stations kerrang will be least agressive with censorship.

Ive only very rarely seen unedited rap on MTV.MTV Base and MTV2 show the unedited version of Afromans Crazy Rap late at night.Very good track.

Both Viva's even the new Viva Plus junk, will show that stupid song unedited (completely) @ anytime day or night.

Basically Germans edit based on descrimination on any particular group, terribly PC, but "eat your pussy" is ok at 10am, while eating my crunchy nut corn flakes.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by NeRb666
    who gives a ****
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

Originally posted by NeRb666
    who gives a ****

just because MTV stopped showing Headbanger's Ball too doesnt mean you can spout crap whenever someone mentions rap/hip hop on boards. :rolleyes:

adnans

Correct me if I'm wrong adans... but I started a topic about the headbangers ball and got nothing but those sort of comments. So don't give us any of that crap that we slag off someone elses music too much. We give what we get.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

im sorry then, i didnt know that the 'abuse system' worked both ways. i thought both YO! and Headbanger's Ball were quite good programs until they stoppped showing them.

but ive never seen that headbanger's ball thread before so how could i know how the 'abuse system' on the music/radio board worked. work away then :)

adnans

• Registered Users Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

I already said i had checked the television guides. I kinda wondered why I even started that thread considering nearly everyone here is into metal and rock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Makaveli
    I already said i had checked the television guides. I kinda wondered why I even started that thread considering nearly everyone here is into metal and rock.

Man, don't take things so literal.

You'll get some answers, just wait until the more knowledgable arive in the thread.
    And take no notice of Pornapster.

As for YOU pornapster...
    HERE!

pantera2.jpg

Now don't be starting fights!

Just scrolled foward a week and its not on, but you can always look @ TRL and Milli Vanill : Behind the Music.

+++++++++++++
    I'm still tipsy from last night
    Bumping in walls as I pause, addicted to the fast life

It's not that I was taking offence or anything it just was in fairness a bit of an out of place thread to post. As far as I can see there is very few ppl that post on this forum that actually do like hip hop.
    And as for TRL and Milli Vanilli, well I think I would watch Milli Vanilli before Carson "Fat Boy" Daly

The hip-hop fans greatly outnumber the metalheads.

It's just that certian metalheads can be a little... Imposing.

more hip hop heads? really, even from looking through the cd lists it seems to me metal is #1 here. Ah well you're into what you're into right

Heh Mak i really love PAC's music, but most of the hip hop/rap music around is simply artists cloning each other, rapping about the **bling bling or in Ja Rules case, he just tries to be like PAC.

Outside of that, Snoop and Eminem, but only when Snoop is in collaboration, then hes cool.

But i also like rock, like Mazza Manson and Deftones and i admit it, i love alsou, she unfortunatley has disappeared from tv....boo hoo...

WWMan can keep Ayna

If your looking for a great hip hop site, then try www.hitemup.com

Best i have seen.

Originally posted by Makaveli
    more hip hop heads? really, even from looking through the cd lists it seems to me metal is #1 here. Ah well you're into what you're into right

No, it's just that metalheads are more likely to have a list done out. So it only seems that there's more.

And a question.
    What does your signiature mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭alb

I like hip hop and metal for the record, and YO! used to be the only show i watched on MTV back in the day. Now however its gone downhill so much like most rap music, so its no real loss if it is gone. They should show repeats from 1995 :) G-funk!

My quote comes from Dj Shadow - Brainfreeze track 1
    It's some guy going on about Thunder Kick, I just think it's funny so I used it as my quote.
    As for rap yeah the bling blingness of it has wrecked it. I place this blame mainly on the likes of Cash Money Millionares, they even named a song bling bling. Also No Limit and Hypnotize Mindz go on about bling a lot. I actually thought Yo was gettin better again, they were showing older songs like Eric B. and Rakim and some others.
    One reason though that rap has gotten worse is beacause of MTV, it's become more "friendly" so MTV will show the videos, long gone are the days of the likes of How Do You Want It? or Hit Em Up by Pac

MTV Base occasionaly plays both of those, but heavily heavily edited.

I can just imagine hit em up edited it must be lik 30 seconds long.
    Everytime i see base they are showing the making of the little rascals video and then some so solid crew and blu cantrell (?) quite annoying

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

Originally posted by adnans

just because MTV stopped showing Headbanger's Ball too doesnt mean you can spout crap whenever someone mentions rap/hip hop on boards. :rolleyes:

adnans

actually it does so **** **** ****

Originally posted by chernobyl
    Heh Mak i really love PAC's music, but most of the hip hop/rap music around is simply artists cloning each other, rapping about the **bling bling or in Ja Rules case, he just tries to be like PAC.

How can he think hes like 2pac?Ja Rule is womans rap-its essentially love songs with a f.uck and s.hit or 2.2Pac was real rap-what rap is supposed to be i.e drugs,bitches,humour,violence etc.Ja Rule is just pussy rap.

Look at what rule wares in his videos and how he gestures, what he referred himself as "thug nigga" and even ripped lines from pac songs and dis raps, for his own songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Monkey

"As far as I can see there is very few ppl that post on this forum that actually do like hip hop."

i like hip-hop and any type of music that is done well

Ja was maybe a little like Pac on Venni Vetti Vecci when he actually was a real thug, then he kinda took a pop rap route, he still has mad skills but his credability isnt what it used to be. The best track of his imo is Story To Tell, that was Ja at his best. It's a shame to see a rapper with skills like his doing songs like I'm Real with J-Lo or whatever she calls herself.

Originally posted by AngelWhore

As for YOU pornapster...
    HERE!
    pantera2.jpg

Now don't be starting fights!
    What I said was the truth. I wasn't trying to start a fight. I was just proving him wrong.

Actually you didnt prove anybody wrong, you just agreed with nerb

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

What I said was the truth. I wasn't trying to start a fight. I was just proving him wrong.

Man, mellow out... Get some ****ing beer into you!

All you did was piss a few people off in the thread... Which isn't very nice, you know?