Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seeing the bigger picture (Wide screen)

• 26-01-2002 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭

Um i'm thinking of buying a widescreen TV, ne1 have any advice/recommendations? I was looking a prices on www.powercity.ie and they seem vary greatly even tho they seem to have the same features. Any/All advice apppreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

err well as painful as it may be to admit... I got my widescreen tv in argos... (nope, not that painful). Its a 28" model... ferguson I think. I got it for round about £370 if I remember correctly.

Sure it may not have all the gizmo's that a sony widescreen might have like a perfectly flat screen or digital this and that but it has 2 scart sockets which were handy for the ould sky digital. It does the job and was a nice price to boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭satchmo

Yeah I got an Orion 28" widescreen in Power City (for £370 as far as I can remember - they're even cheaper now), and I reckon it's one of the best buys I ever made. There's nothing like hooking it up to the stereo and watching a widescreen DVD on it. If you have the cash I'd certainly recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Just make sure it has the few needed ports - scart and all that (you'll regret it sometime later is it doesn't)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Mr .Bungle

Yeah Jazz i've been lookin at the orion one, whats it like? is the picture/sound quality good etc. yeah its now 417 Euro, i dunno what that is in pounds but its not 370 anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

i'd be more inclined to take the 28" mitsubishi widescreen that they have:

MITSUBISHI 28" WIDE SCREEN NICAM STEREO TV
    - Super Flat 66cm Screen
    - Fastext 10 Page Memory
    - 16:9 Cinema Style
    - Auto Wide Screen
    - Zoom Mode
    -AV Phono Inputs and Outputs
    -Twin Scart

€479

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭harVee

Recently got the same Orion model as Jazz. Great value, but it really shows up how bad the cable service is we get (chorus).

Yeah but Kali is the mitsubishi worth paying to xtra 70 euro when afaik it has most of the same features

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Odian

Kali i got that mitsubishi,nice tv,sharp pic off it,got the dvd player with it,had to be replaced TWICE! the sound and pic where off sync by a fraction of a second,really annoying,

Out of curisity any one know why?

good tv though

Odian

Hmm ne1 know what The Beko 28" is like? its fairly cheap and it seems to have fairly decent features

http://www.beko.co.uk/html/category/televisions/60_76_wide_screen.htm

I'd like to talk to some1 who has i tho to make sure pic/sound quality are good

Originally posted by Odian
    Kali i got that mitsubishi,nice tv,sharp pic off it,got the dvd player with it,had to be replaced TWICE! the sound and pic where off sync by a fraction of a second,really annoying,

Out of curisity any one know why?

aye the tv is very sharp, my sister has one... someone asked why pay €70 more.. a much better quality picture, better sound, flatter screen, plus it'll look better sitting in the corner than some cheap roundy thing :)

sound syncing problem is just down to the dvd players decoding of the audio, right decision to replace it, although sometimes it can be down to very cheap cables im told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭satchmo

I'm very happy with both picture & sound quality, although Channel 4 and Discovery are both a little snowy and they weren't on my last TV. I think this has more to do with my connection than the TV though - my brothers TV is the same (different model), and he's sharing a my connection. The menus are very good, different sound settings (Movie/Theatre/Speech), it's easy to switch between aspect ratios, easy to tune (you can auto-tune it and then just swap the numbers around to your preference), and the remote is good. I'd never heard of Orion when I bought it so I was a bit wary, but it seems solid and nothing's gone wrong yet - I've had it about half a year I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

FX65s.GIF
    SONY 32"
    WEGA WIDE SCREEN
    100HZ NICAM STEREO TV
    - FD Trinitron WEGA Flat Screen
    - Advanced 100Hz Digital Plus
    - Digital noise Reduction
    - Full Auto Set-in and Labelling
    - Fastest & 3 Scart Sockets
    model fx65S
    CURRENTLY OUT OF STOCK
    We got one of those a while back, it is truly the god of all televisions :)

nah the 50" grand wega is the daddy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Why not just get a tv watch and tune to TG4??
    has everything. Seckseh presenters, french porn after 9, good music programs, class sports and Amú San Áise. What more could you want?

Ye with yore fancy shmancy wide screen tee vees....sure the people look all squashed an stretched. Why would ye want one?
    DVDs? What the christ are they?

/me has a Panasonic 28" Quintrix type yoke. Savage. Has thigns for compenstaing for our shíte reception, removes a pile of snow off it, sharpens the picture (or smooths it, depending on the source picture and your prefernece).
    Plus we're renting it. Got it upgraded from a slightly older model a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I got a phillips 28" widescreen and the only regret i have is i was too late for a 32" 100hz digital scan model in power city! It was a reconditioned model or ex display or something for £699 over a year ago, i could not leave a deposit so i lost out and when i cam back it was gone so i settled for a standard 28" model, its the black one not like the cheaper grey/silver model now shipped and i paid £599 for it over a year, maybe 2 years ago.. not sure anyway i dont regret buying it at all (only that i missed out on the bigger one! sob..)
    Its fantastic and i cant stand normal TV's now (4:3 sucks!) Sky digital rocks on it and DVD's are amazing! If you can afford it the 100hz digital scans are better, i did not need one and did not have the money back then.. But if you want the best.. as above a sony WEGA is about the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

Originally posted by SyxPak
    Ye with yore fancy shmancy wide screen tee vees....sure the people look all squashed an stretched. Why would ye want one?
    DVDs? What the christ are they?
    One thing that used to annoy me slightly was pubs buying huge widescreen TVs and then showing normal TV programmes on them in the wrong aspect ratio. I don't know many people with these TVs but I wonder is that the case in ordinary homes as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I just leave it on 'Just' while wathing tv. Don't notice any strething (cept Kate Moss doesn't look thataneamic anymore) now. When there'a film on I change the aspect to 'panasonic Auto' Handy enough, cos it'll feck about with the picture quickly till the aspect is as close to perfect as possible. Also recognises when there's a film being shown in 'WIDE' format. They're the best :)
    Haven't had a chance to paly DVDs on it, as 1) no DVD player 2) no DVD drive on PC (anymore :() and 3) no TV-out formy gfx card.
    Sound is good on it though, have it hooked up vai full pin scart to the VCR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

OK look, the one i got has a load of viewing formats as all philips do. Normal 4:3 aspect as most tv shows are can be viewed as 4:3 if you want.. i dont.. a widescreen TV is 16:9 which is only useful for a widescreen show otherwise yes things are stretched or look crap.. On my one i always use superzoom which fills the whole screen and keeps the aspect ratio almost normal except you loose an inch on the top or bottom as its zoomed in a little, you are not missing anything at all and in fact its a lot easier on the eyes like that!! A normal tv annoys me now.. i dont like watching stuff on them.. Its like in the cinema, i go to ster century and the ads are shown on a big screen i think in 16:9 or 4:3 or somewhere in between but then the movie comes on, the screen narrows and you get true widescreen i think 2:3:1 and its so much easier on the eyes!