Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NTL broadband - is it what we want it to be

Options
  • 13-02-2002 8:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭

in a perfect world we would have 24-7 low cost internet access trough a neumber of different broadband networks but...this isnt a perfect world , anyway, this is the real world and i just signed up for this ntl cable thingy for tallaght.....

what are the chance of this ntl network of being a cheap faulty network or is that even possible with cable (im a newbie to cable)
    :confused: i just feel that NTL have let me down from the start and i dont think they can just produce the perfect solution..

thanks for the help,
    niall

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭c0y0te

I can't speak for NTL... but I was on a cable-modem, broadband connection trial for almost two years with cablenet (before Chorus took them over and killed the program).

The connection was stable for the most part. There were some teething problems (as expected on a trial).. but overall it was fine. Given the trialling scenario the bandwidth to the net was not great. As far as I remember it was a 512K pipe to the internet, shared between about 30 cable modemers using a 128K connection individually.

Even with that crappy ratio and pipe, I was able to depend on consistant d/l rates and access. I'm back on dial up now (since Chorus got involved)... and waiting like everyone else for SOME solution.