Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the drop down menu's

• 27-02-2002 10:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭

the links accross the top are so long now, i have a nasty lef-right scrool thingy here in college. can anything be done, to make them optional or less?? (for want of a etter word)

edit: using 800x600 btw.
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Names shortened, should be okay now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

just a thought
    you could go the way of the tld's/usenet codes
    .rec
    .net
    .tech
    .soc
    .edu
    and so on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Ooh, I like that! Clever.

adam

• Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

cheers cloud.

great idea there MiCr0!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Originally posted by smak
    cheers cloud.

great idea there MiCr0!!
    Why should the 90-95% of the users have to suffer from MiCrO's idea's for the other 5% who only have to put up with it for a few hours?

[edit]
    (MiCr0): it had nothing to do with the width
    Thought you wanted to rename them to shorten them, if it isnt so, apologies.[/edit]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Figment

couldnt you let the links wrap with the screen size?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

Ack! The new drop down menus are awful! Thankfully, they aren't present in Clouds theme..so I've just reverted back to the blackyness. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

Originally posted by Kyro
    so I've just reverted back to the blackyness. :)

once you go black you never go back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Maybe if they were centred again.

(The new menu's aren't asthetically great)

Not as bad on the cloud boards theme tho.

Strange - both themes have identical menus :p (except for the colours). Centered again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Lucifer

menus dont seem to be working in opera

Grrr :/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

2 suggestions on the drop down menus

1. can we have a link to the clans/other provate boards for us chosen few in such eleite priv boards :o

2. make the heading s of the drop down menu's clickable like "Society" brings u here ?

1. Possibly
    2. I think that should already work, did you check?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

I cant right click and open in new window on these new ones, annoying :/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Yes there are no drop down menus in opera and im all scared and frightened :(

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Just to confirm no drop down menus in Opera.

Doesn't phase me much as I hated them anyway :)

Gandalf.

Well this isn't the end, I certainly amn't happy with the time lag - BTW the menus are coming from:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/index.html

I'll try Top Nav menu 3 or 4 tomorrow (using number 2 at the moment).

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Are you able to put them back to default until then? :D
    really annoying when they're not there.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

please, please, please

kill the drop down menus.

I'm on a mac (ie 5.1) and they are d e a d l y s l o w.

seriously. they make the site more or less unusable for me (like taking up to a minute to reappear after a page change, meanwhile blocking all interactivity).

ta.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,404 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Can the box height for the drop down menu's be made slightly larger? Standard mouse pointer is about twice the current height.

thanks Daddy Cloud :):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

Noooo! You fiends. They're on Clouds theme now...and they still suck.

What was wrong with the old ones? No one had any problems until now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

please get rid of the new menus or have them optional, they cause my browser to stutter all the time.
    it really is annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Strange - both themes have identical menus (except for the colours).

The colour scheme on the Cloud boards theme means that they fit in a lot better.

Centring them is a big improvement.

And as for a height change, I'd say its best to keep them the same size and as unobtrusive as possible.

Oh, thank the lord ye went back to the original dropdowns. The new ones were icky!

adam

Hehe!

Working on new ones, god you people hate change :P But I must admit, they weren't great...

The (new) new ones would probably be grand if you removed the transparency. Also, the Bugs / Suggestion option is wrapping.

Like the shade btw.

EDIT: Yikes! When I posted that, I flipped into Cloud's design. I'm frightened mommy!

adam

Yeah I've forced the design on Bugs so I don't have to switch styles to see how it looks in both styles.

This is supposed to work in all browsers so can we have some feedback?
    Microsoft Internet Explorer 4+
    Netscape Navigator 4.x
    Netscape Navigator 6.x
    Mozilla 0.9.x
    Opera 5 & 6

As well as Unix Systems running X and Apple Mac systems running IE 4.5+ & Netscape & Opera

Oh well I guess we're all happy so!