Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RA and TA?

• 27-02-2002 7:12pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭

What do ye think?
    Should i try anyways.
    Im applying to be an RA for Session 1 anyways. And they know my other half'll be at Session 2. Should i try and apply anyways?

CompApp TA or nothing.
    Any TA's/ex TA's on this forum?
    if so let me know what you thought of it.

This damn site just crashed 3/4 Internet Explorer Windows. Nrgh...
    And bloody redbrick's not having a good day.
    No telnet access at the moment. Nrgh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭qwidgybo

gO For iT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭sisob

Originally posted by halenger

This damn site just crashed 3/4 Internet Explorer Windows.

sites don't crash IE - bad coding does - use mozilla :cool:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

sites do crash internet explorer.

try http://www.mud.com
    actually DONT!!! it'll crash your entire computer.
    Try it if you want...

well I was implying that the bad coding casues sites to crash it :-)

and it wont crash MY entire computer :D I dont use M$ windows

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Mark, stop showing off justbecause the worst case scenarion for you is the death of X.

You and your ability to get online with Linux. damn you.

Podge, go for it! Do you think they like you there though?

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭Ferror

Try it if you want...

Ha Ha Ha, I think it's time you scoured out your hdd.
    That site loaded fine on my machine and i'm using M$ XP pro for christ's sake!!!

Lol, it works for me and i'm using MSwindows 98, First Edition.

But of course, you have to use NT.

Buha

Originally posted by foobar
    Mark, stop showing off justbecause the worst case scenarion for you is the death of X.

I turn my computer on at 9 am every day and turn it off at 11 pm and I have about 10 crashes a year :cool:

NOTE: took kill a really foobared X : ALT+SysRq+K - tatoo it to your eyelids - really useful

You and your ability to get online with Linux. damn you.

I'm gonna have to find some cheep linux compatible modems and get a pile of them - I'd give them away free if it'd help people get rid of the Beast (M$)

Is that in the worst case scenarion whereby both your ctrl and your backspace key have *somehow* disappeared into an alternate universe?:D

I will take one of those modems, and possibly a sound card that'll work with linux if you will my good man. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Mark, do you think you could cut your sig down a bit? Its rather large.

A

Originally posted by foobar
    Is that in the worst case scenarion whereby both your ctrl and your backspace key have *somehow* disappeared into an alternate universe?:D

I will take one of those modems, and possibly a sound card that'll work with linux if you will my good man. :)

well if you'r as creative as I am you can cripple X beyond the rescue of CTRLALTBACKSPACE.

What's the sound card - i've yet to find one that I cant get working with come fiddling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

I got online with linux... but without sound it was useless to me. And i refuse to devote time to something that is not immediately gratifying (the reason i don't currently have a girlfriend and am unlikely to ever get one in the future). Oh... and the fact that i had no software for it and wine kept buggering up.

it crashed the computers in l128(compapp building).
    in actual fact it destroys the NT installation.
    you have to shut off the comp and when you restart solaris is the only thing that works...

Wait, is it by any chance the room at the left side of the compapp building?

Cus by the end of CTYI, all the pc's there were dead.

it crashed the computers in l128(compapp building).
    in actual fact it destroys the NT installation.
    you have to shut off the comp and when you restart solaris is the only thing that works...

LOL, sorry, but solaris isn't Linux - it is a whole different kettle of fish

anyone who is too lazy for linux - you should try mandrake 8.2 when it comes out in a month or so (of course i will be throwing copies at everyone) - it will be much improved.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

What do ye think?
    Should i try anyways.
    Im applying to be an RA for Session 1 anyways. And they know my other half'll be at Session 2. Should i try and apply anyways?

CompApp TA or nothing.
    Any TA's/ex TA's on this forum?
    if so let me know what you thought of it.

This damn site just crashed 3/4 Internet Explorer Windows. Nrgh...
    And bloody redbrick's not having a good day.
    No telnet access at the moment. Nrgh...

Podge???? PODGE!!1, i remember u!!.

P.S. IE<-N00b13 br0w53r, us3 t3h 1337 0p3r4 6.01

who are you??

i know there's a difference between solaris and linux.
    and don't touch mandrake with a million foot barge poll.
    it's a load of crap...
    redhat is probably the best for a beginner...
    mandrake trys to hide stuff from you so it's no good as a learning system.

i know there's a difference between solaris and linux.
    and don't touch mandrake with a million foot barge poll.
    it's a load of crap...
    redhat is probably the best for a beginner...
    mandrake trys to hide stuff from you so it's no good as a learning system.

You appear to be confusing Mandrake with windows my good man.

[a crowd gathers sensing impending violence, The more knowledegable
    of them whisper "he shouldn't have insulted Mandrake", and the
    opportunists start placing bets(on Mark, the obvious champion)]

I have never found a good use for redaht. There is nothing you can do with redhat that you cant do with mandrake.

Mandrake does not hide anything from the user - all it does is provide
    a GUI to the common tasks that people want to achieve with their computer.
    For those who get off on the idea of being a Unix guru of old, Mandrake is
    seen as a 'newbie' distro. I am no newbie - I am an acomplished Linux king ;-)
    and Mandrake is my distro of choice. Why waste time manually creating a software
    raid array(thats what I'm gonna do when I finnish this) - when I can do it in
    a 10th of the time with mandrake and then go back to doing useful things - like

writing articles for Linux.ie

If you want to do things yourself then use debian or slackware. But if you are going to
    teach someone Linux give them a chance and use Mandrake

GOOOOOOOOOOOO MANDRAKE

ps. Yes I am a bit crazy

pps. what distro do you use then? or are you an windowze man?

im sorry but you are quite mistaken
    you cannot even telnet 0 on a mandrake system.
    read this:
    Dan fair play on getting Redhat 7.0 working. Its a good machine to start out learning on. When you have gathered up more experience, I suggest you install slackware, as you will learn alot more. I started using redhat 6.0 in 1999, then went on to slackware 7.0 in 2000. I now have 8.0 and its the best distribution in my opinion. If you want to learn something, then you should install slackware at some stage.

Just to clear up a myth, Linux is Linux, be it redhat Linux or Slackware Linux. There are many different distributions, but you cant really have an argument over which one is best. For beginners, I suggest Mandrake or Redhat or Suse, and for the intermediate user, Id reccomend slackware, and for the advanced user, go for debian.

Visit Linux.com for info on all the different distributions you can get.

==================================
    i have experience with many many linux distros.
    i do admit though it's possible they have finally copped on. i haven't installed the latest version of Mandrake.
    M'kay?
    id possibly install it to try it but it's unlikely id keep it as i much prefer debian even tho i have to use RedHat(it's made a massive amount of improvements since the crappy 5.2 version) on my laptop as RedHat has the best support of Dell Laptops.

Sorry one more bit(i didn't write this btw):

Mandrake was the most multimedia oreinted linux I ever used. I installed it briefly about 6 months ago from the burks CD, and it setup everything for me. You would think its a nice system and good for learning from, but its unsuitable for running a webserver, its unsecure and its prone to crashes. It also tries to hide the slightly more advanced stuff from the user and makes things all fluffy-wuffy simple and automatic. If you rely on this too much, you will never learn.

You have to get your hands dirty and start using the console more, for setting up things like networking and sound.

Sorry, best beginner linux is: Duh duh duh du-uh....

spending three months working with caldera linux on a pc that can't even run X.

Believe me, you actually get accustomed to it quite quickly.

That was how i learnt linux.

it wasnt all that hard. I wasnt mentally scared for all that long.

Podge, mandrake is actually quite easy and simple to use/configure once you have the time to screw around with it, and are orientated that way.

The whole idea od distributions is that each one is for a different target audience. There is no point argueing about which one is best.

I just have a nasty habit of biting ppls head off when they say things like
    "and don't touch mandrake with a million foot barge poll. it's a load of crap..."

It's like me saying that Redhat is crap because 7.0 wouldnt compile anything.

ok ok ok.
    Redhat 7 complies for me by the way.

Personally Mandrake is too easy.
    i said personally. I have been using linux and unix for quite a number of years now anyways.

anyways yes. To each his own.

indeed indeed

if you try out mdk8.2 you will see that it is a lot more than just redhat with a few frills - it is getting very close to being an all encompasing os.

neither would be my choice linux.
    im very fond of Debian. extremely powerful system.
    anyways. i might try it in VMWare sometime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Man U babe

Do I have any hope of passing computer science as a first year subject in college if I cant understand half of what you guys just said? Tell me now!

well you dont need to be a nerd to pass computer science but it helps

Well if Comp Science in UCD is anything like Compapp which it is just not as good :-p. you'll be grand not understanding that stuff...
    Operating Systems is an optional module in 2nd/3rd year for me.
    Once you goto lectures and labs you should be grand. some tutorials may be good too.
    i don't go to them though. they're a waste of my time.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭imp

Certainly from the *descriptions* I've read of CompApps and CompScience I would go for Computer Science in UCD, as it offers more to do with hardware and operating systems as well as the material from CompApps (although its obv. done in slightly less detail)... but its only descriptions...

}:>

CompApp is the best computers course in the country...
    CompScience, i believe, in UCD comes second.