Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When would be the best time to ask someone to the debs??

• 13-03-2002 11:53pm
    Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok... this one is quite important for me. And timing is very decisive aswell... any suggestions on when would be a suitable time to ask a popular (to say the least) chic to the debs? Any advice on how to go about it would be very welcome too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Um, I'd say sometime around Easter maybe or after, dunno really, doesn't make much difference. If it's someone you know pretty well just, um, ask her. Something like "Got anyone to go to the Debs with yet?", "No", "Want to go with me?" would suffice....

I didn't think it was that big a deal? Maybe it's just my school that's different....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Odian

havent got to deal with this til next year,but id just stroll up to her,dont show ure tense(even if ure sh!tting ureself),and ask her,in a non serious way,dont make a big joke out of it either.

I wouldnt ask her round or near a big grup of people,after skool or something

U cud always just txt her?

If ya dont get her,dont worry bout it too much,plenty more out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

I got an escort.
    /i hated every prick in my school, and i just wasnt pretty enough to get the girl i wanted so i got the woman everyone wanted.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Mills
    Um, I'd say sometime around Easter maybe or after, dunno really, doesn't make much difference. If it's someone you know pretty well just, um, ask her. Something like "Got anyone to go to the Debs with yet?", "No", "Want to go with me?" would suffice....

I didn't think it was that big a deal? Maybe it's just my school that's different....

No offence (not that you'll care? maybe?) but alot of the girls in monaghan are sluts... This is from my experience of going to the crappy old Oasis.

This one ain't really the same, apart from the fact that theres quite a large cue if ya know what I mean. I know I probably will get to go with her. Just nervous and stuff...

Originally posted by Odian
    If ya dont get her,dont worry bout it too much,plenty more out there
    I know I know, but you need the right one to make a decent night out of it.

Originally posted by chernobyl
    I got an escort.
    /i hated every prick in my school, and i just wasnt pretty enough to get the girl i wanted so i got the woman everyone wanted.
    So if nothing works out I'll have to go to Kingscourt? Sounds easy enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

tell her "i was so nervous about asking you so i consulted and internet message board where i use the pseudomn pornapster"

gets them every time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

I asked last month and it was grand.
    Just keep cool and try not to tremble ;)

Originally posted by DeadBankClerk
    tell her "i was so nervous about asking you so i consulted and internet message board where i use the pseudomn pornapster"

gets them every time.
    hahahahaha.... no. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by PPC
    I asked last month and it was grand.
    Just keep cool and try not to tremble ;)
    Cool man thanks for the advice. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Xterminator

I'd say the best time to ask her, is beofre some one else does. (Seriously)

X

I'm thinking of asking her on Saturday night actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

Just go for it.
    If she says no you can always goto another school before you do your leaving ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

No offence (not that you'll care? maybe?) but alot of the girls in monaghan are sluts... This is from my experience of going to the crappy old Oasis.

That probably says more about the girls who go to the oasis as opposed to those from the rest of the county :rolleyes:. I don't think I even know anyone who goes to that dump.

Originally posted by Mills
    That probably says more about the girls who go to the oasis as opposed to those from the rest of the county :rolleyes:.
    I said ALOT not all!
    I don't think I even know anyone who goes to that dump.
    Thats good then so. Stay away from it if you are wise. Which I'm sure you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    What Mills said.

The Oasis is the scumhole of the country, really, not just Carrick (i should know, i live there). Most people in Carrick stop going there as soon as they get some cop on, or pass the age of 15, whichever comes first. People who go out in Carrick tend to go to the pub or to the Fiddlers these days, not the Oasis, because like i said, its a complete scumhole.

The women you meet at the oasis are not representative of Carrick women, but rather representative of that brand of women in Ireland who cant hold a coherent conversation with their fellow human beings, disco music or not.

Having said that, I dont go out in Carrick either, mostly because i dont like the people from around here, but im allowed not to like them because i live here. :)

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

By the way you describe her as"popular to say the least"and the fact you are very desperate to go out with her am I to presume that she belongs to that group of females commonly referred to as absoloute rides?If so get in their quick before the rest of your school tries.
    As for the Oasis Ive never been there but about half of my school goes.About another quarter of us hed off to the Sleepers in Bawnboy[my local] and the remainder attempt to get into the Farnham 18 plus disco.And then theres the Carraig Springs which only opens for the under 18 crowd at special times like Christmas,St Pats day,Easter,End and beginning of summer etc.Been once and it was to tell the truth a bit crap.Girls were way too young.Hats off though to the light effects theyre f.uckin amazing.Green light that flashes every second in a way that makes you convinced you took too many of those pills that you bought of that nice man from the halting site.

Originally posted by Asuka
    What Mills said.

The Oasis is the scumhole of the country, really, not just Carrick (i should know, i live there). Most people in Carrick stop going there as soon as they get some cop on, or pass the age of 15, whichever comes first. People who go out in Carrick tend to go to the pub or to the Fiddlers these days, not the Oasis, because like i said, its a complete scumhole.

The women you meet at the oasis are not representative of Carrick women, but rather representative of that brand of women in Ireland who cant hold a coherent conversation with their fellow human beings, disco music or not.

Having said that, I dont go out in Carrick either, mostly because i dont like the people from around here, but im allowed not to like them because i live here. :)

A

Yeah I know I know... hey man you don't happen to have a really long haired postman do you?! LOL. If you do... don't mail order any metal cd's. Mine went mysteriously missing when he was my post man ;) ... Less said about that the better! :p

Originally posted by The Gopher
    As for the Oasis Ive never been there but about half of my school goes.

Bawnboy[my local]
    Thats quite a long trip. I only live a couple of miles away from it as I'm from Shercock. LOL and to think we used to say to the taxi when we're drunk... "Are we there yet?"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

ah just act all casual make lil chit chat for a while and then calmly ignoring the shooting chest pain and numb left arm say"so who ya goin to the grad with" and play on from there

either that or say "Jazus yor a roide fancy a quicky at the grad"

both could work i dunno

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Or just bottle up all the tension, ask someone not quite as good and wear a bomb under your jacket on the night.

Marvellous!

(this thread was started ages ago - what happened?)

• Registered Users Posts: 78,375 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Get her by herself and ask her straight out matter-of-factly. Less pressure that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

NO! bottle it all up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Ask her when you are rich and famous (she'll wait that long trust me ;) )how can she refuse then?

Originally posted by Ahamah
    Or just bottle up all the tension, ask someone not quite as good and wear a bomb under your jacket on the night.

Marvellous!

(this thread was started ages ago - what happened?)
    I didn't bother asking her. After I found out she was with my ex-best friend St Paddys night I didn't bother. All I do is give her dirty looks now...

Oh yeah... The "best friend" got the head beat off him. :)

I'm not really that bothered now. Plenty of other women out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭wiensta

hmm

obtain a large crowbar (any size will do) and then ask her with in in your hands, add blood on your mouth for effect.

works 100%!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 dicey_reilly

d best time to ask somebody to ur debs is wen u feel secure enuff to ask her!
    i went to mine last yr+i didnt ask d fella until a week before my debs!!

now thatll make u feel btr

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well, waiting until a week before the debs is all well and good for girls, but if a guy asks a girl a week, before, there's no hope. She has to get a second dress (if she's loaded)....make a hair appointment.....make a beautician appointment....etc etc. A month in advance is mandatory.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

Ì dunno if I'm going to bother going to mine - while it would be nice to see some of my classmates again after we've left, I can't stand the sight of some of them. :)

Just doesn't sound like a great night to me, paying €70 or so just to spend a night out with some people I'd rather not see again with crap music. (they're hiring some dance DJ or something. woo fecking hoo.)