Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bouncers-are they scum or what?

• 26-03-2002 12:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭

Why do we, the great Irish beer-drinking public, put up with a situation whereby just about every pub i n Dublin city centre has an ape in a bomber jacket on the front door scrutinising the potential clientele's features and refusing entrance on the most arbitrary of grounds?

Don't tell me this is done for reasons of security. I've drunk in bars all over the world and Irish bars tend to be the most convivial and lleast threatening of any I've ever been in.

I am convinced that the reason bouncers are put on the door has more to do with marketing and trying to convince the gullible that what lies inside is an exclusive haven of entertainment, and not an overloud glitzy dump selling watered down beer at highly inflated prices.

I'm now taking the pledge. I will not drink in a pub that has a bouncer on the door. Searsons, Sinnots, Zanzibar, Q Bar, Messrs Maguire etc etc etc you know who you are.

Yez can all feck off!!!!

Is it just me, or could we rustle up enough boycotters to mount an effective economic campaign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Hairy Homer

Is it just me, or could we rustle up enough boycotters to mount an effective economic campaign?

no.

but i agree that they are a pain.
    well, they used to be when they didnt let me in.
    besides, i blame all the forigners for the trouble.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

yes, they usually are annoying w4nkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

This was posted up some time ago, but yes, I agree... more often than not they're power tripping cúnts. Excuse my language :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Yeah but with drinking laws being so strict there only there to stop under age drinkers from getting in. Sure how would u like it if u were drinking a pub and a crowd of people came in pissed out of there skulls looking 4 drink wouldnt u wish there was a bouncer on the door!! Sure they may b strict but there only doing their job so give them a break!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Exactly, I'd rather have a bouncer "scrutinize" me than have the place filled with junkies, scumbags and underage drinkers puking their guts up. Irish bars in foreign counties are probably convivial because there are none of the "real" Dublin inhabitants there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Originally posted by woosaysdan
    wouldnt u wish there was a bouncer on the door!! Sure they may b strict but there only doing their job so give them a break!!!

If you are saying that the issue is one of security then I agree. Pubs should have the werewithal to remove trouble makers in the case of a fight. However, this does not extend to having some decommissioned Provo (and a lot, though certainly not all bouncers are former patriots stood down from active service) blocking the doorway to people they don't like the look of.

I've been to Germany, and you walk into the large beerkellers there unmolested. At the first sign of trouble, uniformed guards spring out of the woodwork and escort you from the premises. But you don't have to worry in advance that some of the mates you have arranged to meet won't be let in to your choice of drinking venue.

My argument is that in most cases bouncers are there to create the illusion that the pub is a desirable place whereas it is in fact a hive of noisy iniquity.

You don't like drunk skangers in pubs. Fair enough. I don't like bouncers on the doors of pubs and will no longer patronise hostelries that adopt this unnecessary policy.

We can change this by simply voting with our wallets and not going to these dreadful places. Otherwise we just encourage these obnoxious practices.

I agree with Hairy Homer. It' sfine to have security to make sure no scumbags get in or whatever, but I think Dubin's bouncer's are often scumbags in this regard... blanking people for no real reason other then they can. Althuogh I haven't been blanked from a pub/club in a long time, I see it happen to other people alot, when there's no need for it.

Originally posted by woosaysdan
    wouldnt u wish there was a bouncer on the door!! Sure they may b strict but there only doing their job so give them a break!!!

If you are saying that the issue is one of security then I agree. Pubs should have the werewithal to remove trouble makers in the case of a fight. However, this does not extend to having some decommissioned Provo (and a lot, though certainly not all bouncers are former patriots stood down from active service) blocking the doorway to people they don't like the look of.

I've been to Germany, and you walk into the large beerkellers there unmolested. At the first sign of trouble, uniformed guards spring out of the woodwork and escort you from the premises. But you don't have to worry in advance that some of the mates you have arranged to meet won't be let in to your choice of drinking venue.

My argument is that in most cases bouncers are there to create the illusion that the pub is a desirable place whereas it is in fact a hive of noisy iniquity.

You don't like drunk skangers in pubs. Fair enough. I don't like bouncers on the doors of pubs and will no longer patronise hostelries that adopt this unnecessary policy.

We can change this by simply voting with our wallets and not going to these dreadful places. Otherwise we just encourage these obnoxious practices.

if you bother to actually put on some decent clothes, comb your hair and act like a human then you will get into somewhere.
    if you look like a student or a goth, you should be refused entry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan

That's bull****!

I went out for a friends birthday, had a nice white shirt, nice pants (Not jeans), hair tied back and all brushed...
    And I STILL got refused into a club!

Wouldn't mind, it was only the one time I;d go to the place for the friends birthday. Otherwise I'd never set foot in the place.

And I just about NEVER get refused.
    They wouldn't even give me a straight answer why either.

And also, WWMan... I should give you a poke in the eye!
    Nobody should be refused entry because they look like a goth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭daftbegger

if you bother to actually put on some decent clothes, comb your hair and act like a human then you will get into somewhere.

And from both sides of the fence!!
    Shut your bitchin. If a prick started on you in a bar you ex-student little pussies!! The first thing you would look for is a man with some balls!! IE!!! THE BOUNCER SCUMBAGS!!
    Thats 'Admission consultant to you boy'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Ok, as the only bouncer (that I know of) on these boards, firstly, people are refused for a number of reasons.....

1. They way they look, ok, I know it might not be fai, but if you look like a mong, and the management are trying to have "well presented people in there establishment" then you are not going to get in.

2. If you are pissed, stoned, or a "known" trouble maker, then you are not going to get in, fair enough, your judgement of how pissed you are, may not be the same as the bouncers. However, this reason is generally used as a safety concern. I.E., If the place is heaving and you are pissed, if you fall over due to drunkenness then you may hurt, yourself/ someone else.

3. If you are underage, It doesn't matter how ****ing old you look, you may not look as old as you think to the bouncers. If you are over 18 carry so bloody ID, if not piss off home. People do not relise that if a pub is raided, it is the bouncers who get a roasting if there are under agers in, so you cant blame them for covering their backs. Most bouncers I know will let people off if they loook some way old.

I have worked as a bouncer in Kilkenny, and currently in Carlisle England, where things are a lot more strict. Fair enough, bouncers, like us all have bad nights, and cant be arsed, or just want a laugh. But any that I have met even wen out on the piss, they all are spot on. All I say is. Carry ID, and try and dress a bit respectable.

John

AKA Bouncer cúnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Bouncers are a neccisary evil IMO... sure, you'll get a handfull that're power-tripping scumbags who'll turn you away because they don't like your face ... but I don't think I'd feel safe in a pub/club without decent bouncers, where any skanger can just stagger in and cause trouble.
    Having said that, if someone wants to smash a pint-glass in your face and flee the premesis ... they'll probably be half way down the street before the bouncers have a clue what's happened.
    I've seen it happen too :/(although I think the Garda found him eventually)
    I guess the bouncers have to be that bit more carefull... looking out for peoples attitudes and temprement aswell as the more obvious visual clues like grooming and dress.

That's why it always makes me laugh when I see people agressively arguing with the door staff when they don't get in ... like they're REALLY going to let you in if you give them guff. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 blondi

bouncers piss me off to some degree , many of them have a big 'goodfellows' thing going on and is evident when you end up in a 'piss-pot pill house' like Switch or similar dance venues whose names I thankfully can't remember. It seems they can fulfill their pre-pubecant fantasies of being in an 'Al Capone' like Firm, conceal and assist organised drug dealing,and they will be forever adored by the kind of brain dead scum that go there, sad ****s.......
    (the peace process has a lot to answer for , for not 'de-mobbing' the troops psychologically before just sending them home, or is it that they have they not gone away ?)

IMHO, it doesnt matter how much bouncers say, they always get blamed for refusing people, ETC. Remember, bouncers work for some one, they dont just stand at the door randomly putting people out.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

I've drunk in bars all over the world and Irish bars tend to be the most convivial and lleast threatening of any I've ever been in

Wow! Hey, do you think maybe the whole convival, pleasant atmosphere might have something to do with the guys on the door keeping the undesirables, the underage types and the drunkards out....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Well i've no problem with them refusing me entry...but there's no need to be a complete and utter **** over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Ser

i never noticed many female door people in Ireland while i lived there, here in london they dont use word bouncer any more, is doormen, and alot have women with them now. they use to be right cvnts but now they seemed to have carmed down, after so many get shot in the head for turning som1 away.

Before I had moved to London, I often got refused entry to places, then when I lived in London I was never refused once.... there was one time I was in a club píssed out of my brains and feeling dodgy, I was leaning against a pole, and the bouncer came over, picked me up and told me to go outside for some fresh air, and he'd let me in when I was feeling alright again!! How sound is that? I don't think that would happen here.

Since I've moved back to Dublin, I've never been refused entry anywhere. So my point? Well, I think Dublin bouncers are indeed often power tripping gits, but I still rarely have any hassle getting in, and generally get in in the end anyway. Bouncers outside the pale :) are less likely to blank you if you're dressed\present yourself alright, and bouncers in London were sound bástards - they're doing their job properly - making sure no scum get in, making sure there's no trouble inside - i.e - a drunk Irish git leaning against a pole who could potentially razz all over the shop is escorted outside until he feels better!

Originally posted by daftbegger

And from both sides of the fence!!
    Shut your bitchin. If a prick started on you in a bar you ex-student little pussies!! The first thing you would look for is a man with some balls!! IE!!! THE BOUNCER SCUMBAGS!!
    Thats 'Admission consultant to you boy'.

im sorry, you seemed to have misread my post.
    you see, i didnt say anything bad about bouncers.
    i said if you dress up respectable enough you will have no problem getting in anywhere.

poor lad, you seem to have quiet the attitude dont you.

Originally posted by Shinji

Wow! Hey, do you think maybe the whole convival, pleasant atmosphere might have something to do with the guys on the door keeping the undesirables, the underage types and the drunkards out....?

Like I said. I don't drink in pubs that have bouncers on the door. Their presence automatically detracts from the overall conviviality IMHO.

The fact that they are there indicates that the management has such contempt for its potential customers that they subject them to an arbitrary screening before they let them in.

And BTW I look every moment of my 41 years of age. I don't need ID to convince people that I am over 18. Or 21. Or 23 whatever the arbitrary policy of the pub is.

It's an apalling practice and I will no longer endorse it. I ask and encourage others to adopt a similar attitude.

Of course if you're such a wuss that you don't feel safe unless some guy has looked comtemptuously at you as you slink through his door and identified you as being no physical threat to him whatsoever.......maybe you should have stayed at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Of course if you're such a wuss that you don't feel safe unless some guy has looked comtemptuously at you as you slink through his door and identified you as being no physical threat to him whatsoever.......maybe you should have stayed at home.
    So your saying only guys over 6'4", and about 15stone should be aloud have social lives? :rolleyes:

Not everyone is capable, or willing to stand up for themselves, they deserve protection. Bouncers maintain a certain standard within a premisses, i'v seen a club with 1 old bouncer on teh door who does nothing n the place is a kip!! Fights in every corner, drugs freely available, couples "expressing their love" all over the place... disgusting!

Originally posted by azezil

So your saying only guys over 6'4", and about 15stone should be aloud have social lives? :rolleyes:

I'm neither. Nor do I indulge in pugilism. And that is not the criteria on which bouncers admit or refuse entry. From what I can see it is purely arbitrary. Has nothing to do with security. And is purely around protecting the interests of pub owners. Not their customers. ie us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Fights in every corner, drugs freely available, couples "expressing their love" all over the place... disgusting!

Name and address of said premises?

Originally posted by Castor Troy

Name and address of said premises?
    Pedigree Corner - Somewhere in Laois (your kinda place? ;))

I'm neither. Nor do I indulge in pugilism. And that is not the criteria on which bouncers admit or refuse entry. From what I can see it is purely arbitrary. Has nothing to do with security. And is purely around protecting the interests of pub owners. Not their customers. ie us.

and thats your perogative.
    personally i dont care if theres a bouncer on the door or not.
    i go to a pub to drink an cha and enjoy.
    i do not think i need to have a physical presence or the attitude of begby in trainspotting to go to a pub, as you sem to be suggesting.
    but i would rather go to a pub where theres less likely to be a fight, because i have no interest in fighting.

but some people like to go to a certain type of place where there is a certain type of clientel, and they are usually the ones with money.
    swings and round abouts.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

I worked as a doorman in a club in Tramore - Waterford before I moved to Dublin. Tramore is basically a holiday town which has a huge caravan park that fills up with mostly Dubliners every Summer.

As a Doorman on that particular club we used our own judgement as to who got in and who got refused. Inside there were 5 Doormen and Two or Three were outside on the Door. The Door lads were guys who knew exactly who was barred and who wasn't. They knew who out of the regulars would cause trouble and who wouldn't.

I've never seen anyone turned away that shouldn't have been.

Inside if any trouble started we simply escorted the trouble to the door and let it go. As long as it wasn't in the club it's not our concern, although 99% of the time we'd break up the fight and stick around until at least one of the parties left the area altogether.

When I moved to Dublin I noticed that the Doormen do work on a slightly different set of rules because there's alot more choice in Dublin. Certain bars want a certain type of clientele.

I don't find any problem with this at all because besides the fact that a suits and boots bar wouldn't want me I probably wouldn't enjoy myself in a suits and boots bar.

One thing I did notice in Dublin is that I usually always get asked something on the door. I nearly never get asked for I.D. but I'll usually get asked where I'm coming from or if I'm having a good night and as far as I can tell I believe it's because they want to see what type of accent I have. I'm 6'3" with a shaved head and personally I consider the Doormen to be quite switched on to approach the subject like this. They're not sure whether I'll be trouble or not so instead of stopping me and acting the prick they simply ask me a trivial question. Now some might say "Well so what if you have a heavy accent that doesn't mean your trouble" but personally I'd be alot more cautious of someone who fit into a certain typecast than someone who doesn't.

I certainly have never had a bad incident with any Doormen and would definately consider them neccessary.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

One thing I did notice in Dublin is that I usually always get asked something on the door.
    I guess it's also to check if you're coherent enough to string a sentence together, and what kind of mood you're in.
    A good screening technique if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭daftbegger

I was agreeing with you. AND I was directing the attitude elsewhere.
    Read this one carefully now!! You don't want to get confused. :p

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I know lots of fairly cool dead on bouncers. Alright there is a small minority that are power hungry ****heads but once you get talking to them they are alright. I've never been refused entry to any night club or pub in my life (yet). And I've only been stopped twice briefly. I have no ID (yet my 18tht was last month). I could handle my drink unlike many others under the age of 18 who have been refused entry before. Usually when I go out I usually wear one of my band t-shirts and nothing was ever said about them.

I've only ever been in one confrontation with a bouncer inside a club and that was when (as usual) Teen Spirit came on one time in the Manor, Virginia and I went out and moshed (as you do to teen spirit). And he grabbed me by the shirt and pulled me over to the corner (bad idea, on the bouncers part. Especially after me moshing). He had his arm drawed back as if he were about to punch me and said if I ever done it again he'd "kick the **** outta me". I just laughed at him (he was smaller than me) and said "don't or you'll be sorry". He looked around and just walked off. I went out and moshed again and he didn't say anything. Talk about a gob****e!

What I'd like to know Lump... is why moshing is not allowed during such songs as Smells like teen Spirit. What are we supposed to do? Dance like those e'd up gob****es or just sit down and move our heads a little bit.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Doorman I think are very protective of the club/pub they are working in as a result of the pressure they get from their venue manager.

I have worked and still work on the door of concerts of which have been vicar st/Olympia and other clubs/venues in Dublin and my Boss's opinion is, no matter what state or how much of a scumbug they are, "IF THEY HAVE MONEY LET THEM IN".

If these "doormen" actually owned the pubs/clubs they provide security for im sure they wouldnt be refusing upwards of 100 people a night at 8 or 10 euro a head.

The man i work for is always on the door and if we even thought of refusing someone on the grounds of what they are wearing we would get the boot. And if someone looks young he says "Theyre not my kids i dont give a ****"

The managers/owners of pubs and clubs in Dublin need to get themselves down to the door and watch what theyre bouncers are at cause they could be costing them a fortune.

Like I said. I don't drink in pubs that have bouncers on the door. Their presence automatically detracts from the overall conviviality IMHO.

Well, you're entitled to your opinion. I can't say it's something I've ever noticed personally. That being said, I can't say I've ever been refused entry anywhere, either.

The fact that they are there indicates that the management has such contempt for its potential customers that they subject them to an arbitrary screening before they let them in.

I don't know where you live, but in the past few years I've lived in Dublin and London, and I know for damn sure that *I* have a hell of a lot of contempt for a fair few of the "potential customers" roaming the streets at nine o'clock of a Friday night.

It's an apalling practice and I will no longer endorse it. I ask and encourage others to adopt a similar attitude.

Good luck to you getting anyone to give a damn, frankly.

Ah, so it's the macho thing? Well here's an interesting concept - I don't go out on the beer to prove the existence of my wang, I go out to have a laugh and a bit of craic with friends. Odd one that, I know, but there you go.

Tell you what and all, I've never "slunk" through the door of a pub, and I've rarely clocked any kind of a look from a bouncer other than a nod and "evening" in response to my own greeting. Strikes me you've got so much of an issue with them that it's affecting your behaviour...

Oh, and given the varying physical stature of the people I go drinking with, I think it's safe to say that it's sod all to do with "physical threat" either.

Still, that's an interesting hang-up you've got there fella!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Lump
    Ok, as the only bouncer (that I know of) on these boards

Nope.
    I've worked as a bouncer before.
    Mainly at local gigs and such.
    Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    What I'd like to know Lump... is why moshing is not allowed during such songs as Smells like teen Spirit. What are we supposed to do? Dance like those e'd up gob****es or just sit down and move our heads a little bit.

As a part-timer, I'd say mosh your brains out!

But then again, I'm just there at gigs, so that's what you're meant to do.

Making sure people pay in, and grab the skangers by the scruff of the neck, and drag 'em out the door if they try and sneak in, or cause trouble.
    And of course, checking a few ID's, unless it's an all-ages.

ok, picture this, a club with 3 to 4 hundred people on the dance floor, then 20 people starts "Moshing" and in their pissed state they accidently knock some one over, the person they knock is a real scumbag that the bouncers gave a chance to behave. But this said scumbag is now really pissed because you bumped into him, so he decided to have a go. So now a little argument breaks out, and some of your friends jump in, then some of his. Fair enough, the bouncers will probably take care of it, but it will give the establishment a bad name etc,.

John

Originally posted by Lump
    ok, picture this, a club with 3 to 4 hundred people on the dance floor, then 20 people starts "Moshing" and in their pissed state they accidently knock some one over, the person they knock is a real scumbag that the bouncers gave a chance to behave. But this said scumbag is now really pissed because you bumped into him, so he decided to have a go. So now a little argument breaks out, and some of your friends jump in, then some of his. Fair enough, the bouncers will probably take care of it, but it will give the establishment a bad name etc,.

John

I hear what your sayin but do you not think that there should be some communication between the bouncers and the dj's in cases like this? I mean, the dj is hardly gonna play something like teen spirit just to get ravers out dancing. Theyre looking to accomodate for people like myself that is big into metal and what used to be the seattle scene. The bouncers should be prepared for people moshing and should be on their toes.

Besides the skangers that usually are out on the floor leave when such moshing songs come on. That was what happened when the bouncer grabbed me. There was no ravers out on the floor. Everyone was moshing and he just picked me out of the bunch and I ****ed him off for it. I cant remember a fight as a result of moshing either. So I dunno...

im happy to say pornapster that you and i will very rarely be found drinking in the same establishment.
    being paid enough to afford beer in a more expensive bar allows me the privilage of not meeting people like you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Originally posted by blondi
    bouncers piss me off to some degree , many of them have a big 'goodfellows' thing going on and is evident when you end up in a 'piss-pot pill house' like Switch or similar dance venues whose names I thankfully can't remember. It seems they can fulfill their pre-pubecant fantasies of being in an 'Al Capone' like Firm, conceal and assist organised drug dealing,and they will be forever adored by the kind of brain dead scum that go there, sad ****s.......
    (the peace process has a lot to answer for , for not 'de-mobbing' the troops psychologically before just sending them home, or is it that they have they not gone away ?)

who are you talking about in switch new kid? they fired a rake of the old crowd and got new ones in to get rid of the drugs and that and found that the result was in drunken scumbags coming to their club and because they started a policy of handing ppl over to the cops they found that the cops were on their back all the time. result? all the friendly know the score know when to turn a blind eye down on you like a tonne of bricks if theres GENUINE trouble bouncers, bar one, and all the ppl who used to be regulars at switch myself included now drink across the river in voodoo or up at the shelter. are there less drugs there now? no! is it full of scum? well the crowd you get is as good as the crowd the bouncers let in. and if that means that it looks like al capone to some muppet passing by than thats what it takes to keep a club going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Pedigree Corner - Somewhere in Laois (your kinda place? ;))

aah pedigree corner aka "the turning point" n'est-ce pas? how i miss it, its been many a year.... if you thought the fights and free love were a bit much inside you should have seen it outside....
    and of course the first thing you did when the music stopped was leg it out side with your top off to beat some sense into whoever was foreign enough to not come from your village... lol those were the days... remember the one legged bloke who used to sell hash up at the back under those dreadful murals? castor troy you ought to check it out some time i think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Originally posted by [cm]tyranny

who are you talking about in switch new kid? they fired a rake of the old crowd and got new ones in to get rid of the drugs and that and found that the result was in drunken scumbags coming to their club and because they started a policy of handing ppl over to the cops they found that the cops were on their back all the time. result? all the friendly know the score know when to turn a blind eye down on you like a tonne of bricks if theres GENUINE trouble bouncers, bar one, and all the ppl who used to be regulars at switch myself included now drink across the river in voodoo or up at the shelter. are there less drugs there now? no! is it full of scum? well the crowd you get is as good as the crowd the bouncers let in. and if that means that it looks like al capone to some muppet passing by than thats what it takes to keep a club going.

English Motherfúcker.

Do you speak it?

im happy to say pornapster that you and i will very rarely be found drinking in the same establishment.
    being paid enough to afford beer in a more expensive bar allows me the privilage of not meeting people like you...
    Fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

Awwwww :p, you see all it takes is one muppet to write something stupid, and everyone jumps in. Pornapster, I'm with WWM on this one. I have been reading some of your posts on the topic (or branching irrelevance) in disgust. You seem to be stereotyping every raver, dance head, whatever; as a pill popping scumbag that looks for nothing but trouble. I will not defend all ravers, but it's not fair to class someone's behaviour based on their musical tastes. Thankfully the guys on the door don't. I know this might be a little off topic (hence the "branching irrelevance" bit), but I would prefer you to either, think before you speak, or keep your opinions to yourself.

I don't hold grudges against people that listen to metal/whatever music, actually most of my best friends do. I don't look @ moshing as stupid, I actually get a buzz looking at people enjoying themselves. I'm a Dj by the way.

I'm sure I will have support from Trojan, and OJ, to say the least on this one.

I will say no more :rolleyes:

;-phobos-)

Originally posted by phobos
    Awwwww :p, you see all it takes is one muppet to write something stupid, and everyone jumps in. Pornapster, I'm with WWM on this one. I have been reading some of your posts on the topic (or branching irrelevance) in disgust. You seem to be stereotyping every raver, dance head, whatever; as a pill popping scumbag that looks for nothing but trouble. I will not defend all ravers, but it's not fair to class someone's behaviour based on their musical tastes. Thankfully the guys on the door don't. I know this might be a little off topic (hence the "branching irrelevance" bit), but I would prefer you to either, think before you speak, or keep your opinions to yourself.
    Alright I was wrong to say that e'd up thingy. That was a reference to some of em who are e'd up and just go plain crazy to whatever comes on. Your right. But I didn't say that they were all scumbags looking for trouble. That was just a reference to a minority of the people in the building (they don't have to be ravers/dance heads etc.). I am not judging anyone on their music tastes at all if you read my post again you will see that.

When I said skangers I was just replying to something Lump said about skangers looking for a fight with the people who are out moshing.
    I don't hold grudges against people that listen to metal/whatever music, actually most of my best friends do. I don't look @ moshing as stupid, I actually get a buzz looking at people enjoying themselves.
    Thats always good to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Interesting thread as I was denied entry to a certain drinking establishment in Central Dublin last night. This is one I frequent at least twice a week and is normally open very late. I was unaware of the early closing hours last night, but arrived before 11.30. When I asked 'was it early hours tonight?' the response was a fine selection of expletives, saying 'go away'.

It wouldn't've hurt to just explain politely that the bar wasn't allowed to serve past midnight even though it was blatantly well before that time. Surely bouncers should be there to impart such info and look after the customers.

Incidentally I had no problem getting into a bar down the street 15 minutes later which was also closing early.

Yea i've the same complaint as Tazz, I know they're doing their job and all that. But why do they have to be so ignorant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 blondi

OK it was unfair to single out the 'SWITCH' club it's no worse than any other, and comments re: pill popping scum was bang out of order ! GUILTY on those two counts , but my real concern is bouncers and not ravers and my 'biggoted insunitations' were sourced in my despising of dance culture, and so once again , I retract those remarks...
    However to get to the topic concerned, I have wittnessed some horriffic actions carried out by doormen/bouncers over the years and have picked up very sinister vibes from these incidents and the newspaper articles re: questionable work history of 'SOME' doormen/bouncers .
    Everyone has their price $$, including doormen/bouncers and it is this that concerns me.
    The dogs in the street know that in 'SOME' premises bouncers are bought off by those wishing to peddle their 'wares' in clubs, and this begs the question of 'who' or 'what organisation' exactly is running/controlling some clubs, and how this services their interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

I have heard stories about bouncers being brutal to the clients, over stupid things, but only one really pi$$ed me off.

We were in Cj's nite club in Salthill (was the greatest underage disco of all time, but we were only about 17, so it was all good.) The bouncers knew that practically everyone was underage, but only turned away about 5-10% of the people who queued. Anyway in the club twas about 12:30am, and a bottle came flying across the air, and hit my mate plain in the side of the face. The culprits did not try and hide the fact that they were guilty. We thought that it was meant for someone else because we didn't even know these guys at the time. My mate turned around and let out a string of "WTF, :mad: Fukkin bolllox" etc., anyway one guy came over (the local hardman), and squared up to my mate. Just as things were about to get physical, a bouncer came out of the blue, and grabbed my mate, dragging him towards the door. We followed of course. He was brought out a side door of the premisis (away from cameras), and had the **** bet in to him by 2 of them outside. We tried to get out to him, but another bouncer inside insisted that they were just talking to him, trying to figure out what happened. We accepted this, but drank beside the door, awaiting his return. It was now about 20mins later, and there was no sign of him. We collected our jackets, and went outside. There was no sign of him, or any bouncers outside for that matter.

Anyway we all walked up to my gaff, and gave the lad a ring. He had just gotten home in a cab, and he said that he could hardly walk after the beating he received. His oul lad came on the phone to me, roaring "WTF happened" etc. As you do.

We could not go to the cop station because we were all underage, and shouldn't have been in there. But I think that's well out of order. If that club operated correctly it wouldn't have let in underage kids, hence it couldn't use it's advantage against punters.

Unfortunately the clubs gone now (for the past 3-4 years), because that very mate of mine who got his head kicked in, is a cop now. Serving his time in Ballyfermot. ;)

;-phobos-)

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Besides the skangers that usually are out on the floor leave when such moshing songs come on. That was what happened when the bouncer grabbed me. There was no ravers out on the floor. Everyone was moshing and he just picked me out of the bunch and I ****ed him off for it. I cant remember a fight as a result of moshing either. So I dunno...
    oh i see because i like to dance, and listen to fast music i'm automatically a "skanger", how nice.

I'm sure we could come up with other reasons for you being a skanger if you really want, azezil :)

We could not go to the cop station because we were all underage, and shouldn't have been in there. But I think that's well out of order. If that club operated correctly it wouldn't have let in underage kids, hence it couldn't use it's advantage against punters.

I think the cops wouldn't hold anything against you or your friends. It's the clubs responsibility to make sure there's no underagers in the club. Nothing to do with you. I think they'd view an assualt as a bigger deal than having a under agers in their club in any case.

I've been reading through the various posts by many of the people and I agree with a lot of what's been said, both in favour of bouncers and against them too.

When I go out to a pub, I feel like many of you at times (ie. the bouncers shouldn't be there and that they're out to get us, because it gives them some perverse pleasure to refuse us entry) and, at times, I am justified thinking this.

But, after reading some of Lump's posts, I find it great to think that there are bouncers here on the posts and who actually seem to be sound lads (thanks for explaining some of the bouncers reasons, Lump).

When I get into a bar and the bouncers go so far as to say, "How are you?" or "Evening", that makes me feel great, safe and in a good mood for drinking. That's a sign of a good attitude.

Bouncers on doors can be overwhelming in their attitude and we, by now, all know this. Some may be too extreme.
    But a lot of them now (as over the past two years, I've matured and grown to respect them, not hate them) are sound, some will assist you if you are too drunk and help you out the door.

I think bouncers do have a place watching over the door, because the last thing people want in a bar is serious trouble and the bouncers are there to prevent potential trouble makers entering the establishment.
    But when I get refused (i don't as much now but it happens) I am initially pissed off but then, when I get in somewhere else, you think to yourself, "What's the point anymore in getting pissed off?"...you could go to the place the next week and get in without so much as a "ID please".