Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

PI Fourm

• 07-04-2002 2:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭

Request, Personal Issues fourm (could alternatively be called Jenny Jones fourm:))
    To cover-
    Realtionship stuff,
    Dilemmas
    Personal problems
    Women stuff
    etc etc

With the increase of these kinda posts on the majority of boards, might be a idea to give it a fourm and see how it goes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Excellent choice, and a health segment too, I think that was suggested some time before the major influx of new boards around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

do you really think people would use it? Well i would but i not like most people ;)

Most people don't feel comfortable discussing their personal lives on a public forum... again i have no problems with that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I heartly endorse this board that has a similar name to mine.

I do not want to touch his ass... I want to make him talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭havok*

Tbh i think alot of ppl would use it.
    I've used other fourms b4 to ask advise on personal Dilemmas b4. Theres been a mojor increse of personal / Lifestyle kinda posts lately. Sure just have a wonder over to the after Hours board there :)
    I'd be happy to Mod it actully.
    Health Segment would be a good idea too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Let's have some name suggestions so...

Personal / Advice
    Health / Lifestyle
    Personal / Lifestyle
    Health / Advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

It shouldn't really have the word personal in it as people may start posting up - single - guy - 49 - into leather - etc etc

Health and Lifestyle is perfect I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,502 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I would prefer "Health & Fitness" over "Health" or "Medical" - too many liability issues.

What about calling the other one the "Social" board? (not sure)

Lifestyle might imply either (alternative) lifestyle or some sort of airy-fairy thing like "Social & Personal" Magazine or the Sinday Independant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭havok*

i think Personal / Health / Lifestyle would probobly be the best if u could fit it in a drop down.

As far as ppl getting the wrong idea, we have charters for that kinda thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Social and Personal is a perfect name for it imo :)

About time we had something like this. The P45.net's version of it is the busiest boad they have (not that i read that, just seems that way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

Originally posted by Cloud
    Let's have some name suggestions so...

Personal / Advice
    Health / Lifestyle
    Personal / Lifestyle
    Health / Advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Gerry can me mod ;)
    and he can give us some insightful thoughts before locking threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I LIKE PIE!

Relationships is my preferred choice for the name. I won't put my name forward for mod cos I just wouldn't be able to commit.

bgtumbleweed.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

magnum.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Belisarius

tbh the private investigator forum is a far better idea ihmo :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Issues/Advice ??
    Id be happy to mod if you wish, because that one would damn interesting. I have a cracker for the first post too

BomB

How about ye just call it the Auntie Gertrude board then? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

i'll mod it if yis want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Oh please do this one! :)

As soon as I get on IRC (well at least once a day) I get a message from some lad saying:

"Here, you're female..... there's this girl, ya see, and.... "

<< Fio >>

I want to mod :(

There's a good point if it goes ahead there should be a male and female mod to better deal with the issues raised.

I'm male. also available for modding duty. ;)

Smiles and Bubbles for mods! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Guy Incognito

Male mod: SheroN
    Female mod: Azeilel

Go on, you know it makes sense.

oh har har lets all spell my name wrong... damn that hamster damn him to hell!!

I have plenty of real life experience dealing with peoples problems and like i said i have a cracker of a first post So ill Mod it with a female mod no probs. Or do i have to give another campaign speech cause i thought my last one was pretty good!

Dr.Bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Sheron for mod. You know it mocks sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

I concur Sheron for mod.

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by bombidol
    I have plenty of real life experience dealing with peoples problems and like i said i have a cracker of a first post So ill Mod it with a female mod no probs. Or do i have to give another campaign speech cause i thought my last one was pretty good!

Dr.Bomb

i think this guy should be a mod so it would shut him up.
    although i suspect a boton agenda there somewhere.

and azelizal for mod to.

wow 2 people kinda voted me mod for something!! woohoo

wouldn't mind at all

This guy? This Guy?! WWM baby come on, dont tell me you forgotten about your old friend bomb! Say it aint true!!

bOMb

No but seriously, i just want to help out, this board keeps me sane while im in work so I owe it. And im on here fro 9 till 5 everyday during the week and a couple of hours every weekend so i can keep an eye on things all the time.

Dr.BomB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Originally posted by Victor
    Smiles and Bubbles for mods! :D

Only problem being that it will more than likely need a *lot* of moderating what with some of the muppets who will simply take the piss.

I'm willing to mod it if people so want.

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

Myself and Smiles! :)

Originally posted by bubbles
    Myself and Smiles! :)
    n who'd moderate you two :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

This guy? This Guy?! WWM baby come on, dont tell me you forgotten about your old friend bomb! Say it aint true!!

bOMb

who the fúck are you?

i dont mind who ends up modding but, my biggest fear is this board getting censored to bits, yeah ok if somebody gives a very extreme answer to a question like " Cut his balls off" Well then edit them but not for any little thing. This board could nearly do with being uncensored but seeing as this is boards.ie it will be, and as long as its done fairly it should be ok. Thats why i feel fairly strongly about modding this board, if soemone has a problem they need to get as much feedback as possible no matter where it comes from, and i know i can mod this board without it becoming an embarasment.
    also , would there be anyway of hiding the posters name in case they didnt want anyone knowing who they are?

bomB

i dont mind who ends up modding but, my biggest fear is this board getting censored to bits, yeah ok if somebody gives a very extreme answer to a question like " Cut his balls off" Well then edit them but not for any little thing. This board could nearly do with being uncensored
    dear god i hope you don't become the mod!!

IMO people will only use it if they know there's a strict no toloarence for abusive replys, if someone's talking about sensitive issues the last thing they need is some annoying twit harrassing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭four_star

SheroN for the new board mod.

I'd like to thank all for their support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 snoop_dogg

No but seriously, i just want to help out, this board keeps me sane while im in work so I owe it. And im on here fro 9 till 5 everyday during the week and a couple of hours every weekend so i can keep an eye on things all the time.

Dr.BomB

yeah, make this guy the mod. he has no dick, so he can double as either a female or male. two birds with one stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

i back the Sheron/Smiles dream ticket.

[
    and the next time you call me a twat we'll meet up and sort it out, im getting a pain in my arse with the abuse people give each other on these boards, i dont care if i sound like a hard man prick, but i will willingly meet these people to talk about any issues they have with me.

the above was posted by bombidol on another thread...doesn't sound like the talk of a future PI forum mod.

/me gets petty. :cool:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

snoop_dogg
    cop on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 snoop_dogg

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    snoop_dogg
    cop on!

just callin it like i see it bro.

i hear it lost it in some skateboarding accident.

dont hate the player.

hate the game.

Thats a great example of what a PI mod should do, Sort out personal issues. If you were to see some stuff written about you that had no base in reality then you would want to sort it out too, so instead of talking smack on the internet, ill meet up with this guy or girl and talk to them about this situation.

BomB

well i don't usually take stuff people say on a message board to heart. I take it all in good spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Make me mod!! I'm never abusive....ask WWM, Bonkey, Boston....any of those :)
    They'll tell ye.
    Snoop_dog... you're a sound bloke

Originally posted by snoop_dogg
    just callin it like i see it bro.
    dont hate the player.
    hate the game.
    wow someone spent too much time watching american cartoons!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭regi

Hmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

SheroN - have fun! (Let your inspiration be Sunday Times' Mrs. Mills.)

Bombidol - please calm down or your Community Moderatorship will be revoked - you seem to be annoying a sizeable number of people (myself included).

azezil - if things get busy perhaps we can call on you to help out...