Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the last Thursday Challenge ever!

• 10-04-2002 12:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭

The last Thursday Challenge ever will take place this Thursday from 8pm – 9pm on Phantom. In a statement issued last night, the two presenters declared “It’s been a wonderful voyage of personal discovery but now we’re concentrating on our original ambition of building the world’s first flying motorbike.”

The last show will feature Tony Divney’s final phone-call, a tearful concluding episode of Aer Finglas, and the usual rubbish from Silas O’Rourke. There will also be the final challenge, which promises to be an emotional and extremely amusing affair. One question remains however, what should replace Thursday Challenge? What do you think would be a suitable programme for the 8-9pm slot? Here’s a few suggestions:

The Shakira Hour, with interviews and belly dancing from the queen of South American pop.

Gardening Update with Gerry Daly.

The Micro-Surgery Hour, where each week renowned professional surgeons perform surgery live in the studio.

Cornflakes Review, a programme devoted to reviewing the range of cornflakes available in supermarkets, from the Kellogg’s Crunchy Nut to the Dunnes Stores own brand.

Anyway, you get the idea, so stick up your suggestion below, and we’ll read out the funnies on Thursday night. On behalf of everyone involved in Thursday Challenge, a big thanks to all the people at Phantom FM and to our loyal listeners whom we hope to poach for our new…. oh bollix, I’ve said too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

How about a live mime hour a hole hour of miming on the radio.

Live fashion show

Or an airing of charlie chaplins funiest moments

Or an eye spy competition

What station are you swaning off to? and what is this with all the good comedy shows leaving phantom first men's world then thursday chalenge whats next the two peats talk rubbish I hope not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 silas o'rourke

What do you mean 'usual rubbish'? I put a lot of effort into my weekly undercover reports. You'll be hearing from my lawyers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 keefer

What's all this about the last Thursday Challenge ever? I was just talking to Tony Divney's mother and she said that he knew nothing about it, that he'd instructed her to iron his lucky underpants for tomorrow night as usual!

P.S. How about Porn FM (The music'd be great)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

I always though Phantom should have its own news show ...

Who's releasing what and when.

The local scene and Bands etc ( I know ICON does this a bit)

Gig reviews,interviews with "promoters" and industry people blah blah blah.

which reminds me ....well done Polar on their interview last night.....oh and thanks for the plug. You'er legends!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭polarbelly

thank you trevor , and you're more than welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

we're talking about replacement shows keith.

Oh yeh...I meant an hour of porn of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭IRISHLILY24

PLEASE SAY IT ISNT SO!!!!!!!!!!
    DONT TAKE AWAY THURSDAY CHALLENGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ISNT THERE ANYTHING WE CAN DO TO KEEP IT ON THE AIR?????

Having said that, if it must come to an end :(
    then it should be replaced by an equally funny program, the comedy relief takes a lot of stress out of the day and everyone could use a good laugh every now and then.

I agree that silas was a good part of the show, Perhaps he could start a show in that time slot to keep us all in stitches lol

all in all, It should be a comedy hour. :D

I WILL MISS ALL OF YOU FROM THURSDAY CHALLENGE!!!!
    PLEASE COME BACK!!!;)

now I'm crying.

ME TOO!!

its sad isnt it :(

I must say that I looked forward to every thursday just because of the thursday challenge, now thats sad... what ever will i do now ;)

My weekend used to start on a Thursday, now I don't know when to start it, if anyone has any suggestions I'd be very grateful. Confusion is a lonely place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 silas o'rourke

May I suggest starting your weekend on a Monday? I have it on good authority that Monday is the best night to go out dancing/drinking as the chances of making a complete arse of yourself are limited by the lack of other people out and about. If that makes any sense. Which it doesn't.
    Regarding the replacement show for Thursday Challenge, I second Irishlily's motion for a whole hour of me, Silas O'Rourke, delivering the most factually inaccurate reports on a wide range of social and political.........
    this message has been curtailed to preserve the mental well-being of its readers
    ..... including a large tub of swarfega and 25 metres of baler twine.

See what I mean, lol
    classic.

You have my vote Silas;)

I am listening to the last thursday challenge right now, I am so sad that this is the last time I will hear you guys, is their nothing that I might say or DO to change your minds;)

ahh well, Just make sure you appoint some equally as funny guys to take your place.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Frenzy

The're moving to "Spin fm"
    and so are "Men's World"
    Poo!!!

aha!
    So that's it then, now I understand why everyone's saying sell out, I dont get that spinfm station here, ya know I would listen to that station just to hear them....but I suppose I can understand why they are moving. Pirates stations cant offer them the things that they deserve for being great as they are:( oh phantom, what is to become of you, I hope you can get things straight so you can keep your excellent dj's. Perhaps they will come back when phantom is no longer a pirate station??

I will however listen to see if a good show can fill the slot, if not.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭geekstinkbreath

just finished listenin to the last thursday challenge, oh god its so emotional..And poor anto hes left all alone by tiffany kyle,that biatch.
    So guys how could you sellout like this, how will ientertain myself come thursday next, damn you all...!
    Well anyway thanks a mil joe and keith for all the laughs, and keepin us all entertained, ill miss you.....:(

Thanks geekstinkbreath (cool name by the way) appreciate the sentiments.
    'There comes a tide in the affairs of men' as Hamlet said, so I think we'd be mad not to take advantage. You have to understand that we're taking our comedy thing to another station because we want to improve and develop it, try and get it to a wider audience. The fact that it's Spin 1038 is in some ways irrelevant. It doesn't mean that we'll be playing Shakira and Fifth Avenue, as much as we'd like to. They liked what we did on Phantom and wanted us to deliver the same for their new station. It's funny, we got a few text messages last night saying things like 'That Spin is sh!t, they only play the same songs over and over...' It's a test signal dummy! They're not officially on air yet. Really it boils down to musical preferences and it's no surprise that the sound of Spin is anathema to Phantom devotees. Anyway, there you go, we're sell out bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭bandit

its better to burn out then to fade away..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭metalish

it was a good show. i think the raymcgowan metal show should start at 8 instead of 9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭geekstinkbreath

Originally posted by joey D
    Thanks geekstinkbreath (cool name by the way) appreciate the sentiments.
    'There comes a tide in the affairs of men' as Hamlet said, so I think we'd be mad not to take advantage. You have to understand that we're taking our comedy thing to another station because we want to improve and develop it, try and get it to a wider audience...
    thanx,joe!
    so irealise this is aweek late, but ihavnt been on the net!but neway, ithink its gr8 uguys r gettin regognition for your talent,
    and if thats selling out, then no one would go anywhere in life, if they didnt grasp opportunities.
    Neway keep us posted about the times of your show, cause iwouldnt miss it, even if it is spin!
    luv geeksb

I'll probably get a good beating from Pete Reed for this but here goies: the new show is going to be on a saturday evenings from 5:45pm until 6:45pm on Spin 1038.
    But! Only tune away from Phantom for that hour, don't stop listening to the last bastion of unpolluted musical refuge that is Phantom FM.
    Sorry pete.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

Hi Joey,

Yes, at some point we will administer a good beating but for the moment we will let it pass.

Best of luck with the show on Saturday to both of you. Two of the best heads (your assistant makes three) Ive come accross in this radio lark, and Im feckin proud of ye for getting the break. Im sure you will be great on Saturday, 5.45 on Spin 103.8. Dont believe Ive just plugged it again.

Regards,

Pete Reed
    Phantom FM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭ozone6280

Pete Can we hear the guys on the Anorak hour please I loved them.
    Thanks for all the funtimes and good luck from the USA. Hope all goes well at Spin you deserve it.