Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fianna Fail & P.D's Goverment Disgrace.

• 26-04-2002 10:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

Hi the election is on 17th of may. Now Fianna Fail and the P.D's will be looking for your vote. Right Fianna Fail have destroyed this country with thatcher like policies Privatising Eircom i invested £1000 in this company Fianna Fail effectivly Stole this from me. And Half a million other people were duped not alone me. They have left close to a hundred thousend Asylum Seekers into our emerald isle when i went back to where i worked last summer i couldnt get a job, Nigerians working there For EUR1 per hour i am sure. For those who reads this that have tv3 go to tv3 text page 104 , 75,000 Irish Children living in severe poverty encount of Fianna Fail. Mary Harney said last week she will privatise the E.S.B , Aer Lingus and the Docks around the country. i got write an entire book of ignorant decisionsmade by Fianna Fail And The P.D's while they were in goverment.

So Dont vote for any canditate fot these partys.

OUR FUTURE DEPENDS ON IT

• Registered Users Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

You know....I'm actually worried that this mightnt be a troll.

jc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

either that or he is an idiot :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

out with bertie!..in with noonan..he'd be a great leader </sarcasm>

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

i invested £1000 in this company Fianna Fail effectivly Stole this from me
    They obviously screwed up yur education and lurning too bakoz your grammur and speling is crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

They obviously screwed up yur education
    you should have done BuisOrg/Accounting or Economics too b4 getting shares :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

It just occurred to me that we have a General Election forum, and this is obviously a GE issue....

So, thread moved.

jc

• Registered Users Posts: 4,734 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Originally posted by Culchie Boy

1.Right Fianna Fail have destroyed this country with thatcher like policies

2.Privatising Eircom i invested £1000 in this company Fianna Fail effectivly Stole this from me

.3. And Half a million other people were duped not alone me.

4.They have left close to a hundred thousend Asylum Seekers into our emerald isle when i went back to where i worked last summer i couldnt get a job,

5.Nigerians working there For EUR1 per hour i am sure.

6.For those who reads this that have tv3 go to tv3 text page 104 , 75,000 Irish Children living in severe poverty encount of Fianna Fail.

7.Mary Harney said last week she will privatise the E.S.B , Aer Lingus and the Docks around the country.

8.i got write an entire book of ignorant decisionsmade by Fianna Fail And The P.D's while they were in goverment.

So Dont vote for any canditate fot these partys.

OUR FUTURE DEPENDS ON IT

Now just in case your serious i have seperated your post into points. (you might have done this yourself).

1. Our country is currently considered an economic miracle, and held up as an example to other aspiring nations.

2. Buying stocks is risky. You can gain or lose. The reports that the share price was set high were in the public domain, and if you chose to ignore these, then you were a dope not a dupe.

3. Eircom needed to raise a large amout of capital. The taxpayer just didnt have it, so it was privitised, to allow it to invest the money it needed. No one had to buy shares. And some poeple made money, as the share price did rise when it was released first. Also the worldwide crash of communcation stock was not forseeable at the time. Lets face it you gambled, you lost.

4. Ireland has signed the geneva convention, and is obligated to allow genuine refugees in. we do deport those proven not to be genuine.

5. Minumim wage. read about it.

6. Poverty has been lessened by most standards under the current government. see the huge childrens allowance increase etc.
    One standard of measuing poverty is as a % of income, but as the no. of high incomes increase (as they have in our prosperous society) this is not a true poverty figure.
    Poverty is lack of food, clothing , somewhere to stay, not a lack of nintendo gameboys , nike runners and levi jeans.

7. Mary Harney is not in fianna fail (point 1), nor will the pds ever have a majority government.
    Right wingers belive that privatised industry runs more efficiently than public. (Evidice is there to back this up). It is idelogical, but note that she cannot just privatise without the senior partners consent, and there is no per election pact with FF and PD.

Thus if you are saying dont vote for the pd's. because you dont like the idealogical standpoint, fine, your opinion, but if you are say dont allow them to privitise because Eircom shares did poorly that makes feck all sense.

X

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Mailman

Getting past the poor spelling and racist tone this guy has a couple of valid points.

Not everyone has benefitted from the boom of the last few years.

The sale of Eircom was not something to brag about.

This government was not very compassionate to those in need.

The lack of immigration policy was not good for either immigrant or native.

This government has probably forced this guy into the open arms of Sinn Fein or the Socialist Workers party who will be happy to sucker a vote out of him.

He has reason to be aggrieved. Making fun of him does not help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

But by god is it fun! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Culchie Boy

Thank You Mailman, at least somebody agrees with me. All Fianna Fail have done is make the poor poorer, and the rich richer. and to tHE vAGGABOND ( I AM NO IDIOT) (AND I AM ALSO VERY WELL EDUCATED) my typeing isnt good though!. Also shutup SheroN trying to make fun of me.

Michael Noonan,
    An Taoiseach.
    (Hopefully)

Regards,
    Culchie Boy.

Not everyone has benefitted from the boom of the last few years.

No, to my knowledge the citizens of uganda have not noticed any difference.
    If i were to be serious, i could pointout that childrens allowance has rocketed. Pensions went up faster than inflation, as did welfare allowance. Millions removed from the tax net, and the standard and higher rates of tax reduced. Full emplyment reached, (by international standards). Adult education made a priority for those 'left behind', Minumin wage introduced. Health care funding increased as a proportion of GDP.

As you werent specific , i have to be general.

The sale of Eircom was not something to brag about.

True, but the biggest factor was the worldwide fall of telecom shares, which culchie will have to accept was a bult in risk from day 1.
    This government was not very compassionate to those in need.

Arguable. If you mean they didnt refund Eircom shareholders, then you had false expectations.
    what precedent is there for reimbursing those who risk they savings on the stockmarket?
    The lack of immigration policy was not good for either immigrant or native.

And your magic fix is .....
    Funny that about the same plan put forward by the opposition.
    This government has probably forced this guy into the open arms of Sinn Fein or the Socialist Workers party who will be happy to sucker a vote out of him.

He has been stung by market forces. But if a left wing gov was formed, there tax, (and raid the penson fund) and spend policies will create an enviormnment where you wont have any savings, to invest on the stockmarket, cause you'll be bankrolling the budget deficit policies for many years to come.
    He has reason to be aggrieved. Making fun of him does not help.

Yes but the fault if any lays at his own door. Sorry mate. bad luck, and a bad business decision .Learn from it.
    The opinion the shares were overpriced was available to you before you sent off your check.
    The value of a company is not a fixed figure. It tends to be how much someone is willing to pay for it.
    And people were willing to pay the governments estimate of the value of Eircom.

X

• Registered Users Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Is FF actually that bad? I dont think so.. oh sure there are some problems there always are but this country as far as im concerned has never been better! Even the so called Jobs crisis is not much of a crisis.. there are plenty of jobs! I was in Blanchardstown at the weekend and half the shops were crying out for staff.. thats just one place were there are jobs.. retail.... even the tech sector is not as bad as people think!

I agree with Xterminator completely on this.
    No Government could possibly attend to everything in one term or several.
    I thankfully did not invest in Eircom as I heeded my own instincts that they were overpriced.
    Back when Thatcher started the privatising game in the UK all the Tv adverts stated that the value of your investment can go up as well as down.
    It's a risky business and you can get your fingers burned.
    Regarding Foreigners working here-at the height of our recent Economic growth, the Workforce simply wasn't there to keep this Economy growing.
    Thats why the Fás jobs fair was travelling all around the world encouraging people to come here to work and pay Irish taxes,spend money on Irish goods and services etc .
    I understand that in the middle of last year Mary Harneys dept. tightened up the regulations for foreigners getting Work visa's here.This was in response to the down-turn and especially the fall out from Sept 11th.
    Currently a business has to satisify Mary Harney's dept that all local options to find an employee have been exhausted before She will grant a work visa to a non EU citizen.

On a negative note I am very disapointed with this Govt's performance on the health service.
    It requires a lot of money and management overhaul.
    People having to go from Waterford to Dublin for Cancer Care is Simply not good enough :mad:
    mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Mailman

that Jamie Sinott wasn't treated compassionately by this government and that his mother was forced to pursue a doomed court action to try to make the government meet their obligations.
    or
    that immigrants were allowed to enter freely and then treated like cattle at our make shift immigration centers.
    or
    that Eircom shares were priced at IPO higher than recommended by consultants to this government.
    or
    that the poverty gap has widened in the last 5 years.

Magic fixes???? How about at least seeming to care. this government were bloody mindedly intent not to concede any wrong done much less rectify the problems themselves.

Mick noonan was minister for health and followed his legal advice on the Hep C scandal to the letter,blunder of all blunders-at least this Govt. are doing something on that score.

Illegal immigrants come here at their peril-if they have a legitimate case-fair enough,but if you want to divert Millions to look after them,the ordinary citizen will suffer

The Telecom shares were over priced at IPO but you didn't have to buy them, those that did and got out quick made a profit.
    Those that didn't were at the mercy of the markets and they had none.
    Even if the Eircom shares were placed at the lower end of the consultants range-People would still have lost an awfull lot of money , due to the downturn in the Telecoms market and the then un fore-seen 3G disaster.

No matter what society you are in there will be a poverty trap for varying reasons.But as a citizen of this country , I have a much better opportunity to better my self than in India or Bangadesh-thats where real poverty exists.
    mm

• Registered Users Posts: 78,369 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Xterminator
    No, to my knowledge the citizens of uganda have not noticed any difference.
    Actually they have - as they are one of the focus countries for the Dept. of Foreign Affairs overseas aid programme, which is growing rapidly from a grossly underfunded figure.
    If i were to be serious, i could pointout that childrens allowance has rocketed.
    But doesn't come anywhere near covering the cost of raising a child.
    Pensions went up faster than inflation, as did welfare allowance.
    If you go by the CPI, but this is becoming increasingly irrelevant as it only covers a very basic standard - it is a "Consumer Price Index" - it is not a cost of living index. Pensioners and those availing of social assitance are not hugely better off.
    Millions removed from the tax net, and the standard and higher rates of tax reduced.
    Strange becuase even Bertie claims its only a few hundred thousand - people earning less than about €8,000 a year.
    and the standard and higher rates of tax reduced.
    And tax breaks continued for the rich.
    Full emplyment reached, (by international standards).
    Through the "retiring off" of the older structurally unemployed and the keeping of many students in an extra year of school (cheaper than the dole), the education is to be lauded the Enronesque accounting not.
    Adult education made a priority for those 'left behind'
    Really?
    Minumin wage introduced.
    But still taxed.
    Health care funding increased as a proportion of GDP.
    Yes, as the as the (too few) doctors earn €100,000 to €200,000 per year. Waiting lists for a consultation 'appointment' (not examination, not treatment) can still be many months.

Yes they have done lots, but there is a lot that could have been done but wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

Originally posted by Victor
    Yes, as the as the (too few) doctors earn €100,000 to €200,000 per year.
    The vast majority of doctors don't earn anywhere near that. And if you work out an hourly rate for hospital doctors, they are not very well paid at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,369 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Meh
    The vast majority of doctors don't earn anywhere near that. And if you work out an hourly rate for hospital doctors, they are not very well paid at all.
    Quite a few do, ten minutes with a GP can cost €35 (=€403,000 per year, I know there are costs and downtime).

And while yes they work for it, other groups are not similiarly rewarded. And yes interns are treaded very badly. There should be more doctors paid a lower (but still good) average salary.

But doesn't come anywhere near covering the cost of raising a child.[/B]

Does anyone really expect the government to pay them the full cost of raising there own child regardless of circumstance?
    Surley people are responsible for raising there own children?
    My point was that child poverty was addressed by increasing the child allowance exponentally, because this more often goes to the child than say at point of social welfare. Child allowance is not meant to cover the cost of raising a child. It is an allownace towards raising one.
    If you go by the CPI, but this is becoming increasingly irrelevant as it only covers a very basic standard - it is a "Consumer Price Index" - it is not a cost of living index. Pensioners and those availing of social assitance are not hugely better off..[/B]

Again the oul argument of how to measure these things.
    Do you belive that poverty is the lack of consumer electronics, levi jeans and adidas runners, or is poverty the lack of food, a roof over your head, and basic healthcare?
    I dont expect the unemployed to be able to buy PS2's for there children from their payments, and i dont consider it to be poverty if they cant afford them.
    Shop in dunnes or aldi.
    Through the "retiring off" of the older structurally unemployed and the keeping of many students in an extra year of school (cheaper than the dole), the education is to be lauded the Enronesque accounting not...[/B]

Funny, when the enemployed dont have the skills thats the governments fault, and when they are given the chance to build these skills, thats enron accounting for you.
    (minumin wage)But still taxed.
    .[/B]
    Of course it is taxed, if there tax free credits are exceeded.
    But they will still have there tax free allownce, and will only pay the much reduced rate of tax on the excess income that is taxable. And they are contributing to society too!
    Yes they have done lots, but there is a lot that could have been done but wasn't.

I agree with that! more could have been done. I just get annoyed when certain biased people trot out the usual blinkered view that nothing was done!
    I am much better off, and so are virtually everone in my family.

X

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

Originally posted by Victor
    There should be more doctors paid a lower (but still good) average salary.
    Agreed. The consultants shouldn't be allowed skim off all the money. Good luck to any government that tries to get this through though...