Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

So you think you know Boards.ie?

• 29-04-2002 12:30am
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Heres a little test:

1. Only one company ever paid us for adverts. Who were they?

2. Boards sprung out of a board on which website?

3. Before that it was a mailing list of mates. What was the mailing list address?

4. Son Of Blam once ended up posting from which foreign location and why?

5. What was bubbles most famous alter ego?

6. Who was behind the *unofficial* CS Irish Team? :)

7. How many boards did Boards.ie start with and can you name them?

8. Who is Tr1n1ty?

9. What piece of furniture is Vexorg often reported to lick?

10. How was the url www.boards.ie secured from an IEDR who were unwilling to give out generic names at the time.

Post your answers here (and put them in spoilers if you like :) )
    Winning answers gets a beer from me at the next beers night.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

4. Son Of Blam once ended up posting from which foreign location and why

CPL trials for CS in DNC, he got wasted and went with becky the camera girl to italy (rome I think)

6. Who was behind the *unofficial* CS Irish Team?

Zero I think, I remember a huge row breaking out on the CS board after, not sure who exactly was the main culprit but I think it was Zero, or maybe one of the Quake CPL team members....

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

4)
    italy

5)
    .. dwane ?

6)
    em... me?

7)
    at a guess, 6?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭hacktavist

1. RTE?
    2. quake.ie
    3. ?
    4. ?
    5. ?
    6. ?
    7. quake
    8. (Sandra O'Casey) an admin
    9. table?
    10. something to do with spinsol pretending it was a sub company or something

Define "most famous"? I'd have said Ali G myself.
    10. How was the url www.boards.ie secured from an IEDR who were unwilling to give out generic names at the time.

Not sure but at a guess I'd say sexual favours?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

"most infamous" Mills, ( and I think the funnaeist :) )

So far a dissappointingly low number of correct answers. :)

Also "an admin" is not an acceptible answer to number 8 :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Mangatoanime.com ?
    Cloud boards or quake.ie ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭hacktavist

3 lacerta.ucg.ie ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

1. PTV?
    2. Cloud Boards?
    10. Registered Boards as a company?

I am such a n00b!! :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

1.The brew crew
    2.http://lacerta.ucg.ie/boards
    4.Italy
    5.AliG
    6.You
    8.Your Sist0r
    9.Carpet
    10.You did a 'trading as boards.ie' for a day to get the name

I'll get back to you on 3 and 7 when I'm sober!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

[edit]

On second thoughts I'm not gonna say a word

[/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

2. I would of said Cloud Boards but it was probably a union of that and spinsol's quake plazooka board.

5. He's had loads? (Ref: Bubble Identity crisis card). At a guess, Willy the Chipmunk.

6. Zero.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I'm pretty sure of 7 or 8 of them :)

Brew Crew

The "Quakeboard" on quake.ie - old HTML message board led to the Cloud Boards (laerta.ucg.ie), which in turn lead to the creation of boards.ie

3. Before that it was a mailing list of mates. What was the mailing list address?

gah - quake@iol.ie I think - a little before my time.

Italy with Becky

Pikachu/Dwane/Jade/how many others?

2 possibles:
    HIV were threatening to ha><0r terminal adaptors. ;)

Zero had the idea at a Quake lan in Nethouse to say the people who won the CPL Quake Qualifiers were going to whip together a CS team for the craic and enter as Ireland's official team.

5: After Hours, Games, Technology, For Sale and Sport

8. Who is Tr1n1ty?

Someone's (DeV's I think) sister - a director of Spin.

His joystick??? No idea :)

You legally changed Spin to "Boards ltd" for a full day as a bet with Cloud. This let you register your "company's" name as a .ie domain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

10 - or did a certain ex-IOL team leader help you get the domain as a favour to Devore ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

hmmm highest score so far is about 6... Hobbes, you should know better then to say quakapalooza board was merged with lacerta :p ... anyway, I meant earlier then that :)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Jade

That bubbles chap is an asshole - he should have been banned years ago.

yea, but he was better at tribes than you jade :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭MindPhuck

got any hard questions ? :)

How about, who mad the 5,000th post on the boards- why back in the olden days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

Originally posted by tHE vAGGABOND
    How about, who mad the 5,000th post on the boards- why back in the olden days :)

U did you muppet :)

MP asked for harder questions :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

3. listserv@iol.ie or something like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Pikachu

I agree with that Jade lass, bubbles should have been gotten rid of years go.

8. Who is Tr1n1ty?

1. Beer Crew
    2. Cloud set up WWWboard on a sever at NUI galway and then they became cloud boards, and then moved to quake.ie and now to where it is today.
    3. listserv@iol.ie ??
    4. Italy
    5. too many to list....at a guess bubbles :)
    6. Zero
    7. 5 - after hours, quake, tech, for sale, games
    8. Sandra O Casey - Dev sis (i think)
    9. no idea
    10. Dev reregistered Spisol for a day to boards ltd and got it that way as a bet with cloud.

people have yet to get at least 4 of these questions right.
    I dont think I've seen a correct answer for questions: 1,3,6 and 9.
    The other answers have been dodgy at best :)

Brew crew paid us in beer as a favour to our mates but I dont count that because we cant pay the server people with beer so its not a true currency.

So cmon then MP, you have the best chance of answering some of these! (read: MP is older then me )

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

I own Inniu so that rules out that :)

I've reordered Music and Education so that they are listed with the main forums at the top and on main page, also Community forums are together and Admin at the end.

1. Spinsol

Ah go on, it's not that hard!
    Received: from GPO.iol.ie (root@GPO2.GPO.iol.ie [194.125.2.197])
    by mail.iol.ie Sendmail (v8.8.7) with ESMTP id WAA02590; Wed,
    22 Oct 1997 22:54:10 +0100 (IST)

Hi Guys ,

Anyone who`s interested in carrying on discussions or just generally talking about games can now subscibe to a new IOL mailing , rather than having a whole buncha nicks stored in your mail client .

Just send an email to listserv@listserv.iol.ie , with *no* subject and the
    following line in your message area :-

subscribe Name removed

Seeyas ,

Shiva

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

I remember there being just a list of names that emails were sent too. Never mind these new fangled email lists.

Gav

haha hard question. who, according to cloud, set up the dm4 challenge ?

And who was the first person caught cheating on it ?

Here's some more blasts from the past:

Still uploading...

John.
    --

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Kraken

links dont work in da archives cloud. :(

Uploading now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

haha classy!

got any of zero's news lying around there while you're at it ?

Gav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

1) I'd have to say DNC
    2) was it not ign.boards?
    3) listserv@listserv.iol.ie (as cloud just put it up) :D
    4) Blam went to Rome after wining a keg from the brew crew and following Becky from her apartment (or something like that)
    5) I'm gona have to say Bubbles on this one........lets face it he post using other accounts more than this one
    6)Zero was as far as I can remember
    7) Hmmmm........Afterhours, Quake, Roleplay, Sport, Tech, Forsale, work, there was a Tribes one too I think...and I think 2 others
    9) Carpit? that or a coat stand :D
    10) you pimped spin :)

oh the memories... it brings tears to my eyes :P

Shinji's history of the IGN attached.

John.
    --
    [16:58] <dev> why not do
    [16:58] <dev> www.boards.ie
    [16:58] <Cloud-Warrior> and how would you get that url then?
    [16:58] <dev> watch me :)
    [16:58] <Cloud-Warrior> you'd need a company or trademark :/
    [16:58] <dev> watch me :)

Very cool stuff there John.

One thing I noticed tho, is the IGN.TXT file, looks strangely familiar.

http://www.boards.ie/archives/wwwboard.quake.ie/messages/3791.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

no idea. :)

www.quake.ie
    this is the earliest i could find of it. :)
    http://web.archive.org/web/19991002235127/http://www.spinsol.com/qpdiscuss/

listserv@listserv.iol.ie (because cloud told me.)

Rome, Italy. He got wasted at a lan (free keg from brew crew) and ended up going away with the 'camera girl' becky. she was going to rome the next morning. he had his passport on him for id, and went to the airport. all he could afford was a 1-way ticked to rome. - i think.

'bubbles'

zero

on Apr 08, 2000, boards.ie had 18 boards. these were....

After Hours
    - Games
    - Quake
    - Unreal
    - Half-Life
    - Tribes
    - Role Playing
    - Films / TV
    - Books
    - Music / Radio
    - Humanities
    - Humour

Sport

Technology
    - Webmaster
    - Security

Work

For Sale

8. Who is Tr1n1ty?
    Sandra O'Casey

he is quoted as saying "I sit closer to it than 6ft as I find it very difficult to lick and caress it from that distance." about a 21inch IIyama Monitor. Dunno if this is what your on about. probably not. :)

You changed spin to boards ltd to get the name.

rofl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

In fairness though, Shinji's is funnier.

P.s My bookmark for boards.ie is still IGN, and I remember when there were two boards. Quake and Games. Quake was much more popular and Games was were the muppets hung out (ahh how times have changed).

Before that I logged onto the Galway based Cloud boards, which were so tacky by todays standards, and remember thinking "oh my god (before I learned leetspeak) Irish nerds". I had only known American and Scandinavian ones previously. Didn't register though. A fact that haunts me to this very day. I COULD HAVE BEEN A CONTENDER! I COULD HAVE BEEN A JAN 95'ER! BASTARDS! I HATE YOU ALL, YE FAEGS! WITH YER FECKING JAN 95 TAGS. Walking around like ye fecking own the place. Fecking Jan 95 me arse.. Wasn't even a feckin intarwab in 1995, lucky if there was electricity and a fiver would get you laid, with change for the tram......

Who can tell? Who cares? I don't. Right, I'm off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,502 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by amp
    Fecking Jan 95 me arse. Wasn't even a feckin intarwab in 1995, lucky if there was electricity and a fiver would get you laid, with change for the tram......
    Tram?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Oh shut up you, you n00b!

A: EMCEE (Plantronics)

A: www.quake.ie of course....
    A lot of people got the sequence of events wrong too.
    the history goes like this:
    1. Mailing list on iol.
    2. wwwboard.quake.ie
    3. lacerta.ucg.ie (we though Eircom were going to pull the plug on
    quake.ie and we evacuated everyone to clouds own work machine.
    3a. I set up a separate board for Quakapalooza on Spins server
    4. Lacerta is off air and we move everything to a temporary spin solutions board
    5. Lacerta comes back on air.
    6. John and I and the others form a company to make it all legal and commence www.boards.ie and we've been here ever since!

A: I knew the answer and now I dont. Must have been all that beer on Saturday. I think it was games@listserv.iol.ie
    Cloud knows (he hoards backups of everything :) )

Indeed SOB ended up in Italy with Becky. Awww.
    I was sure he was messin so I traced his ip and sure enough, it was a cybercafe in Italy.

A: I'll take Ali-G or Bubbles (which I never thought of but find amusing :) ). There are only a handful of people who know the real story of how I found out that he was Ali-G and I'm not telling :)

HAhah, seems everyone blames Zero, actually it was a scarily funny wind up by RevHellfire, Castor, Butcher of Nog and the HIV boys, replete with a crappy synthesiser version of the Irish national anthem and an animated waving flag, they announced that they fake named players were going to become the Irish team as they were LEET, much to the outcries of the CSer's.

A: 5. Sport, tech, work, afterhours, For Sale.
    I think we created another 5-10 or so the first week too.

8. Who is Tr1n1ty?
    Sandra O'Casey, ex-commercial director of Spin Solutions
    current director of Boards.ie and indeed, my sister who finds the
    whole thing weird but amusing.

A: My (or regis) chairs in work. Its *absolutely* unsettling.

Having been legally threatened by the IEDR just before that I wasnt exactly personae-gratis so applying directly wasnt really an option. We went to the CRO and changed the name of Spin Solutions Ltd to Boards LTD for a day, got the papers and had IOL apply for the name for us (they are resellers for the IEDR).
    It went to appeal but we won it and there you go.

Aside: Yes, myself and Cloud had a bet that I couldnt get the name. Cloud had tried to get Cloud.ie but was just as much in their bad books and me. He didnt rate our chances and so bet that if I could get the name he'd build the site.
    I got the name and true to his word Cloud built the site and thats how come cloud still looks after a lot of the programming.

So there you have it.
    cloud, if you still have that fateful IRC log where we are trying to think of names can you send it to me? We were so close to calling it www.forums.ie or a few other ones :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭regi

HAhah, seems everyone blames Zero, actually it was a scarily funny wind up by RevHellfire, Castor, Butcher of Nog and the HIV boys, replete with a crappy synthesiser version of the Irish national anthem and an animated waving flag, they announced that they fake named players were going to become the Irish team as they were LEET, much to the outcries of the CSer's.

It was TFC actually tom :D

Log sent, of course I only pasted the uncensored parts ;)

i for one would like to see that log :) if thats possible.

Here's the log

I only cleaned up a few of the liabelous bits :)
    Its a hoot to read this back from where we are now.
    God, nostalgia, its not what it used to be :)
    (we never *did* get the baby forums)

DeV.