Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Limits - Make a complaint

• 30-04-2001 1:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭

Sorry but I think this warrants a new topic. I just called my 'ISP' to register my complaint about being kicked off their 'service'. The guy on the phone told me that they are basically telling people at this point to write a letter (mustnt be on email yet) to the following address:

Marketing Department,
    6th Floor
    Grand Canal Plaza
    Dublin 4

Seriously folks I would encourage you all to write letters of complaint...I am going to, it is better to do something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Aye im drafting one up as you speak.Only thing is they prob wont take a bit of heed of it.But if htta post about the utv flatrate isdn and normal dial up is correct then to hell with esat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Joe22

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Gunn4r

Ok my letter has been sent! Please go write yours now, if you want send em to me and I will drop em in for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I just rang esat. Had a nice old rant to the girl on the phone about the nasty letter I received this morning, and I don't think she was too happy when I started calling their claims of "violating the spirit of the nolimits service" utter bull**** smile.gif

She claimed that they've sent "the letter" (tm) to the 10% of their customers with the highest usage - she says this is about 2600 people. She went on to blame eircom/the odtr for the problem (yeah they may have a point) and then went on about how they were the only company offering such a service, blah blah blah - which, I explained was why i was so angry at being "kicked" from the service as I can't afford to pay per-minute. When i started giving out about the cheek of them offering me IOL Gold instead she (unconvincingly) started explaning why that was better for me... Yeah right!!

Lets form an angry mob wink.gif

mad.gifmad.gifmad.gif

- Munch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

2 things:

If your going to resign to the fact that they are going to cancel your account then abuse it as much as possible till May 31st.

If not go ahead and write a letter to the above address registering your disappointment, just don't go offering any excuses as to why you need to be connected at 3:30 in the morning to porn sites.

I personally will be doing both smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I only use it at weekends i can only hope mine survives frown.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Yeah I just rang.. heres how the conversation went:

me: Hi I've just received a letter stating I'd be cut off. Can you explain this please.

her: Yes, well basically we've been reveiwing our statistics over the last few months and it's shown that the top 10% of people over using the service...

me: SOrry what do you mean by overusing? Isn't it an unlimited service?

her: No actually at the moment it's not an..

me: But it's been marketed as an unlimited service.. Esat no limits ring a bell?

her: well actually two months ago we had a policy review and remember the three hour cut off you were informed of?

me: Was that policy inforced?

her: Well no..

me: Why not?

her: For various reasons.

me: So a policy was formulated but never enforced.. I would then make the assumption the policy is not in use, I have no limits and no cut off on my account and unless informed otherwise or unless some policy was put in place I would still regard it as a nolimits service.

Her: Well... amm.. there are more complicated things.. you see the ODTR and eircom..

me: Yes on the 09 of last month the ODTR gave eircom a one month deadline to unbundle the local loop and supplied two new numbers, one dedicated to flat rate access

her: Well.. well.. yes.. but you see these numbers.. and eircom...

me: So have I an unlimited account or not.. this really seems like discrimination based on internet usage statistics and would certainly be a legal matter

her: no.. no.. it's not.. we're not discriminating against anybody it's just eircom they cost us alot it's a big complex issue

me: so where do you think I stand legally?

her: the contract says at any time for commercial or technical reasons we can change the service we just have to give you 30 days notice

me: does this include commercial and technical discrimination?

her: look I really can't do anything, you fall into the over use bracket

me: Again how can I overuse something we have both established is still an unlimited service

her: I really can't say it's very complex and I'm afraid theres nothing I can do.. sorry *click*

me: ho hum...

It's all true folks.. phone this woman and fluster her.. she can't do anything as shes surely only an Esat peon put on the phones for the angry masses but hey!!

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

Munch what was it your letter said??

(Sorry I'm an lpb swine with no up to date info about hpbness) tongue.gif

That said I was planning on getting Eshat SNL into the gaff week after next....

If the bottom falls out of your world, drink Andrews and the world will fall out of your bottom!!
    games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

theres a picture of it
    here:

http://www.boards.ie/members/munch/esat.jpg
    or on the other east thread smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Stephen:

Lets form an angry mob wink.gif

</font>

I propose we storm the esat headquarters!Take it over and wreck the place lol.

VIVA LE REVOLUTION!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

/me gets in touch with the skin heads... anarachy!!

.logic.

this is aload of ******, pure and simple,
    i will not be ****ed around like this,
    **** esat, as soon as i have a chance to change to something else i am,
    juses christ were do they get off, just changing the hole thing around,
    in efect its not the same service anymore,
    its £20 a month for 75 hours a month off peak access, hmm £20 for 75 hours,thats a charge of about 17 pence an hour off peak, still better then 60 an hour to eircom for off peak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Well I got the dreaded letter this morning...
    My only regret now is that I didn't scrèw them by staying connected while I slept while downloading a few gigs of pr0n.
    I think it's pretty funny that they advertise their IOL Gold crap after just kicking you off their already crap SNL service.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    ...you stand to save up to 20% per month...*

* This percentage saving is based only on internet call costs and does not include subscription costs.</font>
    The fking cheek of that... like I'd want anything to do with eshat after seeing how crap SNL is and how they like to f*ck people around.

I think it's very unfair that they didn't just mail us and say - "hey, can ye keep your usage below X hours please? ta."
    It's not like I was using SNL more than I was with my previous indigo/eircom dialup ffs.

Oh well, at least I'll be free from the usual fag9t 300ms IOL ping... but I can see things getting very quiet around here come May 31st frown.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭vac

I use a gold account and let me just say, you get fu*k all for your money.

I get nothing but busy tones, laggy games, **** downloads and bad connection speeds...

I also rang up sometime last week to complain about busy tones and bad connection speeds and they guy gave me a local dublin number to dial up to and that the 1890 number only connects me to the server, i then said "But whats the point of the gold account then? is the point not to dial up to a 1890 number and get cheaper call rates? So what good is your account if i have to connect to a local number at a local rate?" he just said something like "ehhh look im sorry thats what has to be done, bye"

My last phone bill was over 800 quid and thats mainly from dialling up with eircom due to the bad connections of iol.

:/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭TARE

Are you sure of this 10% figure ? they may be trying to show there only cutting off a small number of there customers, i don't think anything is beyond these corporate h0rs.

their cutting off anybody that uses more then 75 hours a month,
    so as you can imagine thats allot more then 10%, most gamers play online longer then that,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 core

I hope that letter for my brother downstairs isn't me gettin cut off.Oh no.Cant wait for him to get home.

"Who dares wins"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

I got shafted tooo .... lousy democrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Well after reading this post I just found the letter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

ESAT r **** head ****ers :
    "if you continue with that tone sir i would no longer like to continue this conversation".....emmm ffs ye are costing us about 300 quid or more each and you act like ye are the vicims...esat is only leaving people who never use there service but have the direct debit going none the less this is a scam and there has to be something illegal about it. frown.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

From a legal point of view I don't think anyone who recieved the letter has a leg to stand on basically on the license/agreement thingy it sayss they have the right to change elements of the services.

Now if this extend to more or less booting off the top 10% of users I dunno ..... ***** away like a mad whore neway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 The Professor

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Joe22:
    their cutting off anybody that uses more then 75 hours a month,
    so as you can imagine thats allot more then 10%, most gamers play online longer then that,
    </font>

But 75 hours averaged out over a month is only about 150 minutes a day, which hardly sounds excessive. No, I don't buy this for two reasons, firstly they didn't warn us in advance to reduce our time online and secondly, they didn't provide an option to pay slightly more and stay with a No Limits package.

No, I reckon they want to drop the product completely or limit it to those, that use the service so rarely that they'd be better on a different scheme. First they carry out a major cull and then they kill Surf No Limits completely on the grounds that the small number of customers, makes it uneconomic.

[This message has been edited by The Professor (edited 30-04-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Cr8or

lads look at this
    http://www.boards.ie/members/cr8or/
    all they info yeas will need

The Professor your right and your wrong,
    they are cutting off anybody that used more then 75 hours a month(note 75hours is the exact amount of time they get from eircom for £20)
    as for the rest your right, its all just to end the service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭zeemoud

(imagine im speeking in a negro ghetto accent)

hey niggaz and hoes,

Yo dogg wat the story with theese muthaf*ucken G's up in here, what kinda east-coast nigg** would pull a *hit like that Nigge** please i need my connection so i can hook up to detroit and get me my orders pronto.and the worst mutha*ucken sh.it is they don't give me no warning like some cheap ass kansas hoe b.itch.es my niggs are going overdose in here like fuc**n kid rock.I says we go down to mutha*ucken Grand Canal Plaza and bust a few G's like the doggs we arez.

**** pleeze you must have a mental disease.

P3 **** P3 P3

P3 massive till i die....

o if feels like im in the ghetto right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭sixpack's little hat

that 75 hours a month is bull****. i just looked at my bills and my average works out at just below 60 hours a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Gee thankz ladz, definitly dont wanna go home now in case the letter is there frown.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Cond0r

I'm only just registered here, but i've been following the boards for quite a while..... I know there are lots n lots of angry eshat users out there and there's a site where you can submit your comments, the statistics created from these submitions will be forwarded to, and examined by director of consumer affairs the site is:
    www.alty.org/concern

You have served me well, Now get the **** out of here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Skeptic1

Personally, I think Esat handled this badly. This business about the "spirit of the service" was a mistake. The tone of the letter suggested that it was the customers "fault" that they were being cut off. This was wrong. The people they are cutting off may have complied fully with the terms of the service. The service was advertised as unlimited off-peak access and people simply took Esat up on this.

But I think they were entirely within their rights to terminate the service. The reason people are being removed is because they make a loss for Esat. They are getting a service at below cost.

In a way, I think, those protesting against Esat are making a mistake. How long did people think Esat were willing to make a loss? It is true that Esat advertised a flat-rate service. But they did deliver this service at the time. What people are questioning is Esat's right not to supply a service. If Esat never supplied this service, would they be protesting? They once advertised a service and supplied this service for a time.

When you pay £20 to esat, you are entitled to one month of Esat's advertised service. If you don't get that, certainly, you have cause to complain. But I don't think it's reasonable to expect a company to provide a service in perpituity (particularly a loss making one). If Esat are such b*stards, why aren't a load of other companies offering these services. Will protesting encourage other companies to supply this service.

The situation we should have in Ireland is one where, if you don't like a service, you vote with your feet. Protesting against Esat will not bring this about. How many other companies do you know that will set up a similar loss making service here?

Lots of people work on a contractual basis for individuals and companies. There is always a get out clause whereby if either party wishes to leave, they can (subject to a notice period).

I, myself, have worked as a contractor and discontinued my service to the customer because the work didn't suit me. The customer might have been dissapointed, but I would have regarded protesting (i.e. phoning me up continuously) as extremely unreasonable. Note: I could have given any or no reason for my leaving.

If you are protesting, what are you protesting about? Either 1. the way they handled the termination of accounts or 2) their right to terminate accounts or 3) they should never have offered the service in the first place.

If it's 1. then I understand. Maybe Esat will send a new letter out which does not put the customer at fault.

If it's 2. then with sufficient pressure, they may back down and offer a lesser service (it seems they are doing this). But the current sh*tty internet access situation won't change. Plus, the original 'nolimits' will have gone.

If it's 3. This is silly. You are saying you would rather have been spending far more money for two years rather than have a cheap service for a while and then lose it.

Am I making sense here? How did people get so naive and spoiled? Internet access is a service that companies are free to provide at what ever price they want. The customer is free to choose between the various offerings. When you signed up for the service you agreed to Esat's right to terminate the service for any reason.

Protesting, simply because you are not getting what you want, is childish, unless you can establish that you have a right to that something. You have no more a right to cheap Internet services than you have to cheap flights to America (substitute something else you might want here).