Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A Bet with Devore

• 14-05-2002 8:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭

Most people here think im some kind of spaming muppet passive aggressive gob****e.
    Now id like northing more then prove the vast majority of the board totally and completely wrong.

So I wish to enter into an agreement, abet you will, witness be the boards.ie community, that for one year from this date I can say completely out of trouble. I can not only avoid being banned, but also getting involved in flame wars, that dustaz, Gerry shinji or all those other guys will not have a single cause to complain about me, no one.

How will I achieve this, and by what marker of success will I be judged, I shall retire my Boston account for the year and take up a new one. My success will be judge by the fact that in one year’s time you will not even know what the other account is, because the account will have never been brought to your attention. The bet should you chouse to accept it will be settled in the boards piss up one year from now.

If you chose to except this best it and im successful in one years time I get my mod ship back, and this time I won’t have any trouble as ill have proved myself.

If I lose well you have benefited from me not being in your hair for awhile.

Its your choice to reject this offer, an console to to the pits of stupid things you couldn’t be arsed wasting time with. Personally I think I would be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i bet you i could tell who you are inside 2 weeks.

but change the name. too many people associate it with muppetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I hope it's not from this point on cos your sig is already baiting dustaz

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

if it's what you want Boston, go for it and 'bon chance' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭stu_69

**cough** gobsh1te

Boston who the fu(k cares. This is not some social experiment. This is a community where you should be able to act civilised all the time under the nick you first chose. If you come back under a new nick and stay good for a year why do you think you should get your modship back? You shouldn't have lost it in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Why would you want to be a mod again? why go through this whole stupid bet thing? All a mod does is delete muppet posts and keep topics on track.... the only thing you can miss is a power trip in which case point is made... once you get it back again.. arrogence returns as does muppetry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Excellent reply Mercury. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Give him a chance, personally i dont think he's that bad, a lot of people seem to jump on the Bash Boston Bandwagon just to fit in.
    I dont see the harm in letting him do it, should be interesting, anyways its impossible to stay out of trouble for a year because some people just take an instant dislike to others
    bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by bombidol
    because some people just take an instant dislike to others
    bomb

and you certainly seem to know about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I suppose if he went around the world and travelled for a year and did not use the boards then it just might work....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

And so Boston once again played the I will make personal sacrafices in the name of boards, selflessly and with no regard for his massive post count and No Life status to return to the ranks of the unwashed cool newbies. So brave, so noble, so fecking what?

WE DON'T CARE!

Now, print that out put and stick it on your monitor. Everytime you feel that the conspiracy is out to get you, look at that sentence. Everytime you think that you have a profound influence on the culture of the boards look at it.

Looking forward to your next martyredom,

amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,762 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Give the guy a chance!

X

Originally posted by Xterminator
    Give the guy a chance!

X
    NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Go for it Boston, but I bet you you will be sniffed out in a matter of days, unless of course you thoroughly check through your response for spelling mistakes etc, and lapses into calling people Dustin for example.

I either back WWman on his 2 week or I say that I will rootle you out within 4 weeks!

Flame on Mcduff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Boston, it's a moderatorship on an internet message board. No-one gives a flying fuck at a rolling donut whether you can stay out of trouble for a year. Really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Once boston gets his power back you will all pay, but not just you but your families and pets as well. Ohh yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by amp

WE DON'T CARE!

Never have 3 truer words been spoken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

Originally posted by Boston
    I shall retire my Boston account for the year and take up a new one.

you are going to keep the name aezeezleial then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Most people here think im some kind of spaming muppet passive aggressive gob****e.
    Now id like northing more then prove the vast majority of the board totally and completely wrong.

Boston, ask yourself why people think that you are some kind of spaming muppet passive aggressive gob****e.

Answer ?

Why do you have to prove anything ? Did anyone challenge you directly and say "i believe you are this that and the other thing, prove me wrong" ?

amp said it best : You're not the Muppet King, you're just a plain old garden variety spam muppet and that's the saddest part of this whole thread.

/edit
    I just noticed that DeVore is yet to respond, at least in public, to this thread. Why ? Cos he couldnt be bothered. Its a pointless venture. Just be the better man and leave it go.....

newnicksamecrap.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Boston, if you did what you were suggesting, all it would prove is that you go out of your way to annoy people, that you are a troll and a flame warrior, in much the same way that you - by your own admission - mispell your posts intentionally. I'm amazed no-one has pointed this out yet.

Just add Boston to your ignore list folks, you know it makes sense. Most of the garbage he comes out with isn't worth reading anyway. It certainly isn't worth replying to.

adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by DeadBankClerk

you are going to keep the name aezeezleial then?
    funneh! everyone quick look at the funneh little man...

make a few spelling mistakes there and I'll believe you Merc

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Jesus, ok, whatever gets you to shuuut up!

And I didnt reply to this before because ITS WAS ONLY POSTED AT 9AM THIS MORNING AND I HAVE A JOB YOU KNOW.

Christ, this isnt Melrose Place you know.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

Originally posted by azezil
    funneh! everyone quick look at the funneh little man...

go close a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Gaz

This all seems like such a waste of a perfectly good tread ..tut tut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

nice offer merc
    so whre on devore, grand. bet starts tonigh at 12 midnight

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Be still my beating heart...

DeV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Least we'd have some totty around the place if it was. :)

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Boston, you have tried start afresh, what, 7 times so far?
    The best you have done is the Boston a/c which lasted about a week before some people copped on and 4 or 5 months before the rest of the boards realised it was you.

Give it the **** up.

Also, Dev, didnt you say you would be banning people who had multiple accounts?

Ban boston incely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Smashing. The winter months will just FLY by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'd recognise the lousy spelling and grammar anywhere....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

I rate this thread 5 on the 'I give a ****' Scale.

However, its getting up there on the laugh scale :)

Hey boston, since your sticking quotes from me in your sig, please get them right. What i actually said was :
    Re: Your ioffl posts

quote:

Dustaz wrote on 12-05-2002 16:52:
    You have been banned from Ireland Offline.

Re-posting the same thing that is being deleted is not a clever thing to do.

quote:

Boston wrote on 12-05-2002 16:39:

quote:

Dustaz wrote on 12-05-2002 16:33:
    Boston, dont start this again. Your not the font of all knowledge. I edited your posts because they were downright incorrect and we do not like mis-information on the Ioffl forum.
    If you continue to carry on like you are at the moment, you will be banned from the forum. Your past record is not good with this sort of thing. Please try to hold your temper.

BTW, the name is Dustaz. Spell it incorrectly again and i will edit your posts.

im very clam, ban me from the forum for hmm not being right and hmm misspelling your name, go ahead if you think it will get you somewhere, but five seconds later im taken this to the admin forum where i will spend hours even days fighting over this.

You have no right to delete somethign because it is wrong, and ill be damned if im going to set a presidance for it

we shall see whos clever,

Oops, i seem to have pasted the whole thing. Oh well.

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

Haven't known Boston long enough to get judgemental / flame him / back him up / take interest in the bet...

Why am I replying!?
    **** knows... Maybe because we'll all be seeing eachother at the next drinkies and I want to catch a list of potential fist fights or verbal abuse that may happen on the night :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Careful Dustin - he will "spend hours even days fighting over this"!

You have been warned!

Al.

Q: Do you think in a years time that anyone on these boards will give a flying fuck if you are dead or alive never mind if you still are a flaming childish muppet?

A: NO and NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by DeVore

Oh I don't know, some people are bigger drama queens than anything on TV :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

My dear chap Boston, for the last while I have been watching your activities from afar, but I feel I have to step in now.

Do you like being bullied, being told what to do and told your a tit?

Stand up for yourself man!!

Don't give a **** what anyone else says to you. If some people get upset over something you post, thats good!! Let them get upset over it, it takes up their time, not yours.

If you want to say something, say it. Just don't go overboard like posting a pile of porn or whatever, but if you have YOUR OWN opinion on something, post it. And even if you discover your wrong or made a mistake, never back down, make a stand.

You do have to look after and entertain No.1 after all.

Celt, that might work if A) I gave a damn what you thought or said and B) if I had to do anything you said.

Dustin, for once try not to be a turkey with a hand up its arse.

Amp, I see the problem here everyone's looking at me when they should be looking at you

dahamsta, yet you seem unable to ignore me

stu, lucky for me no one cares who you are or what you say.

DeVore, without me your life would lack all purpose and direction.

Bubble, I got this idea from you and your multi accounts as people tried to figure out who you where.

dahamsta again, clear typing would require a level of respect I am unable to demonstrate to lower life forms, like yourself.

WhiteWashMan, your on.

Trojan, the sarcasm was strong with that one, I actually offered to delete that thread if he found it offensive, I got no reply.

Slydice, that was the idea

Saruman, i never went on a power trip when I was a mod and it didn't contribute to me already high level an arrogant, a fact even those that don't like me with bear witness.

TwoShedsJackson, I know that, I moderate other forums, but here its different, don't ask me why, I just feel its something that devore especially didn't really feel I earned the first time around. I think his words where if I had known it was you id never have given you it, or something to that effect, just want to prove I can be sane for awhile and im not inherently a Muppet or an asshole.

Rev Hellfire, not really, im not that kinda person.

When you think about it I(Boston) haven't done anything to deserve being classed as a Muppet except never back down right or wrong and always say what I want how I want. I've never been verbally abusive to any member, at least not to the level ive been abused. At most ive been annoying to afew drama queens but these people are usually moaning about one thing or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Gaz

kermithead.gif

hehehehe

WhiteWashMan, your on.

My money's on WWM Boston but I'm rooting for ye from the heart :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

*snip*

When you think about it I(Boston) haven't done anything to deserve being classed as a Muppet except never back down right or wrong.

All in the same post - hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm do you read your own posts sometimes? :rolleyes:

the question is do you ever read anything i said. liek the rest of that post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Boston, are you taking the p*ss, or are you seriously interested in actually improving - and eliminating the reasons why people call you a muppet?

In a thread where you clam that you are, you go on to insult a large amount of posters. I just don't get it....
    Celt, that might work if A) I gave a damn what you thought or said and B) if I had to do anything you said.

If you don't give a damn about what people here think about you (and you shouldn't, tbh), then why are you devoting so much time to convincing people you are not a 'muppet'?

The name is Dustaz. How else do you expect people to treat you when you blatantly annoy and insult them like this?
    stu, lucky for me no one cares who you are or what you say.

Another plain insult - and also untrue.
    DeVore, without me your life would lack all purpose and direction.

Now THATS funny!
    dahamsta again, clear typing would require a level of respect I am unable to demonstrate to lower life forms, like yourself.

No, Boston- clear typing would require a minor level of intelligence and an indication on your part that you intend to get your message across clearly.
    just want to prove I can be sane for awhile and im not inherently a Muppet or an asshole.

If you want to prove that, then insulting and alienating regular and respected users of the site isn't a good way to start.
    When you think about it I(Boston) haven't done anything to deserve being classed as a Muppet except never back down right or wrong and always say what I want how I want.

Not true. You have, and you still are.

Try harder.

really bard ive never been so crude to call someone an asshole or a retard or a ****wit or to troll anybody.

Ive never trolled, because a troll is someone who posts soemthing just to flame bait someone, where as i say soemthing i mean it.

as for the dustin thing, i know its annoying but so's having your posts deleted randomly and without reason. When you where a moderator of ioffl you never had cause to delete a single post by me(boston) yes gladiator and others but not me.

How else do you expect people to treat you when you blatantly annoy and insult them like this

chicken and the egg, maybe i treat people like this because thats exactly how i view them treating me, simple fact is i get on very well with 90% of this forum its just the other 10% are extremely focal

I also noticed i rephased and reposted the exact same information on the forum under a different nick and this time it wasnt deleted. is it that if you precieve a post to be coming from one user you would believe it to be wrong out of hand?

Have to say bard we have never seen eye to eye, and never will but even you and i, two complete oposites have managed to come to an agreement amoung members and mutual respect as such, to co exist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Boston, yet again, pld.
    Celt, that might work if
    What might work?
    I gave a damn what you thought or said
    No-one gives a damn what you think or say but you continue to to think and say it on boards
    if I had to do anything you said.
    Where did I tell you to do something?
    I see your english skills have improved vastly.

really bard ive never been so crude to call someone an asshole or a retard or a ****wit or to troll anybody.
    Yes you have, many many, many times.
    Most of the time you edit it withing 2 or 3 minutes though.

Originally posted by Celt
    Boston, yet again, pld.

What might work?

No-one gives a damn what you think or say but you continue to to think and say it on boards
    fuck off you muppet

Where did I tell you to do something?
    I see your english skills have improved vastly.

Yes you have, many many, many times.
    Most of the time you edit it withing 2 or 3 minutes though.

what an abusive message, bard how do you feel about the level of abuse in this message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

what an abusive message, bard how do you feel about the level of abuse in this message
    lol 'Bard the morality officer' :D