Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"I'd rather die without my..."

• 13-06-2002 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭

Well I am doing a major life clear-out at the moment. I'm leaving Ireland mid-July (to seek my fortune, *cough*), and this time round, I've decided that if it wont fit in my rucksack then it's going in the bin / to charity, as opposed to collecting dust in some corner of my folks house.

The most interesting part of this phenomenon for me is the wardrobe clear-out that's going on at the moment. For starters, I can't believe I actually own five pairs of jeans in the first place, let alone the fact that four pairs are now on their way to oxfam.

I've discovered that I only have about five irreplaceable items that just have to come with me (no laughing please):

My rings.
    My lace-up jeans.
    My sheep.
    My red shoes.
    My ceramic elephant.

Looks like I'm going to be travelling light! (My mother's watching my preparations suspiciously, convinced that I'm off to join a cult.)

If you were off for a long time, what would you do? Leave half your belongings at your folks place? Take your whole life with you and create multiple baggage nightmares at every airport you come to? Which of your belongings are just irreplaceable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭fi

Well, the thought has crossed my mind to do just this, but i am still here and probally still will be in 10 years time too!!!

My folks live in the UK so i would ahve no where here to leave anything, but the thoughts of leaving anything behind scares me!!

theres the dvd, my jewlery, my pc and eletronic stuff, my cowboy boot all 15 pairs of them!!!!.

id bring my leather jeans [black] and my faded denims, my memphis jacket and very first teddy bear, [blackie]

the kids and dog would be a must too!!!!

id leave 90% of my clothes behind as they can be replaced, my photo albums would cme too and if i really had to i would just bring the HD of the pc filled with all the important stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

Leave it all, start off a new and exciting life with no baggage and nothing to hold you back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well, I know I'm gonna get slagged for saying it, but the only thing I couldn't leave behind is my girlfriend. Everything else is replaceable. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i#'d have to bring all my cd's, dvds and books.. i couldn't live without them.. and the computer of course.. i'd go nuts!

clothes.. bah, I@ll be indoors most of the time, I'll just wrap myself in a towel or something to keep warm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

well, i can fit all my belongings into my car. with the roof down.
    all i can be without is my passport and my credit cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Good luck Majd, I would travel as light as possible. You'd need your clothes but only enough for two weeks I'd say - some good night clothes and the rest every day stuff. Obviously your documents and tax type stuff maybe. Get a CV done while you're here. One rucksack - one hand luggage bag. Get a CD holder for your sleeveless CD's.

I wouldn't advise your elephant (I thought you gave that to me ;)). (I presume that's not a flock of sheep?!)

Travel as light as possible I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Gordon, you expressly STOLE that ellyphant and well you know it. :D

I'm actually a master packer. A skill I developed only lately in my life but still a damn useful one. I will be bringing one rucksack (small) and one piece of cabin-regulation hand luggage. It's just that this is the first time that I'm paying attention to the stuff I'm leaving behind - and getting rid of it.

...and no, it's not a flock of sheep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭Lolo

I didn't travel very far (London), but I left as much as I could in my flat (which I sub-let) without pissing off the new tenant. I then moved all my clothes, books and rekkids to my parents' house - my clothes (and most of my other stuff) are mostly vintage and therefore not replaceable. But every time I go back I see my possessions with a new impartial eye and I'm able to fill at least one binbag for charity shops.

Every time I go back to Dublin now I bring an empty suitcase and and empty record bag and fill them both. I miss my records and my clothes too much when I don't have them with me. It's a bit sad, but it's lovely to be in a strange place but still have your Ramones albums/ your little purple sequinned number/ your yellow Melamine tablware (yes, I brought that over too).

I know it's going to be a pain in the ass if I ever move back, but I have enough friends who'll mind stuff for me between trips. I'm a terrible junk accumulator, but I'm trying only to accumulate junk that I either won't mind leaving behind, or stuff I think is so fabulous that I won't mind lugging it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Red shoes?
    Say......you're not another Dorothy, are you?
    "Auntie Dev, Auntie Dev!"
    I'd bring a change of clothes, bit of documentation, big hard drive with lots of stuff on it, a good book or 4, credit card, ceramic dragon to ward off would-be wizards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

I'm making a similar move to london in a week and a half or so, and I hadn't really thought about what I'd bring yet tbh. It's not quite as permanent a move as yours, and I'm utterly useless at throwing things out when I don't have to, so everything I don't bring will be staying put here in my parent's house :).

Hmmmm, what to bring.... I'll make a list of everything I can think of now....

Passport
    Driving License
    Wallet, complete with ATM card, Xtra vision card, and Gardai Age card and some other cards and stuff, like a Game loyalty card that I've never used and a call card that I've also never used.
    Old bank a/c statements, because I heard you need them for opening an account.
    CAO and UCAS login info and Leaving cert pin number so I can get my results and sort out college places if needs be in August over the net.
    Clothes, I'll probably leave them till last and just pack in as many as I can fit in order of preference.
    PC, going to attempt to bring this in a suitcase padded with clothes, don't need a monitor so it should be do-able.
    Laptop, that I'm supposed to be getting for free but that hasn't materialised yet.
    Undecided on my DVD collection of 14 DVDs that I really like.... it'd be nice to have them with me but they'd take up a bit of room and damage easily.
    A book.
    Phone, although I plan to buy a pre-paid phone over there.
    Shoes and Runners, one pair of each, I'll wear one pair.
    Minidisc player.
    Toothebrush and all that sort of stuff.

I'm lucky I suppose because I have my extensive collection of music all on the PC in MP3 form so I can bring that all with me easily.

I know there's stuff I'm forgetting, but I'll add it on later, I'll probably use this post as a checklist before I go :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Kraken

Originally posted by fi

id leave 90% of my clothes behind as they can be replaced, my photo albums would cme too and if i really had to i would just bring the HD of the pc filled with all the important stuff.
    the ever important porn collection huh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭Lolo

Get a reference from your Irish bank as well, and a reference from your landlord/lady if you're in rented accomodation.

I'm lucky I suppose because I have my extensive collection of music all on the PC in MP3 form so I can bring that all with me easily.

It's not a music colelction if you can't lovingly stroke the covers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Mills
    I'm making a similar move to london in a week and a half or so, and I hadn't really thought about what I'd bring yet tbh. It's not quite as permanent a move as yours, and I'm utterly useless at throwing things out when I don't have to, so everything I don't bring will be staying put here in my parent's house :).

Hmmmm, what to bring.... I'll make a list of everything I can think of now....

Passport
    Driving License
    Wallet, complete with ATM card, Xtra vision card, and Gardai Age card and some other cards and stuff, like a Game loyalty card that I've never used and a call card that I've also never used.
    CAO and UCAS login info and Leaving cert pin number so I can get my results and sort out college places if needs be in August over the net.
    Clothes, I'll probably leave them till last and just pack in as many as I can fit in order of preference.
    PC, going to attempt to bring this in a suitcase padded with clothes, don't need a monitor so it should be do-able.
    Laptop, that I'm supposed to be getting for free but that hasn't materialised yet.
    Undecided on my DVD collection of 14 DVDs that I really like.... it'd be nice to have them with me but they'd take up a bit of room and damage easily.
    A book.
    Phone, although I plan to buy a pre-paid phone over there.
    Shoes and Runners, one pair of each, I'll wear one pair.
    Minidisc player.
    Toothebrush and all that sort of stuff.

I know there's stuff I'm forgetting, but I'll add it on later, I'll probably use this post as a checklist before I go :).

milly, if you want, i have a spare pII400 you can borrow for a few months. as long as you leave your porn on it when you are finished and promise to clean out the keyboard and dont geet the mouse all sticky, you can borrow it.
    oh, also comes with a 17" monitor.
    of course, it will mean that you owe me sexual favours and then several pints (to get the taste out of my mouth)

when i moved to england last year i drove over with 2 pcs with monitors, 4 black bags full of clothes, a sample of my cd collection int the form of about 30 cds, a whole lot of games for some reason, and all my old personal bits of paper, like bank documents, certificates, naturalisation documents, passports, drivers licences, and person scribble from my teen angsty years and few old photographs.

i have since dumped half my clothes, thrown away a lot fo the games and i dont have much time for sentimentalities.

a bag of clothes, my laptop and my wallet, and im driving anywhere i want in the sun with the only thing that i truely prize, my car.

but sure england is only 45 minutes on the plane. you can go home, collect your stuff and come back faster than you can drive around the m25 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

My top five:

1. Servers 40 gig harddrive, 9 years worth of data.
    2. Gilt Cross for Gallentry (I can be j00r her0 baby!)
    3. My penknife (it's at least 10 years old)
    4. My watch (duh, it's strapped to my arm)
    5. Tape backups of the first item (it's very important data)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

Wouldn't go anywhere without my Ibanez Guitar 'n amp. I'd nearly choose them over me wubbly AtlonXP PC...they would be easier to carry.

There'd be a hundred and one other nicknacks that I wouldn't be able to decide to bring, all simply for nostalgic value..He-Man, Thundercats and Transformer action figures, Warhammer40k Models,C64 and Amiga games..the list goes on *sigh* I feel like im as ancient as Dustaz or something :P

I'm sure I had a cherished childhood toy too of some description or other..but I can't for the life of me remember it...it probably smells now anyway :)

Oh ya, woudlnt go anywhere without my glasses I guess..that'd be just silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

1. Servers 40 gig harddrive, 9 years worth of data.
    5. Tape backups of the first item (it's very important data)

That's a man who takes his porn collecting seriously, I think we could all learn from him.

And thanks for the offer Eamo, I might take you up on it depending on whether I get this free laptop or not, and if it's too much hassle to bring my own :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Defenistrator

moved over here (ireland) 4 years ago, but the GF left me to do the packing...some of the items I decided to chuck in the skip where:

Little wooden stool that she had been given when she was 5, some kind of momento of when she lived in Colombia
    Wooden chair, also a momento of when she lived in colombia.
    boxes full of nick-nacks that where ALL momento's of her life in Bermuda, Spain and Colombia
    The clothes she didn't take with her ( she moved to Ireland a month ahead of me to find a job first) that was the worst, I truely believed she didn't want them any more

amongst the stuff I DID bring:

clothes that I hadn't worn in years, and never have since
    a broken record player someone gave to me whilst I was packing the trailer
    a box full of 40Mb harddrives (most broken, no usefull data what so ever)
    4 or 5 wonky 15" monitors
    all my pc's in varying degree of disrepair
    the telly!

We did leave a load of stuff at her sisters hous, her parents flat, and my parents house, like her collection of soup terrines and teapots (thank GOD I didn't skip those, I would have been SO dead)

the funny thing is that the little wooden stool had a corner chipped off, we still have the bit, cos we never got round to glueing it back on....

'spose that's men for ya

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Heart.... id die without it :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

It's funny cause I'm about to demolish my room and rebulid it from the ground up for the first time in 24 years :)

So, I'll most likly be facing the decisions I don't want to like "do I really want to throw that away?"

Anyway, my "must haves" are my guitars (3) and my guitar amp and my guitar effects pedals (wah-wah and FX board) and of course enough leads and stuff to make it all go :)
    Then I guess, my CD collection.
    A hair brush would be very handy (for obvious reasons to anyone who's met me).
    There are some items of clothing I'd like, but essentially, it's all replacable.
    Aside from all that, there's the usual bits and pieces of personal thing and photographs.

I'll let ye know how I get on with the clean up :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Zaphod B

Taking the subject title literally, I'd rather die without my reproductive organs

OK now stuff thats important to me hmmm it's got to be my entire music collection and my newly aquired Telecaster. I could do an Oscar acceptance speech and include my family and friends etc but nah :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

I'd rather die then be without my friends. Oh and my intellect and sense of humour.

As for things I'd have to bring with me if I was to move country or location in the morning. I have want of nothing.

Originally posted by Mills

That's a man who takes his porn collecting seriously, I think we could all learn from him.

Hmmm surprisingly, and somewhat disapointingly, I only have a mere 500mb of pr0n. Which I think works out at .8% of the drive. That'll all change if and when I get the adsl of course. mmm donkey pr0n avi's.........

Originally posted by Winters
    Heart.... id die without it :D

hahahahaha.... hah ha... ha.... . . ha..........

tumbleweed.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭fi

Originally posted by Kraken

the ever important porn collection huh.

oh dear, how did you find out my secret!!!! ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 334 ✭✭scuzzy

My two guitars, a notepad and pencil, my CD collection (~500) and CD player. Everything else I could do without...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Freedom!

material possessions mean nothing to me..... (says the guy who spends 15hr's a day in front of his computer ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

i couldnt live without my watch....its a very practical one at that!
    and my book, "The Art of War"

evevrything else i own i can easily disgard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

oh yeah that's one thing, i feel naked without a watch :o can't stand no knowing the time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

I hate wearing a watch, I'd bring my phone (also my watch)
    two pairs of jeans, one pair of shorts and as many boxers and socks and t's as I could stuff into one bag and be off wit ye!
    Oh yeah my Skateboard and a spare pair of shoes...now where did I leave that head of mine :rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

well I did something similar...I sorted through 24 years of accumulated memories and found I didnt need the actual "things' to have the memories. I ended up throwing half of my belongings away and putting the other half into a storage faciltity so now as long as I know I have them I dont have to drag the around with me everywhere. I have 2 suitcases with clothes shoes and a few of my fave cd's and off I go whenever I feel the need. Living out of a suitcase will get old after awhile sure, but it sure is easy quick and light travel ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Khynareth

I can go anywhere with only my hand bag (it's the modern equivalent of a magic luggage.)

As for the rest, I packed everything bar books, bass & Cds, put all the rest of my books+Cds safely in the attic with a big radiation sign on it, a few Dragons guarding it, and left off to Ireland.

Now I'm settled, I tend to go back once a year with nothing, and bring back an big suitcase full of books I left at my parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

hmmmm....

my 2 rings, and my nana's (broken) claddagh one
    My silver bracelet (well it was silver once)
    My red shirt
    Probably the majority of my books, but i'd live without them.

I dont know what else... it's odd trying to imagine it. I'm a hoarder, but i dont have to have the stuff with me.

/me still has the majority of her school copies/workbooks from baby infants to this year :P which is a bit odd.

Oh, and my plastic roses :)

<< Fio >>