Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xtremefest in the RDS

• 25-06-2002 11:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭

...how many of you are going to it????? What bands are you going to see? And which movies did you vote for on www.xtremefestireland.com?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I can't go to it cos I'm going to the US this Friday. I wasn't too bothered about going anyway. I don't really like any of the bands playing apart from Raging Speedhorn who are OK. If there had been a better lineup I would have tried to put off my hols and go to it. But thats not the case now is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭SYL

Hope you enjoy the holidays then, I'll be sure to put up a nice wee review of the gig for ya just to make you jealous!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

You don't like Motorhead?

Originally posted by SYL
    Hope you enjoy the holidays then, I'll be sure to put up a nice wee review of the gig for ya just to make you jealous!!!!!!
    haha cheers... I will be at the house of blues in Disneyland most of the time checking out the bands then next door to that is the worlds biggest CD Superstore and then next door to that is a free internet place where I can piss you all off about how much I'm enjoying it. And I can tell you about all the bands I've seen in the H.O.B.!

Originally posted by Oeneus
    You don't like Motorhead?
    Not my style mate...

Hmm...House of Blues. Isn't that in Vegas?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

Not my style mate...

how could you not like 'the Ace of Spades'?????

Originally posted by Beruthiel

:cool: Amen, Beruthiel! :cool:

And 'Eat the Rich'????

Originally posted by Oeneus
    Hmm...House of Blues. Isn't that in Vegas?
    There's one in Disneyland too. I was in it last year too. I seen Fear Factory there.

Originally posted by Beruthiel

It's ok. But I hate Lemmy's vocals. And I want to smash that bass of his. Such a rotten piece of ****! :mad:

That bass looks pretty naff alright. But I think his vocals are kinda cool. It gives a punk band more of a metal feel to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Brautigan

Fear Factory at Disneyland? Now that's a weird gig... Suppose it was bound to happen to them soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Khynareth

Will be there, for Motorhead mainly, and a bit for One Minute Silence... And also a bit for Soil... And....
    Well, I'm going, I'm happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I'm going to see Raging speedhorn, breed 77 and danko jones.

And of course Motorhead, a momentous occasion in any young ladies life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

Motorhead defenitly have some gems up their sleves....but Lemmy is a complete nutbar.....

Apparently his doctor told him if he ever stoppped taking speed then he'd die.....or so I was informed.....

You have to respect a man like that....

As for the rest of the line up...One Minitue silence and raging Speedhorn are the only other bands that would make me go to it...

That and money to buy the ticket....

I think ye should give Soil a chance. I've got their CD and am well impressed by it, its a nice hurdy gurdy shouty type CD with some great riffola on it. Has a few grungey moments too

So what was everyone's opinions of the gig? Personally I didn't enjoy it, I thought Speedhorn and Spunge were the only good bands....although what Spunge were doing at a metal fest i'll never know. Couple this with poor attendance and bad organisation and it all adds up to a pretty ****ty day.
    Most of my time was spent hanging out with my friend who was tattooing there, and watching <a href="http://www.crazywhitesean.com">Crazy White Sean</a> the one man freak show. He TOTALLY rocked, and probably had a bigger attendance than any of the bands up till that point! Sound guy too, went drinking with him and some others later after he got released from the Garda station, they were going to charge him with public indecency, I think for nailing his dick to a plank of wood rather than hanging himself in the air from one meat hook skewered through his back :-D (I have pics of them, i'll link to them later today)
    So I paid €45 to hang out with my mates, oy!
    I left at 7 because it didn't look like it was going to get any better.
    What did everyone else think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

From what I heard, i'm very glad I didn't go.....

Sometimes my poverty can be a saving grace;)

Originally posted by bedlam
    Pretty ****ty day all around. The only enjoyable bands were Soil (I'd never head them before but was plesantly surprised) Raging Speedhorn and Motorhead (despite "technical" difficulties).

The other events were pretty laughable, didn't really get to see Crazy White Sean but what I did see wasn't overly impressive.

What was the deal with everyone heckling Soil over 'Halo'? They didn't play it in the end because of that!

And Sean is the BOMB, he came out drinking with myself and the tattoists/piercers, he's such a sound guy. Check the following links if you don't think he was 'impressive', i'd like to see what you can do that you'd classify as impressive heheheh!

http://www.socc.ie/~jfarrel1/susp1.jpg Sean1
    http://www.socc.ie/~jfarrel1/susp2.jpg Sean2
    http://www.socc.ie/~jfarrel1/susp3.jpgsean3
    http://www.socc.ie/~jfarrel1/susp4.jpgSean4
    http://www.socc.ie/~jfarrel1/susp5.jpgSean5

Yeah but that wouldn't make you the cash Sean makes :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Khynareth

True it could have been better. Although I was very impressed by Breed 77 & Soil. One Minute Silence were disapointing to me. Rageing Speedhorn were amazing...

The best surprise for the day was No Means No, I think they're really cool

I didn't mind hanging out there all day, although I would have expected more animation than the few little stands there...

I really only went for Motorhead, although I was looking forward to the other bands...

All in all a good day, but surely could have been better.

Was there many at it or was it a total ticket flop?

Napalm Death should have played. It would have been funny watching some hoodies listening to what real growling sounds like.

I'd love to know what kind of loss they made on the day!
    Maybe i'll ask when I write to them to complain about letting small kids in to the concert, and then letting these children in to see the freak show....while I think Sean rules, I really have to question the motives of a promoter that would ALLOW small kids to see an act like that, even with parental permission...