Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Award Ceromony

• 05-07-2002 5:16pm
    Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Was going to write up something along the lines of how Big Brother would much more interesting with Boards.ie people in that ****ing house, but I have found myself typing something else... Something about awards...

Something about who in the hell is the biggest **** on Boards, the most helpful, the most moany, the most intelligent, the most sexy etc...

Why not have a wee little Award's thing going...

Nominee's are :drum roll: everyone, Categories are :kazoo: Everything...

Discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

lol sounds like fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

sounds interesting

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

COuld be very entertaining if done properly.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

how will it work, decide on a load of categories, nominees for each and then do a poll for each category ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Sounds like a good idea to me :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

didnt wyverene attempt to this or something like this before...

Good idea tho

a few suggestions

Most moronic (user) -
    Most long winded (user) -
    Largest inner-child (user) -
    Funniest (user) -
    Dirtiest mind (user) -
    biggest spammer (user) -
    Greatest nerd (user) -
    Smoothest operator (user) -
    greatest mong in boards history (user) -
    best personality in boards history (user) -
    worst personality in boards history (user) -
    most boring (user) -
    Greatest alias account (user) -

Best post (post) -
    Best flame (post) -
    Worst flame (post) -
    Best retort (post) -
    Worst retort (post) -
    Greatest troll (post/series of posts) -

Most trigger happy (moderator) -
    Admin of the year (admin) -

Best thread (thread) -
    best borderline porn thread (thread) -

Most entertaining (board) -
    Least entertaining (board) -
    most informative (board) -
    most trolled (board) -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by RopeDrink
    the most sexy

I've got that won already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

All we need is a few pics of you in the waistcoat from the LAN.

Perhaps you could try ... "Best Goth in a supporting role!"

Yeah, my velvet waistcoat!
    Didn't I just look dead secksie in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

more suggestions:

most mature:
    most immature:
    most active/creative:(in posts or projects or whatever)
    most cynical:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Popularity Contest

Let the canvassing, philandering and backhanders begin!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Great idea.

But, if I may make a suggestion? Get rock solid categories and stick to them. Then there's no room for minunderstandings!

AND VOTE MEH AS TEH SEXEHIST HAER! (I know I've already got DeVore's vote)!
    BoardsBeer053.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=56807

That's the way to do it! Where's all the admins gone? :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by AngelWhore

I've got that won already.

don't think so AW - I've just moved you into second place :D

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

Ok, seeing as the idea is getting slight negativity problems on the admin board, I'll post this up...

Assuming that people are mature enough to accept the possibility of at least one person nominating him/her for a rather degrading category like, say, Muppet of the Month, and assuming that whilst also accepting the fact that the event itself along with the nominations are all part of an event born to make us happy then I can't honestly see a problem with it... Did you understand that!?

In short, this is for fun... People who can understand this will find the overall results fun, and will find being nominated for specific categories ammusing as opposed to insulting... Also, the damn thing will be quite predictable in some respects, and people will be EXPECTING to be nominated in some categories there wont be as much hostility than some people think... (I hope, anyway)

Like I said in the Admin Board thread, kindly made by Kaids, this event is just like posting a new thread - The thread maker runs the risk of his/her opinion clashing with someone elses, and with each and every post made, there is a chance of hostility/muppetry/flaming... With the Boards.ie Awards, this event would channel the hostility/muppetry/flaming into a more acceptable and humourous manner...

Again, I ask, did you understand that!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Away with you AngelWhore, the sexy award is mine.

I have cake for all who vote for me. I can buy your damn votes!

Winners announced at Board Beer? The winners can laugh and get drunk. The losers can cry and get drunk. Everyone's a winner baybee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

it sounds like a good laugh.

so what if you get nominated in "the greatest muppet ever" category. if you win at least you will be able to say that you achieved something in you life :D

its all fun, boards has been a bit on the quite side over the past few months this will help shake some new life in to it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

go for it RopeDrink, anyone who takes offence, has no sense of humour! :D
    I could really win any of the following categories:

the most sexy
    the dancing queen
    talking the most bs while drunk
    the most intelligent

Originally posted by Rabies
    so what if you get nominated in "the greatest muppet ever" category. if you win at least you will be able to say that you achieved something in you life :D

Exactly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

there should be different some different categories for each sex.

eg. male: - Most Feminine male,
    female: - Most Butch female.

shtuff like that.

Biggest Jackeen,
    Biggest Culchie would be good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Sorry if this has already been suggested but how about best secert society?

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

Right...
    Boards, itself, is immensely obese... It took me two seconds to conjure up this thread, and a lot longer to read the sudden swamp of replies - It'll take much much LONGER to run such a thing, but if you want to place the weight of this idea on my shoulders I will totter off home after the Galway Drinkies on Thursday and, with the use of copy/pasting will collect all your nomination idea's and create a collection of vote/poll threads for you all to throw in your feedback...

To be quite honest if it is to work that way I strongly suggest that nomination posts be nothing more than the nick of who you want to nominate and why...

Having life stories posted within an award ceremony would be rather fruitless... If anyone would like to help in anyway, feel free to fling your idea's and dirty underwear to me in a PM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Shane

Originally posted by Thorbar
    Sorry if this has already been suggested but how about best secert society?

There are secret societies here?!?

Originally posted by ScottB

There are secret societies here?!?

No.

The following secret societies that currently reside in the boards.ie underworld would like to deny any and all existance:

The freemasons
    The Order Of The Dragon
    Lexcorp
    The Knights Of Comeonbanus
    The Musician's Guild Of Anhk-Morpork
    The Favoured Accolites Of Bubbles
    Society Of The 4 Page Rant
    Desciples Of The Watch
    Project Mayhem
    The Illuminati
    The Stonecutters
    The Guild Of Trekkies
    Boards.ie nazi fascist group
    Kharn
    The German Nihilists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Project Mayhem.... mmmmm... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

What's a 'Lexcorp' ? ;)

Ok here's the drill...
    At some stage before the weekend I'll collect the current idea's for nominations (If you feel there should be more, then post them NOW) and once I've bulldosed through them and chopped them into a more "Ceremonial" style nominations I'll get polls ready for ye all to fight over who you feel slots into the nomination at hand...

It might come down to counting how many nominations, or it may come down to selecting the most obvious choice, but unfortunately we cannot have more than 10 nominee's...

Also, I'll need a few "Judges" (Or something along those lines - preferably people who have been around since the dinosaurs roamed, to help me troll through the nominations and select the winner of that award)

If all goes well the entire ceromony will have started by, the latest, Sunday - depending on how helpful you bastards are :D

Originally posted by *Neo*
    What's a 'Lexcorp' ? ;)

I'm sorry... I've no idea what you're talking about. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

Originally posted by AngelWhore

The Musician's Guild Of Anhk-Morpork

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......... more pork!

Originally posted by RopeDrink
    I'll get polls ready for ye all to fight over who you feel slots into the nomination at hand...

Also, I'll need a few "Judges" (Or something along those lines - preferably people who have been around since the dinosaurs roamed, to help me troll through the nominations and select the winner of that award)

Eh, rope, where are you going to post these polls? Surely you aren't going to carpet bomb after hours with them?

That judges idea sounds a bit naff, should be up to the public who wins the awards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Hmmm,

This could be very interesting, but what happens when we have a hundred-odd nominees for greatest nerd?

I'd like to win ya know....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Kaids - youre forgetting that the public are a pack of dimwitted nose-wipings with all the charm of used toilet paper.

A

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Andy - I'll give you a hand gathering all the stuff up - we'll discuss over several pints this evening!

...And there's no one I'd like more in my corner than the moderator of the "Humour Board" :D

We'll need all the humour we can get if people are going to become as insulted as some people think...

Dav, I'll probably be langered this evening, so ignore the gibberish I'll be spraying, and refrain from spending mass ammounts of time explaining things to me because I'll probably have forgotten everything you've said after a couple of minutes ;)

Seriously though, thanks - We'll get some sort of ceremonial ball rolling by the start of next week.
    Kaids - youre forgetting that the public are a pack of dimwitted nose-wipings with all the charm of used toilet paper.

A

The majority of the people *can* be, and im sure people who nominate others wont always be doing so because the 'nominee' is fitted to that category, hence the judges idea (Which was ONLY an idea - We haven't started the awards yet :D )
    Eh, rope, where are you going to post these polls? Surely you aren't going to carpet bomb after hours with them?

I may be dumb, Kaids, but im not stupid :D;) - No way will I be posting them on the AfterHours board... I could, infact, request the creation of a temporary "Awards Board" if this event pulls through, with which all nominations and award giving can take place... Not sure if it'll happen, but I can try...

Any other suggestions!?

Originally posted by Asuka

A

Well yes - but once a few nominees have been selected they still have the ability to click a radio button on a poll and press submit.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

How about "Most Unusual Name" :)

I want to win something, ANYTHING. I wanna have something interesting in my sig, hehe, its all fun so i don't care what it is :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

I nominate "JustHalf" for biggest spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I second that motion :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Most long-winded poster...

I'm probably going to be the only nominee for that category, at least since Excelsior left us- go me :D Angel the secksiest? Perhaps not...but most inhuman consumer of vodka on the planet? Very possibly. I'm sorry, 3 liters in 3 hours is wrong...just wrong.

Occy

PS- I heartily support this product/service. Good idea Ropeh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭mrblue

You still alive then Occy, *sob* thought I'd never...see..you...again.....(uncontrolable tears).

How you doin'? Where the feck are you? Lookin forward to some more drunken FRP,

- P

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

Unless I've over-looked something posted earlier, there has been no mention of what the prizes are going to be. Am I to presume that alcohol would be a most welcome gift to the winners :p

And the slowest typer award goes to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Am I to presume that alcohol would be a most welcome gift to the winners :p

I think you might be elligible for the most optimistic poster award too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

Originally posted by Bob the Unlucky Octopus

I'm probably going to be the only nominee for that category, at least since Excelsior left us- go me :D

Occy

i dunno about that! when swiss wants to blabber on it gets nasty!

Occy, you make sense and has something interesting to add!

category of worst spammer and best spammer goes to....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

I could win the award for most quotes used in sigs by other users:) 2 of my ramblings are currently in use by Sand and some bollix-Sand is paying respect to my violent tree hugger hating side,whereas dah bollicks is making himself look stupid by getting into his head that my quote didnt make sense when in fact it did.

So stick that up your hole"dah bolicks"as i know you.

And big up Sand:D :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Most Unusual Name
    I think I'll be winning that one...
    In fact,I cant recall ever being called "Tizlox" at a lan without laughter following it...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=57796

Check it - The beginning has, erm, begun!?
    Prizes? There's been a suggestion or two in said thread in regards to that.

Occy, I own your rantish pants, and as for weirdest name, how many people have asked me "What ta f00k is a RopeDrink"...

Im off to oil myself up and prepare for thine upcoming nominations.

Good Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

mr. blue m8y- I'll toss you an e-mail from my latest hotmail addy asap- I think I still remember the address :) If I totally fvck it up, you can always PM me on these boards. Drunken FRP is definately on, my character is definately more fleshed out when totally pissed (as I am now on my b-day, *hic*). Anyhoww, I'll drop you a line, take care m8.

As for ranting, Rope and me will agree to disagree. On weirdest name- I've at least had one person guess my name's origin correctly. But NONE have gotten Ropedrink's yet- not even me, and I've known him for bloody ages! Come to think of it, not even Angel knows. Daaaang, gets one thinking...

Too drunk to think or type straigty anyhoww, cya guyz tomorrow or somthin

Occy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Deffo the **** thread in the personal issues section.Among the best lines

This is a real problem as I'm always knackered and my Willy is in a shocking state.

Of course your love trumpet is in bits ? What do you expect if your shining kojacks moneybox 3 times a day ??? If you must beat the meat that often get some lube before you set yourself on fire !!! Or why not have sex more often , 2 times a week is far from satisfying ... try twice a day ! Now stop playing with your purple headed yogurt slinger and go make sweet sweet love to your girlfriend !!!

Apparantly using a sock will help alleviate your inevitable friction burns

THE BEST OF THEM ALL NOW FOLLOWS
    My brother has a bit of a problem like this.
    It's not so much that he does it often thats the problem. It's that he makes it bloody obvious that he does it.I mean, there is a mountain of solid rock bogroll under his bed and on his bedside table. I think it's about 10 rolls worth. And they're all yellow! EEEeeeewww!!And he watches TV at 2:00 in the morning and as you walk in he quickly changes the channel before you can see what he's watching, and for some reason the volume is always right down.He's 13 for god's sake! And he looks skanky and wears the same clothes for 2 weeks. And I don't think his school uniform has been washed in a whole month! I sure hope he doesn't wear these clothes while he plays his "Whack a mole" game

2 times a week? I'm not surprised, seeing as you choke the chicken four times a day. I'm surprised you can get an erection at all. It's a habit just like anything else. A quiet ride in a garage won't cure you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by Tizlox

I think I'll be winning that one...
    In fact,I cant recall ever being called "Tizlox" at a lan without laughter following it...
    i think i have you beat there, no one can spell let alone pronounce my name :)