Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

total beginner

Options
  • 24-07-2002 2:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭

hola , i`ve gotten it into my head that i want to learn to play guitar , as it stands i know absolutely nothing about different types of guitars , just wondering , if anyone could recommend what would be a good one for some one like me to start with ?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

I'd usually recommend starting on an acoustic. Its the best way to build up finger strength. Which guitar to buy depends on how much money you have. Go for a good steel string guitar, with a nice and comfortable action (string height)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

how much will it cost ? i `ve got 400 euro ! dont know if thats good or bad .

You could get a good takamine in the buy and sell if ya looked, or a cheap one first hand if your lucky. Some Epiphone acoustics are ok, but tend to have high action if you dont watch out for it.
    Get some one whos playes guitar to go with you though.

thanking you kindly for the advice , i`ll give a look in the buy and sell or south east trader tomorrow evening .

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

wow 400!

dont spend it all, i recommend buyin a cheapish guitar if ur startin off. if u lose interest its 400 squid down the drain:p

• Advertisement

yeah your right alright , what kinda one would you recommend so thats kinda cheap just incase im totally hopeless at it?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim