Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thank God im not a Cluchie...

• 16-08-2002 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭

My name is Eamonn, and I've been a troll now for about 3 years......

SWEET!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Theres no cluchies round here mate. Loadsa bleedin culchies though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Muck savages
    mulla's
    hillbilly's
    john boy's

what else are they known as?
    :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭MDR

I get down on my knees every morning and thank the lord that I amn't one ....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

care to elaborate on that one Eamon aka WWM???

You know, I really shouldn't encourage this sorta thing, seeing as I'm a culchie (and proud of it!!) living in Dublin for over 10 years now!

He lives in a house, a very big house, he's a culchie
    Puts cabbage on his bread, has a big mutton head, he's a culchie.
    He doesn't pay tax, he wears dirty kaks, he's a culchie.
    He's ugly and smelly with a big flabby belly, he's a culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Beruthiel

care to elaborate on that one Eamon aka WWM???

yeah, a cluchie.
    someone from cluchtown.

why are you all putting down our beloved country brethren?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

/me wonders if eamo's having a dyslexic moment with 'cluchie' or if he really means to spell 'culchie' and 'cluchie' and he's just trolling...

And if you're claiming not to be a culchie, I have to say I can't think of anywhere more deserving of the title 'the arsehole of nowhere' than the Australian Outback... *cough*

beloved?????

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan

why.. people always try to put down what their scared of!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Calling everyone from rural areas a culchie is the same as me saying that all dubs are skangers.

The dub posters here on boards go up in arms when they`re called knackers/skangers etc., yet they deem it ok to call non city folk culchies.

Ah well.

Can we come up with a boards collective term for the skangers/tramps/knackers/in bred of society(tm )

I propose calling them white wash men :p

eg: Thiose dirty white wash men baxtards planted a seed in my dogs belly.

those dirty white wash men baxtards robbed a 80yr old granny for €5

etc etc etc.

post your collective term here(tm )

Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels
    /me wonders if eamo's having a dyslexic moment with 'cluchie' or if he really means to spell 'culchie' and 'cluchie' and he's just trolling...

And if you're claiming not to be a culchie, I have to say I can't think of anywhere more deserving of the title 'the arsehole of nowhere' than the Australian Outback... *cough*

one word

mmmmmmRAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

to me, culchie's are people who are from the republic of ireland but not from dublin

i thought people from dublin were called jacquine's (or somehting to that spelling effect...) coz when u say scanger i just see someone clad from head to toe in sports gear/tracksuits and with a lot of gold jewellery, and maybe a paco jumper for the female's, and dublin has far more to offer than that.

yes, we have rugger buggers....usually found on the south side wearing o neill's tracksuit bottoms and a rugby shirt, and maybe a body warmer, although i dont think they wear the body warmers anymore :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Also known as gob****es, farmers, smelly ****s and boggars!

I tend to stay in dublin as much as possible, country folk scare the **** out of me, cant understand a feckin word there sayin :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

he, he. Jim you hate it when i even talk like a cluchie ... loike.

I tend not to leave dublin for the country unless I
    a) Have to or b) Need to (very rare)

mostly becouse of the following reasons: Lack of computers in the boglands. Fresh air scares me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Culchie Boy

Hey why not come down to the farm and try out the culchie life for a while i'm sure you would like it. getting up at 6.30am to feed the cattle. at 7 you could give the sheep a bale of hay. ..................... and so on

No seriously arent alot of people living in dublin from the country and then they call us culchies dosent make sense does it !

Regards Culchie Boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I knew you would have something to say there :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭corkey

:D Can anyone here say that there a true blue, Look back at your family and see where they are from ? you will be found lacking :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Yeah I was in Dublin 8 years and found in that time pretty much a 50% split between true blues and 'mongerels'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by corkey
    :D Can anyone here say that there a true blue, Look back at your family and see where they are from ? you will be found lacking :D

Note: You must be 3 generations between the canals to be considered a true blue.
    I dont count:/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭corkey

even they are blow ins go back further :D

Or you could take James Joyces view on it, he said if you weren't born between the River Liffey and the Five Lamps you aren't a Dub.

Or you could take the MDR view on it, 3 generations on boths sides within what is considered to be city at the time of each generation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 pika

All generations off my family on both sides date back to Dublin So There fore I am a true dub and to stick up for those "Culchies" I think they have a much better social life in the country look at Galway or Kilkenny ya have a great larf there on the pish. In dublin you just get mugged by some heroin addict or a asylum seeker (speaking from experience) 'nuff with the culchie bashin they pay less for their clothes and foods cos their shops dont have to add on the hig prices for shop rent in Dublin, Their taxis are a 5 even though its 20 miles from the town to the gaff. And they could buy 3 houses a Frigging Range Rover and a couple of sheep for the price you pay for a decent gaff in dublin. So Shut up we're the fools been charged through the b.o.l.l.o.x for everything. Even the beer is about 40c a pint dearer in dublin.:mad: :(

<rant> The rest of the country is laughing at us, point at us and saying thank jasus we don't live there. Pika is dead right, the question is are you prepare to FIGHT for what you deserve or are you going to move down the country or out of the country. Quality of Life is Dublin isn't great for the new generation, no one will argue with that.

I don't mince words, you have a decent job but you can't afford to live, you can't afford to eat, you can't afford to socialise, you sit in traffic all day, your a professional but your pinching pennies more than you know you should.

Now other parts of the county are great at having their voices heard, just look at the anti-incenerator protests, anti-refugee sentiments, farmer lobby etc, but what do Dubliners Deserve ?

What has the sweat of you brow, your fathers brow, your brothers brow bought you ? Time to fight back for Dublin, the rest of the county are well capable of lookin after themselves, its about time for some self interest.

Think of the next generation of children growing up in the city now, what future is your work buying them ? </rant>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

although i think i qualify as a northsider now too :D
    that'd be an interesting poll :the northside versus the southside.....;););)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Anyone here interested in buying a ton of raw silage and a Landini 175?

one word

mmmmmmRAY

I'd rather come from MMMRRRRAAAAAYYYYYY than the world's biggest open air penitentiary.

And I have two words for you.

Steve. Irwin.

Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels

I'd rather come from MMMRRRRAAAAAYYYYYY than the world's biggest open air penitentiary.

And I have two words for you.

Steve. Irwin.

i didnt know the council had called steve irwin in to clean up all the reptiles in mmmmmray.
    god, some of those women are fúcking ugly.

they must have the worlds largest ugly tree there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I like the way Dublin smells. The hops or something. And I only ever notice it when I've been away for a while.

i didnt know the council had called steve irwin in to clean up all the reptiles in mmmmmray.
    god, some of those women are fúcking ugly.

they must have the worlds largest ugly tree there.

Indeed, Bray is full of two-headed scale-ridden fork-tongued slit-eyed man-eaters. It's the home of the world's second-largest ugly tree, to clarify the point. (Meath's the home of the largest one.) Its denizens eat their young. Raw. Without salt. The average woman's clothing size is around a 20+. Judging by the appearance of the men, all of the tattoo parlour owners are dyslexic and love their mothers. Bray is a kip, a hovel, a hole, a place where burnt out cars go to die.

And you're dating someone who comes from there.

Although I suppose anything's a step up from a sheep, outback boy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat