Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little Poshers....

• 24-08-2002 2:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭

I swear to God....

I was walking through Galway yesterday and I there was a band on the street playing "Wish You Where Here" by Pink Floyd...

Anyway I was just listening to the band when I overhear this little "posher"/"gothling" saw:

"This Led Zepplin is really good..."

WTF??

Are the youth of today going to hell in a hand basket?

In my day we had AC/DC, Metillica, Iron Maiden and the like...

These youngeens seem like they're being led astray...

I blame the parents

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

LOL... you should have went over to em and asked em about what was her top five Zeppelin songs. I'd bet they'd only guess two, being Kashmir and Stairway to Heaven. Dumbasses.

Thats actually the same thing that happened at Ozzfest this year. A fella was standing beside us when Slayer were playing and he was annoying us so much cos he was singing the song even though he didn't know the lyrics. So one of my friends went up to him and asked him the name of the song. The man replied "Oh its God Hates Us All!". My friend replied "no it isn't, its Disciple", and the man argued with him for a good 5 minutes about it and then one person beside them said "he's right the name of the song is Disciple" the fella shut up for the rest of the duration of the gig apart from when it started raining during Raining Blood. LOL, he opened his arms towards the sky looking up and screamed Raining Blood. We were all rolling around with laughter. What a gob****e!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

You had metallica and maiden and you complain? lucky b*stards if ye ask me :)
    Also,rofl pornapster, what an @rse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

I know I was a lucky bastard...

That was my point.

In my day, we had the genius of AC/DC and Megadeath etc.

What do they have now?

Linkin Park and Slipknot...

And Pornnapster, that doesn't suprise me...

I meet this guy in a pub once with a Nirvana t-shirt on, says he's a massive Nirvana fan, and we started talking about his favourite Nirvana album etc.

Then I ask him what does he think of The Pixies, to which he responds...

"Who are they? Never heard of them"

For Christs sake, how can be "the biggest Nirvana fan of all time" (his words) and not hear of the Pixies??!!??

Others, please fell free to use this as an outlet for you annoyance at the current state of youth culture...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 darque

Ok so how exactly are you judging or classing these "poshers" and "gothlings"? Cause if your judging this strictly on age I'd be slightly disappointed cause although I am in fact only a youngeen I do blame my parents for my current eduaction in all things metal!

I was raised to the sounds of Led Zepplin, Thin Lizzy, Metallica, The Scorpions, Pink Floyd, Iron Maiden, Bowie, Sabath etc etc... my parents lived the heavy metal era of the late 70's and 80's and made damn well sure that me and indeed my lesser sibling were appropriately informed and educated in the riffs of the latter and founding years of metal!

So don't assume that all of the younger generations are plagued by a lack of cop and knowledge for I wholely oppose the notion that this stereotype of "posher" or "gothling" applies to all metal appreciating young persons!

I mean if it's really that bad why the fvck don't you try re-educating some of these unfortunates rather than simply slating and mocking them! Your not exactly helping eliminate the problem now are you?!? Your time'd be much more appreciated and well spent if you decided to spend a little less time laughing and some more time correcting! I mean why are you letting 'em get away with all this blasphemy if you're so passionate about the fact that they're humiliatingly misinformed!?! :rolleyes:

Surely you could all understand that discrimination and stereotyping due to the actions and opinions of a minority is more than annoying for the majority to which your undermining!

Ach! Why must I always contradict the common belief!...I am young yet not ignorant to the music which I was unfortunate enough to miss by a generation...not all people under 18 are useless wasters without a clue! So don't automatically disown this generation, we respect and appreciate the past and hope the future will bring improvements...(well I do anyway!)

It's not like we asked to be born in this generation! Don't hate us cause our parents decided to live the gud music! And tis true...what have we got? It's just unfortunate for us that todays talent is slightly lacking when it comes to talent, I mean come on like, give us a break here, how would you have liked waking up in a time when Linkin Park and Slipknot are the bone (I can't bring myself to say backbone) of metal music?!? Dammit self-pity is the saddest state of mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Tut tut tut , disgraceful.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

dont discriminate... educate

maaaan im gonna get murdered for saying that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

I really think the problem with todays youth is the fact that the only metal that is readily available to them is all this korn and slipknot crap... Bands like Zepplin that broke up long ago have nothing new to offer to the record companies so why should they push their stuff? The only people of my generation <aye, I'm a wee lad... but old enough to laugh at most of them ;p > who can actually get into the old stuff, or the more obtuse stuff are people who are truly musicphiles. It takes a bit of effort to find out about all these classic rock bands that have been forgotten by the modern media. Ok, Zepplin and Pink Floyd don't fit into that mould but there are many bands who have really disappeared unless you look really hard.
    Plus when you walk up to the counter of wherever you are carrying some "oldies" album <lol> and looking rather young you tend to get ... odd... looks. Luckily I'm used to that so I just buy whatever i want <mmm... Clifton Chenier...;p>.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'm going to have a nice HUGE rant when I get the time, but for now:
    Originally posted by deco
    What do they have now?

Linkin Park and Slipknot...

I dread to think that in 20 years time the likes of them could be considered classic.
    And the world is ****ed up enough for that to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

One of the reasons for the youngsters following bands like Korn and Slipknot is that they are still touring and they have a chance of seeing them live. How are they going to hear about bands if they are broken up. Also don't discriminate against the youth, I am only 16 but my musical knowledge is very good, i.e I can recognise most music from Buddy Holly onwards :D

Um...referring to Seraphina's subject of this dude having a point...Well this dude with a point, is actually a lady! Just though I'd clear that one up :D Carry on...

P.S. I have nothing to dispute as of this exact moment in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

a lot of faggets in our school say they "love heavy metal" "what bands" "slipknot and sum 41.." "FVCK OFF!" i mean come on peeps, real metal G'N'R, AC/DC, iron maiden black sabbath, thats really good stuff. although i like say 3 spitsnot songs, and a good few korn songs, my heart is old bands. i was rasied on queen, the dire straights and thin lizzy. let old rock rule!

"rock and roll aint nose pollution!!!"

Darque...

Let me clarify....the people I am talking about are the new bred of metaler that is emerging at the moment...there is no real age limit but it seems to include an awful lot of 12-16 year olds... So this is not a slant against those like yourself who are educatd in the ways of proper music:)

Educating them? Since when did I get landed with that role?? These people seem to be multipling at a disbirbing rate! I have neither the time or the energy to attempt such a collosal undertaking....;)

Anyway, lets just fire Linkin Shíte out of a giant cannon...thats what I say...

Have yet to meet a problem that cannot be solved with a cannon:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

yes i think Darque *might* just have a point but so does Deco.
    we can try educate them(yeah i can imagine handing them a copy of none so vile by cryptopsy and them running crying home to mammy :D)but will they learn?

we can try saying nu-metal is utter sh*te,go listen to this.but maybe it's nu-metal that they like,not "real" metal.what can we do then?

on the other hand it might be possible they are "baby" metallers that have reached the teens of their music-loving life..so it's more than likely that they'll grow out of(well look at AngelWhore,he'll grow out of that stage he's in now and admit Death is the Best music :p)

apologies if u got offended by the dude comment, i'm also a girl, i use it in a non gender-related way. dude is a compliment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭beaver

March on the music fascists...

I suppose you set him straight in an informative and helpful way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Gelmir

We don't need to educate them, just sit back and wait. The majority of these kids are just that, kids.
    Eventually they will realise what they are listening to, eject the CD and throw it out the window. I've done this and I reckon a lot of people have.
    We just have to be patient...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 jilt

there is no doubting you all clearly have valid opinions on the brilliance of past musicians and the ignorance of today's teeny rockers of such music but it could also be said that the views expressed here about the state of the current music scene are not entirely justified. I have similar opinions to you as regard Limp Bizkit, slipknot, and pop punk bands such as blink 182 and sum 41 but i do believe that there is still hope for modern rock music. rock music is going through a formation in which we see the like of the bands mentioned above getting credibility for their senseless ramblings but already numetal is producing bands who seem to be the light at the end of the tunnel in this dark period in rock's magnificent history. I speak of Sunna and Tool, two bands who embrace numetal but no one can doubt their genius, it is my belief that rock/metal will regain its former glory. In reading the opinions stated here i can see how people like deco are annoyed by these little "rockers" who believe Kid Rock is a deep, thought provoking artist. deco along with all the other older people who have posted messages here will remember fondily seven years or so ago before rock music underwent its boom, when rock wasnt as popular but anyone listening to the music could really identify with it and there was no room for shallow pop rock bands. A person who listened to rock music then could enter a room in which they knew no one and be able to pick out another rocker and sit down and have an intelligent conversation about music or current affairs, these days scumbags and jocks all claim to be experts on not only the music but the philosophy of rock. looking back on it now, it seems ironic that back then we wished more people could identify with the music and now when there is more people listening to it, i wish things would return to the way they were then. i only joined this site today and its good to hear from other people who still express such strong opinions on rock music, they arent easy to find anymore. ;)

Originally posted by deco
    Darque...

Let me clarify....the people I am talking about are the new bred of metaler that is emerging at the moment...there is no real age limit but it seems to include an awful lot of 12-16 year olds... So this is not a slant against those like yourself who are educatd in the ways of proper music

Educating them? Since when did I get landed with that role?? These people seem to be multipling at a disbirbing rate! I have neither the time or the energy to attempt such a collosal undertaking....

Anyway, lets just fire Linkin Shíte out of a giant cannon...thats what I say...

Have yet to meet a problem that cannot be solved with a cannon

Well thanks for clearing that up deco cause thats all I wanted to hear! :) it is annoying that the new breed of metalers are painfully uninformed however not all are - me for example. I agree with what your saying so long as you recognise the few such as myself within that age bracket, I didn't expect you to single handedly educate the entire blissfully ingorant 12-16 yr old so called metalers just be careful not to add to the problem. I'm sure you'd find alot of them willing to learn and hear about where it all began however as Ruaidhri has said thats probably the music they like so maybe we should just wait for them to grow out of it, the music to grow up or simply let 'em be for now...I mean surely there are ppl here who've experienced hassle due to their taste in music and perhaps it's just the way things are but are we not giving these nu-metalers the same trouble we face due to prejudice and from the music from which they probably link to themselves (wrongly I know but still) I have to stand up for the feckers at least a little cause otherwise I feel hypocritical seems I myself fall into that same age group...ach the torment...as for that cannon notion...*grins wryly* ;)

I mean don't get me wrong they're a discrace to all right-minded 12- 16 yr old metalers out there but what exactly can you do??? Not a whole lot...either they have to come to their senses, the music has to improve or it simply has to become "not cool" to like this kind of music anymore, and even if it did and some remained loyal to it, would they ever be truly accepted by the former generations??? As for now though, this multiplying infectious population has created a rather full topic of conversation so theres one thing remotely positive about them (regardless of the negativity of the conversation)...ah feck it I'm just gonna shut up now cause basically I feel they don't deserve any more of my previously wasted time anyway so fvck the cvnts, I mean look at all this attention they're gettin'...little gits...where's that fvckin' cannon??? :eek:

I'm confused! :confused: me no like nu-metal but have unstopable defect for defending the feckers! What's wrong with me dammit?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    I'm going to have a nice HUGE rant when I get the time, but for now:

I dread to think that in 20 years time the likes of them could be considered classic.
    And the world is ****ed up enough for that to happen.

People still dance to disco ;)

QED :P

Originally posted by jilt
    there is no doubting you all clearly have valid opinions on the brilliance of past musicians and the ignorance of today's teeny rockers of such music but it could also be said that the views expressed here about the state of the current music scene are not entirely justified. I have similar opinions to you as regard Limp Bizkit, slipknot, and pop punk bands such as blink 182 and sum 41 but i do believe that there is still hope for modern rock music. rock music is going through a formation in which we see the like of the bands mentioned above getting credibility for their senseless ramblings but already numetal is producing bands who seem to be the light at the end of the tunnel in this dark period in rock's magnificent history. I speak of Sunna and Tool, two bands who embrace numetal but no one can doubt their genius, it is my belief that ...........

Seriously, use paragraphs....Makes it way more readable....

And in all fairness, Tool are NOT nu-metal...they transend genre...

And maybe bands like Linkin Park and Papa Roach are like training bras for these little kids, allowing them to find out about the genius that preceded them.

And Darque, impressed with your stand for your (slightly) misguided generation....:D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by jilt
    rock music is going through a formation in which we see the like of the bands mentioned above getting credibility for their senseless ramblings but already numetal is producing bands who seem to be the light at the end of the tunnel in this dark period in rock's magnificent history. I speak of Sunna and Tool, two bands who embrace numetal but no one can doubt their genius, it is my belief that rock/metal will regain its former glory.
    How dare you insult the mighty Tool by labelling them nu-metal... They are Progressive Metal. Which I have heard could be "the next big thing".

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

How can kids know about old school metal when there's no-one/nothing educating them?
    MTV2 used to play fairly decent, eclectic mixes of music at the start but it's just gone to **** lately, they've even given that prize knob Zane Low his own show on there.

Should send all the baby rockers to the Valhalla night in Fibbers, 'n see if they still like 'heavy metal' after that :-D

problem being, they have the title 'baby rockers' for a reason...

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

It's just as sickening as the soft brained little turds who will claim that wearing dark cloths makes you a goth.

I am utterly sickened by this kind of ****!
    It is, at times, forgiveable seeing as (According to various statements above) there is no real education into these things... But then again, they are the ones going around saying they are the "Biggest Fan" of [Insert Band Here] when they know in their own pathetic mind that they aren't, and haven't got a ****ing clue in the first place, so as for educating them - "No", they can't be educated if they haven't spent a while growing a ****ing brain for themselves.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

The problem with todays "goths" is that they don't resemble or act like the same crowd who overthrew the Romans. They've become mock goths, or "moths" if you want to be clever about it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

hehe, moths :)

spose I better throw my lil opinion in here. i have nothing against the younger crowd being into metal, but it's jut that there are so many little 13 year olds walking around with their spiky *dyed* jet black hair, spiky collars and korn hoodies nowadays.. it's sickening!
    even in carlow, they are to be found in abundance! hopefully they will grow up and stop giving us real mettlers a bad name..

I am going to get in so much trouble for saying real mettlers aren't I? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Robbo
    The problem with todays "goths" is that they don't resemble or act like the same crowd who overthrew the Romans. They've become mock goths, or "moths" if you want to be clever about it...

That'd be great Rob, if we were talking about goths in any way, shape or form. But we're not, this is about the nu-metal kids. Kids listening to slipknot, linkin park, papa roach, wearing baggy pants, hoodies and fecking about on skateboards.

Absolutely no relation or relevance to anything anyways Goth. And until you can get me some elusive Bauhaus album where they started rapping, or some pics of Carl McCoy with baggy pants and a skateboard... You can just shut yer know-nuthin mouth! :p

And honestly Rob, do you think you're the first person to ever make the connection between modern day Goths and the Germanic tribe of the same name? I really thought you were more intelligent than that. I swear, if I had a euro everytime I heard that from some fukwit, I'd be rich!

And have some consideration, you know LTM is just going to turn around and repeat what you're saying in a few days time.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Just a thought ......

perhaps trhe entire "nu-metal / baby-goth" phenominon is the fault of the music industry in its current guise.

The fact that all that gets plugged today is gaylife and samantha mumbles is it any wonder that these kids are jumping on the FIRST thing that ISN'T pop-image-bands??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Saw the queerest thing a few days back... was meant to meet someone in central bank and next thing i saw these two scanger girls with skateboards harrassing this skater kid about hash he was meant to have bought. Oh how i ran.

But relevance... yes. The only thing that annoys me about this whole nu-metal scene is that it's becoming a "scene"... it's making rock into something that all those annoying teenybopper/rugger-bugger boys + girls can use to seem cool. If they're "in" with music then they can score sexy rocker peoples <who are also "in" with music> and it's just a cooler way of talking about the latest britney spears.

Also it's killing off punk and goth <the real of both>. Punk and goth styles are now so associated with nu-metal that to be either is to be labled as into metal... goth music and metal? um... no... <death metal and goth style ok>

But there is one girl who has either a 70's punk haircut or a 80's goth one around town. Don't know her but DAMN! That's an impressive haircut!

<note to self, sleep before typing>

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

substr, angelwhore is this forums mod, your about to get flamed by some passer by :)

Back on topic - i think the turning point (the catalyst for 'goth' growth) was kerrang, all these people tryign to be 'cool' go and listen to kerrang, believing they will hear real god metal on it..... they see linkin park and papa roach, they interpret that as metal and WAHEY! you got yourself another one. The way 'real' metellers (i use that term lightly...) discover their music is usually by hearing a stray song from a band on the radio or from a friend, look into them and start gettin loads of their stuff, then get more of similar bands.....
    Now, which of these is more likely gonna happen? watch a TV channel or hear a stray band and look into it, its quite obvious really. Then when the 'goths' see loads of other people listening to the same stuff they will think their the 'real' meteller and the people who love their music are just a bunch of obsessed misguided nutters from that star you see in the distance.
    I got into metal when a mate in IRC told me a about the swedish metal website, and i downloaded bout a dozen songs fron about 10 bands at random, i heard a band i really liked the sound of (In Flames) and downloaded another 42 songs (got 53 of their songs now,im missing 8 songs and their new album and thats it). Then i got into other bands (metallica off a mate at school, iron maiden off IRC from a swedish mate, and many others). But once you have watched kerrang once, you will see linkin park etc and you will 'know' 20 bands in a day, within a week your the 'biggest fan ever' (in YOUR eyes) but you cant even name your top 10 songs for all of your bands (do linkin park even have 10songs? {remix's dont count}).

ok i stop my rant now (were still waiting for yours angelwhore ;))