Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate modders!

• 28-08-2002 6:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭

They’re such ****! Anybody who reads Max Power should be shot. I bought it once, thinking it might give an interesting alternative view on motors, but it’s the most inane magazine ever. It’s actually got more ugly bints from Essex than intelligent ideas about cars.
    How do they expect to impress people driving around in a clapped out Corsa with more sparkly crap stuck on than a pre-school activity box. They say they want something unique but for christ’s sake, if you’re going to try to modify your car to make it look nicer, start with a semi decent car! Instead of spending 2,000 throwing plastic spoilers and skirts at a knackered Golf, hoping some will stick, spend 1,500 more on a better car and the rest on customising it.
    I love to see a customised car that’s done well, but very few people seem to be able to do it. Here’s an idea for anyone starting off : less is more.
    I’ve seen some awful things out there :

A Punto S painted like a Dodge Viper VTS :rolleyes:
    A 89 Golf diesel with Rocarro racing seats but no other modifications.
    A 88 Fiesta with what looked like a Spitfire wing on the back.
    A 02 lime green Lupo with smoked glass lights so dim you couldn’t tell when they were on. I wonder how many times he’ll get shunted before he figures that out.
    An Escort with ‘Cosworth’ written on it.
    An Alfa estate with a Ferrari badge on it. Look everybody – it’s a Ferrari estate!
    An ancient BMW 3 series with a M bodykit, but with a badge in the wrong colours.

I’ve seen some nice ones too :

A 01 Vectra with a small skirt and rear wing painted gold. You either love it or hate it.
    A red lowered Celica with some red strips on the windows.
    A lowered Honda Civic with a nice set of alloys (less is more).
    A 01 silver Corrola. I couldn’t even tell you what exactly he did to it, it was heavily customised and looked like a far more expensive car. Very few people have the talent to do that, and if you don’t, you really shouldn’t bother.

I’m replacing my car soon and plan to modify it a bit. I doubt I’ll do more than stick a set of alloys on the outside, but I’ll stick a nice MP3 system inside, and fit an alarm. The alarm is more to add remote central locking and lower my insurance premium than anything else.
    Now to enter deep into hypocrite mode – does anyone know a place in Cork that specialises in customisation? I know most of the motor stores sell some items but none seem to have a large selection. One that will fit the stuff too would be favourite. My mechanic would do it for me it I asked but he’d look at me like a poof for ever more.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I hate modders!
    They’re such ****!
    I’m replacing my car soon and plan to modify it a bit.

So if:

Modders = ****

and

Blitzkrieg = Modder

Hmmm....:p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I saw a Mini painted like a Viper once. I thought it was pretty cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by Blitzkrieger
    A Punto S painted like a Dodge Viper VTS

Theyre all over the place. Ohhh it does make me chuckle to see a baseball cap flying along in one of these 'cars'. Even funnier that they never realise why people point and laugh as they drive past.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Well I hate seen some very nice modded cars and I am in the process of doing up my 99 Seat Ibiza (body kit, suspension, engine mods, OZ alloys and a few other little bits). I will put up some pics when its done.

I agree that some moddifiers really over do it or dont do it right at all (sliver stickers on the fuel cap as an example).

Out of the cars I hate seen my favorite have been

Blue Vectra on 18" rims and full body kit (nothing to mad)
    Sliver Audi A4 Quatro with body kit
    Black Audi S3 with porche wheels and a load of engine mods
    VW Bora
    I have a soft spot for sliver astra's
    and of course the Seat Ibiza :)

There is a thin line between nice mods and horrible cheap over the top mods I hope I wont cross it with my car :)

kayos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bo Duke

"I hate Modders" and "They are ****". I`m sorry but these statements just show how far your head is stuck up you ass. Define a modder to me!!!Is it a person who just tints their windows for security or is it a person who spends thousands on a car getting how they want it to look.Because if a person tints the windows on their car then they have modified it from the factory appearance therefore they must be modders.What business is it of yours if someone wants to paint their Punto in Viper colours??????True it does look tacky and stupid but if it makes them happy.They`re the ones who have to drive it!!!! And by the way a car like that would never make it in to Max Power. Trust me I`ve been reading the mag for 4 years and never missed an issue and I`ve attended their shows in Birmingham. Oh Corrolla is spelt with two L`s.

this one will work!!!!!What you think of this Kayos????? Mine is the same except black with 16in O.Z Super T`s on it.

Originally posted by Bo Duke
    this one will work!!!!!What you think of this Kayos????? Mine is the same except black with 16in O.Z Super T`s on it.

Its nice but mine is the newer model Ibiza its a very late 99 car so it was one of the first of that model.

I'm getting the following

Caractere/Abbes body kit (without the roof or bonnet vent)
    H&R Sports Springs (-30mm)
    Koni Sport Dampers
    16" Oz Super L's in the titainium finish with Goodyear F1 tyres
    New back box
    Air Box mods
    Color coded body work and de-badged hatch bar the Big S

All this on a nice shiny dark rally green Ibiza. Now this kit does not contain one of those huge spoilers or anything like it it is the WRC kit for the ibiza and it is swish.

Blitz there is a major difference between a modder and a "twin cam sham" for want of a better term.

Modders = Properly done modifications with time and money gone into it (I have been sorting out all the bits and piece for the past month or two. As for the money dont ask :eek: )

"Twin Cam Shams" = Walk into local motor store and buy cheap bits (eg an attachment to make your exaust look bigger), stick them on themselfs and all this on a clapped out banger :)

I promise I could show you some cars that have been done and you would like them.

kayos

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

the balloons look really cool, great colour coding scheme.
    do they make it go faster

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I have no real problem with modding cars except that it seems to attract ignorance scumbags. Majority of car mods I've seen out there are sh1te, but I've seen plenty of decent ones too. Frankly, if I was going to alter a car, I wouldn't make it louder, or sleeker, or add purple lights to it, I'd just get the engine tweaked to give me more power on the same cc's, improved brakes, improved steering etc etc. What's the point of your car looking good if it still handles like a horny pig? Changing how your car looks isn't worth the hassle IMO. If you change your exhaust, people can hear you coming from a mile off, and they all assume you're an asshole. If you get your windows tinted, aside from it being illegal, everyone will assume you're an asshole. If you put Knight Rider style lights on your car, everyone will know you're an asshole. I'd find it a hell of a lot more satisfying to burn some modded car at the lights rather than look better then it.

BTW, how does tinting your windows make your car more secure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I hate them, all of them.

Seamus tinting is not iilegal as long as ytou stay away from the front window.....

Changing you exaust does not mean you have to sound like a rally car or like you have a hole in you back box. Again its all about doing it right by spending the money of doing it cheaply and get that sort of result.

Most commen engine tweeks are as follows
    Induction System
    Pro's : Give you more power
    Con's: Makes a lound noise

A better alternative to this is putting panel filters in your air box and force feed it cold air, which is what I am getting done.
    Pro's : More power with less noise than a Induction kit

Exaust System
    Pro's : Gives you more power
    Con's: Can make you sound like a tank if not done right

others are
    Dump Values (gear changes)
    NOS (lets not go there)

If you look at my list of mods you can see that the suspension is being done which will give me a better holding on the road and I am also getting a better braking system in there as well.

Any way wants the point in having all power and no looks when the speed limit is 60mph and your stuck in traffic most of the time ;)

kayos

• Registered Users Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭ondafly

WOW! lucky i've calmed down, and read through the threads - i was about to go on some rant there.

So i take it you hate the stoopid Eegits, who do up Corsas, micras etc - which in their own right are great little cars. But bare in mind - modding done correctly is far from easy, nor cheap.

As for Max Power ****e - thats just a porn mag, goto google for that. What you want to read is Sports Compact Car from America, that is a car modifiers mag.

@Seamus , if tinting is done correctly , it reinforces the glass, making it very difficult to smash - this type of tint though - is not the crap you get from your local motorstore for 20euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by kayos
    Any way wants the point in having all power and no looks when the speed limit is 60mph and your stuck in traffic most of the time ;)

kayos

Ah well I drive a bike, and as we all know, bikes 0wn cars anytime ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Gerry

Dump valves only apply to turbocharged cars ( usually black starlets ), and are the ultimate skanger accessory. They let everyone know you have a "fast" car, even though all the driving you want to do is laps of the local housing estates.

Originally posted by Gerry
    Dump valves only apply to turbocharged cars ( usually black starlets ), and are the ultimate skanger accessory. They let everyone know you have a "fast" car, even though all the driving you want to do is laps of the local housing estates.

I think you'll find that most turbo cars come with a dump value as standerd as for the "skanger accessory" they are the ones that make athat big "wwwwooossshhhh" noise. That does not cover all dump values I know one car (Audi S3) that never makes that bloodly noise.
    So i take it you hate the stoopid Eegits, who do up Corsas, micras etc - which in their own right are great little cars. But bare in mind - modding done correctly is far from easy, nor cheap.

Well I'm doing an Ibiza so I hope I'm not included in that...... As for the cost of modding correctly amen to that.

Any way all my parts have been picked and are getting ordered today so I'm happy :)

kayos

• Registered Users Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭ondafly

better rephrase myself ! what i mean is people who buy those small cars, and ruin them with the big mudflaps, the washer LEDs, the stripes, the universal Backbox etc, and the biggest crime of all ! the NO FEAR sticker !

Kayos - who are you getting your stuff from ? Thinking of getting a nice little CRX SIR or a Civic SIR to do up when im finished with the integra.

The guy who is doing my car is from Galway and pretty much only deals with VAG cars most of the time (although he has done some others) mine being the first Seat he will do. Just to let you know his work took 3 prizes at the VAG compo last weekend.

If you want to find a load of honda heads head over to http://www.maxed-ie.net if your not already a member that is.

kayos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 jf_cole

I think you will find that all the Honda heads who arent into throwing their cars around at cruises can be found at www.jspeed.net

I agree with you lads, i hate all those tacky add ons.

Heres what my car looks like.

jfcolefrnt.jpg

Some technical jargon for you just to show you I know what I`m talking about.
    DUMP VALVES
    Dump valves are fitted to cars so when you let off the accelerater a load of pressure won`t back up in to the turbo.Without a dump valve your turbo wears quicker.So the idea is spend a little money now buying one and not have to fork out for a new turbo which is a small fortune.German cars use different construct dump valves.

Large Exhausts
    Universal ones= ****.My brother couldn`t get an exhaust for his car and was told to buy a universal.He is the same as me and hates uni boxes.So we went up North to Powerflow and got a custom made one.The idea of a performance exhaust is to let engine gases out quicker to release power.bigger the car===bigger power gains.

Induction Kits
    These are another money saving invention.Not only do the allow your car to breath better but you only have to clean the filter and replace it when you want cause they have a lifetime guarentee.

No self respecting modifier would fit knightrider lights or stripes to their car.Most graphic are fitted to japanesse cars.Oh that Ibiza has over 275 hp in it.Thats the 2.0Ltr 150hp model but it has been slightly modified

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

guildford ona sunday night is mod heaven,
    its just like the fast and the furious, thousands of kids lining the road and all these cars parading past.

its really funny.
    as for mods, i want a spoiler and a nice rollbar, but thats about it.
    im not really into body panel mods.
    i think they are pretty ghey :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I'm not a big fan of mods to be honest, unless it is tastefully done, and looks like the car might have come out of the factory this way. I do find the wannabees with the tacky stick on bits found all over your local autfactors adorning every empty panel inside and outside the car very sad indeed. I also find it very sad that they think their hairdryer micra's can take my car off the lights, revving their little 1.0's like I give a ****.

I have done a few mods myself. I have an MGF VVC which is nippy enough, I did get the special KN Induction Kit for the MG, which gave it an extra 10bhp or thereabouts, makes a nice noise inside the car, don't really hear it from the outside thos, which is nice.

I am considering converting to leather interior, and did get the chrome/leather gearknob to match the alloy petrol cap (again an official MG part).

My suspension is also slightly lowered to improve the cornering (most MG's have the suspension set high for transit and the dealers never set them back to defaults, so they look like beach buggies !).

Thats about it. Subtle and for the most part functional. Thats what modding should be about. As for the, hey lets get these blue wiper covers and some stickers, a fake bonnet grill, some mudflaps the size of pillowcases, and then cruise around and let all the chicks admire us in our sports car / corsa,yes all 5 of us, got the latest cream album derek ? Check, grand so, baseball hats on lads, try to look cool). These people are sad.

And why do they think that they could beat my car off the lights ? Do they really believe they have a sports car ? Do they think I care ? Pfft. Kiddies eh ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Oh that Ibiza has over 275 hp in it.Thats the 2.0Ltr 150hp model but it has been slightly modified

Jesus thats some mods to get an extra 125 BHP when you consider an induction kit will give between 5 and 10 BHP and same goes for the exaust systems. How the hell did it get up that high???

My mates s3 was 210 BHP standerd and I think he has it up to about 245.

My plans are to keep a hold of my ibiza for about 2 years and then flog it on and get me a more powerful car. The way I look at it is there is no point in paying more on insurance than the car is worth :).

As for the racing from the lights I'll never forget some little corsa trying to do that to me years ago when I was in a nice big astra :). Although I have a 1 litre car now :(.

kayos

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by ondafly
    better rephrase myself ! what i mean is people who buy those small cars, and ruin them with the big mudflaps, the washer LEDs, the stripes, the universal Backbox etc, and the biggest crime of all ! the NO FEAR sticker !

Couldn't have said it better myself - though you could add those 'Drive it like you stole it' stickers. :rolleyes:

And ye need more power because?

The national speed limit is 60.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Gerry

Kayos, I was referring to aftermarket dump valves, sorry for any confusion. Of course I know that all turbo cars come with them, they are normally referred to as wastegates. The reason I said they are a skanger accessory ( on starlets ) is because they seem to be designed to make the most noise possible, so you can hear jayo from the other side of the estate.

Bo Duke, as kayos says you would have to do serious mods to that ibiza to get it to 275. You would be talking about a turbo, flowed head, high lift cam, exhaust filter, perhaps a chip for the engine management? Or else you are just talking crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

a few modifications look cool, but when people start adding so many stickers it looks stupid, and does nothing for the car, especially if its a tiny 1 litre car. the stickers would weigh it down too much :p

i find it very funny when i'm up in dublin working and there are these dickheads driving around in really sh!t cars, prob 1L, music blareing and reving the cars at the lights. I would be driving the company van and it can leave those dickheads at the lights every time. its a 2.4 VW. my other mode of transport is a nissan primera.

if i was to get a new car i doubt if i would add any mods to it. all i would want is a sun roof and a cd player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 jf_cole

Originally posted by Dave
    And ye need more power because?

The national speed limit is 60.

Well heres an example, i was driving down to kilkenny about two weeks ago, and i needed to pass three trucks. All three trucks wouldnt leave enough room for a car to pass and get in between, so you had to pass all three or none at all. It took me 15 solid mins before i found a freakishly large road to pass them out.

More power helps you overtake quicker and safer.

Overtaking 3 trucks at the same time?

No wonder the deaths on our roads are so high.

I can see the temptation behind wanting more power. So I am a hypocrite, I push my punto (only mod is an "Up The Banner" sticker on the back window) to the last when i'm alone on the dual carriageway, it only gets up to 90 and I have to drop gears when overtaking at highspeeds. Still it does me fine.