Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sexual mores

• 30-08-2002 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭

this one is for the ladies. Why are irish women such prudes in the sack? i have had intimate liasons with foreign women and they seem much more liberated. I understand that you can point towards pressures of conformity and issues women have with their bodies but surely these would apply also to american, english and continental women. before anyone says "this is just in your experience" all of my mates concur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Gaz

have to disagree with you there. That might be what is like for one nighters but if your in a relationship and you are both comfortable with each other its a lot different ....well in my expierience it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Maybe its just the women you're getting.

Maybe European women are more liberated (God ... its such a Dawsons Creek'ism) but a lot of Irish women know how to have a good time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Nope, it's not "just in your experience".

It's just in your and your mates' experience.
    Maybe you should be with a real woman rather than picking up 16-year olds in Zanzibar? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I guess that really depends on what you mean by liberated.

- Kevin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I'm DEFINITELY not a prude in the sack. And all my female friends that i've conversed with about this, wouldn't be too prudish either...

What exactly is your definition of 'prude' anyway? One who won't take it up the ass or suck you off on command? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

ROFLMAO eth0_

teejay i think its just the women your getting..or attracting or something..god knows..i cant say i agree with you anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by eth0_
    I'm DEFINITELY not a prude in the sack. And all my female friends that i've conversed with about this, wouldn't be too prudish either...

What exactly is your definition of 'prude' anyway? One who won't take it up the ass or suck you off on command? :)
    you're a female!!! but the beardy eth0 nick and and wow you said i was cute! how u doin ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

Most people are prudes...not just women....

And most of the women I know are certainly not prudes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by azezil

you're a female!!! but the beardy eth0 nick and and wow you said i was cute! how u doin ;)

Hee hee yes i'm a girlie, how YOU doin? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I guess it is cultural .
    then again most women don't talk about themselves in graphic detail . Think on it how many lads when amongst the lads will talk about **** ? Women generally dont talk about getting their jollies by themsleves with anyone. So how can they tell maybe a realative stranger when it's not somthing thats talked about with their friends ?

Then again if a guy is really bad you got to think is it worth the effort to try educate him or just fake it and not go there again.

Plus it may depend how much drink was consumed lol

as for the lack of willingness for women to go down on bended knee what about the irish lads not returning the favour so many guys just wont go there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Originally posted by Thaed
    Women generally dont talk about getting their jollies by themsleves with anyone.
    Actually the most graphic sexual discussion I ever overheard was between a group of girls in a pub.
    Plus it may depend how much drink was consumed lol
    Unfortunately this is all too true of Irish society and may indeed also be a factor.
    as for the lack of willingness for women to go down on bended knee what about the irish lads not returning the favour so many guys just wont go there
    LOL - I suspect there more than a grain of truth there. If the Irishman in this thread is a typical example of Irish male virility, then I'm not surprised if foreplay normaly extends to no more than a warning to the woman to 'brace yourself' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭BigDaddyKone

hah, I liked the comments by the ladies. When I meant liberated, I really meant being confident and taking initiative. A lot of Irish women (in my experience - and of course not all of them) lie there and expect the bloke to do all the work. Surely it should be an equal sharing experience. And as for me being the average Irish bloke who thinks foreplay is something to do with tennis, this is not the case. I am definitely a socialist when it comes to the lovemaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

Blame the cultural restraints put on women in society, which still linger on longer than in any other country, like the others you mentioned, because of the hold the church had over the people for so long. I mean, when you've got a situation when women weren't even allowed have control over whether they got pregnant or not until relatively recently, you can hardly expect women to feel that they can take the initiative when it comes to sex. Add to that the double standards that still exist - women who are sexually forward are seen as sluts, while men are expected to behave that way - and I think that answers your question. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I see nothing wrong with sexually forward women. I quite like them actually! ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Originally posted by leeroybrown
    I see nothing wrong with sexually forward women. I quite like them actually! ;)
    I certainly have to agree with you there.. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

They aren't prudes in the sack, you're just with inexperienced girls who have yet to take the initiative and haven't developed their confidence so they let you take the lead and if you spent more than one night with any of them I'm sure you'd be seeing a much different picture ;)

Blokes can be exactly the same and I think what it boils down to is people really not wanting to show/teach someone the tricks of the trade so to speak. So much easier to just go out and find someone who knows what they're doing so people do it and the others get left behind, perhaps a little more patience would see everyone having incredible sex ;)

As for blokes not wanting to go down>> believe me we try, most of the time girls seem so insecure with themselves they couldn't have us doing that. What is wrong with these people! :eek:

From a personal point of view, I would go down on any girl I am willing to sleep with before she does anything, it drives them crazy, when and if they allow you to. In Vice Versa a bloke would never refuse a girl. I think insecurity and lack of confidence are the main problems. Better show them what you like and how you like it and that should clear up any problems of prudes as you say. Just don't beat around the bush :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

I am aware of this phenomenon (not to incriminate myself now!:p )

This is mainly due to the hair thing. I know lots of guys with similar issues but its just some lads dont like flossing between the sheets (sorry ladies - I know that waxing hurts - but its really worth it for you!;) )

Easily resolved problem though if people are willing to get to know each other further.
    Originally posted by Darth Homer

but if your in a relationship and you are both comfortable with each other its a lot different

Well said darth

lol Mud :)

I had a conversation with a friend (woman in her early 30's) about this only the other night.

She doesn't understand why women don't shave. She was boasting about her little goaty :eek: and how blokes loved it and she always gets what she wants and attributes her success to just this :D

its prolly a good way to get attention yes, but some guys moan about shaving their face. imagine trying to shave an area 10 times more sensitive that you cant see half of! and i wouldn't even TRY to wax myself, i'd prolly pull half my skin off. unfortunately beauty salons around dublin dont tend to go for that kind of exotic service :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Lawnkiller

i'm not going to get too opinionated here cos SearrarD or Cabaal will bust my balls on this one. :p

but from experience and what i've heard from other ppl - playin away from home is a more relaxing time and less stressful.

not knocking irish women(some of the finest women i know are irish) but it is true to say that there is more stress involved with irish women and sex in the same sentence....

(cue flames of "inevitibility" :D)

Originally posted by Seraphina
    imagine trying to shave an area 10 times more sensitive that you cant see half of! and i wouldn't even TRY to wax myself, i'd prolly pull half my skin off. unfortunately beauty salons around dublin dont tend to go for that kind of exotic service :p
    You've never thought of asking a guy to do it for you..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Y'know that's one thing I've never been able to have been let to do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Well that gets to be a trust issue fairly swiftly.
    any guy that nicks his self in the face even once would never ever be let go there
    and as for contantly shaving well imagine have a beard or heat rash that close to you pleasure spots not fun and damned itchy.

There is not one beauty saloon in dublin that does a hollywood or brazil wax and not one wax product on the market to do those areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

/me shouts to "The Lads" murmerings about there being a niche in the market intertwined with hyuk hyuks and fnarr fnarrs.

What's this thread about anyhoo, I haven't even read the first load of posts.. :confused:

Well that gets to be a trust issue fairly swiftly.
    Yes it does, doesn't it..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

*goes to bank with business plan*

Me: "I'm going to open up a salon so I can shave womens private parts"

Them: "Get out you pervert."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

Originally posted by The Corinthian
    LOL - I suspect there more than a grain of truth there. If the Irishman in this thread is a typical example of Irish male virility, then I'm not surprised if foreplay normaly extends to no more than a warning to the woman to 'brace yourself' :rolleyes:

off topic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Maybe it's just the chicks you've been with, or umm maybe it's you.

I wouldn't say all Irish chicks are prudes, not in the least, some of them most certainly aren't prudes, that's for sure.

However I would think that there is an element of repression stemming from Religon at work and the age old motif of a guy who nails alot of chicks being considered a stud, while a girl who does the same being considered a slut.
    </Dr Ruth>

What does get my goat is that I have to go out and drink to try and meet chicks, this was so much simpler when I was in school with them. Being in school with the chicks negated having to go out, drink and hit on half inebrated chicks.
    /rant

Originally posted by Dave|STaN
    off topic!
    Err... No, it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Why are Irish women prudish in the sack?

Well wouldn't you be prudish when you're about to sleep with an irish bloke who's brought you back to his mingingly dirty flat and you go into his room and his dirty socks are stuck to his jerk-off mags because he's wiped himself up with them the last time he had a **** and he tried to kick that lot under the bed with one foot and accidentally puts his other foot in an ancient dinner plate that says 'ouch' when he stands on it, and the only light in the room is one naked 100 watt bulb that he insists on switching on because he 'wants to see your fablass tits' and in fairness under light that harsh even Elle McPherson's going to look like her own granny, and then he disrobes in front of you and he's a pasty skinned pot bellied spotty backed individual - no well muscled deeply bronzed euro-lothario for the irish woman, NO! - and the first thing he does is grab your right breast with one hand and your crotch with the other and then you realise that he's left only his blue dunnes stores boxers and his black woolly socks on and your skin crawls and you think...

...you're getting it missionary style mate, coz I'm desperate but I'm not that desperate and I reckon you haven't washed for almost as long as these strangely gritty bedsheets.

But on a lighter note, people feed off each other's wantonness in bed. If you're prudish yourself, women are going to be prudish round you. It's very hard to be relaxed about your own body when the person you're with wraps the sheet around themselves when they get up to go to the bathroom because they're not comfortable parading naked around you.

That, and would you lot ever do some research into ambient lighting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Well wouldn't you be prudish when you're about to sleep with an irish bloke who...

My god, spot the lass whose Irish bloke is off to Aberdeen for a week. I think you've given us waaaaaaaaay too much insight into Eamo's personal life there love....

Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels
    Well wouldn't you be prudish when...

...you're getting it missionary style mate, coz I'm desperate but I'm not that desperate and I reckon you haven't washed for almost as long as these strangely gritty bedsheets.
    ROFL :D

Ahem...

Have some laundry to do. And stuff.

Mmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

MAJD, thank you for what wonderfully graphic image... it will give me nightmares for the next couple of weeks.

/me shudders

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels
    ...........and then you realise that he's left only his blue dunnes stores boxers and his black woolly socks on and your skin crawls.....

*tsk* *tsk* Penny's dear, Dunnes is such a cliché

[inquisitive]
    wtf is the missionary position? I can picture doggy style, having seen dogs go at it, b ut I've never seen missionaries get down so I'm rather at ends......
    [/inquisitive]

And any lad who will gladly let the girl go down on him and who won't return the favour should be given a kicking.
    imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Missionary

All the education a young man could possibly need ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Shinji

My god, spot the lass whose Irish bloke is off to Aberdeen for a week. I think you've given us waaaaaaaaay too much insight into Eamo's personal life there love....

my college life has come back to haunt me.....

i think if you put time and effort into a relationship then you will find miricles happen in your sex life. im not saying your partner is going to re-enact your favour porno, but theres a lot out there that will blow your skirt up.
    and a little experience and a little understanding and a little caring will show a lot.

however, if you are talking about one night stands then you can forget it, because you are always going to be disappointed because once again, you are not going to get your favourite porno played out, and shes not going to accept 3 cócks in her at once, and theres not going to be a slap-bass player in the hall making funky noises as she orgasms so loudly she wakes the nextdoor neighbours dog and smiles and begs you to shoot over her face.

keep that for masturbation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Before ye all go off on tangents disagreeing with TeeJay and defending Irish women in the sack why don't ye disclose how many foreign females that ye have been 'down and dirty' with to back upi your claims.
    Firstly a lot of the guys on this forum are young lads so assumably not that well versed in foreign ventures. As for the girls who responded - how the hell would ye know how less prudish ye are compared to foreign girls. I have had a good mixture of Irish and foreign women, including Irish women on foreign soil. The foreign girls are far more outgoing. Not just in bed but any situation that requires more than usual skin exposure. Myself and the lads used to get great entertainment watching the Irish gals stripping to their full-length speedo's on the beach, trying there damness not to expose any skin, never going topless either. A friend of mine has had nothing but foreign girls and swears by them.
    MAJD - are you saying that if a guy had a penthouse suite, bronzed muscular body and silk sheets you would be far less prude' than with the guy you described??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

[Drool] Mmmmmmmmm Fig Rolllls... [/Drool]

On topic, Irish women aren't prudes. I have this on very good authority. Mine. In fact between Irish, English, American and French ladies that I have had the pleasure of sharing a night with, I would rate those Irish ladies as the least of the prudes, with the French the most prudish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Have you had a German, Swede, Finn, Dane or Italian???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭BigDaddyKone

i wouldnt disagree with the accusation that french women are prudes. in my experience that is true as well as not being true. I would have to say that Irish women (being mid-twenties myself, so fairly experienced) do in general have issues with their bodies. I would definetly not blame the women for this, i would say we could lay the blame firmly at the door of the church as well as the general pressure to be skinny perfect figure etc... When all of my mates and myself don't like really skinny women. A bag of bones is definetly unappealling

you know what, i cant be arsed anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Originally posted by Seraphina
    and i wouldn't even TRY to wax myself, i'd prolly pull half my skin off. unfortunately beauty salons around dublin dont tend to go for that kind of exotic service :p

Blue Eriu (South William Street, Dublin 2; tel 1 672 5776) will give you a basic, brazilian or hollywood bikini wax to be proud of. :)

Luc

Originally posted by teejay
    (being mid-twenties myself, so fairly experienced)

please tell me how you manage to associate age with experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Originally posted by Lucutus

Blue Eriu (South William Street, Dublin 2; tel 1 672 5776) will give you a basic, brazilian or hollywood bikini wax to be proud of. :)

Dear God Luc, what sort of pressure are they putting you under in that office. You don't have to Look like the guys in Regi's magazines you know ...

Anyhows this topic is fast reaching the inevitable and pointless destiny of a 101 random opinions about individual experience. Just because some welsh lass poured candle wax on you before cuffing you to a bed and having her violent way with you does not mean if you head over to the next 6 nations match and hook up with a valley girl that the same will happen to you.

Nationality does not in my experience play a big role - what does -is how attracted they are to you, the miles on the clock and later on how well you know each other.

Anyhows academics generally aim for a sample size of about a 1000 before risking any definitive comments - so with most of us falling a tad short of the mark perhaps we should just leave the comments on national sex trends to people like Tom Jones.

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    [Drool] Mmmmmmmmm Fig Rolllls... [/Drool]

On topic, Irish women aren't prudes. I have this on very good authority. Mine. In fact between Irish, English, American and French ladies that I have had the pleasure of sharing a night with, I would rate those Irish ladies as the least of the prudes, with the French the most prudish.

Now that is nonsense :p (must defend the french half, french girls are incredible in bed, well at least the ones I've been with ;)
    thegills - I stopped counting a long time ago but will say I've had 4 Irish girlfriends with whom relationships lasted more than a year/two and 1 french girl (many more on short term 3/4 months in France and Ireland. More so in France.)

Majd that's just drivel and you have tainted the fragile minds of the children with your nightmarish stories (we really don't want to know about wwm's bedroom, REALLY!) especially in the grotesque detail outlined above. ;)

I have found Irish women to be more insecure with themselves but that you can rid them of this prudishness with a couple of nice compliments and a bit of time and patience.

I broke up with my last Irish girlfriend who I had been with for a year and a half because after numerous attempts to liven her up in bed I just wasn't getting anywhere and this was not the case with other women I have been with. Quick example, even after a year she did not want me "going down on her"

She'd lie there, demand the lights were turned off, always leave it to me to get on top unless I kinda forced her to roll over and be on top, but it wouldn't last long, she felt so insecure that she wouldn't get into a bath with me naked, it got ridiculous so I got out in search of more adventurous and to be quite frank boring people.

I've been single for coming on 2 years now and have had a few flings here and there and all I can say about the Irish is that the redheads are something else :p

To be honest i wouldnt go down on a girl that didnt shave down there, i mean its just good manners, we dont have hair on our bell end! Personally i keep down there trimmed to a minimum, and the ladies love it, its a good party peice too lol.
    its a LOT sexier when a lady has down stairs looked after, i think it shows that they know what they want.
    as for TA's comments, i know that its a pain in the ass when a girl just lays there, nothing can turn you off quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

Originally posted by The Corinthian

You've never thought of asking a guy to do it for you..?

have done, but there isn't a particular guy right now so... plus the whole trust issue like thaed said, they'd want to be damn good at shaving before i'd let them near there...

Blue Eriu (South William Street, Dublin 2; tel 1 672 5776) will give you a basic, brazilian or hollywood bikini wax to be proud of.

Luc

muchas gracias :)
    wax to be proud of, i hope so... do you know this from personal experience...

this part of the thread ended ages ago didn't it... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

Originally posted by Unregistered
    To be honest i wouldnt go down on a girl that didnt shave down there, i mean its just good manners, we dont have hair on our bell end!

some of yis do :p:D
    Originally posted by Unregistered
    Personally i keep down there trimmed to a minimum, and the ladies love it, its a good party peice too lol.

so if trimming is good enough for guys, why is it not good enough for girls?

plus the whole trust issue like thaed said, they'd want to be damn good at shaving before i'd let them near there...

I haven't cut myself shaving in a few years now :D:D:D
    To be honest i wouldnt go down on a girl that didnt shave down there, i mean its just good manners

you're a bad liar :)
    You're just thinking, very, very, very wishfully and tbh I'm starting to get worried about the depth of conversations that people will be having about this in the pub when I decide to bring it up later on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Originally posted by tactical anni

Majd that's just drivel and you have tainted the fragile minds of the children with your nightmarish stories (we really don't want to know about wwm's bedroom, REALLY!) especially in the grotesque detail outlined above. ;)

How would I know anything about WhiteWashMan's bedroom?